BBB Accredited Business since

Cutarelli Vision

Find a Location

Phone: (303) 486-2020 Fax: (303) 221-3434 7887 E Belleview Ave STE 180, Englewood, CO 80111 http://www.cutarellivision.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cutarelli Vision meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cutarelli Vision include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Cutarelli Vision
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 2006 Business started: 01/22/2001 Business started locally: 01/22/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Medical Examiners
1560 Broadway Ste 1300, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/medical
Phone Number: (303) 894-7690
medical@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dr. Paul Cutarelli, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Paul Cutarelli, Owner
Business Category

Laser Eye Surgery Physicians & Surgeons - Ophthalmology


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cutarelli Vision has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7887 E Belleview Ave STE 180

    Englewood, CO 80111 (303) 486-2020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2105 Bighorn Rd Ste 106

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Performed unauthorized services. Completely ignored all requests to resolve issue. During 11/2012 made an appointment with Cutarelli for a routine eye exam and a prescription for eye glasses and contacts. Cutarelli was selected since he was an approved provider of my insurer (Aetna). These services are 100% covered by my insurance with Aetna. The eye exam occurred on 12/14/12. Received first invoice from Cutarelli dated 1/28/13. Procedure descriptions included "est patient ophth/med comprehensive", "refraction" and "corneal topography uni/bi". Invoice indicated that I owed $139.01. Shortly after receiving the invoice I telephoned Aetna to ask why the services were not 100% paid for by Aetna. I was told that the services were not a routine eye exam and that Aetna would pay the entire invoice if Cutarelli resubmitted as a routine eye exam. On 2/21/13 I called Cutarelli and stated that the invoice must be resubmitted to Aetna as a routine eye exam. A second invoice dated 3/19/13 was received indicating the unpaid amount will be sent to a collection agency. On 3/22/13 I called Cutarelli a second time and stated that the invoice must be resubmitted to Aetna as a routine eye exam. On 10/14/13 received first letter from collection agency BC Services. On 10/23/13 I mailed a letter to BC Services indicating that I dispute the validity of the debt. On 10/24/13 I called Aetna and was told that Cutarelli never resubmitted invoice to Aetna as a routine eye exam. On this date Aetna convened a conference call with Aetna, Cutarelli and myself. Aetna stated to Cutarelli that the invoice must be resubmitted to Aetna as a routine eye exam. The Cutarelli representative stated that someone from Cutarelli would call me back. A call was never received. On 10/28/13 I called Cutarelli and was told that the issue would be addressed. On this date Aetna convened a conference call with myself, Aetna, and BC Services. Aetna informed BC Services that Aetna would pay 100% of the invoice if the invoice was esubmitted to Aetna as a routine eye exam. BC Services stated that they would call Cutarelli to discuss and that I would be called back by BC Services after the discussion with Cutarelli. I never received a call. On 11/1/13 I called BC Services and was told that BC Services had sent a request to Cutarelli. On 11/13/13 I called BC Services and was told that BC Services was researching the issue. On 12/12/13 I received letter indicating that a potentially negative item was added to my credit report. On this date I spoke with BC Services and was informed that they were waiting for a response from Cutarelli. In summary, when the appointment was made with Cutarelli, I had requested a routine eye exam and a prescription for eye glasses and contacts. Cutarelli performed other services which were not authorized. I have done everything possible to resolve the issue that the Cutarelli's has chosen to completely ignore the entire issue.

Desired Settlement: I expect Cutarelli to resubmit the invoice to Aetna as a routine eye exam and a prescription for eye glasses and contacts.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/07) */ Steven ******* was seen by Cutarelli Vision for an exam on December 14th, 2012. During the course of this exam it was discovered that he had a medical diagnosis. Per our contracts with insurance providers we are required to report this diagnosis and it was explained to him. Mr. ******* demands that the doctor and the billing specialist code and bill the exam as routine. This would be false and inaccurate; the patient is neither a physician nor an expert coding and billing specialist. Cutarelli Vision billed the insurance according to our policy and Mr. ******* was in turn billed for his responsible portion. Our financial policy clearly states that the patient is responsible for all co-pays and deductibles that their insurance policy requires. Mr. ******* signed this agreement September 11th, 2011. We regret that Mr. ******* did not resolve this issue by paying his responsible portion prior to Mr. ******* being sent to collections on September 30th, 2013, after two billing statements, one voicemail, and being warned that he would be sent to collections, with consequences to him at credit reporting bureaus. It is unfortunate for Mr. ******* that his insurance policy has limits that he doesn't like, but we are required to document and code for what we find, not more and not less. We followed our practice policy and the policies of the insurance companies and Mr. ****** is ultimately responsible for his debt. Mr. ******* may wish to reconsider his insurance policy, but should not expect that the business (which is under strict contract with his insurance policy) to arbitrarily violate the terms with his 3rd party payer or miscode to suit his preferences. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/02/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On Cutarelli's February 03, 2014 response, Cutarelli stated "If a condition is found, it must be recorded both on the chart and on the list of codes on the bill." The appointment with Cutarelli was made for a routine eye exam and a prescription for eye glasses and contact lenses. At no time during my routine exam was a made aware of any sort of condition which would have prompt additional services. On 2-21-14 I called BC Services Cutarelli's collection agency and was informed that my account was still on hold. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/02/03) */ The practice must code for what is in the findings, not what the patient intended his state of health to be. If a condition is found, it must be recorded both on the chart and on the list of codes on the bill. We cannot uses higher or lower codes than what is found on the exam. To have patietns dictate that we must code in a certain way so that their insurance will cover them fully suggests to me that the individual should reconsider his insurance coverage. Both sides should assess whether the insurance and the provider relationship is right for them if the provider is expected to code in a certain fashion. Practices have contracts with those insurance companies that they must honor; the patient must do the same.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Cutarelli Vision
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart