BBB Accredited Business since

Smooth Skin Centers Inc

Phone: (303) 750-3100 7120 E Orchard Rd Ste 100, Centennial, CO 80111 http://www.smoothskincenters.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Smooth Skin Centers Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Smooth Skin Centers Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Smooth Skin Centers Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 18, 2008 Business started: 05/02/2006 Business started locally: 05/02/2006 Business incorporated 05/02/2006 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Beth Smart, Owner/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Beth Smart, Owner/CEO
Business Category

Laser Cosmetic Services


Additional Locations

  • 7120 E Orchard Rd Ste 100

    Centennial, CO 80111 (303) 750-3100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized type of treatment without being informed. For most of the year of 2012 I went to smooth skin center for hair removal. Part way thru the year I decided to try the skin tightening service and signed up for the "on demand" program. I did a couple of treatments and didn't really see an improvement though they tell you it will take up to a year. However the last time I went the owner **** told me they were doing the skin tightening a different way but it was the same thing. She "heated" my face up to a certain temp and said it would encourage the collagen to rebuild. That night I went to a work party and while I checked my face in the mirror I noticed my eyes were hollow and my cheeks no longer plump. My face was hot for at least the next 24 hours and my co-workers said I looked "tired" though there was no change in lifestyle during that time. When I called and mentioned it I was told that was impossible and that the lawyers would ensure that I continued to pay out my contract whether or not I continued with the treatment. I did not continue with the treatment. Not only did it cause the fat on my face to melt away it cause the fine lines I had to deepen, my neck to become saggy and my forehead to become more lined - given that the base of fat is nonexistent now. It's taken me two years to figure out how to move forward. It will cost me a lot of time, money, pain to undo the damage caused by a treatment that was not authorized (no change of treatment was discussed) nor desired. Not to mention my confidence that I am working to rebuild!

Desired Settlement: I want my payments reimbursed and payment for the remedy treatment, that treatment is undecided as I am seeking consultations currently. However they will most likely be a short scar lift to draw up the damaged sagging skin and a fat graft/transfer to replace the fat pads that were carelessly melted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/02/05) */ I'm happy to respond to this claim, but I'm confused by the description of what I did to her. I'm not sure where she got the idea that my FDA-approved laser skin tightening treatment melts fat, but I know that if I could melt fat with a simple laser treatment, I would be the busiest med spa in the world. The laser treatment performed on her is intended to stimulate collagen. The procedure has been safely and effectively performed around the world since 2005, and the current settings are now the industry standard. When I did her last treatment in Dec. 2012, I used updated settings that I had received from the laser manufacturer. I've since used the same settings on hundreds of clients, and they love the treatment. It is surprising to hear from this client now. After her last skin tightening treatment in December, 2012, she returned to our office for eight more laser treatments - specifically for hair removal. During the next 14 months of visits, there is no documentation that she mentioned the alarming fat melting procedure to any of the staff. None of the staff alerted me to any grave side effects. I stand behind my laser treatments and reject her accusation that the laser treatment caused her fat pads to melt. I will not refund her money, and I will not pay for any remedy treatment. She had gotten bad advice from someone who doesn't know anything about this laser treatment. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is understood that anyone operating a laser for profit would not admit that said laser would cause damage. However I did mention the alarming reaction in my face (though not the term fat loss as it took me a long time and a bit of research to figure out why and what happened) to the techs as well as making a call to **** herself. The fact that it was not documented is not surprising. As I stated previously, the only response I got was to assure me that I would still be paying out the contract whether or not I used the treatments remaining. Had I realized the extent of the damage done at that time I would not have continued any service there, but I continued to try to believe that the change in my face would be rebuilt with collagen as I was told. I did not expect that my money would be refunded. But if one person is prevented from dealing with the heartbreak of having their face ruined by lasers, then I will be content with that. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/02/13) */ The intention of the laser and this laser treatment is indeed to cause very specific damage. The brain is then stimulated to send collagen to repair the damage. This is the "magic" of how collagen is stimulated, and was developed by the scientists and engineers at the laser manufacturer. This is a laser - not an RF devise, as was discussed earlier. Radio Frequency devises are VERY different from lasers. Class IV, medical-grade lasers are as different from RF devises as motorcycles are from speed boats. The FDA calls the treatment received by this client a "non-surgical face lift" and approves it for skin tightening. The reaction being described is not a direct result of the laser treatment received at Smooth Skin Centers. I'm very interested, as is the laser manufacturer, in seeing the research the client discovered. Clearly, other issues or different treatments are having a negative effect on her skin. This is unfortunate and I sincerely hope she can resolve them. Please contact the manufacturer - ******* *********** - at XXX-XXX-XXXX for more information. Please forward me the research information discovered and I will forward it to the clinical section of ******** Best of luck.

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Money Received, Services are not being rendered nor refund. This company charged my credit card for $300 for services to be rendered for multiple laser sessions. Unfortunately, this company provided a technician that appeared to not be competent as she paced the room looking endlessly for things that were right in front of her; seemed to be on some kind of narcotic; did not appear to be concerned with issues I was wanting to address as you spoke rapidly and consistently about the break up with her boyfriend and how it was affecting her. This was a very discomforting experience. After calling in about this situation in October and informed this would be looked into and I would be contacted back, I was terribly disappointed to learn that the discussions on the phone was simply a delay tactic and that no one would call me back. After leaving multiple messages and speaking to ****** whom reassured me she would speak with **** about refunding the credits, I ended up disputing credit card charge as Smooth Skin neglected to contact me not even once to address issues. Upon submitting dispute to **** for the Smooth Skin charges, Smooth Skin responded saying it was a valid charge and that there were no refunds and ALSO violated HIPPA by providing my medical chart as well to ****. (Documentation to be provided upon request). Unfortunately, this company even though taking the time to respond to **** has not initiated one customer phone call to address the poor quality service provided and how to move forward. After Speaking with ****** again on Easter week, I was once again informed **********, owner, would call me on Thursday, April 4th to come up with a plan to use funds. This again did not transpire so I scheduled a service for injections instead with another technician only to have this appointment cancelled claiming I needed to pay for this. At this point, I have exhausted all my options and have no further option but to now place a negative report about this company as it is clear that they simply have no intention to make right for the poor service and to keep my funds for pre-paid services not used. I am very concerned with companies that operate in this manner and hope someone reads this before giving them any of their hard earned money.

Desired Settlement: 100% Refund at this time. No settlement. I have been very patient and have tried to work with this company who clearly does not care about me as a patient and about their customer service. I do not have that credit card anymore and request a check be mailed to me at : po Box ***** ******, CO *****

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/05/15) */ There is always more than one side to any story, and as the owner of a business that's been around 7 years, I've learned to look at any situation from different angles. In October, 2012, Ms. ***** came to us for a treatment of Rosacea. We do a fair number of these procedures and have a proven track record of positive results. Prior to any treatment, a technician will spend a good amount of time educating the client about the procedure, what to expect, how it will feel, what her skin will look like after the treatment, what the realistic expectations should be, and will make a very educated and experienced guess about how many treatments may be necessary to see marked improvement. My technician followed these standard operating procedures with Ms. *****, even stepping out of the room a few times to ask me specific questions to help better clarify things for Ms. *****. After getting her first treatment - to which her skin reacted as predicted and expected - Ms. ***** was given written after-care instructions and product recommendation that would help with her condition. She refused to heed the tech's recommendation. After only seven days, Ms. ***** called and demanded a refund, stating she didn't feel like she was getting any results. Our staff tried to remind her what the aftercare and realistic time line was, but Ms. ***** interrupted and began screaming, even calling her names. In spite of the abuse, my staff reminded her of the no-refund policy (prior to her treatment, Ms. ***** had been made quite aware of this policy) and suggested she continue with her treatments. There was more screaming from Ms. ***** before she hung up on my staff person. Several months later, Ms. ***** called again and demanded a refund. She was QUITE rude when she was again told that no refunds were issued. She disputed the charge with her credit card company and the claim was denied. She called several more times; each phone call more hostile and rude. She called the staff names like "stupid" and "incompetent." She claimed someone from our office had called her cell phone anonymously and hung up, doing this only to harass her. Each time, in spite of the insults, my staff remained professional and as courteous as possible, given that they were dealing with someone so unreasonable and volatile. She threatened to call the police and then to sue us. As a business owner, when someone threatens legal action, I know to step back and let the lawyer handle it. Because she has no legal case or cause, filing a complaint with the BBB is her only course of action. I have little tolerance for rude clients and no tolerance for people who yell at, demean, belittle, insult, or harass my staff or my business. I don't have to do business with people like Ms. *****, and I have exercised my right to refuse service to her. Occasionally, I will refund money if the circumstances warrant it. Ms. ***** received a great laser treatment, which she can't return to me. Had she been patient, polite, and courteous, as we were, this may have turned out differently. The bottom line: if someone insists on cancelling their future appointments and wants a refund, it is our policy to void the sale price of the transaction. We then apply money collected towards the retail price of the treatment. Ms. ***** made it immediately and abundantly clear that she was never returning to our business, so we applied her funds towards the retail amount of the treatment. The retail price of the treatment Ms. ***** received is $300. She paid $300. There are no funds left over, so no refund is available.