BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/31/2011

Smooth Skin Centers Inc

(303) 750-31007120 E Orchard Rd Ste 100, CentennialCO 80111

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/31/2011

BBB has determined that Smooth Skin Centers Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Smooth Skin Centers Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Smooth Skin Centers Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
02/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized type of treatment without being informed.
For most of the year of 2012 I went to smooth skin center for hair removal. Part way thru the year I decided to try the skin tightening service and signed up for the "on demand" program. I did a couple of treatments and didn't really see an improvement though they tell you it will take up to a year. However the last time I went the owner **** told me they were doing the skin tightening a different way but it was the same thing. She "heated" my face up to a certain temp and said it would encourage the collagen to rebuild. That night I went to a work party and while I checked my face in the mirror I noticed my eyes were hollow and my cheeks no longer plump. My face was hot for at least the next 24 hours and my co-workers said I looked "tired" though there was no change in lifestyle during that time. When I called and mentioned it I was told that was impossible and that the lawyers would ensure that I continued to pay out my contract whether or not I continued with the treatment. I did not continue with the treatment.

Not only did it cause the fat on my face to melt away it cause the fine lines I had to deepen, my neck to become saggy and my forehead to become more lined - given that the base of fat is nonexistent now.

It's taken me two years to figure out how to move forward. It will cost me a lot of time, money, pain to undo the damage caused by a treatment that was not authorized (no change of treatment was discussed) nor desired. Not to mention my confidence that I am working to rebuild!

Desired Settlement
I want my payments reimbursed and payment for the remedy treatment, that treatment is undecided as I am seeking consultations currently. However they will most likely be a short scar lift to draw up the damaged sagging skin and a fat graft/transfer to replace the fat pads that were carelessly melted.

Business Response
I'm happy to respond to this claim, but I'm confused by the description of what I did to her. I'm not sure where she got the idea that my FDA-approved laser skin tightening treatment melts fat, but I know that if I could melt fat with a simple laser treatment, I would be the busiest med spa in the world.

The laser treatment performed on her is intended to stimulate collagen. The procedure has been safely and effectively performed around the world since 2005, and the current settings are now the industry standard. When I did her last treatment in Dec. 2012, I used updated settings that I had received from the laser manufacturer. I've since used the same settings on hundreds of clients, and they love the treatment.

It is surprising to hear from this client now. After her last skin tightening treatment in December, 2012, she returned to our office for eight more laser treatments - specifically for hair removal. During the next 14 months of visits, there is no documentation that she mentioned the alarming fat melting procedure to any of the staff. None of the staff alerted me to any grave side effects. I stand behind my laser treatments and reject her accusation that the laser treatment caused her fat pads to melt.

I will not refund her money, and I will not pay for any remedy treatment. She had gotten bad advice from someone who doesn't know anything about this laser treatment.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is understood that anyone operating a laser for profit would not admit that said laser would cause damage.

However I did mention the alarming reaction in my face (though not the term fat loss as it took me a long time and a bit of research to figure out why and what happened) to the techs as well as making a call to **** herself. The fact that it was not documented is not surprising. As I stated previously, the only response I got was to assure me that I would still be paying out the contract whether or not I used the treatments remaining.

Had I realized the extent of the damage done at that time I would not have continued any service there, but I continued to try to believe that the change in my face would be rebuilt with collagen as I was told.

I did not expect that my money would be refunded. But if one person is prevented from dealing with the heartbreak of having their face ruined by lasers, then I will be content with that.

Final Business Response
The intention of the laser and this laser treatment is indeed to cause very specific damage. The brain is then stimulated to send collagen to repair the damage. This is the "magic" of how collagen is stimulated, and was developed by the scientists and engineers at the laser manufacturer. This is a laser - not an RF devise, as was discussed earlier. Radio Frequency devises are VERY different from lasers. Class IV, medical-grade lasers are as different from RF devises as motorcycles are from speed boats. The FDA calls the treatment received by this client a "non-surgical face lift" and approves it for skin tightening. The reaction being described is not a direct result of the laser treatment received at Smooth Skin Centers. I'm very interested, as is the laser manufacturer, in seeing the research the client discovered. Clearly, other issues or different treatments are having a negative effect on her skin. This is unfortunate and I sincerely hope she can resolve them. Please contact the manufacturer - ******* *********** - at XXX-XXX-XXXX for more information. Please forward me the research information discovered and I will forward it to the clinical section of ******** Best of luck.

06/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Money Received, Services are not being rendered nor refund.
This company charged my credit card for $300 for services to be rendered for multiple laser sessions.

Unfortunately, this company provided a technician that appeared to not be competent as she paced the room looking endlessly for things that were right in front of her; seemed to be on some kind of narcotic; did not appear to be concerned with issues I was wanting to address as you spoke rapidly and consistently about the break up with her boyfriend and how it was affecting her. This was a very discomforting experience.

After calling in about this situation in October and informed this would be looked into and I would be contacted back, I was terribly disappointed to learn that the discussions on the phone was simply a delay tactic and that no one would call me back. After leaving multiple messages and speaking to ****** whom reassured me she would speak with **** about refunding the credits, I ended up disputing credit card charge as Smooth Skin neglected to contact me not even once to address issues.

Upon submitting dispute to **** for the Smooth Skin charges, Smooth Skin responded saying it was a valid charge and that there were no refunds and ALSO violated HIPPA by providing my medical chart as well to ****. (Documentation to be provided upon request).

Unfortunately, this company even though taking the time to respond to **** has not initiated one customer phone call to address the poor quality service provided and how to move forward.

After Speaking with ****** again on Easter week, I was once again informed **********, owner, would call me on Thursday, April 4th to come up with a plan to use funds.

This again did not transpire so I scheduled a service for injections instead with another technician only to have this appointment cancelled claiming I needed to pay for this.

At this point, I have exhausted all my options and have no further option but to now place a negative report about this company as it is clear that they simply have no intention to make right for the poor service and to keep my funds for pre-paid services not used.

I am very concerned with companies that operate in this manner and hope someone reads this before giving them any of their hard earned money.

Desired Settlement
100% Refund at this time. No settlement. I have been very patient and have tried to work with this company who clearly does not care about me as a patient and about their customer service.


I do not have that credit card anymore and request a check be mailed to me at :


po Box *****
******, CO *****

Business' Initial Response
There is always more than one side to any story, and as the owner of a business that's been around 7 years, I've learned to look at any situation from different angles.

In October, 2012, Ms. ***** came to us for a treatment of Rosacea. We do a fair number of these procedures and have a proven track record of positive results. Prior to any treatment, a technician will spend a good amount of time educating the client about the procedure, what to expect, how it will feel, what her skin will look like after the treatment, what the realistic expectations should be, and will make a very educated and experienced guess about how many treatments may be necessary to see marked improvement. My technician followed these standard operating procedures with Ms. *****, even stepping out of the room a few times to ask me specific questions to help better clarify things for Ms. *****.

After getting her first treatment - to which her skin reacted as predicted and expected - Ms. ***** was given written after-care instructions and product recommendation that would help with her condition. She refused to heed the tech's recommendation.

After only seven days, Ms. ***** called and demanded a refund, stating she didn't feel like she was getting any results. Our staff tried to remind her what the aftercare and realistic time line was, but Ms. ***** interrupted and began screaming, even calling her names. In spite of the abuse, my staff reminded her of the no-refund policy (prior to her treatment, Ms. ***** had been made quite aware of this policy) and suggested she continue with her treatments. There was more screaming from Ms. ***** before she hung up on my staff person.

Several months later, Ms. ***** called again and demanded a refund. She was QUITE rude when she was again told that no refunds were issued.

She disputed the charge with her credit card company and the claim was denied.

She called several more times; each phone call more hostile and rude. She called the staff names like "stupid" and "incompetent." She claimed someone from our office had called her cell phone anonymously and hung up, doing this only to harass her. Each time, in spite of the insults, my staff remained professional and as courteous as possible, given that they were dealing with someone so unreasonable and volatile.

She threatened to call the police and then to sue us. As a business owner, when someone threatens legal action, I know to step back and let the lawyer handle it. Because she has no legal case or cause, filing a complaint with the BBB is her only course of action.

I have little tolerance for rude clients and no tolerance for people who yell at, demean, belittle, insult, or harass my staff or my business. I don't have to do business with people like Ms. *****, and I have exercised my right to refuse service to her.

Occasionally, I will refund money if the circumstances warrant it. Ms. ***** received a great laser treatment, which she can't return to me. Had she been patient, polite, and courteous, as we were, this may have turned out differently.

The bottom line: if someone insists on cancelling their future appointments and wants a refund, it is our policy to void the sale price of the transaction. We then apply money collected towards the retail price of the treatment. Ms. ***** made it immediately and abundantly clear that she was never returning to our business, so we applied her funds towards the retail amount of the treatment. The retail price of the treatment Ms. ***** received is $300. She paid $300. There are no funds left over, so no refund is available.

02/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Actions of personnel place financial gain above the safety and well-being of clients. Hung up during conversation and not returning calls.
I am not going to waste too much of my or your time, but I wanted to let you know how I was treated today. Today is Wednesday, Dec 19 and it is snowing in the Denver area. I had an appointment scheduled at 12:15 and I called around 11:00 to tell them I was on I-25 and had seen 4 different accidents. I no longer felt safe driving on the roads and wanted to reschedule. ***** (spelling?), the receptionist, kindly told me I would lose the money I had paid for my appointment, but I could buy it back. I really don't even understand that still, but there you go. I asked to speak with Beth, the owner (she had treated me before and seemed like a reasonable person). I was on hold for 18 minutes before *** picked up the line. I explained to him my situation and he told me he wished he could help me but the policy is that if I don't cancel within 18 hours I lose my money. I told him I thought he was setting finances above the well-being of the clients, and again tried to have him waive the policy due to the weather. He agreed the roads were bad and told me he had seen 3 people slide off the road when he went to the bank earlier in the morning. He then told me many others had called in asking to reschedule their appointments. I told him I thought it was bad customer service and really felt he had the ability to help the situacion if he wanted to. He stuck to the policy. I asked again to speak with Beth since she is the owner. There was no yelling, although *** and I weren't making any headway either. *** hung up on me. I called back again to ***** and asked her to pass the message to Beth that I really wanted a call back as soon as possible. I told them I was going to be there at my appointment time to see someone in person and that I was going to spread the word about my treatment. Needless to say, after giving it an ounce of thought, I'm not putting my safety or my car in danger for a measly appointment. I'll finish off my two more treatments in my package and continue to let others know that Beth, *** and Smooth Skin Centers don't have a lick of customer service. All of this, on top of the other slight experiences during my previous package deals... 1) I found out by surprise they "no longer used or provided ice". Are you kidding? They couldn't have texted me or sent an email before the appointment when they made the change? That one happened in late summer. 2) I purchased 2 laser spider vein treatments. The first treatment gave me 2 skin markings about the size of a dime so I didn't want to continue to the second treatment. They didn't let me apply the difference of money to a different package either. I should have known after those 2 things that these people are cheap and only care about the money coming in. Not the results, not the client. I guess its true; you get what you pay for. Oh, and by the way...1:05 pm and still no call from Beth.

Desired Settlement
I'd like a refund or a credit for the spider vein treatment not used and a refund or credit for the "missed appointment".

Business' Initial Response
I'm sorry Ms. ******* was unhappy with our services. I will immediately send her a certified check for the amount she requested in this claim.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am waiting for the check. I will let you know how much she refunded me and if it was the correct amount. So far the issue has not been resolved.

11/28/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a package for services. I was burned by the technician and requested a refund for the package and covering medical expenses.
I purchased a package for laser hair removal from Groupon for Smooth Skin Centers for $368. I received the first treatment on May 3, 2012. I was burned on 3/4 of my leg by the treatment and did not want to finish the service package. After talking with the Center's administrator a couple of days later, she initially agreed to refund my money and cover my medical expenses. I needed to see a doctor twice for treatment of the burns (once for treatment, once for follow-up) My medical expenses included a prescription and doctor visit totaling $260.74 Total request for payment is $628.74. The adminstrator did not return calls and said she did not receive my first letter sent on July 17 requesting payment. She has since sent letters refusing to pay the full amount.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking full refund of the purchase of the package:
$368.00
Medical expenses: $260.74

Total expenses: $628.74

Business' Initial Response
We are a laser business, specializing in laser treatments, and have been in business for over six years. We've performed 1000s of laser hair removal treatments, and occasionally have seen clients experience contraindications. When Smooth Skin Centers was notified of Ms. ******'s "burn" on one area we treated (we treated two) we insisted we see her to inspect and make recommendations. This is our standard operating procedure, and she was aware of this; prior to their first treatment, every client is asked to complete a consent form. The form explain that laser is not an exact science and that side effects may occur. With her initials and signature, Ms. ****** agreed that if there were any side effects that she would immediately see us. Ms. ****** refused to do this and instead went to see a doctor. The doctor (not a laser specialist) said she had a thermal burn, which is likened to a sun burn. She applied products that made the burn worse. Because she did not follow our recommendations, we do not feel obligated to reimburse her for her actions. We did not recommend the products she used,nor did she allow us to make recommendations. Six months has past; we assume she has no scars and has completely healed. We have twice offered reimbursement on our income from her Groupon purchase and advised her to contact Groupon for the balance. Our lawyer agrees that we are not responsible to pay for her doctor's visit and the products she purchased. She still has the check we sent her.

Consumer's Final Response
I have photographs of the burns and my scars that I can submit for further comment if you wish to have them for this complaint.

12/10/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Laser Cosmetic Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/18/2008Business started: 05/02/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2006, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Beth Smart (Owner/CEO)
Business Category

Laser Cosmetic Services


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Smooth Skin Centers Inc has received 4.40 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Smooth Skin Centers Inc

7120 E Orchard Rd Ste 100

Centennial, CO 80111

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7120 E Orchard Rd Ste 100 

    Centennial, CO 80111(303) 750-3100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Smooth Skin Centers Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Laser Cosmetic Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.