BBB Accredited Business since

Designs By Sundown

Phone: (303) 789-4400 Fax: (303) 789-4417 6875 S Santa Fe Dr, Littleton, CO 80120 http://www.designsbysundown.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Designs By Sundown meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Designs By Sundown include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Designs By Sundown
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 31, 1991 Business started: 05/01/1985 Business started locally: 05/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Hommel, President Ms. Tracy Olson, Marketing Manager Ms. Marti Sartain, Office Mgr./HR
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Hommel, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Tracy Olson, Marketing Manager
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance


Additional Locations

  • 6875 S Santa Fe Dr

    Littleton, CO 80120

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Irrigation not winterized, resulting in 2 breaks which Sean accepted responsibility for that flooded 2 units and has not paid for the damages. Designs by Sundown had a contract in 2013 to winterize a property that we manage. They did not winterize which resulted in a frozen irrigation pipe that burst and flooded a unit. Sean accepted responsibility and said they would pay for the damages out of pocket and not with insurance. A few weeks later, another irrigation pipe broke because they did not properly winterize again. They have not paid the contractor for the work and are not returning phone calls or emails. We have sent a legal demand notice and that has not been responded to as well.

Desired Settlement: Designs by sundown is responsible for the work that Nubilt did as a result of their negligence to properly winterize the irrigation twice. They need to contact Nubilt Restoration directly and setttle the bills with them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/13) */ Designs By Sundown did have a maintenance contract to perform a winterization/blow out in 2013 for the property at **** ****** ****** and other properties managed by ProActive Management. The break mentioned in the complaint affected a unit at **** ****** ****** also. We do acknowledge the irrigation pipe did burst on the side of the vacuum breaker that runs back into the unit (not the outdoor pipes). The reason this section froze and broke is that we did not have access to turn off the inside water supply on the earlier scheduled visit since the resident of this unit was not home. The inability to turn off the inside water supply leaves water still in the pipe from the inside shut-off back to the outdoor vacuum breaker. Our representative states he did contact the property management company, ProActive Management, to inform them the inside water had not been turned off. Our contract is with ProActive Management and they are our point of contact for this property. This critical final step did not happen since a service date was not scheduled with the resident to allow us entry which resulted in the burst pipe on or around November 22, 2013. There are two main issues that we do dispute. First, full responsibility for the damaged caused by this burst pipe doesn't solely belong to us. We must have access to the inside water supply to turn the water off. Someone must be home to allow us entry to the basement/water supply. Secondly, the damage mentioned on the invoices appears to obviously include previous damage caused by water. How does such widespread mold and rust develop and be found on the same day of the water leak? The restoration company does mention "there was growth on the drywall" found on his initial visit on November 22nd. It appears because of this, a Negative Air Machine was used to collect all the mold spores and additional cost was incurred due to this. A 2nd break occurred on Dec. 10th, 2013 as referenced on the invoice from the restoration company. They responded, lifted the carpet, and "mold and rust were found." Plus, the restoration company had already been to both units based on the invoice from November 22nd and began the mitigation process to prepare the units for construction on November 26th. We repaired in the spring of 2014 all damage done to the irrigation system and did not invoice ProActive. Designs By Sundown did make a "good faith" gesture to the restoration company to pay for a portion of the invoices charged to ProActive Community Management. We are awaiting their reply. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Designs by Sundown contract is with the property and NOT ProActive Community Management. Designs by Sundown did have the contact information for the unit as it was given to them multiple times and thi8 is the contact information that was used by DBS to start up the irrigation in the spring of 2013. Then when we contacted to see if DBS was scheduled to winterize, ProActive gave Sean the contact information again. Then after the first pipe break, we gave the contact information to DBS again. DBS had a contract and did not fulfill their contract. In the spring there were 2 attempts to fix the broken lines and back flow by DBS all unsuccessful and ProActive had to pay the new landscape company to make the repairs and the Association is asking for reimbursement on this as well. ProActive has tried many times to set up a time to discuss and phone messages to Bill Mansord go unanswered and emails to Bill Mansord are not responded to. There are now pending lawsuits over this and ProActive is trying to assist with the resolution. Bottom line, Designs by Sundown needs to take care of their responsibilities. Nubilt offered DBS a discounted payoff and it was rejected. If DBS will sit down to discuss that would be a first step. DBS filling an insurance claim would be a start as well. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/12/04) */ ProActive Management is a Property Management Company that retained our services on behalf of the property they manage at **** ****** St. for minimal landscape maintenance services. Attached is the signed contract by ******** **** for ProActive Management. ProActive Management also appears to be the responsible party on the contracts/invoices we were forwarded by Proactive for services they contracted for from Nubilt. I have attached an email dated February 25, 2014 from our representative to the office manager at ProActive responding to a request to pay Nubilt for damages. In this email, he does state that we were only told about "possible cleaning of carpets or drying them out." We received 26 pages of invoices that totaled more than $24,000. Our rep also referenced as he had done before that we were not able to shut-off the water internally since the shut-offs were not made accessible to us. This was communicated to ProActive who was in turn to arrange access for us into the locked unit. The most recent response from ProActive, ******** ****, to the BBB did not address our main reason for disputing the total of these invoices - the fact that mold, rust and asbestos were reported at time of visits by Nubilt. These obviously were preexisting and could not have instantly happened on the day of the water break. This caused the restoration company to do extensive work and take hazardous waste precautions and mitigation to the units which far exceeded just drying the carpet. Within the Nubilt invoices, there is also reference that "there was no extraction needed as it was done by the home owner prior to us getting there." We have GPS records to support that our representative responded quickly to shut off the water on both dates of the leak. We feel it is unreasonable to forward $24,000 worth of invoices to us when we had no input and just expect us to pay. We did not hire Nubilt nor were we informed of what all they were doing. It is our contention that we are not liable for what appears to be preexisting damage to the units and expecting us to simply pay for it all. We did make a good faith gesture of $6000 to assist with drying/cleaning of the carpets which we feel is more than reasonable. The rest of the damage/repairs needs to be addressed by their insurance, not ours.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Designs By Sundown
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)