BBB Accredited Business since

Shane Co.

Find a Location

Phone: (303) 799-4700 View Additional Phone Numbers 9790 E Arapahoe Rd, Greenwood Village, CO 80112 http://www.shaneco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shane Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Shane Co. include:

  • 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Shane Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1972 Business started: 07/01/1971 Business started locally: 07/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Business Management
Mr. Price Blanchard, EVP of Marketing and Merchandising Ms. Suzanne Pacheco, Marketing Manager Mr. Thomas M. Shane, Owner Ms. Kaitlyn Whyte, Marketing Coordinator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Price Blanchard, EVP of Marketing and Merchandising
Customer Contact: Ms. Kaitlyn Whyte, Marketing Coordinator
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Build-rite Corp. Colorado Wholesale Jewelers and Supplies, Inc. Design-rite Corp. H.Carter Jewelers Lewis J. Advertising Corp Precious Smelting & Refining Corp. The Shane Company Western Stone & Metal Corp,

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Shane Co. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my wife to Shane Co. to pick out a 10year anniversary wedding band to transfer our original Diamond into it! She found one that she fell in love with. We purchased it and had the Shane Co. fit the original diamond into it. A few months later we had taken my father-in -law to pick out a ring for my mother-in -law on our account and they had cleaned and checked my wifes ring( but did not document it). A few more months later we took a cousin to pick out a ring to get married and once again used our account and once again they had cleaned and checked my wifes ring and yet again no documentation of it. One year and four months after getting the diamond put into the ring, all four of the setting prongs completely broke away and the diamond had gone missing and is not to be found. I had communicated with the Shane Co. and the only resolution they had come to, because there was no documentation of cleaning, is to sell us a new diamond at their cost. It is a kind gesture, but if the workmanship, (or lack there of), by the jewler was not good enough for the setting to last more than a year and a half? If it was their diamond they would have replaced it, but because it was not their diamond, we have to pay for it!?? That does not make sense to me. If we had not gone to the Shane Co. our original setting that had lasted for more than 10 years would be perfectly fine and we would still have a diamond.

Desired Settlement: We would like the Shane Co. to accept the responsibility of their bad setting and replace the diamond without charging us for it. We may not be the best customers but we have purchased a lot and continue to send people their way. We are pleased with their customer service and plan to continue to use them, but would like them to do the honorable thing: please replace the diamond.

Business Response: After going through proper channels and procedures, we were able to able to replace the diamond under warranty for this customer. 

Consumer Response: As I had said in the original complaint, the Shane Co. staff was superb and has always given the best customer service and I will continue to refer people to them!  ***** was instrumental at helping us!  Could not be more satisfied with the outcome!
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shane said they would set another company's diamond in the ring we bought from them. When we brought them the diamond they refused to set the diamond. We bought a nice diamond from another company but didn't like that companies settings. We took the diamond to Shane and bought a lovely setting from Shane for $895 and paid them $600 to set the other companies diamond in the Shane ring. The company we bought the original diamond from allows upgrade to a larger diamond and you pay the difference in price between the cheaper and more expensive diamond. Before doing this we took the ring we had bought from Shane and showed it to the sales person and the Shane jeweler. They said they could set the new diamond in their original Shane ring for a setting charge of $1000. We purchased the larger diamond. When we took it to Shane they refused to set the diamond leaving a senior couple in the lurch.

Desired Settlement: That Shane set the new diamond in the original Shane setting for the $1000 they said we could get it set for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/18) */ After assessing the value of the diamond, which was purchased from an outside company, we did not feel comfortable setting this diamond into the ring. We felt that this was creating a disservice to the customer for if anything every happened to the diamond, it would not be covered by our warranty.

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They had placed a higher quality more expensive diamond in a lesser quality priced envelope and after choosing it said they couldn't honor the sale. This is the e-mail I sent to them. Dear Sir/Madam, I do believe I've been the victim of "bait and switch" at one of your stores. This afternoon at Shane Co. at **** ******* **** in ******** *** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX me and my girlfriend/fiance' came back to finalize the purchase of and engagement ring. Her name is ****** **** and can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. After spending quite abit of time with *** ***** ******* Sunday afternoon we came back to look at the ring one more time after going back to a competitor that was closed Sunday to look at the one there. We had it down to two rings yours and theirs. When we left the competitor Monday afternoon we knew we wanted to go with Shane Co. After looking at the ring one last time it was time to choose the specific diamond for it. We had been looking at a 1.00ct F SI2 GIA certified diamond. When I started looking at it under the loupe I wanted to see the difference between a SI1 and a SI2 and how much price difference there was as I was seeing too many inclusions. *** ******* brought out a 1.00ct SI1 G rated diamond for us to compare to. After looking at it we decided it was what we wanted. We all agreed it was a beautiful gem and was actually as clear if not perhaps a little more so than the other we were looking at. *** ******* also said it was a very clean looking SI1 several times and we said we'd take it. I applied for financing and was approved and wanted to do 12 months no interest. We had the ring,the stone, and the wedding band picked out. We were writing up the order and got to the checking of the laser number when we noticed the numbers didn't match. Then the bottom fell out for us. The stone wasn't what we were told it was in quality nor price!!! It was a better quality, it was a 1.00ct E VS2 GIA certificate number of XXXXXXXXXX vs 1.00 G SI1 certificate number XXXXXXXXXX one listed at $6,875.00 the other $9,855.00. *** ******* admitted to the mistake being Shane Co. fault and it was on them but refused to sell the stone at the price we were told it was the whole time we were thinking it was $6,875.00. She said she spoke with the store manager ******* **** ****** and she said the best she would do would come off $1,000 off the correct price for the diamond. I mentioned that I worked in retail for 7 years and this was indeed a mistake that they would have to honor the price they told me it was as it violated the bait and switch law. I stepped outside to calm myself and to try an attorney I had used in the past to briefly discuss the situiation with, they were already closed for the day. After some discussion with my finance' I decided to make a counter offer of $9,000 for the three rings, the wedding band was $275 and the band for the engagement was I believe $685. It was either that or I'd be contacting an attorney. I was told no, that I could turn it over to an attorney and this was the manager name and to have a good day. I say all of that to say this, I'd like to resolve this as quickly as possible, I'd like the diamond we were shown and told and led to believe was $6,875 even though it wasn't at the price of $6,875, I'd like this to happen before I contact an attorney,the local news,and plead my case on social media. I do believe these to be reasonable requests under the circumstances. I patiently wait your reply. Sincerely, ***** ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX is my cell. Store Manager **** ****** ************ ***********@ShaneCo.com Associate ***** ******* ************ *************@ShaneCo.com

Desired Settlement: I would like to purchase the diamond we were offered and believed to have been $6,875 when it was actually $9,855 for the price of $6,875. Thank you, ***** ********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/06) */ We have resolved the situation with the customer and we apologize for any confusion that caused an inaccurate price for the diamond. The customer has purchased the rings and left the store happy with the resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate their diligence in getting the matter resolved as quickly as possible. I'll be a returning customer in-spite of the way this particular transaction started off it, it ended with mutual satisfaction.

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ShaneCo refusing to reimbursed my shipping cost, as they reimbursed for the past 6 years. We are a Shaneco customers for years. My husbands always buys my jewelry from them. I have a charm bracelet and every occasion he gives me another charm. Their mobile charm clasps are very loose and bad quality. So we decided to send my bracelet to them to get the charms attached permanently. In the past at least 6 times, I have mailed them my bracelet and they reimbursed us the cost of the shipping from NY (where we used to live) to Colorado. And once, I lost one of my earring after 2 years, due to a faulty clasp again. I sent them the other one. They again reimbursed my shipping from NY to CO and they replaced my earrings. Since 2013 I didn't send them anything, because 1)we welcomed our son, and I didn't wear my bracelet, 2) we moved to TX. Last month I realized one of my charms was missing. The hook was still on my bracelet but the charm was gone. We were wondering if it'd be covered under the warranty. I also had another charm (from ShaneCo again) that I wanted to get it attached to my bracelet. Finally the main clasp had a gap that needed to be fixed. We mailed my bracelet as usual. A week after they called and said my lost charm would not be replaced but they had one more in stock and we could get it for 10% discount. It didn't fit our budget so we said no. Another week passed *** we received my bracelet. They also sent the receipt from USPS back. When I called them, they said they'll not be reimbursing the shipping cost from me to them, because it was never been their policy. When I asked why they did it before, ** ***** simply said she didn't know it was done before, but it has never been their policy. I then wrote to ** *** *****, the owner. Apparently his office deals with these complains. So they forwarded my complain to ******* ********* who told me that ** ***** was right and it is not their policy. I wonder why they always reimbursed the shipping from me to them for 6 years, when it was not their policy. And now that I declined to pay for my lost charm, they suddenly bring up policies (they never enforced), and refuse the reimburse me. I will no go broke with $37.83, but their attitude is very wrong. They first go out of their way to gain your loyalty, then they just turn their backs, because they know you are stuck with them. ** ******** clearly stated in her email that if I don't get my bracelet serviced in every 6-12month then if something happens I have to pay out of my own pocket. Since there is no ShaneCo where I live, I either pay extremely high shipping cost to get all my pieces serviced or live with no-warranty. This is on top of their already higher prices comparing to the other retailer.I really wanted my letter to reach ** *****. Please see below the email from ** ********* "***** and ******** Thank you for your email. *** *****'s office forwarded it to me. I'm sorry to hear that you feel like your recent service experience was not handled properly. You were told correctly when ***** explained that it isn't our policy to reimburse shipping on service shipments. We do include a free lifetime warranty with all our fine jewelry with the caveat that we are able to inspect it and clean it every 6-12 months. This warranty is for the labor/service/repair only - it does not include what it may take, whether gas or shipping fees, to get it to us. We do incur the cost to perform the necessary service and the return shipping. If a client chooses to skip clean and checks, that is completely his/her choice. However, if something negatively happens to the jewelry, we are not liable for the cost of repair. Once we are able to see the piece and make the needed repairs, the warranty is reinstated. Should you change your mind about continuing a business relationship with ***** Company, we will happily service your ***** Co. jewelry and incur the shipping cost back to you. Kindest Regards, ******* **********

Desired Settlement: 1)I am requesting the reimbursement of $37.83. 2)All I wanted was the reimbursement of my shipping cost, but now that I am treated so pourly I am requesting the replacement of my lost charm (ShaneCo knows which one). This request is based on the fact that their replaced my pearl earring before. One of them was lost and the other one had a loose clasp like the lost one. My earring haven't been in inspection either so that ShaneCo could "identify" the "normal wear-and-tear". They accepted the fault and replaced them both. It's the same case, the hook of my charm is still attached to my bracelet. Obviously the charm's hook in the main body was not good quality and it broke. Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/30) */ It is correct that our company does not reimburse shipments from our customer to our stores but we do pay for the shipping from our stores to the customer. As for the warranty, we pride ourselves on providing a Free Lifetime Warranty which covers labor, services and repairs but it does require our customers to bring in or send in their jewelry for "clean and checks" every 6 months. If any damage happens after the 6 months, the cost of any repair, service, or labor is then covered by the owner. However, once a customer comes back for a clean and check, even if it's been past 6 months, the warranty will be reinstated. We understand that life get busy and that some of our customers do not live close enough to drive to a store which is why we offer a ship-in option for the clean and check. However, it is the customers responsibility to submit their jewelry to us every 6 months in order for the Free Lifetime Warranty to remain current. Therefore, we will not be reimbursing the shipping cost of $37.83. As for the lost charm, as the bracelet was not inspected within the 6 month period, the replacement of the charm is not covered by the warranty. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't why ShaneCo keeps telling me that it's not their policy to pay the shipping from me to their store. I did not complain to them not to BBB whether their policy or not. I made my complain, requesting them to reimburse my shipment cost, because they did several times in the past 6 years. Why they reimbursed my shipments in the past years (about 6 time) and not now? I shipped my jewelry (my bracelet several times and my pearl earrings once) for exactly the same reason and they offered to reimburse my shipment, no questions ask. I want to know what has changed? They already told me that their policies are the same as before. Doesn't their previous acts create a sample and set expectations for their future acts? Meanwhile, I'd like to bring BBB's attention that their Certified Appraisal cites: " We recommend a six-month inspection for the jewelry describe below. We will either repair or replace any item found to be defective. WE guarantee for life, for free, all merchandise made of gold, platinum, ....". In nowhere in this letter I see that if I don't bring my jewelry for inspection every 6 months, and there is a problem with it, I am responsible of paying it out of my pocket. I'm attaching the copy of this letter. Once again, I am not asking ShaneCo to change their policies, neither I am questioning their existence. I am questioning, 1) Why my shipment costs were reimbursed for the past 6 years, several times? 2) Why my lost earring was replaced in the past, and not my charm now, when obviously the charm itself broke, because its hook is still attached to my bracelet. 3) Is this practice because we denied purchasing a replacement charm, since we haven't budgeted for it last month?

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Diamond ring repair, since 12/1/14. No one will return my calls and no one seems to know where my ring is or if it is even in the country. I brought in my broken engagement ring on December 1, 2014. I spoke with **** from the store on December 3rd, 2014, and it was decided that my ring would need to be replaced. The time frame I was given was 4-6 weeks. We are a week into March of 2015 and I still do not have my ring. But this is not why I'm upset. Of course, I really want my ring back, (as it should have been in my possession in January) but what has me very upset and disappointed with Shane Company is the lack of customer care that has been shown. I called on 2/10/15, to check on the status of my ring. I spoke with *****. She explained that an email was sent and they would find out the status of my ring. It was also explained that it could be in another country and it may not necessarily be business hours there so it may take a few days for a response. I never heard back from ***** or anyone else from Shane Company in regards to my inquiry. Irritated that no one cared enough to contact me I called again on 2/28/15 and asked to speak to **** or *****, but ended up being "helped" by someone who answered the phone. She was apologetic and sincere. She relayed the message that ***** remembers my inquiry from two weeks prior. She apologized and said **** would contact me. I never heard from **** or anyone else from Shane Company in regards to my inquiry. At this point I feel like no one knows where my diamond is. No one has reached out to me and my inquiries have been ignored. I am extremely upset and disappointed with the treatment I have received. This is unacceptable and I thought you should know as I hope you find this treatment as appalling as I do. Can you please help me find my diamond or maybe even get someone to call me back?!

Desired Settlement: I want my ring back. I want someone from Shane Company to acknowledge what terrible customer service I have received.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/26) */ We contacted the customer and her ring has been picked up. The delays came from the repairs that needed to be done and that they rings was discontinued so it had to be re-casted. We apologize for the delay and we look forward to her visiting the store in May to pick out a beautiful anniversary gift.

3/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took in a *** **** **** ******** for repair, received back from repair Gold plated box necklace. Was assured they gave me correct item back. NOT! On February 12, 2015, I took my *** **** **** necklace in for repair and after checking with repairman was told that he could fix it, but I would see the repair. On February 20th when I picked it up, customer service took a necklace out of a envelope with my name on it, put it in a cloth bag. On Saturday the 21st when I took the necklace out of the bag I saw that it was not mine as it was gold plated and a box necklace. I knew it wasn't mine, but I checked with my wife, who gave the necklace to me, and she said that she only purchased *** **** jewelry and she had purchased a **** necklace for me. On Monday February 23rd I took the box necklace back to the store telling them their error, they said that they'd look into it but said the box necklace was the only one they had in for repair. On February 24th I sent a letter to *** ***** and in response on February 25th I received a call from ***** at *****, she said she was 100% right that I had received the right necklace. I told her I'm 100% sure I didn't and they better find my necklace. I'm not asking for anything more or less than getting my necklace back. I told her if I didn't get my necklace back I would not only spread the word of their illegal activity but also contact the social media along with the news media. I also said they'd be more than pleased to put their organization to work on this. She said she'd continue checking, but again said she was 100% sure I had the right one.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive MY necklace back. *** ***** **** necklace.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/02) */ After thoroughly checking the records at the store, the chain was in its corresponding shop job envelope which included a picture of the chain. Also, after researching all of the shop work being done at that time, it proved there were no other chains being worked on in the store's shop at that time. The store did offer to let the customer pick out a new chain at the store's expense to make amends for his dissatisfaction but he declined the offer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was NOT offered anything other than to say they would check to see if the chain had been missplaced. They NEVER offered anything other than that, and I have not heard anything from them since my conversation with ***** who said she would ask the rep I had talked with. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/03/24) */ The store has confirmed that the chain will be here the beginning of April. If *** ********* would be so kind, we would like to know when he receives his new chain. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2015/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) If and when I receive the promised necklace, if it's the same quality as I took into the store, I will accept their attempt, but until I receive the necklace, I won't say it's taken care of.

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: December 14, 2014To whom it may concernI received my diamond earrings from my husband in June of 2012 for my birthday. Ive brought them into the Shane Company for maintenance and cleaning every June and December/January since then which would total at least 4 times. In January of 2014 I was leaving town for work for a few months and did not want to take my earing with me. I knew they needed to go in for the six month inspection and the backs were not catching the treads on the post. I gave them to my mother to bring them into the ***** Company while I was away. My mother dropped them off in January and asked them to inspect the posts. My earnings were then picked up from the Shane Company by a friend of mine who lives near that location. She then passed them on to my mother and put in her safe till my return. Shortly after my return I had to go in for surgery so the earing remained in our safe. After my surgery and recovery I put them on. My first time wearing them, awhile into the evening my friend commented on my earnings, I brought my hands up to feel them and one was missing. I looked everywhere we had been in my car and anywhere I could think of. One of the reason I brought thought them in was because the backs felt a little loose. I immediately called to see what could be done and I was told they didnt cover complete loss. Shortly after losing that earing I drove an hour up to the Shane Company after requesting to see my records of the maintenance performed in January. Upon my arrival I asked to speak with a manager, I then spoke with Stephany Ramos and was told again they couldnt find my maintenance records. I was told by her that the records are filed by the name of the person dropping them off, then I gave her the name of my mom who dropped them off and the friend who picked them up my name and my husbands name who purchased them. I was also told they kept paper and computerized records. I left that day waiting to hear back about the records. After several days of hearing nothing and then re explaining the entire situation to several other employees, I was then accused by one of their staff of never bringing my earrings into their facility and that I was supposed to be keeping records of maintenance myself. I was never told to keep records of maintenance any of the other times I brought my earrings to them and they never asked or gave me a record. I feel due to their poor maintenance I lost an earring. Sincerely,***** *********** Product_Or_Service: diamond earings Account_Number: ***

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like them find the maintenance record to prove to me weather they actually fixed my earrings or not, I find it suspicious that my records disappear from the paper and computerized records and if they didn't fix the problem I brought them there for I would like my earing replaced

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2015/01/20) */ The loss of the earring does not fall under our workmanship warranty as it was not a maintenance issue. The staff has made multiple attempts to rectify this situation. Ultimately, the store will be offering this customer a full refund of the original purchase amount.

8/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sold me a ring that was 100% titanium and 10 months later they admitted they lied it wasn't. It was made of tungsten and it broke. I bought a male wedding band from the store in ****** *****, CA. They told me it was 100% titanium, which is what I was looking for. What I didn't know was that they were claiming them to be 100% titanium but were actually mostly cheap tungsten that broke when my finger was shut in a door. The ring was purchased in July of 2013. The purchase price was $215. When we went back we talked to **** and ****** who would replace the ring, but wouldn't compensate for having to drive four hours to get to the nearest store.

Desired Settlement: I think the mere fact you lied about what materials the ring was made of means you shouldn't just replace the ring but give me my money back and pay for the gas it took to get a new ring.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/07) */ Upon receiving this complaint, we reached out to the customer. We mutually agreed to compensate him $100 for the inconvenience and to cover the gas for his trip. We also thoroughly apologized for our initially misunderstanding about the titanium vs tungsten. The customer left our store happy with his new ring and we are happy that we could correct this situation and make it right. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am very pleased with Shane Co. Especially the store manager. I would go back after the way they handled the situation.

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took in a pair of pearl earrings to be fixed. (particularly the lock on them needed to be fixed) When I got the call that they were ready, I came and took a look at them. The pearl was damaged and ruined. They told me they have washed it and that's why it turned that way. They also tried to put another pearl that didn't even match the other earring in and I was not happy with! All I want is a refund for this awful service and refund for my earrings that are ruined and no longer hold any value. ****y who was the repair guy argued with me and ****** the supervisor provided poor customer service as well. I am not going back to pick up my earrings because they are different and ruined. Product_Or_Service: repair to an earring Order_Number: n/a Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund The settlement I want is $30 that I paid for this useless repair. $50 that I paid for the earrings. and $50 compensation for all the inconvenience and stress this caused me! Never again am I using this store or recommending to anyone! Total of $130 compensation

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/11) */ We have agreed to refund her $30 and provide her with new, genuine pearl earrings to compensate for her troubles. The customer agreed to stop by the store on Saturday to pick up her refund and her new earrings. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) "NEW" earrings? You provided me with my same old earrings where the two pearls are complete different. One is obviously bigger then the other one and they dont even match! Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2013/12/19) */ We greatly apologize for the profound delay. It's unexceptable and we are truly sorry for the lack of response. We were under the impression that both of the pearls would be replaced on the earrings. However there was a miscommunication and only one was replaced. We will be contacting the customer to offer a replacement of the current pearls with two matching pearls.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dishonest practices and predatory approach The engagement ring in question was purchased on ****** ** **** and an attempt to return it was on ******* *** ***** The amount offered was $400 as "scrap" by a manager named ******* (name unimportant). This is an obvious attempt to take advantage of a young male and an engagement that did not transpire. I am a National Guardsman that was deployed to assist with the flooding in ******** and this, in part, is a cause of the failure of the engagement as well as the inability to return the ring in the (60) day time frame that is still within a **** day period. The fact that the Shane Co "offered" the ridiculous amount of $400 is cause enough to question their practices as that is less than one tenth the monies they received for this ring, which may also indicate they are pricing their "merchandise" far over what the actual value may be. They were paid, in cash and up front, which is probably a big part of the problem. Even though it was explained that I was in service to the State of ******** and assisting the people of ******* and the State, which caused my delay, the "manager" ******** expressed little concern nor empathy regarding any situation at all. This is a case in point of profit over all else and needs to be expressed via the news and media. If the BBB can assist in this effort, please respond and let me know as this is simply a case of greed.

Desired Settlement: To start with, something that is reasonable for the "value" they state they provide for their "merchandise". Offering $400 for a $4800 ring is not only ridiculous, but offensive and unconscionable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/06) */ There was a miscommunication with the customer and due to the extenuating circumstances, we waived the limitations of the return policy. The customer received a credit. The situation was resolved to both parties satisfaction.

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A sales associate was inappropriately laughing and making fun of me to another associate when I inquired about a refund of my faulty wedding band. I purchased a platinum and diamond wedding band in ***** **** for $1000 from the Shane Company. I only started wearing the ring within the last month after I got married on ***** *** ***** I have had two negative experiences with *** ***** a sales associate with the Shane Company. I visited the Westminster store to ask questions about my new wedding band on **** ** ***** I wanted to inquire about the misshaping of it. The back side of the band is thinner than the front and has warped already. I have only been wearing the ring for a month and only doing normal, daily activities. I believe there was an error when the band was resized. I received a second opinion from another reputable jeweler, **** ******* who confirmed that too much platinum was removed from the back side of the ring and overall was displeased with the quality of the ring. After speaking with ***, he informed that the band will always be misshaped because of the malleable nature of platinum. He told me I could pay to have it rounded and to add more platinum. Before I could inquire about what was covered under my warranty, *** "blew me off" to assist other customers. I was left standing in the store without further assistance. I drove down from ****** to speak to a sales associate about my ring and was very displeased with the lack of customer service I received. The second negative experience I had with *** was on **** ** ***** I came by the Westminster store again to inquire about returning or exchanging my wedding band. I am very displeased with the quality and craftsmanship of the ring. I was informed by a sales associate that my 60 day warranty had expired so I was unable to return or exchange the ring for a new one. While the sales associate was looking into ring repair options, I witnessed *** laughing and making snide comments to another employee about me and my husband. I was literally standing right in front of them while they made fun of us. I find this behavior inappropriate, immature, and highly unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund of the amount I originally spend on the ring. I do not want to ever have to deal with this company again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/12) */ After discussing the situation with the customer, it was mutually decided that she would return the band. We were willing to work with her to offer more and she was glad that we were willing to work with her but this is ultimately what the customer wanted. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response. The store manager, ******* was very helpful and accommodating of the situation.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Shane Co.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart