This business is not BBB accredited.

  ! There is an alert on !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 06, 2006 Business started: 01/07/1997 Business started locally: 01/07/1997 Business incorporated 04/28/2000 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Tyler Jacobson, Customer Support Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Christopher Graves, President
Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting

Alternate Business Names
Category 99, Inc.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Terminated service twice yet I continue to be billed. Attempted multiple unauthorized charge to card. Harassing me for non-payment of unwanted service Machighway made an unauthorized charge to my credit card last year to extend internet hosting service. When my credit card expired in 2014, I did not update it with Machighway because I had no intention of renewing the service. When notified in Nov 2014 that renewal was required, I contacted the company (on Nov 22, 2014) to cancel service and transfer my domain to GoDaddy. At that time I was told my service with Machighway was terminated. On Feb 27, 2015 I received a bill from Machighway for continuing service indicating a Mar 13th payment due date for $164.45 (Inv #XXXXXX). I again attempted to cancel the service. Machighway attempted another unauthorized charge on Mar 13, 2015 for $64.95 (Inv #XXXXXX; no explanation for the difference in billed amount). I again asked the company to terminate service. I was advised on Mar 13th 2015 that my account has been canceled due to non-payment. I anticipate this fraudulent bill be referred to collection. Solution for me is to have the harassment cease and for any and all accounts at Machighway be terminated immediately.

Desired Settlement: Terminate services at Machighway associated with my account and name. Cease all harassment for non-payment of undesired service. Do not refer the bill for unwanted service to a collection agency.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/16) */ Service has been terminated for this client as per their cancellation request filed on 3/2/15, as per our terms of service the customer agreed to at the time the service was first signed up for. No other authorized cancellation notices had been received prior to 3-2-15. Customer was refunded $64.95 on 3-2-15. No other payments have been received from the customer since 3-13-14. We continue to issue invoices and take payment/or send late notices until accounts are cancelled per our terms of service. This protects the customer, as they are required to have the credentials known only by the customer, to logon and cancel the account. This prevents unauthorized people from maliciously discontinuing hosting accounts and is industry standard practice. This customer should no longer receive bills/notices from us as they no longer have any active services.

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: will not release my domain name to another host nor will they allow cancellation of the Machighway acct. support tickets have been ignored. Years ago I had a Machighway acct -it is where I first established my domain name ********************** and where I uploaded my website to for hosting. In september 2014 I wanted to discuss an email change and acct info with Machighway, but had no way of contacting them by phone. the emails went unanswered. so I cancelled my hosting plan with them and moved to *********** where I built my website. However, my website was never functional because Machighway did not point the servers to ********** as i had requested online through the control panel several times. Since they are the holder of my domain name, my hands were tied and I could not have a functional website. I left ********** in January because I was paying monthly for a site that did not operate. I went back to Machighway with a hosting plan thinking this would dove the issue, but then discovered that I would have to pay an additional fee for a site builder through them. Again, no phone and no way of discussion the issue with anyone, so I opened another support ticket. Just like before it went ignored and I just received a bill for hosting. In order to resolve this issue, I want my web hosting cancelled with Machighway and I want the servers pointed to ns1 & ns2 @ I would like my domain name to be hosted there as well because I do not want to deal with these people again. It is a nightmare to get anything done.

Desired Settlement: point the servers to ********* as requested and transfer domain management to them as well. It is simply too difficult to do business with machighway because you cannot discuss issues with a live person and emails/support tickets go unanswered.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/20) */ *****, Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I've reviewed your case and I believe that there may be some misunderstanding that I'd like to clear up, if I'm able. Your web hosting services are currently active, as you state. Our cancellation procedure requires that you request cancellation through the client area at - You can find direct instructions for doing that here: If you have lost your client area login, you can reset the password by visiting: Your domain name, **************** is not registered through MacHighway, but through That may have been the reason you found us unable to help with transferring that registration elsewhere. As far as contacting us, we do offer support via chat, forums, and support tickets. In reviewing your account, I see that you have established 2 accounts with MacHighway, under 2 different email accounts. The older of the 2 accounts, which is fully cancelled, is under the email address ********** The second account, which is open, is under the email address *********** On the account with the active hosting for *************** I'm showing 2 support tickets. One, ticket XXXXXX, from 2/9/15 claiming you haven't heard from us in 5 days. **** replied 5 minutes after the ticket was received with cancellation instructions. There was no response from you. The second ticket, ticket XXXXXX, was received on 2/18/15. **** again replied with cancellation instructions. You replied asking how to move your domain name away from us. **** again replied with instructions for cancellation. It should, again, be noted that this customer record has no attached domain name registration. The other account, under **********, which has all cancelled services, received a support ticket from you, ticket XXXXXX, with the subject line: "first of all - this is the wrong email address - my email address is ***********". This was received by our support department on 2/4/15. *** ** had replied to this ticket with cancellation instructions within one hour of our receiving this. We received no further response by you. These interactions can be verified through your respective client area logins. I'm sorry that you have never received these messages and I would encourage you to review your spam or junk folders within your email program, on that chance that they were filtered into there. I hope this clarifies the issues your having and provides some direction to cancel your open hosting package with MacHighway. If you have a further need not addressed in this reply, please let me know. Thanks, ***** ******** Vice President, MacHighwa

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not sure if I selected the right box, issue is and i have lot of back up of the communications. MacHighway has failed to deliver services contracted I have been working with Mac Highway for a few years. I have documented proof of my repetitive issues. These issues now are costing my business greatly. I have lost my patience and my temper after the same issue coming up over and over. When you look on social media or web hosting review sites you see I am one of many yet I get no where with their support team. As I said I was going to print all the tickets and communication to put together my case to show how terrible their derive is they told me that was a threat of legal action so they will no longer help me and will now be canceling my hosting. It does not seem right that they can do this. Their system needs to be able to solve these issues or say they are a Mom and Pop shop and one that want not represent new entrepreneurs. I have all the emails for the last many months showing where they say they are sorry it was their system issue and others where I go back forth for days until finally they realize their system blocked the IP address again. Again, if it were only me I might just move on, but it is not only me and checking out their online representation as of late shows that. My problem is with their lack of help and their threats now toward me because I said I was going to take all my support tickets and put together a case against them is just terrible business. I am under immense pressure and stress from the weeks of lack of service and system not working. This is harming my itty bitty business and hurting my clients one of which is a wife who is dealing with her husbands stage 4 lung cancer. They threaten to remove the domains and hosting on June 24th. What do I tell that wife? It is just not right. I have gone on enough and apologize for that but you have no idea how challenge and difficult their rote communication has been. Thank you for listening and feel free to reach out to me for copies of the tickets and email communications over these last months with Mac Highway.

Desired Settlement: My preference is for Mac Highway to fix the issues that have been causing this exact same blocking issue to happen over and over again and get me back on line now. If they cannot do that I want a full refund for this last year filled with complaints and for the domain I paid for yesterday as there was a thought that that was why the blocking was happening. (btw this was a cancelled domain, I know that was only 11 bucks but it is the point of it that I only paid because of the possibility that this was why the account kept getting blocked. Simple summary. First preference - get the issues fixed and not recurring. Second preference - a full refund of the $99.50 plus the $11 from yesterday and I want their assistance to move to a new hosting. Thank you for taking the complaint under consideration.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/13) */ ********, I'm sorry that you feel that MacHighway hasn't delivered on outstanding customer service. I've reviewed your ticket in full as well as your tweets. Please allow me to address your issues, as I see them, point by point: "MacHighway has failed to deliver services contracted." While I understand your perspective on this, I have verified that your web and email hosting services have been running, with negligible amounts of downtime, for the entire time you've been a customer. The problem is that you, specifically, were/are locked out of the server from your location. This lockout, it was determined, was caused by repeated attempts to login with incorrect email passwords from your location. This is a security measure to prevent nefarious parties from being able to try an abundance of passwords in an attempt to gain access to your account and our servers. You are immediately able to remove this lock by logging into your client area, which, the screenshots you've sent along show, you've done on multiple occasions. Though, I understand that you may not have been aware that you were removing the IP blocking when you did it. This was conclusively determined, based on the screenshots that you'd delivered, by ***** on Monday 9th June at 08:43. ***** also noted in his reply the steps required to resolve this issue, which would be to change your email passwords on the server side and then update them on your local mail programs. This solution was reiterated in most every reply on the ticket since the time that the source of your issue was discovered. " When you look on social media or web hosting review sites you see I am one of many yet I get no where with their support team." In all fairness, I'd suspect that you could pick any major hosting company and find an abundance of negative reviews. Web hosting is still a very complicated business that requires a high level of expertise and clear communication. While we always strive to improve our processes and close the communication gap, we will, unfortunately, fall short at times. "As I said I was going to print all the tickets and communication to put together my case to show how terrible their derive is they told me that was a threat of legal action so they will no longer help me and will now be canceling my hosting. " On a reply that you posted on Tuesday 10th June at 15:05, you wrote: "I am getting so angry I am ready to reach out legally and see about a class action lawsuit againt MacHighway." This, in our eyes, is a threat of legal action and I think it would be hard to interpret it as anything less. Despite that initial threat, we continued to offer you support. We had delivered 10 replies to you beyond that threat of legal action - all within 24 hours of your replies to us. In a reply from you on Wednesday 11th June at 16:40, you wrote: "I will be gathering all this communication to support my case against Mac Highway to show how for days and days the support team cannot unlock my account." This statement alone was telling us that despite the work of several people on our end, honoring your requests for escalated support, and repeatedly offering you steps to resolve your issue, you had full intentions to use our communication not to rectify your situation, but against our representatives and our company. Couple the above statement with your earlier threat of legal action, and we felt that it was no longer beneficial to you or our company to continue our immediate dialog or long term professional relationship with you. To support this decision, I offer two points from our Terms and Conditions that you agreed to when you signed up for services with MacHighway: 8. Use of the Services ... You agree to cooperate with us to facilitate your use of the Services. This cooperation includes, but is not limited to, providing us with correct contact and billing information and ensuring that you, your employees, and/or agents have sufficient technical expertise to understand how to implement the Services. 6. Termination ... iv. Termination for Your Violation of Our Policies We reserve the right to immediately suspend the Service and/or terminate this TOS: (i) for a violation of any of our policies, including those incorporated by reference; and/or (ii) your failure to pay any amounts due. This right of termination is without prejudice to any other rights we may have. You are not entitled to any type of notice or protest should we exercise these rights, nor will you receive a refund of any Fees. "I have all the emails for the last many months showing where they say they are sorry it was their system issue and others where I go back forth for days until finally they realize their system blocked the IP address again. " I believe you may be interpreting at least a couple of different issues as having a single cause. We have been very open that one of the Data Centers that we lease colocation services from has been the source of several system wide outages. We have been taking aggressive action to move away from this data center. In fact, the server in question was migrated to a new data-center on May 27, 2014. As we reiterated multiple times, the root of the current issue was that you have 2 email addresses that were attempting to login with a password that wasn't recognized by the server. When this happens repeatedly, the IP of your computer is blocked from accessing the server. *****, believing that you were aware of how to unblock your IP address as you sent multiple screenshots from the unblock screen, delivered you next steps to resolve this situation. When it became clear to ****, from your responses, that you didn't understand how to unblock yourself, **** delivered the following reply on Wednesday 11th June at 14:28: "So to reiterate. Step 1: Turn off all applications and devices checking email on the *************.com account (including any emails setup under addon or parked domains for safe measure). Step 2: Unblock your IP through the client area following the instructions provided. ********************************************************************************* Step 3: Once unblocked, log into your cPanel and change all email passwords *** the instructions provided and then make sure to save the updated passwords ** every device/applications checking mail via the *************.com account. *********************************************************************************** Despite notification that we could not resolve this on our end as it was being triggered from your IP, and delivering steps to resolution, we received responses from you such as: Wednesday 11th June at 15:20 "Fix this Blessed thing ASAP I have about had it." Wednesday 11th June at 16:40 "I NEED YOU TO REALLY CARE AND GET IN THERE AND UNBLOCK MY ACCOUNT." And even in this BBB complaint, your request for resolution says: "My preference is for Mac Highway to fix the issues that have been causing this exact same blocking issue to happen over and over again and get me back on line now." The issue, as best as we can tell and according to our log files, which we've delivered your copies of on Tuesday 10th June at 15:42, show this issue being caused by repeatedly attempting to login with incorrect passwords for the email addresses ****@*************.com, and ********@*************.com. Unfortunately, this is not something that we can correct from our end. It requires that you take the steps that **** outlined. As **** said on Wednesday 11th June at 17:00: "If you are having issues following the instructions ***** and myself have provided you may need to either try from a different network or get an IT person or consultant involved." In all correspondence, I'm showing that we've been honest and forthright about the root of the problems you've experienced, offered steps to resolution, and when there was any question about the root of an issue, we've asked probing questions in an effort to troubleshoot the problem so that we could source the root with your assistance. As for resolution, where the $99.50 hosting cost is concerned, you have received value for at least some of these funds, as they were paid in January and we have provided web and email hosting services. When ***** notified you of termination on June 24, 2014, he did offer to refund you for any unused hosting services and we will honor that refund. I don't see any charge for $11 on your account. Can you please provide us with an invoice number? As for resolution to the immediate problem, if ***** and **** have not made it clear, I certainly hope that I've helped to clarify the root of the problem, why it can't be resolved by us, and the steps that you would need to take to resolve the issue on your end to prevent this blocking. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While I very much appreciate the timely, professional and what appears to be a detailed response it is not accurate and continues to not address the core issues. Of in which there are 2. First - No passwords were ever entered in error. We use outlook for email which when you set up each email account you enter the servers name, passwords. etc. In this method similar to any Apple device like an iPad or iPhone or a blackberry a person never is prompted to enter their password. The only time you ever enter a password is when you go into the main system settings and change it. It is something the user does not the vendor. Unless of course they have a data breach but in those instances they send communication and directions on the fix. It is impossible that the password is suddenly wrong, as it is not entered it is transmitted via the system with no human interactions. I have asked, begged and pleaded for several months with Mac Highway to fix this issue as it is a repeated issues to no avail. This time is worse as it is unfixable on my end if I cannot access my own Cpanel. The past several events even though frustrating at least working with support we could get things up in running. A customer in my opinion should never have to deal with a repetitive issue and I think it is important to keep in mind that this repetitive issue only started when MacHighway began migrating servers a year or so ago. Prior to that it did not occur. I think it also important to note that each time it occurred as mentioned above I asked the team to escalate the issue as it seemed there was something that should be solved. I would invest all the time to log into each account and re-design a password and then go to each device and system and enter the new one just be told to do it again in 5 weeks by Machighway. None of that has been cool but the last time when you changed the so much more of the UI and I cannot even get into the cPanel has been a nightmare. I wrote service ticket after service ticket and repetitively got canned answers about the ip lockout. Nobody ever helped with how to successfully get back into the cPanel. Second- You have detailed the same solutions your teams have, along with the same problem. Nobody at machighway is following up on the issue that I cannot get into the c-panel to do all the changes of passwords. You mention that they repeatedly told me what to do but you never addressed that what they told me to do could not be done without access the CPanel. I did consult a mac expert. He verified everything was done as instructed he also repeating things like clearing cookies etc. just to be extra sure. He confirmed the what I call locked out is not on my side. I do understand that the new black green box indicates the ip block is removed, as I shared in one of the many back and forth emails, but that the green and black block ip address clearing does not give me access to the cPanel. This means the repeated rote emails from support saying "to clear the block on the IP address and access the CPanel to change your password" have not been helpful, but instead stressful as I cannot access the CPanel. When I speak of incredibly poor service this is what I mean. The support staff all use nice words, beginning each ticket response with apologies, but those words and canned solutions are ineffective. I spoke of and saw over and over on review sites. I do agree you can find positive and negative on everything you want to, but not typically in theme this strong. Added with the fact machighway does not allow complaints to show on social feeds it does tend to indicate there are issues they are not being transparent. In answer to your comments about my threatening legal action you can see from the dates alone you shared how long this has gone on this time. Those first comments were out of exasperation trying to get someone at MacHighway to help. My business and I have been devastated by these issues. Not just this time but also in the past with this password issue (and again I am not alone). Can you imagine having to go back to clients and explain that the service you chose for their hosting has an issue and we need to set a new password, fixing all their devices and systems and then doing it again a few months later? It reflects on me in the end. We all want security, and count on machighway to deliver it, but MacHighway is sold as an easy hosting service for Mac users. Not for "Experts, etc.". The first time I did say something about see about getting together a legal class action with all the dissatisfied users. You guys ignored it because you knew it was just a very frustrated customer trying to get help. The second time it was exactly as I said getting my case of this issue together in the hopes of getting someone to listen which is why I never said legal. I printed and sent all support tickets with a plea for help to corp. office attn ***** ****** and for backup for this complaint to the BBB. For machighway to not only not fix the issue but to dump my account with a few days notice us not a professional response. This has left my business at grave risk and as it is still not solved it is potentially catastrophic. Little businesses like mine cannot afford to lose one customer let alone a more. All of this is compounded by the fact we still have zero access to everything we contracted with Machighway. All I have ever asked for is to get the service delivered we have paid for. That service is web email hosting. Yet on several occasions over the last year I have experienced these access issues and not been able to access any email accounts or hosting services. As I mentioned above this is a receptive and recent issue. I just want help and to see this issue end. Nothing has changed on my end, We are using all the same devices have not changed network providers, but a lot has changed on Machighway side, and since the changes began these issues have been occurring. I have taken large amounts of time to do everything your support teams have suggested including making and sending screen shots to show what happens. On the chance this is not being clear I have asked if we could talk it through on the phone but they said that Machighway will not allow tier 3 to talk on the phone. I have tried and tried, but as of today I still have zero access to these business email accts. and cannot access the FTP to work on their websites. You must understand how frustrating and devastating this is for a business? The invoice number for the only charge paid in the last month is #XXXXXX. On this I only paid because I thought maybe that was why Machighway had me shut out. I had set it up to not auto renew so to me is was not an overdue invoice, but you (machighway) kept sending me messages so I thought just maybe this would fix it which is the only reason I paid it. Odd that you cannot see the only bill paid last week I hope the invoice number makes it easier. In summary, I have not received the services I have paid for this year. I agree that if Machighway is not going to help me solve this I must give up and move on but I want a full refund. This refund is for all the lack of access and ability to work as well as the harm to my business over this last year of access issues. If you review all tickets you will see when this repeated issue began and how it ties into the work Machighway did no their side. Nothing has changed on our end. We do not enter passwords. So no possibility of human error. OR if Machighway will jump in and help fix this current issue and take steps to find out the whys so it can not repeat I would be happy to stay as it is a large and expensive burden to move everything. Hope that this is resolved soon. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/06/25) */ ********, Yes, as noted that we would on June 13, 2014, we ended your contract with MacHighway on June 24, 2014 and issued you a refund for unused services. While it's of little consequence now since the contract was terminated, if the instructions for resolution were not successful, you would need a consultant or local IT Professional to help resolve the issue as it would not be a problem that we would be able to assist with, be it because the instructions were not being followed correctly or because there is a physical limitation occurring on your local network (which we would not have access to or the ability to rectify). This is consistent with our recommendations in the support ticket dating back to June 13, 2014. I hope that you understand that by June 11, we had reached the limit of instruction that we could supply based on the problems that you were having. There were simply no other steps to try once the root of your issue had been conclusively discovered. I'm sorry that our attempts to assist and satisfy this situation weren't found to be acceptable. We wish you the best of luck with you new hosting provider and all future endeavors. Thanks, ***** ******** Vice President, MacHighway Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No it is not resolved. I am still unable to get any help from support as they will speak to our office or tech. They clam they were threatened with legal action. This is still not resolved. Just to be clear all step instructed by MacHighway were done each and every time. Most times we/I took screenshots as they were being done. It never worked. Over and over and over we tried to no avail. When MacHighway began making changes to their systems and servers and this started happening we could work with support to get back online and access our stuff. This last time we could not. Is MacHighway still saying they are ending my contract with them on the 24th of June? I am not clear by the last response. It sounded like they were offering some kind of courtesy refund, I am just fine to stay where I am get no refund but get assistant fixing the issue.

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Request to cancel hosting services, according to contract, was not honored. I was billed & they broadcast on internet that my account was suspended. I had no complaints about MacHighway until I chose to not to renew the hosting of my domain. As specified in the contract, I put the request to cancel hosting in writing on January 23, 2014. They never accepted or honored my request. Next began a series of phone conversations, emails and support tickets telling me that they did not accept my cancellation and instructing me to fill out a form. Billing for the hosting and the domain were combined without a n option to pay only one service.. Since I chose to maintain the domain name, I wanted a separate bill for that. That request was ignored for weeks. Numerous support tickets were opened. Finally, on Feb. 13 they separated out the domain billing, which I promptly paid. But the billing for the hosting continued throughout February and early March, finally threatening to suspend my account. SUSPEND A CANCELLED ACCOUNT? Are you kidding? After numerous emails and such? More support tickets and emails. The support employees acted as if I was doing something wrong. The last straw is that they have suspended this cancelled account and advertised that they suspended it for the world-- and my supporters and customers to see by replacing my home page with the announcement "Account Suspended". How dare they embarrass me and jeopardize my business by taking an action that sends a message to my vendors, customers, peers that I am delinquent.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to do what I requested 44 days ago: close my account with the reason "Customer does not want to renew" I would also ask that, as a good-will gesture to compensate me for all my time and aggravation, they change the name servers and IP on my domain to point to ********* so I can get started with a new hosting service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/05/22) */ *****, I apologize in advance for the delayed response. I also apologize but we've never received a cancellation request in writing. I am showing that you sent an email requesting cancellation, to which we replied with the instructions on how to cancel your hosting account. "We are sorry to hear you would like to cancel. You can submit a cancellation request for your hosting package(s) by following the instructions here: ******************************************************************************* If you have a domain name registered with us, you can set the domain name to not renew by following the instructions here: ******************************************************************************* Please let us know if there is a particular reason you are canceling or anything we can do to keep your business." As our instructions state, the way to cancel your MacHighway account is to login to the Client Area and set the account for cancellation there. This ensures, as much as possible, that this is a request coming from you and not from a party with nefarious intent. Instructions for canceling your account through our billing system can be found here: ******************************************************************************* Once you are logged into the billing system, you can update your nameservers by following the instructions here: ******************************************************************************* - though I'm showing that your domain name has since been transferred to a new provider. As far as the suspension goes, this is because we had not received a cancellation request (per the instructions cited above) nor payment on the open invoice. We had sent the following emails with the noted dates regarding the invoice and pending suspension: 1/23/14 - MacHighway Invoice 2/6/14 - Invoice Payment Reminder 2/7/14 - MacHighway Invoice Overdue Notice 2/13/14 - Invoice Payment Reminder 2/13/14 - MacHighway Second Invoice Overdue Notice 2/20/14 - Invoice Payment Reminder 3/7/14 - MacHighway Third Invoice Overdue Notice 3/8/14 - Service Suspension Notification I'm showing that you'd sent several emails and called several times requesting cancellation, and in each instance we'd responded by directing you to follow the required cancellation procedure. I appreciate your understanding and patience in this matter. If you have any other questions, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thanks, ***** ******** Vice President, MacHighway

5/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In spite of an unpaid November invoice I have made four subsequent monthly payments yet my service is still suspended. The following is a transcript of our email exchange. *4/8 - My initial inquiry by email. Why do I keep getting bills and paying them and I can't get to my website as it always says account suspended??? *4/9 - MacHighway reply Hello, Thank you for contacting support. Invoice XXXXXX was due on 11/21/2013 and never paid. All the invoices after that one has been. Our system sees this invoice as unpaid and calculates that it has been greater than one month since the due date and suspends the account. You can review your invoices in the Client Area by going to Please let us know if there is anything else we can help with. Thanks, ***** ** Technical Support Representative, MacHighway *4/9 - My email reply Whoa... you mean my payments have not been going to the oldest invoice?? You mean you have accepted all my later payments without having provided me any explanation as to why I am still suspended OR removal from suspension?? You mean.. that simply because your "system" is programmed a certain way that the payments I have made... 4 of them I calculate... have just been for no service at all??? You realize how stupid this sounds? You fix this idiocy or you can simply cancel my use of your service. *4/9 - MacHighway reply Hello, Thank you for your reply. Payments are applied directly to the invoices as opposed to the account. When an invoice is created, it has a set due date and our system will automatically attempt to charge the credit card on that date (if set to auto renew). If the charge is rejected or cannot process because of a problem with the card, it will send an email saying so, and attempt to charge the card the next day. It will attempt to charge the card three times, after that it will stop and at which point the invoice has to be paid manually. If the credit card is updated or will otherwise process normally by the time the next invoice is created and due, it will apply the charge as per normal. Invoices can be reviewed in the Client Area under the Billing tab and I would recommend that especially if you receive emails regarding a failure to charge the credit card. Thanks, ***** ** Technical Support Representative, MacHighway *4/9 - My reply That still doesn't change the fact that your "system" has accepted 4 payments since the November non-payment and I have received no service in exchange for those payments. You don't see a problem with this?? *4/9 - MacHighway reply Hello, Thank you for your reply. There were multiple emails sent regarding the payment that did not go through. If you would like I can attempt to process this invoice for you which, if it goes through, will have the account caught up and prevent further suspensions because of it. Thanks, ***** ** Technical Support Representative, MacHighway *4/9 - My reply If I pay (the unpaid November invoice) now do I get any sort of service credit for having paid for the last 4 months since November? *4/9 - MacHighway reply Hello, Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately we cannot offer any credits on the account because the issue was being caused by an invoice that had remained unpaid as opposed to something like a server outage. Thanks, ***** ** Technical Support Representative, MacHighway *4/9 - My reply Then effective immediately, cease all attempts to get any further invoices paid from me and terminate my account... which your computer program apparently doesn't realize. While my last 4 payments totalling about $20 really means nothing in the long run there's a customer service and ethics issue here. I will walk away having lost only $20 but you will not have my business anymore, which over the long term would be way more than $20. Someone over there has blinders on. Terminate, cancel, discontinue, whatever your jargon is, my account, invoices, whatever. This is a big world and I can go elsewhere. Adios.

Desired Settlement: Of course it's obvious that the disputed amount of my having paid four payments totalling $19.80 ($4.95 x 4 months) doesn't mean a lot in the long run. But it's their arrogance and total lack of customer service that appalls me. To somehow just erase the four payments I had because their computer program doesn't apply payments to the account properly is just nuts. I've terminated my association with them. Just give me a refund for services NOT rendered.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/17) */ Hello, I apologize that our responses were perceived as arrogance. It appears that our system had sent you an invoice plus 3 additional notices about this invoice not being paid. When you began to experience problems because of this, I see that we did our best to directly answer to that question. I understand that there's a gap between how you believe the billing system we use should behave vs. how it does behave, and I'm showing that we answered directly to those concerns. Unfortunately, we don't develop the widely used billing system that we run so we aren't able to modify it's behavior. If you have any other questions or requests, we'll be happy to field those. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The point still remains, regardless of how many emails your "system" spewed out to me, I have paid for four months.. I have given you four months of payments... and I have received nothing for it. Had I not terminated my relationship with you when I did I would still be paying monthly and you would just be keeping it, as if I were tossing money into a deep hole. Do you agree? Why do you keep defending your "system" as the holy gospel when common sense dictates you are simply taking money from me. I am due a refund, plain and simple. From a business standpoint you lost a paying customer because of defending your precious system. If I were the owner of your business I'd have you all fired. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/05/27) */ ****, I have issued you a courtesy refund totaling $19.85. I hope this resolves the issue for you. Thanks, ***** ******** Vice President, MacHighway Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I guess as a matter of principle actually, your company has received four payments since the November unpaid invoice and my account was suspended during that time. Your precious "industry standard" program never assigned any of those four payments to the past November unpaid invoice. Since my account had been suspended due to the unpaid November invoice it remained suspended for the following four months when I did indeed make payments. In effect, I paid you folks for four months of service that I never got. So.. refund me $4.95 x 4, representing the payment I did make for no service. You're a VP and you can't see the problem with this??

2/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This hosting company deleted 5 years worth of audio content for the podcast I created and hosted with them without warning or cause. Our podcast, hosted through MacHighway, has been recording weekly, hour long episodes to make available to thousands of listeners throughout the world. Machighway claimed these audio files were personal backup files that didn't align with their Terms & Conditions or Acceptable Use Policy. Though repeatedly explained that the files were not in violation, MacHighway ignored this information and deleted the files in question, and over 100 files that were unrelated to their original concerns. This was done without notice or consent. 5 years of my time is completely lost due to MacHighway's purposeful, malicious business activity.

Desired Settlement: These files were deleted without permission, awareness or consent, making my 5 years of service with them a complete throw away. I paid for the medium hosting package to allowing the storage space and bandwidth to support my podcast, but MacHighway deleted these files making my effort a complete waste of time, money and effort.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/02/06) */ Hello, We do have records informing Mr. ***** of the specific violation and the files in question. While Mr. ***** didn't agree with our assessment, our investigation still indicated that the files were an archive of data (which, I believe Mr. ***** also indicates in his complaint to you and his emails to us) which is prohibited by our Terms of Service, under Section 8, Use of the Services: "...Using your allotted space as an online backup, archive, storage, file exchange or mirroring service is not allowed. At all times use the file space exclusively as a conventional web site." A copy of the notice that we sent to Mr. ***** follows: (from Monday 2nd December 2013 at 12:09) *** *** **Please respond within 48 hours** Regrettably, your use of the file space on our server appears to be in violation of our Terms of Service. Specifically, "8. Use of the Services" (Please refer to Using your allotted space as an online backup, archive, storage, file exchange or mirroring service is not allowed. At all times use the file space exclusively as a conventional web site." Disallowing the use of server space for the purpose of online back up, archiving or transport is standard policy in the web hosting industry. The content in question is located at: /public_html/*** /public_html/******* /public_html/********** /public_html/******************** Reluctantly, we will have to delete the files in question after 48 hours from the time of this notice. Please contact us if you believe we are mistaken about the purpose of the files. We understand that the data may be important and you may not have a local copy so we'll give you time to download the data if you need it (industry practice is to simply delete the files immediately). If you do need space for online backup, archive or transport there are many services available for just that purpose, such as Dropbox ( Mediafire ( RapidShare ( Mozy (, Carbonite ( and Amazon S3 ( - Videos should be hosted through YouTube ( or Vimeo ( Please let us know if we can be of further assistance. :) -- Thanks, ***** T. *** Additionally, and covered under those same terms, our service is not meant to be used as online backup. As Mr. ***** indicates in his complaint to us, to BBB, and in various online forums, he did not have a backup of the files locally, meaning that he was using the files on the server as an online backup, archive of those files. Further to that point, in our Terms of Service, section 10. Representation and Warranties, Article ii. Your Representations and Warranty, "You represent and warrant to that: ..(vii) that you will make back up copies of your data, even if you purchase "back-up" services from, so that you can access and use it when needed. does not warrant that it backs-up any account, user content or other data, and you agree to accept as a risk the loss of any and all of your data.;" Mr. ***** agreed, as part of his hosting with MacHighway, that he will have backup copies of his data. Again, we did send Mr. ***** a Terms of Service violation notice, we did discuss and justified why his files were in violation from our standpoint- noting the specific portion of the terms of service. We allowed extended deadlines so that Mr. ***** could make backups of the files and, lastly, we have email from Mr. ***** saying: "Posted on Friday 6th December 2013 at 12:00 I'll have them deleted by about 3 or 4PM today. Cross my heart" Unfortunately, there's nothing further we can do. We did our best to work with Mr. ***** in resolving this. We believed that we'd come to a mutual understanding per his own response noted above. We hope that this clarifies the situation.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart