BBB Accredited Business since

The Space Store

Phone: (877) 698-0704 Fax: (303) 770-0696 View Additional Phone Numbers 5479 S Shawnee Way, Aurora, CO 80015 http://www.thespacestore.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Space Store meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Space Store include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Space Store
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 12, 2007 Business started: 09/27/2006 Business started locally: 09/27/2006 Business incorporated 09/27/2006 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brett D. Anderson, Owner Ms. Laura Anderson, Co-Owner Ms. Heather Zurell, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett D. Anderson, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Heather Zurell, Manager
Business Category

Internet Shopping

Hours of Operation
24 hours 7 days a week
Alternate Business Names
Countdown Creations

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order was delivered almost 4 weeks after my account was charged. Two lapel pins are missing. I wasn't informed when I placed the order. I placed the order (# ***** on 10/03/14. My credit card was charged 10/06/14 $49.07. The order was a set of 13 lapel pins of the Apollo Mission. Since I did not receive the order and it had been almost 4 weeks I called the store 10/29/14 and spoke to Mr. ***** ********. He told me he could not find the tracking number but he would send me the order. I received it on 10/31/14. However, the order is missing the Apollo 11 and Apollo 13 pins. I called and left two messages and sent an e-mail but have received NO response. I want the 2 pins missing ASAP or I would like to return the 11 pins received for a refund and buy the set in another store which there are several. There was no info. given when I placed the order that the set would be mailed in pieces. I would certainly not have bought it from the Space Store.

Desired Settlement: The Space Store needs to send me the two missing pins by Nov. 14, 2014 since this set was intended as a birthday gift. If they are unable to do this I would like a refund for the complete set plus a UPS label prepaid by The Space Store to mail the incomplete set back.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/12/03) */ I called Mr. ***** ******** once more 11/19/2014 and he said he was waiting for a large shipment of pins from a company and as soon as he would hear from them he would ship me the two pins missing from my order. I was not too pleased with that. The next day Mr. ******** called me again and told me the company was shipping the two pins missing from my order directly to me. That I should received them in a couple of days. The pins were shipped 11/24/2014 and I received them right after Thanksgiving. All is well. I understand Mr. ********'s problems with his supplier. I just wish he had informed me when I placed the order that two pins were missing but would be sent in a few days. Not happy with his lack of communication which produced anxiety/stress on my part. I think, however, he has acted with diligence and good faith in solving the problem.

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not received my product despite ordering it three months back and there have been no significant efforts from the seller to ensure delivery. I placed an order with space store for an astronaut suite for my son on 10/26/2013. The order number is XXXXXX. I got a notification that order has been shipped by USPS and received a USPS tracking number CJXXXXXXXXXUS. The USPS site shows that they have only received electronic notification but the shipment has not been received. I have been contacting space store CEO but havent received any commitment to deliver the product not find out where my product is.First, he blamed Indian customs stating that 20% packages shipped to india are either lost or stolen at customs. Then he said that its USPS fault. I have been requesting to atleast cancel my order and refund my money but there is no commitment, either to deliver what is due to me or refund my money.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of my money. If that is not possible, they can ship a replacement to an address in US, if not in India due to issues with USPS. I want this matter to be resolved as it has been three months now and it was a gift for my 05 year old son.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/22) */ Customer M. ****** ordered this astronaut suit costume on October 26. We shipped the space suit to his shipping address in India, via US Postal Priority. The label number is CJXXXXXXXXXUS. The customer never received the package, so when he let me know this, I called US Postal. They informed me that a case cannot be filed until 30 days after shipment. I filed a case, #DEXXXXXXX in December. They said it takes 30 days. So, I called yesteday for an update. I waited 25 minutes on the phone in hold. They finally spoke to me and said the inquiry began on December 17. They could not find the package, so on January 8, they have escalated the case to 'level 2'. This involves getting involved at customs in India. They informed me they would let me know their findings as soon as they have information. M. ****** has writted disparaging things about me and my business on various sites and is causing me and my business damage. We did nothing wrong. I am doing my utmost to get this resloved. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I havent placed order with USPS so I will not follow it up with them. I placed an order with Spacestore and they are responsible for delivery. This enquiry cannot go for eternity as spacestore has already cashed the amount i paid. Moreover, their website has not published anything that i wrote. Further, as per the chronology of events provided by me, it is apparent that spacestore did not respond to me in a standard way. There has to be a way ahead and i i proposed one which i feel i fair considering the lack of responsibility displayed by spacestore thus far. I once again reiterate that non-delivery of product by USPS is not MY problem. And spacestore can keep following up with them or refund my money as they have already cased it. In this situation, i am the loser and not them as they claim to be. And with such irresponsible trade practices that they have shown so far, they ought to be penalised more, but i am not pressing for any and am only asking to either ship me another package or refund my money. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/01/28) */ I have followed the procedures that are known and accepted as standard in this unfortunate situation. When a package is not delivered, I contact the US Postal services. I gave them the tracking number, which is CJXXXXXXXXXUS. US Postal then traced the package and could not find it. They then escalated the case, # DEXXXXXXX to 'level 2'. This was on January 8th.They informed me that as soon as they conclude their findings, they will give me their answer and resolution. The customer is free to call XXX-XXX-XXXX to inquire about the case, if he wants. When I hear back from US Postal, I will immediately let all parties know the results. I am not asking the customer to propose a resolution to the damage caused, by putting disparaging comments about myself or business on the internet. The losses and damages incurred by these comments is far more damaging than the lost package, that was not a result of anything I or my company did. Consumer Response /* (2000, 24, 2014/03/15) */ From: ******* ****** Sent: Saturday, March 15, 2014 6:42 AM To: ******* ******** Subject: Re: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX) Hello *******, The Space store shipped a replacement package to a US postal address (a friend of mine, who in turn sent it across to me. I received the package today and the contents are good. Thanks for handling my complaint and i am sure your intervention has resulted in a fair closure of the complaint. Regards ******

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order was not shipped/delivered, however my credit card was charged. Product was ordered on 12/19/13 and stated would arrive in 3-5 business days. My credit card was immediately charged. On 12/26 I phoned to inquire on the status of my order and was informed that the item ordered was back ordered and would ship in 1-3 months. I requested a credit on my charge card and am still waiting. Standard policy in on-line ordering is the the card should not have been charged till the product was shipped. Under these conditions the company is paid months in advance.

Desired Settlement: This company needs to refund money paid to them where they have not shipped product. By no means would it be acceptable for the seller to keep money without delivering product. Other buyers need to be made aware of these questionable tactics.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/27) */ We did receive Mr ****'s order on December 19th. His order was sent to shipping for processing. Orders are then picked, packed and shipped. I was not personally involved, as I am the owner and working in the front office. My shipping manager recalls this order and when the item was not found in stock, in the size the customer ordered, followed policy, by emailing the customer. The order was placed in the backorder file in shipping. I did not know about this order, until Mr.**** called me on December 26th. I explained the situation and he was extremely upset, to which I apologized and immediately credited his AMEX Card back in the full amount of $17.11. This credit takes 2-4 business days to appear in his account. We are extremely sorry about this incident. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/01/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This business owner is still being deceptive and avoiding the relative issues. The facts are: he did NOT send any email - nor can he produce such email - informing me of a 2-4 month delay due to the item being backordered; he charged my credit card immediately upon receipt instead of waiting till the order shipped; he had no intention of returning my money till the BBB got involved. The public needs to be made aware of these questionable actions on the part of this business. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/31) */ I have accepted responsibility for Mr ****'s order. As owner, I am responsible. When orders are sent back to shipping, they are processed, packed and shipped. If an item is out of stock, the customer is emailed. This email does not come from my email, but from shipping. The realtime inventory module does not work on a Yahoo Store. This is one reason I am in the process of getting off of Yahoo and onto Volusion. Mr **** was not only extremely upset, but wanted the names of my employees, the names of my suppliers, and informed me that I had better contact my attorney, as he was going to elevate this matter. I gave him the name of my employee, and she is not my wife. I also gave him the names of my suppliers. Furthermore, Mr **** stated "your business must be very profitable". This was beyond anything pertaining to his order and for me to remedy the situation. Truth is, my accountant told me to file bankruptcy back in May. I refused and instead sold my home, to save the business. I essentially have lost my home and my sons do not understand why I lost our home. It is too painful to tell them about the failing business. I am still struggling to stay open. I moved the business in September, to save on rent. I have done everything I can, to stay in business. Our losses will be over $100,000 for 2013 and I have hired a consultant to help us find ways to stay open. I did credit Mr ****'s credit card back immediately, during his time on the phone with me. I am truly sorry that we didn't have this shirt in stock and what that meant to Mr ****, in not receiving it. I am sincere in all matters that pertain to my customers, suppliers and employees. I sincerely apologize for this matter. ***** ********