BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Shades of Gray Tactical, Inc.

(720) 334-764810228 Progress Ln, ParkerCO 80134-4044

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Shades of Gray Tactical, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Shades of Gray Tactical, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Shades of Gray Tactical, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
03/17/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Non delivery of orders and no response from company after numerous emails
I ordered items on the 3rd October 2014. Payment went through and goods were shipped with USPS. I received a tracking number.

October 10, 2014 , 1:55 am
Arrived at USPS Facility
October 8, 2014 , 11:13 pm
Departed USPS Facility
October 8, 2014 , 6:43 pm
Arrived at USPS Facility
October 7, 2014 , 3:29 am
Departed USPS Facility
October 7, 2014 , 1:55 am
Arrived at USPS Origin Facility
October 7, 2014 , 12:40 am
Accepted at USPS Origin Sort Facility
October 4, 2014
Pre-Shipment Info Sent to USPS

On october 10 there was no more movement on the items. I spoke to *** numerous times about resending the order. He told me to wait and wait and wait. Eventually being fed up i asked him to please ship it via FEDEX or DHL or any other reputable courier company. Nothing has been done as of today and it has now been nearly 4 months. I have sent numerous email, called the shop (no one answers) and left message on their facebook account.

Desired Settlement
Either give my money back or ship the products the way i want them. Your service is pathetic.

Business Response
We have shipped this order two times now. The post offices inability to deliver the package is not our fault.

To run business, we cannot keep shipping things out over and over again. Our last correspondence was in November.

If you would like a refund, please ask. We will be refunding your money.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Where is the tracking number for the 2nd shipment? And why did you send it with the post office once again? What part of DHL or FEDEX is not understandable?

Final Business Response
refund completed

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you

07/24/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

I made an order the 28th of Dec 2012 and was charged $64.36. I never received the item. I have contacted the company 4 times. It has been 7 months.

I made an order for a "Troy ambidextrous magazine release" on the 28th of December 2012. I was charged $64.36 for the item at the time of purchase. Here are details of the order:

Order Number: #****.
Order Date: 28th Dec 2012
Item: Troy Ambidextrous Magazine Release
Item Price: $55.99
Shipping Price: $6.75
Tax: $1.62
Total charged to my Visa card: $64.36

At the time several businesses dealing in weapons and weapon accessories were being overwhelmed with orders. I assumed this was the case with Shades of Grey Tactical and giving them the benefit of the doubt waited for an order which never arrived.

Finally after about a month I contacted them via email on Jan 27th 2013 inquiring about the item. I received no response. After not hearing from them again I called and left a message about a month later (as per the website) leaving my contact information with no response again.

I wrote a follow up email June 26th 2013 which went through the whole ordeal starting with the order in December of 2012. After going on the website and attempting to view the status of my order, I attempted to change my password and suddenly got an email from Shades of Grey on June 26th 2013 simply stating the following:

"We will check and make sure the post office didn't lose if, and if not we will ship it"

I waited with no follow up, and proceeded to send another email July 02nd 2013 again with no reply. Finally I sent yet another email July 11th 2013 again with no reply.

The last email I sent was detailing my dissatisfaction with the business and the way they have handled my case, and my decision to contact the BBB in the hope that this would result in some action on their part.

This is a response to what I view as negligence, unprofessional behavior, and horrid customer service. I feel I have done nothing wrong or out of the ordinary after having paid for an item I ordered nearly 7 months ago and following protocols set forth on their website.

Desired Settlement
I would like the order I made sent to me. Here are the order details:

Order Number: #****.
Order Date: 28th Dec 2012
Item: Troy Ambidextrous Magazine Release
Item Price: $55.99
Shipping Price: $6.75
Tax: $1.62
Total charged to my Visa card: $64.36

If this is not possible I would like a full refund of $64.36

Business' Initial Response
This item shipped on 071713 usps and the tracking number is **********************. I don't believe the customer is receiving my emails as he has not responded to them. I think they may be going to his junk mailbox.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received the item on July 19, 2013 after receiving a set of emails, all within the same evening of July 14, 2013 telling me the following:

"Coopy...I will refund your money. I cannot make Troy ship me anything, and we are forced to wait along with you.."

"Please either email or fax your CC number, as this order is over 6 month old and we are unable to refund without re-entering your CC number."

"I was able to make some calls and track one of these down....should ship today and I will send you tracking number when I get it"

Mind you this is after nearly 7 months with minimal replies to my several emails inquiring about my order.

If the concern was that the manufacturer hadn't sent the item than I don't understand how a simple response explaining this fact wasn't warranted? Better yet, why list the item on your website as though it is available upon purchase? Then why charge customers immediately for items which may or may not be in stock at the time?

Needless to say I am happy that this ordeal is over, and have learned a valuable lesson concerning where I spend my money. I will not be shopping at Shades of Gray from now on, and will make a point to let other people know of my experience. Clearly this isn't an isolated case as viewing the BBB website profile shows.

05/13/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

I completed my order on March 30th for $67.60. I have sent numerous emails with no reponse and have still not received my ordered products.
I ordered the following items totaling $67.60 with my Debit/Credit card order #****; Blackhawk STRIKE Platform w/speed clips Black part #BH 38CL63BK, Right handed Blackhawk Taser X-26 Serpa Duty Holster part #44H015, and Molon Labe OD Green PVC Velcro Spartan Morale Patch part #MOL-LAB-OD-Green. I sent an email requesting an order status on 04/07/13. I received a response on 04/08/13 stating that they sent me an email, I never received, asking if it was alright to change the taser holster from a plain finish to a matte finish. The plain finish was on backorder through their supplier and they stated as soon as I replied they would send me the matte finished one if I so chose. I replied immediately stating that I would allow for the change and take the matte finished one. They never replied to me stating that they received my reply. I sent an email on 04/16/13 to their customer service email address asking if they received my response. On 04/20/13 I sent an email to their sales email address stating that I sent one 4 days earlier to the customer service address and had still not received a response. One week ago I called them and left a voicemail detailing all of the emails I had sent that they never responded to. It has been over a month now and this is not right. The funds were removed from my account immediately upon purchase.

Desired Settlement
Best case scenario, I would like for them to just send me what I purchased. If they can not fill my order immediately, I would without question like my money returned in FULL.

Business' Initial Response
We will get on it...sorry it got lost. It has come in and is ready to ship. We have not received any additional emails. Again Sorry

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am okay with this resolution. I would just lake to make sure I receive the items a paid for without any further delay. I do not know what additional emails they are referring too, as I have not sent any since mid-April. If they have not received any of my emails then I think they need to check their emailing system because it might be malfunctioning. I expect that these items will arrive within the next 7 to 10 business days; if not I will have the complaint reopened through the Better Business Bureau without delay. I apologize to Shades of Gray if this caused any undo stress, but I just did not know what else to do. Thank you for the help and thank you to Shades of Gray for responding in such a timely fashion. I hope to receive my items soon. I can always be contacted at ************

08/26/2013Delivery Issues
02/11/2013Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/20/2009Business started: 02/20/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

Type of Entity


Incorporated: February 2007, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ian Ranshaw (Owner)
Business Category

Internet Shopping

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Shades of Gray Tactical, Inc.

10228 Progress Ln

Parker, CO 80134-4044

To | From


1 Locations

  • 10228 Progress Ln 

    Parker, CO 80134-4044

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Shades of Gray Tactical, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Internet Shopping


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.