BBB Accredited Business since

Professional Retail Service

Phone: (303) 280-2036 Fax: (303) 997-9542 View Additional Phone Numbers 451 E 124th Ave, Thornton, CO 80241 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.oldwillknottscales.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Professional Retail Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Professional Retail Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Professional Retail Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 06, 2010 Business started: 07/01/1990 in CO Business started locally: 07/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. William Knott, Owner/Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Knott, Owner/Director
Business Category

Internet Shopping Scales

Alternate Business Names
Old Will Knott Scales Oldwillknott Oldwillknottscales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Professional Retail Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 451 E 124th Ave

    Thornton, CO 80241 (303) 280-2036 (877) 761-0322

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales staff recommend a Gem Pro 250 scale for my needs.The staff is unknowledgeable about customer needs and sells items incapable of performance The Sales representative recommended a Gempro 250 for my reloading needs. The original scale had trouble with in 2 months and needed to be replaced. The replacement is doing the exact same thing I contacted the retailers and was pretty much told that I needed to send it in for repair. The problem is this model is incapable of performing the task and level of performance the retailer stated. I was sold a item that is not capable of the performance stated. Replacing the scale with a repaired model is not the answer. It will not solve the problem. I need an Item that is accurate and capable of repeated functions. This scale is not capable of that operation. The sales representative insured me that it was and I would have absolutely no problems. Now I have to spend shipment moneys for the second time to get this scale repaired or replaced again and it still will not solve the problem. All I want is my money back and I'll purchase a scale from a reputable knowledgeable retailer.

Desired Settlement: Simple I want my money back

Business Response:

Our generous 30 day return policy is clearly spelled out here:  http://www.oldwillknottscales.com/return-policy.html#ow-returns-myweigh

Mr. ******* purchased his scale on June 29, 2015. He first contacted us about a problem with his scale on October 5, 2015... 98 days after purchasing the scale, 68 days outside our 30 day return policy.

In the name of customer satisfaction, we went ahead and replaced the scale for Mr. *******, even though he was required to send the scale to the manufacturer for replacement under their lifetime warranty.

Mr. ******* contacted us again on 12/21/2015 about a problem with his scale (175 days since the original purchase, and 70 days since his replacement was shipped to him... both way outside our 30 day return policy). Since we had already gone out of our way to take care of the replacement (instead of the manufacturer replacing the scale as per the policy) we told Mr. ******* that he would have to send his scale to the manufacturer for replacement, instead of to us.

Once again, in the name of customer satisfaction, if Mr. ******* returns the scale to us, we will refund his June 29, 2015 purchase. He will need to reference order #******* on the outside of the box, and he will also need to jot down his tracking number for his reference, in case anything happens to his package on its way back to us.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

3/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Defective bathroom scale Received defective bathroom scale. spent one hour putting it together and trying to trouble shoot problem. batteries not working in unit. nothing coming up on scale. Defective unit. Was told may have restocking fee if unit is not defective. Assured customer service that unit is defective.

Desired Settlement: refund to credit card without threatened restocking fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/18) */ Good morning, We spoke with M----- on February 11 about her product not powering on, and from what we were told by M-----, it certainly sounded like the scale was defective. Our customer service representatives are instructed to, as a matter of course, advise the customer that if the manufacturer receives the product and they find that it is not defective, that the manufacturer charges us a restock fee, and that this fee, if charged to us, would be deducted from the refund. We in no way doubted that M-----'s product was defective, our CSR's are just obligated to advise our customers about the possibility of a manufacturer's restock fee. On that same day, we provided a UPS prepaid label via email, so that M----- could return the defective scale to the manufacturer, at our expense as it should be. We've checked the tracking number (1Z05R8VXXXXXXXXXXX) for the return of the defective scale to the manufacturer, and we see that they received it yesterday, February 17. We have refunded M-----'s order in full, which depending on her bank, she should be able to verify in 1-3 business days. M-----, if you have any questions at all, please don't hesitate to contact me personally... I'm here to help. Take Care, **** ***** Director Professional Retail Service 451 E 124th Ave Thornton, CO XXXXX (p) XXX-XXX-XXXX (f) XXX-XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Professional Retail Service
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart