This business is not BBB accredited.

Discount Mountain Software

Additional Locations

Phone: (866) 641-2563 Fax: (303) 531-2095 PO Box 11597, Denver, CO 80211 View Additional Email Addresses http://discountmountainsoftware.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Discount Mountain Software include:

  • 38 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 36 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Discount Mountain Software include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

38 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 18
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 38

Additional Complaint Information

BBB has identified a potential pattern of customer complaints. Specifically, customers allege delivery issues stating that the products they ordered were never received. Customers further allege customer service & product issues stating that their software will not operate once it is installed, and that the business will not respond to customer inquiries regarding the aforementioned issues. BBB contacted the business to address the complaint allegations however, there was no response.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Discount Mountain Software
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 2008 Business started: 05/01/2008 Business started locally: 05/01/2008 Business incorporated 05/01/2008 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matt Lockwood, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Lockwood, Owner
Business Category

Internet Shopping


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Discount Mountain Software has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1730 Blake Street Ste 430

    Denver, CO 80202 (866) 641-2563

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 11597

    Denver, CO 80211

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a Gfc-00020-brd windows 7 Home Premium up grade and it will not reload because I was not Given a product Key with product now Windows says it is a counterfeit product this is not what I purchased Now My computer is not working I cannot upgrade to windows 10 without a product Key Repeated calls gets no Action at all won't even answer the phone.

Desired Settlement: Supply me with a product Key or refund my money Invoice #******

5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: sold 2 copies of ********* ****** 2013 Professional Plus with invalid Product Keys sold 2 copies of ********* ****** 2013 Professional Plus with invalid Product Keys

Desired Settlement: refund

5/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Windows 7 Home Premium Full version OEM from Discount Mountain Software. Product gives invalid software message. Product gives message of invalid software key and/or I may be victim of 'false software'; visit microsoft website to obtain valid key or upgrade. I purchased Windows 7 from Discount Mountain Software(invoice #XXXXX), order:yhst-XXXXXXXXXXXXXX-XXXXX. When I received the disque, I called the company since it did not have the same label as the disque that I saw in the store. I still have the disque with the Dell labels on it and the envelope with the key codes. A note attached to the invoice states, "This software is brand new and will function the same as any OEM." I was assured by the customer service person that it would work as if purchased directly from *********; that it was a permanent operating system. For over a year, I have been attempting to get the company to provide a new, valid Windows operating system disque to me to no avail. Each time that I attempt to use the software I constantly get messages on my screen saying the key code is not valid, the screen goes black in the background and the software has and will shut down or will require a new password. I called other companies for assistance because DMS would not return any phone calls. Although they tried to provide assistance, I still have the same problem. I would like to obtain a valid copy of the Windows operating system software or receive a refund for the product that I purchased.

Desired Settlement: I would primarily like to obtain a valid copy of the current Windows operating system since the version I thought that I purchased is likely no longer supported. If this is not possible, I would like a refund in order to purchase the software elsewhere.

4/28/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me a counterfeit copy of Microsoft Windows 7. On 12/22/2013 I purchased the Windows 7 software from discount mountain online store for $87.00. I downloaded the product and entered the key code and it worked fine for 30 days. Since 1/2014 the software will not work and an error message comes up stating the product is counterfeit. The Order Id: XXXXXX.

Desired Settlement: I would be happy with either a refund or a genuine replacement. T have e mailed and called over 50 times with no response.

4/28/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Windows 7. It's product key is invalid. "This copy of Windows is not genuine." Contact company for help, no replies. November 9 of last year I purchased a downloadable copy of Windows 7 from the site for $74.99. For a few days, maybe a week or two it worked fine and then suddenly I started getting some inconveniences. Since it first started, I now constantly get notifications alerting me every 20 minutes or so that my copy of Windows isn't legitimate, telling me I need to activate it. When I re-enter my product key that I was given by the company, it says the key is invalid. I cannot use a desktop background on my computer because after a few minutes it will go black with the message imprinted in the bottom right corner of the screen "This copy of Windows is not genuine." In fact when I first log into my computer there's a pop up message asking me to activate my Windows. These may not be problems of monumental proportions but they are problems that shouldn't occur with the item I purchased. However the most important problem is that I've received no help from the company's customer support. Just a month after purchasing I emailed their customer service address, here's the email copied: "me Dec 16, 2014 To ***************@discountmountainsoftware.com Hi, just last month I purchased a downloadable copy of Windows 7 Home Premium from the Discount Mountain Software online store. It was working fine for awhile but then as of recently my computer keeps telling me that this copy of Windows may be illegal, the product key has been blocked by Microsoft, and that my copy of Windows isn't genuine. In order for me to be able to use a genuine copy I have to purchase another copy of Windows, or more accurately, another product key that is actually validated and that will cost me around $100. I hope you guys can help me resolve this otherwise that's like $75 I gave to you guys down the drain. I really don't want to have to spend nearly $200 just for Windows." As of today March 19, 2015 I never received a response for my email, just a confirmation email that they received it. 3 days ago I emailed them again in hopes of a response and still didn't get one. I called their number for help and even though I was within the service hours I received the message that I wasn't and thus didn't receive any help. Here's a link to my receipt: https://order.store.yahoo.net/OS/stat?yhst-XXXXXXXXXXXXXX+XXXXXX+bd3ad0608ae1d64da8ff

Desired Settlement: I'm not angry by the situation, honestly all I want from the company is either to give me a fully working replacement copy of Windows, one that hasn't been used before and has a valid product key. That or just a refund of what I paid so I can buy a legitimate copy myself elsewhere.

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Microsoft Office 2013 download and it did not work. Tried many times to contact customer service with no response. Refund requested. Purchased Microsoft Office 2013 download for $86.98 on 12/7/14. Order Id: XXXXXX Payment thru ******* The download did not work. I was able to make contact on 12/8 with customer service and he walked me thru a FIX IT program but did not want to stay on the line with me because it was "the end of his shift". He said to call back the next day if the FIX IT did not work. I have called a dozen times, left messages and emailed as many times and no one has returned my call or emailed me. I thought possibly he may have tried calling but there was no message and I only recognized the prefix of the number. No confirmation that it was Discount Mountain trying to contact me. I would have been more than willing to try and work this problem out with them but there has been no contact from them since 12/8/14. I received nothing for the money they received. My computer has actually had more problems than before the "download". I do not know whether it was not compatible or if it was the download they sent me to download on to my computer. If they could have walked me thru it and we could have gotten it to work it would have been fine. But, they chose to not work with me, not contact me or return my money as requested.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. And I would like to warn future consumers away from this Company. They are not trustworthy and should not be in business.

4/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought many copies of ** ****** 2013 software package from this company, most work but 5 of them do not have valid serial numbers for activation I bought many copies of MS Office 2013 Pro Plus but 5 of them have invalid serials numbers/activation codes, this making them not usable. I talk with Microsoft who stated I was sold illegal copies by Discount Mountain. When I have tried to contact them, no answer, no response, nothing.

Desired Settlement: I want either legal copies to replace the "bootleg" copies I was sold or I want a refund. Legal charges will follow if Discount Mountain doesn't respond to this.

2/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Digital Copy of Microsoft Word with fraudulent product code. I ordered a digital copy of Microsoft Word licensed for 2 computers. Product code given was a fraudulent number. Tried to contact both by phone and email. No answer or response. Copy of the order confirmation is below. This email is to confirm the receipt of your recent order from Discount Mountain Software *If you purchased a DOWNLOAD ONLY product*, please add ************************@gmail.com to your safe sender list. This product is delivered via email to your provided email address. We will send you the download link as well as the product key. DOWNLOAD ONLY orders are typically sent within 30 minutes of your order. All orders are subject to further review and may not be processed until the following business day if placed after 3:00pm Mountain Time. *If you purchased a PHYSICAL product*, please review our shipping guidelines linked below if you have any questions. http://www.discountmountainsoftware.com/privacypolicy.html. Please feel free to contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX or ***************@discountmountainsoftware.com with any questions regarding your order. Business Hours: M-F 8:00am-5:30pm (MST) Thank you and have a great day. You can always find out the current status of your order by going to https://order.store.yahoo.net/OS/stat?yhst-XXXXXXXXXXXXXX+XXXXXX+fXXXXXXXadca79b3f811 Date Mon Nov 24 09:03:32 MST 2014 Ship to *** ***** *** ******** **** ************** ** XXXXX ** ****** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX Bill to Same E-Mail *********@sumnerschools.org (emailed) Payment ********** Name Code Qty Each Options Microsoft Office XXXX XXX-XXXXX-dd 1 ****** Professional DOWNLOAD ONLY - Activates on 2 PCs - FOR PC ONLY NOT FOR MAC Subtotal 219.98 Shipping 0.00 Tax 0.00 Total 219.98

Desired Settlement: I want my money back.

2/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product not as advertised. On November 11, 2014, I purchased 2 of the product, Order #XXXXXX: MS Office 2010 Professional - Download Only, Activates on 2 computers I installed the software on 1 computer without issue, but when I went to install on the second computer, I received an error message that said it was an invalid product key. This happened with both products purchased. I emailed their customer support on 12/16/14, 12/17/14, 1/5/15 and 1/16/15 but recieved no response other than the auto-responder that notes the request has been received. I also tried to call on 1/16/15 and 1/19/15.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a valid product key sent to me, so that I can install the software on the other 2 computers. If that is not possible, I would like to have a refund sent to me.

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: product was ordered and never received. Company does not respond to any calls or emails. Our credit card was charged for this product. We purchased a Computer software program to be downloaded in December 18, 2014. I called for many days never getting a response via voice mail or emails. However, our credit card was charged $157.98 in January.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the amount charged to my credit card.

2/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Windows 7 Download and the license keys do not work. I have contacted the company by phone & email and am getting no response. I purchased Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium download with 3 license keys (order #XXXXXX) on November 15, 2014 for $202.38. I paid online by credit card. Installed the first copy in December and soon after got a message from Microsoft informing me the license key did not work. So I tried the other 2 license keys to see if they would work and all of them received the same message - that Microsoft had blocked them. I have tried to contact Discount Mountain Software directly by phone 3 times and left messages. I have contacted them twice by email and have received no response. In an email sent 1/16/2015 I asked them to respond by end of business day 1/19/2015 or I would contact BBB.

Desired Settlement: If the company is unable to supply me with valid 3 license keys, I would like a full refund of $202.38

2/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have emailed and left messages with company to attempt to get a refund. No one has called me back and the email is a system generated reply. On Dec. 3rd I purchased a downloadable version of Windows7 from Discount Mountain Software (DMS). Installed the software and used the product key provided to activate the software. After about a week or so my laptop was notifying me that there was an issue with Windows and my product key and it was not valid. I emailed DMS on the 12th with my order details and my issue with the product key. I received a system generated reply to my email stating they would contact me. Waited a few days no one emailed me. I called the company during business hours and left messages. No one called me back. I went ahead and contacted Microsoft to see if they could help me with the issue. After providing them with the product key I was told that it was not a valid product key and would not work. My order number for the purchase is XXXXXX I used my Visa credit card to pay the total was $67.47. I have made several attempts to call during business hours at random times throughout the next few weeks with no answer. Always goes to VM. I feel that this is a scam and that they should be investigated by the BBB. So as to protect other consumers. In summary I would greatly appreciate BBB letting me know what the findings are or if other consumers have filled complaints against this company. They are selling software that does not have valid product keys which I think should be illegal. Confirmed with Microsoft its not a valid product key. Product key provided to me for Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 OEM 64-bit download only Product code: GFC-XXXXX-dl Product key: *****************************

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the full amount $67.47 that was charged. I don't know how they can take funds and not provide a valid product/service.

2/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Microsoft Publisher 2013 and have been given an invalid product key so I cannot activate Publisher. Emails & calls have been ignored. We have never been able to properly activate our license to Microsoft Publisher 2013 purchased back in July. After a lengthy conversation with Microsoft Office support, we have determined that the key I was sold: Product Name: Microsoft Publisher 2013 DOWNLOAD ONLY - FOR PC ONLY NOT FOR MAC Product Code: XXX-XXXXX-dl Product Key(s): ***************************** is registered to email address "****************@hotmail.com" which I am not familiar with, nor have I ever had access to. I am afraid that this key has already been issued or put into use by another party, hence our inability to license the product legally under our own email address. I was sold a product key that had already been sold to someone else.Repeated efforts to contact Discount Mountain Software have been ignored My order number is XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded, or a product key sent to me that is legitimate.

2/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The activation keys they gave me for 3 copies of Microsoft Office 2013 are not recognized by Microsoft as valid. Purchased 9/2/14 - Order Id: XXXXXX Ordered online no sales rep. For 3 weeks I've tried emailing and calling repeatedly and no one will respond. I've tried every email address on the site and called numerous times at all hours and still no response. I payed via credit card. The first license worked but the other two will not. Now the first license is giving me trouble too. Tried to repair the install and it disappeared now it won't work either.

Desired Settlement: I just want real activation keys or my money back.

2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer service had not responded to email nor voice mail request for contact after 2 weeks. During office hours voice mail only, never live support. On X-XX-XX I purchased a Microsoft product from Discount Mountain Software, order number dms-XXXXXX for $84.98. I was provided download information at the time and it worked perfectly. After a computer problem the Operating System had to be professionally re-installed deleting the Microsoft product. In an effort to re-download the product, for which I have a product key, I have been unable to communicate with this company for authorization. Over the last two weeks I have called the provided phone number numerous times and it always connects with voice mail, or says I've called during off hours...not so. I have emailed them several times and have received no response.

Desired Settlement: First of all I would like to know why I have been ignored. Then I would appreciate authorization to re download the Microsoft product I purchase, in good faith, from them.

2/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Microsoft Office 2013 from them and found out recently that it is pirated. Microsoft asked me to contact them and they are not responding. I purchased Microsoft Office 2013 from them under order XXXXXX on 27th Aug 2014. Recently I had to reinstall the software as I formatted the computer and found out on trying to activate that the software is pirated. I had also purchased anther copy in September and upon investigation found that was pirated as well. The second purchase under order number XXXXXX Below is a snapshot of my purchases Aug 29, 2014 137.78 Sep 17, 2014 134.99 I would like immediate money back for my purchases.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund of purchase cost for both my items. Below is a snapshot of my purchases Aug 29, 2014 137.78 Sep 17, 2014 134.99

2/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Online purchase of Microsoft Office 2013 software. Microsoft activation server says the software keys are invalid. We placed 3 orders with discountmountain for a total of 16 copies of Microsoft Office 2013 Pro Plus, totaling $3806.59 They were sold as being able to activate on 2 computers. First activation was successful, second activation is where the problem reveals itself. According to Microsoft Activation servers, the keys provided are invalid. This means not even the first activation should have worked and if the software has to be reinstalled for any reason it wont work, and, the software is not legal.

Desired Settlement: Either refund all money or provide legal licensing for the software.

2/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased 4ea product keys to download Microsoft Office 2013 Professional software. Today I learned that the software sold was pirated and no good. We purchased 4ea product keys of Microsoft Office 2013 Professional software download. Each key was purchased separately at 4 different times. Today I learned that the software sold was pirated software and could not be reactivated. Apparently Micrsoft deactived these keys late last year. I now cannot transfer this software to replacement computers.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of software or refund.

2/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Microsoft Office Key Invalid Purchased Microsoft Office from them, tried to install and the key they gave me wouldn't work. I contacted Microsoft for assistance and they said the software key was invalid. I then contacted the vendor in question on 4 separate occasions for some sort of resolve. No reply, other than automated "we've received your..." worthless response.

Desired Settlement: A valid Office key or refund. As one might expect.

2/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company advertises and sells fraudulent copies of*******************. Purchased Download copy of ****************** from this company on 8/14/2014. After receipt of purchase, discount ***************** sends an email with the product key to register and activate the product with**********. We made several attempts to activate the software but********** is saying the product key is not valid. ******** ***************** is selling software and providing non-legitimate product keys, fooling the consumer into thinking that the product is genuine. Very dishonest and the owners should be prosecuted.

Desired Settlement: Seeking to retrieve 74.98 refunded to my account for what I paid for the *********

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered Microsoft Office 2013 Home & Business with two activations from Discount Mountain on 11/16/2014. The product only activated once. I ordered Microsoft Office 2013 Home & Business with two activations from Discount Mountain (http://www.discountmountainsoftware.com/) on 11/16/2014. My Order ID: order dms-XXXXXX Their product ID: T5D-XXXXX-dd Cost: $209.99 The first download and activation worked just fine on 11/19/2014. The second download worked, but would not activate with Microsoft on 12/14/2014. Two emails and two phone calls to Discount Mountain customer service have gone unanswered as of 12/23/2014. No one answered on either occasion, I left a message with my order# and phone number on both occasions. First email sent to ***************@discountmountainsoftware.com on 12/12/14: Hi, it seems there is a problem with my order. I bought a TWO activation version of Office 2013 (Product Name: Microsoft Office 2013 Home & Business DOWNLOAD ONLY - FOR PCONLY NOT FOR MAC - Activates on 2 PCs Product Code: T5D-XXXXX-dd) on November 16th. The Order Id is XXXXXX, and my email address is *********@Hotmail.com. I downloaded and successfully activated the first of two copies a few weeks back(Nov16/2014), but when I downloaded and tried to activate my second copy tonight it didn't activate. I got the following window after trying to enter the key. Note I directly pasted the key from Discount Mountain's email, at this point I don't see any way to verify the key entry. I also tried to activate it via the telephone activation wizard and that failed as well. Please let me know how we can get this fixed. Some details: New Windows 8.1 Laptop, i7, 16GB Ram, 240gb SSD Office 365 demo was uninstalled prior to download and install. Thank You, **** ****** Second email sent to ***************@discountmountainsoftware.com on 12/15/14: Please respond to my request below, this is my second attempt to resolve this. This new PC is a present and I can not move forward until I have the Office installed and activated. Thank you, **** ****** (Text from first email was attached)

Desired Settlement: I would simply like a replacement key so I can activate the product on a second computer. If a second key cannot be provided I would like a refund of 104.99 (half the original price)

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered Microsoft software that cannot be activated. I have left voicemail messages and emails with customer service. No response from company. The software order (Microsoft office) does not work and cannot be activated. The order is dms-XXXXXX. Several calls were made to their customer service number and no one ever answres the phone. I left a voicemail message at their customer service number and no one ever returned my call. When no one returned my call I sent an email with no response from the company. I am seeking a refund.

Desired Settlement: A refund of 86.98.

1/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Software purchased is not proper software - unable to contact. I purchased Microsoft Project 2013 from this firm in November 2013. The software was a download and I was sent a key. I recently upgraded my PC and when I went to activate the software I was advised by Microsoft that the software was flagged as pirated and that in fact it was a "Student/Teacher product which is not available to the public unless you are a teacher/student. I sent the firm an email - no reply. I went to their site and ALL software is "Out of Stock" and the phone is answered by the automated attendant with an outside normal business hours message. I called during normal business hours. the Contact us screen displays the following message - "We are experiencing technical difficulties and are unable to process any orders at this time. We apologize for any inconvenience caused." There is something wrong here!!

Desired Settlement: I would either like a valid product replacement or my money back. Microsoft has stated my only recourse is to repurchase the product.

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased software online. They did not send software keys. Can not contact email or phone Order Date: 12/10/2014 Order Number: dms-XXXXXX Microsoft Office 2013 Home & Student DOWNLOAD ONLY - FOR PC ONLY NOT FOR MAC $86.98 2 $173.96 Microsoft Office 2010 Home and Student DOWNLOAD ONLY - Activates on 1 Computer $84.98 1 $84.98 Subtotal: $258.94 Shipping: $0.00 Tax: $0.00 Total: $258.94 Paid via Paypal. Did not send email with Download links or keys. Went to contact us on their website saw message that says experiencing technical difficulties. Sent emails to all their listed contacts. Only got automated returns. Tried to call goes straight to voicemail. Tried different times of the day. No response. Opened Paypal claim.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BBB approved seller does not answer emails or calls. I found out that Microsoft is suing them for selling illegal software. Want my money back. I tried calling and emailing several times but Discountmountainsoftware does not respond. I checked and found out that Microsoft is suing them for selling illegal software. I purchased from them because Denver's BBB gave them an A rating! Below are the specifics for the "download Windows 7" I never got. Subject: order dms-XXXXXX from Discountmountainsoftware.com Date Wed Dec 10 13:05:49 MST 2014 > Ship to ****** ****** > **** ****** ** > ******** HI XXXXX-XXXX > US United States > XXX-XXXXXXX > Bill to Not Available > E-Mail ************@hotmail.com (emailed) > Payment PayPal > Microsoft Windows 7 Home GFC-XXXXX-dl 1 67.47 > Premium SP1 (OEM) 64-bit > DOWNLOAD ONLY > Subtotal 67.47 > Shipping 0.00 > Tax 0.00 > Total 67.47

Desired Settlement: I'd like a refund to my PayPal account.

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered Norton Antivirus - Never Received It I ordered Norton Antivirus from Discount Mountain Software and never received the email to download the product. The $29.99 charge is showing on my bank statement. I have called 6 times and received a generic voice message. I have left messages to call me back, but nothing. I emailed the company, but get an automated response. I just want to cancel this order and free up the $29.99 from my bank card. I do not trust that I will ever get the product.

Desired Settlement: Refund/reversal of the $29.99 charge on my card.

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered and paid for a product that was never received, and sent several e-mails and left voicemails that went unanswered. Order #dms-XXXXXX placed on 12/10/14. It was a download software purchase which is advertised to be delivered within 30 minutes of order. Now, 5 days later, I still have not received the product, nor a response to my several inquiries via e-mail and phone messages. It is impossible to reach a live person when I call, all I get is the same automated recording asking to leave a message. I sent e-mail requests on 12/10, 12/11, 12/12, and 12/15/14 - all which have gone unanswered. At this point, I don't want the product from this company, I just want my money back.

Desired Settlement: a Full refund of $86.98 on order dms-XXXXXX

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered software from company who will not respond to my request for a refund. I have tried calling and emailing, still no word. Ordered software from this company and on their Contact Us page it show's that they cant process orders. So naturally I I tried calling and got the voice mail. So I left a message and sent them an email. I have continued to try and reach them and they continue to ignore my request for a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund, asap! I would also like for that refund to include compensation for the time that I've had to spend trying to get my money back. THIS COMPANY SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN. ALL THEY DO IS TRY TO TAKE PEOPLES MONEY AND HOPE THEY DONT GO AS FAR AS I HAVE TO GET IT BACK. WHY WOULD THEY NOT TELL YOU THEY CANT PROCESS ORDERS ON THEIR FRONT PAGE, OR EVEN ON THE ORDER SCREEN. IF THEY KNOW THEY HAVE NO PRODUCT, OR AT LEAST CANT SHIP IT... THEN WHY ARE THEY TAKING PEOPLES MONEY?!?!?!?

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought and payed via PayPal but never got the link to download the software.Since Dec 10th.Was supposed to get it in 30 minutes by e-mail.Never got I have ordered Microsoft Office 2013 Home & Student DOWNLOAD ONLY - FOR PC ONLY NOT FOR MAC on December 10th, payed by PayPal. I was supposed to get a link and key by e-mail withn 30 minutes but until today (Dec 16th) I didn't receive anything. Send them e-mails asking for clarification but didn't get answer.

Desired Settlement: I think they're unable to fulfill the order. Either they provide it for free or refund immediately.

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told Dec. 4 a refund would be issued and would take up to 3 business days and it has now been 9. I purchased Windows 7 Home Premium with this company on December 3rd. They gave me the Windows 7 Professional later explaining it was a courtesy upgrade since they were out of Home Premium. I was unable to upgrade and use the product key so Jay Novotny informed me via email a refund would be issued and would take up to 3 business days. It has been 9 since that point and I have not received a refund nor am I able to get in touch with anyone. I call and am sent straight to voicemail and even the after hours voice mail even though I am calling during business hours. Now when I send an email I am sent an automated response. My order number is XXXXXX. It is very disconcerting that I am not able to talk to anyone but a computer..

Desired Settlement: I would like my full refund as promised.

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started leaving messages on 12/9 & have sent several emails as well. I have not received any response and have not been able to reach a human. I ordered software and the attempted delivery (12/8) was very timely. The mailman returned the package saying it was undeliverable as addressed. I was having it mailed to my neighbors, who are home all day and I have done this many times in the past. I did not want a $100 package laying in or around the mailbox or on my porch. When I figured out (on 12/9) the package was returned I started calling and sending emails. I have never even spoke with a human and can't get any response to anything. I did tell them previously I would file with BBB and gave plenty of time for a response before I actually took it this far. In one email I asked them if we could just please resolve this the easy way. I have a brand new computer and am unable to use it until I get this software package.

Desired Settlement: I would like this package overnighted to my office. Only because I have been more than patient about this whole issue. If not, refund my money immediately not taking days and weeks to show on my account.

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billed me, but No product delivered Discount Mountain software billed my credit card for the products that were purchased, but has not delivered those products. Their website now states that they are not processing order due to technical difficulty nor are they answering their phone calls. To me I see a scam. Furthermore, it is criminal theft in my eyes. There is no way they should have a rating of A on BBB if they are not answering their phone. At least tell me there is an issue. I feel like I have been stolen from.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund on my products.

1/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Issue with a product key for MS Office Pro Plus 2013, try to activate the product and it is coming back as being pirated. (Order Id: XXXXXX), for Office Pro Plus 2013. I am having a issue with one Product Key, (8TNX9-9M9KX-DTBG7-G44YV-B7R3D); Microsoft Technical Support on December 10, 2014 claims the Key has been pirated.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a replacement key. Thank you for your time.

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased and paid for software that we never received. Purchased software from them and never received it. Tried to contact them and no one is answering the phones or returning emails. In the meantime we have found out that some software we purchased last month can not be activated because it has already been activated to many times.

Desired Settlement: Payment for the software that we paid for but cannot use.

1/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Windows 7 Home Premium on December 7th but have yet to receive a valid key. The key sent was not valid per Microsoft registration. I ordered a copy of Microsoft Windows Home Premium on December 7th, order #dms-XXXXXX and received an email with what was supposed to be the key. Multiple attempts to use it failed. Two phone calls and one email to DiscountMountainSoftware were not returned or answered leaving me with my first attempt at writing the BBB about a business.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $67.46 I paid for a Windows 7 Home Premium Key or a new key that Microsoft activation will accept.

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase on 12/3/2014 and was told I would get a refund in 3 business days because the download was not working with my version of windows. My order number XXXXXX was placed on December 3, 2014. It was a software download of microsoft office. I was not able to download the item and contacted customer service immediately who informed me that the version of windows I was using was not compatible with that software and would issue a refund in 3 business days. I never received a refund and started contacting the company last week via email and phone. I left several voice mail messages on their phone system which says it is after hours but according to their website it is normal business hours (M-F 8:30 am to 5:00 pm MST). I sent out multiple emails regarding the promised refund in which none were returned.

Desired Settlement: 86.98

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered online Shipping confirmed.Never received it,and phone # or e-mail does not work .Did not talk to a person, all auotomated. I ordered a download of Norton product online with my credit card. It was to be sent to my e-mil address.Shipping was confirmed,and over a month later I have nothing. I called multiple numbers listed, none of which were valid. I tried e-mailing listed address, none of which worked. Can not get hold of the company. Ordered: 12-28-2013. Product # **********. Product name: *************** Payment method: Visa

Desired Settlement: I want the product I ordered.And now I want it for free for time it has taken me trying to get what I paid for more than a month ago. I mean, how slow can email be???And why can I not get a hold of them???

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/04) */ We received this order on 12/28/13 and sent the customer his product via email on 12/28/13. Unfortunately, our emails can get stuck in spam/junk filters. After receiving this complaint, we resent the email and left two phone messages with the customer and emailed twice as well. We eventually heard back from the customer through email and he stated "I found the second message you sent and uploaded the software. Everything works ok. ***". Prior to this complaint we had not heard from this customer by phone or email. We have not had any known issues with our phone or email systems and have received calls, phone messages, and emails as usual throughout this time period. Our business hours and contact information can be found by clicking on our "Contact Us" tab on the website.

3/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Software #1: illegal, not for US sale, not in retail box as pictured. Made in Singapore #2 2nd product - was 32 bit, need 64 bit for my PC's -Win7/8. All software purchased on credit card by phone 12/27/2013 for $182.87. Invoice #******, 2nd (MS Office)added to same invoice on second phone call by *******. Sent an email and phone message - only received an acknowledgement of email. Phone: Had to leave message so I requested they contact me, left my number. Product 1: $27.94 Norton Internet Security 2013 for 3 PC's - I was sent copy that says for 1 PC with attached note that it would load on 3 PC's. Not in retail box as pictured on website and no year (2013) even on cardboard sleeve. This is an illegal copy - fine print: "made in Singapore" "not for distribution in EU or US". Symantec rep said written support address did not exist: www.norton.com/globalsupport. This is a bootleg copy: It did NOT come in the retail box as pictured, nor even have "for 3 PC's nor for 2013" written on it (only a stapled note that it would however load on 3 PC's anyway.) I'd hoped to give this as a gift but now I wouldn't dare!! It may even have malware on it as well. Product 2: $154.93 MS Office HOME AND STUDENT 2010, Family Pkg for 3 PC's. It was unclear and deceptive advertising. This is a 32 bit product; on box it is only noted in very fine print on edge, on back and that it works on WinXP, Vista, and "compatible"?? with Win7 (if you have a 32 bit OS). I need 64 bit for Win 7 & 8 PC's. This is NOT clearly stated in product description: The website description says only that on XP SP3 the OS HAD to be 32 bit; would work on 32 bit servers. My prior 32 bit 2007 did NOT work on 64 bit PC's nor will this on 64 bit Win7/8. I had to repurchase a new 2007 64 bit retail product with my first 64 bit PC. Thus, I do not want to open it or even try and then find it won't work. No software packages have been opened. I am told if products are returned (at my expense) I must sign on the form to agree with terms to pay a 3.5% restocking fee ($6.40) & a $5.00 returned order fee. (And a MINIMUM $10.00 shipping charge for any refused package). This 1)for an illegal copy I was sent in non retail box ?!! - and 2) unclear description of 32 or 64 bit software I cannot use. It should CLEARLY state 32 bit or 64 bit on both website description and on box (where it is just in the fine print).

Desired Settlement: I am a senior citizen on a fixed income (Social Security). However I am not STUPID nor or my computer friends. I want to return all software (when this snow storm is over!) for a complete refund on my credit card... AND: I do NOT want to, nor should I, pay $16.40 in return and restocking fees (I am paying return shipping costs anyway) and any $10.00+ fee they charge IF they choose to refuse the return package (which is not usable for me). That is outrageous especially since one is an illegal copy, and the advertising deceptive for both products. I am ready to report one as fraud (Symantec's Internet Security) and deceptive advertising on other product if the above fees are not removed and a complete refund of $182.87 applied to my credit card. I am angry and so are my computer friends who scrutinized this software: BUYER BEWARE!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/02/27) */ We spoke with the customer regarding this issue on Monday, January 6. The first email we received was on Saturday, January 4 and our phone records show the first call we received was on Sunday, January 5. We do have a voicemail that appeared to be working at that time. If you click on our "Contact Us" tab, we notate our business hours which do not include the weekends. We offered the customer a 100% refund on her purchase and emailed a prepaid return label for her to send the products back. The customer told me that was all she wanted and considered the issue "resolved". She even mentioned contacting the BBB to have the complaint removed. We would suggest reading into the federal copyright law known as the "First Sale Doctrine" for further information regarding the distribution of software. Also refer to the recent United States Supreme Court case 'Kirtsaeng v. John Wiley & Sons, Inc.' pertaining to international products. We guarantee all of our products are 100% genuine and stand behind that. The Microsoft Office 2010 Home and Student for 3 PC's states, "32-bit/x64", on the certificate of authenticity. X64 stands for 64-bit. Regardless of that information, Microsoft recommends installing all versions of Microsoft Office in 32-bit for various reasons. We do use stock retail photos for all of our products pictures which is stated in our "Policies" tab. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 19, 2014/03/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They responded very politely once I reached them and despite how we viewed our differences about the software they were very courteous. I am the one who should have waited until I was able to reach someone to speak with in person there. All I requested to resolve the issues I raised however, was a complete refund without the extra fee's for restocking, fine etc. Their sending a postage paid return label was very appreciated and a bonus to me. I didn't have to drive all the way to the post office. Case resolved. ************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Discount Mountain Software
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart