BBB Accredited Business since

Citizen Shipper

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 263-4804 701 Brazos St STE 1616, Austin, TX 78701 http://www.citizenshipper.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

CitizenShipper is an online shipping marketplace where customers with local and national shipping requirements connect with drivers. Clients list their shipment details on our site, and drivers place quotes in a reverse auction marketplace.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Citizen Shipper meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Citizen Shipper include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Citizen Shipper
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 17, 2011 Business started: 01/15/2009 Business started locally: 01/15/2009 Business incorporated 01/15/2009 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Richard Obousy, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Obousy, CEO
Business Category

Internet Services

Refund and Exchange Policy
CitizenShipper offers subscribing members a 60 day no questions asked money back guarantee.
Service Area
National Service
Products & Services

CitizenShipper helps connect drivers with clients with shipping needs. Items that can be delivered include small parcels and packages, boats, apartment moves, motorcycles, cars, pets, heavy equipment and delicate items.

Industry Tips
Choosing an Internet Provider Internet Business Opportunity Advice

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701 Brazos St STE 1616

    Austin, TX 78701

  • 8357 N. Rampart Range Rd Unit 106

    Littleton, CO 80125

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Very ify and sorry complaint department. Hello.. I'd like to know when y'all are going to unlock my husband's account.. Also would like to know why y'all have a phone number and noone ever answers.. Also would like to know why we can't get hold of an actual person and instead directed to an automatic voicemail or email..? Please answer my questions.. My husband's account had been flagged since Thursday and he has a confirmed shipment for the 28th set for Oregon and he can't log on to get the information he needs.. It's bad business when there's noone to call to speak to..

Desired Settlement: Resolution should consist of unlocking my husband's account. If there is no unlocking it then y'all will have to pay me the job I lost which is valued at $1,500. If you all aren't going to unlock it then say so instead of stringing us along. Also, have someone answering the calls instead of passing ** to anything automated.. He made a mistake is all but he's learning the dos and don'ts but this doesn't constitute all this extra mismanagement on the company's part..

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/06/29) */ We are very sorry for the inconvenience that has been caused. Your account was unlocked and you can continue to use CitizenShipper. Please let us know if we can be of additional help. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Citizen Shipper customer service failed to assist me in reviewing a fraudulent shipper in a timely fashion. After a shipper canceled my contract with him and failed to return the $262.50 deposit I paid, I contacted Citizen Shipper's customer service to receive help in reviewing the criminal shipper. The customer service agent explained that because the shipment listing had been removed from the website, I would be unable to review the shipper. She explained she would have to repost the listing and then I would be able to review the shipper. She has yet to do this, I am unable to review the shipper and explain to future customers the shipper's scheme. Furthermore, she did not explain how I could be reimbursed for the "booking fee" I had to pay to Citizen Shipper upon agreeing to the contract with the shipper-which he later broke.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of the booking fee I paid to Citizen Shipper. I additionally would like my shipment to be reposted so that I may review the fraudulent shipper and warn future customers of the criminal activity of this man.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/03) */ We appreciate the opportunity to engage in dialogue with the customer. On our end we feel we have done everything possible. Here is a list of how we handled this situation: 1. Immediately after your conversation with our customer support staff we re-listed the shipment for you so that you could review the driver. We emailed you about this. Please check in your junk folder. 2. We refunded you your booking deposit immediately. This would have been credited directly back to the credit card you provided us with when booking your driver. We are sorry that was not clear. 3. We contacted the driver immediately, suspended him from our site, and received word back from him (and you) today that you were provided a full refund by him. We feel that we handled this situation promptly and have found a resolution to the issue. We are more than happy to continue to assist you if needed.

9/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Citizens Shippers on signup use your credit card for address verification and state there will be no charges, after closing my account they ran $149. After leaving the site they went back into there database took my ID and Credit Card info and charged over a $149.00. with two by two charges, one small then the $125.00 one. Once I confronted citizen shipper they stated in an email that it is for impose fines for a 2nd account under the email address ***********@aol.com. My girlfriend open that account to gather evidence on why and how they could just take my credit card and charge what ever they want. She opened her account 9 days after they took my money so how could these fines I am being charged for be for something that is days away from happening.. That alone make it clear that they are scamming, miss using the site to gain personal & credit information to use later or possible they may be selling this info too.

Desired Settlement: close them down in my goal

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/09/25) */ We appreciate the opportunity to respond, and have - on multiple occasions - offered a full refund. Please email us *******@citizenshipper.com to discuss further. We would also like to request that VLM trucking please refrain from using our website, as the company left eight shipping providers without a carrier, after agreeing to transport their items. We have since banned and suspended the user. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/09/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The site has done nothing to solve the real problem of over charging people after they close there accounts. The repeated abuse reports filed right here on the BBB prove that it is a on going problem, it seems like when ever this site needs a little money they just fine some person with a closed account and charge there debit or credit card. I feel this answer is just white wash hoping to make the over charging go away so they can continue this over charging and nothing more

9/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: citizen shipper has made seven unauthorized charges to my visa credit card and have not replied satisfactorily to my email and telephone complaints On May 23, 2014 I notified Citizen Shipper that I had recently discovered unauthorized charges on my credit card. I had once engaged their services, paid the requisite $24, and very shortly thereafter had severed my connection with them by phone and email as required. Since the amount being charged me was small and buried in my monthly bill I did not notice them until the above date. As you will see there was no order to the charges; they were random. I called all of this to their attention and the email exchange I had is below. They did not reply to my email of July 23, 2014. My next email of August 13, 2014 advised them that I was going to contact the BBB and they have still not replied. TO: ******** ******** Customer Relations Manager CitizenShipper LLC Longview, Texas ********@Citizenshipper.com On 5/23/XXXX X:XX PM, ***************@aol.com wrote: I have noted three unauthorized charges to my credit card in the last six months. I am not a member of Citizen Shipper. I have notified my credit card company and they are beginning an investigation. Please respond. ****** ********* ***************@aol.com ************ Original Message From: ******** <********@Citizenshipper.com> To: *************** <***************@aol.com> Sent: Tue, May 27, XXXX X:XX pm Subject: Re: unauthorized charges Hi ******, I apologize for the inconvenience and confusion in this matter. Someone had to have signed up as a driver on our site with your card in order for us to have the number and charge the account. Do you have anyone else who has access to your card or info? If you can provide me with the charge dates, and the last 4 digits of the card, I will be happy to investigate and find out what name this account is under. Best, ******** ******** On 5/28/XXXX XX:XX AM, ***************@aol.com wrote: Ms. ********, Thank you for responding. There is no one having access to my credit card other than myself. The last four digits of the card are **** I have gone through my available records and found four charges with the following transaction dates: 1/16/12 (This is probably a legitimate charge. I did sign up, but opted out of CS with an email/phone call just a few months later.) 10/15/13 1/15/14 4/15/14 I have informed SunTrust Fraud Management and have requested hard copies of the bills I no longer have from Consumer Lending Research Request System, that being March of 2012 through December of 2012. They are to be delivered to me next week and I will check them for unauthorized charges. There are also a few sporadic months here and there that I need to request copies of. Thank you for your assistance. ****** ********* Original Message From: ******** <********@Citizenshipper.com> To: *************** <***************@aol.com> Sent: Mon, Jun 2, XXXX X:XX am Would your account have been under the name ******? ******** Original Message From: *************** <***************@aol.com> To: ******** <********@Citizenshipper.com> Sent: Mon, Jun 2, XXXX X:XX am I use only my given legal name at all times: ****** ** ********** Original Message From: *************** <***************@aol.com> To: ******** <********@citizenshipper.com> Sent: Wed, Jul 23, XXXX XX:XX am Hello, ********, I'm awaiting word from the credit card company. In the meantime, per your request, here are the dates of the charges: Trans Date / Post date / Year 1/16 - 1/XX XXXX 4/15 - 4/XX XXXX 5/7 - 5/X XXXX 7/15 - 7/XX XXXX 10/15 - 10/XX XXXX 10/15 - 10/XX XXXX 1/15 - 1/XX XXXX 4/15 - 4/XX XXXX They are all for $24. The last four digits of the card: SunTrust **** No one other than myself has access to the card. Original Message From: *************** <***************@aol.com> To: ******** <********@citizenshipper.com> Sent: Wed, Aug 13, XXXX X:XX pm Hello, ********, My next stop is the Better Business Bureau. I note on their site a complaint exactly like mine. ****** *********

Desired Settlement: A refund of the unauthorized charges to my credit card of $168 either directly to me or reimbursing the card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/05) */ We're received your complaint through the Better Business Bureau and would like to resolve this issue in a manner that is satisfactory to us both. Having reviewed your case, we see that you did in fact sign up to our site in January of 2012. At that time, CitizenShipper was a subscription based website, where users agreed to pay our quarterly fee of $24, which you agreed to when you signed up. We do make it very clear on our sign up pages that the fee is recurring, and will automatically be deducted from your credit card once every three months. Our system automatically renews subscriptions based on the agreement that you entered in to with us, and for the subscription to be cancelled one of two things are necessary: 1. You cancel it on our website through the easy-to-find link on your driver profile page 2. You email our customer support team and ask to cancel Having reviewed our emails, we see that you did not contact us about this issue until May of 2014. Up until that point, you had full access to our website and we could only assume that you wanted to continue your subscription since we'd not heard from you. As part of our customer policy, we do expect that our site members alert us to erroneous billing, and our policy is to refund erroneous payments up to a maximum of 90 days into the past. Thus, via our policy you are entitled to a refund of $24. With that said, we would like to resolve this issue with you quickly, and so I've been authorized to make a special exception in your case, and extend our refund policy to the start of 2014. With this enhanced refund policy we can send you a refund of $72. Provided this meets with your satisfaction please send us either: 1. Your paypal email address, so that we can send you the money directly or if you do not have Paypal 2. Please send us your physical address Please email us at *******@citizenshipper.com with the required information. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I still maintain that I most certainly did send an email cancelling my subscription. I also phoned Citizen Shipper soon thereafter in an attempt to speak to a representative about the cancellation. An automated voice mail answered. I asked to be called back. No one did. I did this once more with the same result. Then I called and left a message stating my decision to terminate the subscription. No one called back then, either. Since this case began I have called several times and was connected to the automated system again. They have made it nearly impossible to speak to a live agent. Now they say they would like to 'resolve this issue quickly' and that they are going to make 'a special exception' in my case. They are willing to return some money to me, but I'm being offered $72, less than half of what they owe me. That is unacceptable. They can resolve this issue quickly by returning the $168." Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/09/12) */ We want to thank the customer for the opportunity to respond, and we look forward to reaching an amicable resolution to this issue. As per our policy, which customer agreed to upon signing up to CitizenShipper, the customer is responsible for notifying us regarding any errors in billing, and refund claims are invalid after a 90 day period has elapsed. we attach our policy which the customer agreed to upon signing up with CitizenShipper. We attach our customer policy, which customer agreed to upon signing up to CitizenShipper. Based on our policy, customer is entitled to a $24 refund. However, we wish to show good faith to the customer and would be willing to refund $72 to resolve this issue quickly. We hope this is an agreeable resolution. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I repeat: I maintain that I most certainly did send an email cancelling my subscription. I also phoned Citizen Shipper soon thereafter in an attempt to speak to a representative about the cancellation. An automated voice mail answered. I asked to be called back. No one did. I did this once more with the same result. Then I called and left a message stating my decision to terminate the subscription. No one called back then, either. Since this case began I have called several times and was connected to the automated system again. They have made it nearly impossible to speak to a live agent. I am resolved to file a complaint with the Tennessee Attorney General's Office Department of Consumer Affairs. That will be my first step, others will follow.

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Citizen Shipper failed to refund my money and continued to draw membership fee from my account even after emails and phone calls about the cancellatio An email was sent to Citizen Shipper cancelling membership on 04/08/13. They took an additional 24.00 on 05/14 from my account. An email was sent to Citizen Shipper on 08/04 with a completed cancellation form that was requested by them. They withdrew another 24.00 on 08/14. I followed up with a voicemail to Citizen Shipper on 08/27. I have received no return calls or emails. I want my original fee of 24.00 returned as well as the additional unauthorized amount of 48.00 debited from my account.

Desired Settlement: I want my original fee of 24.00 returned as well as the additional unauthorized amount of 48.00 debited from my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/09) */ We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and will refund the charges today.

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Citizenshipper.com states the they have a no hassle refund policy "simply send us an email" after waiting a few weeks after me email no refund Citizenshipper.com refund policy on their website states "simply send us an email" after sending my email on july 6th of this year I have had no response. I emailed again and received questions about forms not bieng filled out. They are deceiving about there refunds and trying to retain money by deception and confusion. They have been contacted by me with my account and transaction number and still no refund.

Desired Settlement: I want the refund to my PayPal account like the site promises on their website.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/30) */ We are grateful for this opportunity to respond to this customer and have granted a full refund. Regarding the customer complaints, we ask that customers be sensitive to our internal policies when requesting refunds. As per our company policy we request that a very short form be sent to us, via email, containing information that allows us to quickly locate a customer in our payments database and issue refunds accurately. Based on our experience, many customers sign up to our website using email addresses that are different to their Paypal email addresses, making it time consuming and sometimes impossible to locate their payments. The short form we request makes it significantly easier and more efficient to locate customer information. We are sorry that CitizenShipper is not for you, and as mentioned - have issued a full refund as of July 30th 2013.

5/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Told me that they would get 6 months free then charged card on the 3th month On january 27th I joined citizen shipper and pays my 24 dollars. On january 30th I decides that this was not for me and send an email to cancel.On jan 31th I was send an email back to stay with them and I'll get 6 months free. I replys back on the same day and told them I would take the offer.On April 27th 2013 my card was billed 24 dollars.I emailed them on april 28th to cancel my membership and return the 24 dollars.on april 30th I was emailed back and was told they could not find my card number in the system and give them the last 4 of the card, and i did that on the 30th of april.I was emailed today may 3th and told if I fit between the 60 days,then I could receive my money back. I should not have been billed until july 27th 2013

Desired Settlement: Just a refund of the second 24 dollars that they took and cancel my membership

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/07) */ We are sorry that you've not had a positive experience with CitizenShipper. We have refunded your $24 and cancelled your account with us. I hope this is to your satisfaction. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do. Regards. The CitizenShipper Team Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 7, 2013/05/09) */ Resolved. Received 24 dollar refund 5/8/2013

4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I set up this account through Kasey. With understanding and guarantee that within 60 days ,. Paid $79.80 and only revived a 19.99 refund. When setting this up with sales rep Kacey. On Dec 31,2012 she stated that I have a 60 day money back guarantee . I cancels my request with in the time frame. Was told I'd get a refund on 3/8/13 . I paid $79.80 for this service and have only been confirmed as of 3/13/13 19.99 refund. I have asked for the total back as told in the beginning. And have had no results

Desired Settlement: $ 79.99 is what I want refunded. This is the setup fee of 19.99 for Dec.2012, Jan, 19.99 , feb 19.99 and March 19.99 for a total of $79.80

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/20) */ Dear ******, Thanks for bringing this issue to our attention. The delay in your refund was due to the fact that the credit card that was on file for your account does not match your name. This made it challenging for us to locate your account in our credit card processing system. I have personally checked the refund status, and can confirm that you were charged for the card that you told us was used, on the following dates: Jan 1st 2013 Jan 31st 2013 Feb 28th 2013 I can also confirm that you were refunded for all three of these charges on: March 13 2013 March 14 2013 March 18 2013 You have been refunded a total of $59.97, which is the sum total of everything that you have paid us, based on the information that you have provided. If there have been other charges then you need to explicitly tell us the NAME on the credit card that was charged, and the date. If, instead, you paid by Paypal then you will need to tell us that information. Without the correct information it is impossible for us to locate you in our credit card processing account. While you were told that you would get a refund on March 8th, please note, we also tell you that it can take up to two weeks to process, hence the delay. Please contact us on ************** if you have additional questions.