BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Denver & Boulder, Colorado

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/26/2013

Viasat, Inc.

Phone: (866) 945-3258Fax: (720) 493-6004

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1246 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 549 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues284
Billing / Collection Issues355
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service605
Total Closed Complaints1246

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1246)BBB Closure Definitions
07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: I have contacted the company numerous time about coming and fixing out internet and phone service through them. We have been paying for phone service since March and have not had a phone to use to call out. I live in the country so I do not have cell phone service and now they are saying they did not receive my internet payment so we have no phone or internet to be contacted by people. I have a daughter who has seizures and if she would have one I would have no way of getting a hold of 911. I have explained this to them while emailing them from work since i do not have phone service to contact, and I never get any response back from. I have tired calling them with my work phone once but was told I needed to call when i got home to have them walk to me through the steps and I tried explaining my situation but they did not wish to listen.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing Ms. ****'s complaint to ViaSat's attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this *** have caused. Upon further review of this complaint, ViaSat has determined that Ms. ****'s account is suspended due to a non payment on the account; Ms. **** is also stating that she is having issues with her VOIP services. In order for ViaSat to assist Ms. **** with her VOIP issues with her phone she will need to contact our Voice team to be walked through troubleshooting. ViaSat sent Ms. **** a replacement ATA box on March 31, 2014. If Ms. **** can explain what is going on with the phone and a good contact phone number we could have an agent reach out to her as well. As for the internet service this was shut off due to non payment on the account for $115.04. At this time in order to arrive at a resolution ViaSat has placed a credit of $115.04 to the account to offset the current charge and resumed the services. Ms. **** will need to reach us in order to troubleshoot the phone issues as service calls are not placed for VOIP. Ms. **** can reach customer service anytime at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you for allowing ViaSat the opportunity to respond.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because we have know way to contact them to get help with phone service. We have tried installing the box and all we get is a busy tone. They can contact me through email at ************@yahoo.com in order to get us help with phone. I will try and reinstall the box but not sure what is going on. If they could set up at date and time on a saturday for the company to come out and look at it would be great. Thank you for the credit but this does not solve the phone issue, and that i am paying for something I can not use or get to work due to not being able to contact the company.
I work at a child care so I am not able to call from work phone.

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Final Business Response
Thank you for bringing Ms. ****'s response to ViaSat's attention. As stated in the previous response ViaSat does not send technicians to customer's homes for VOIP issues. Ms. **** can go to http://www.exede.com/voip/connecting-equipment and http://www.exede.com/voip/troubleshooting this will walk her through step by step on how to hook up the VOIP ATA and give her troubleshooting help, there is also an instructional video. If Ms. **** continues to have issues with the ATA for her VOIP service we will need to see about sending out another replacement ATA for her. Thank you for allowing ViaSat the opportunity to respond.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will try and do those steps and if no response I will be contacting BBB again.

Thank you for you help.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: Insufficient service, company unwilling to allow service to be cancelled 7 days after installation without cancel fee.
Ordered DirecTV on 6/12/14 they sent me to ViaSat for internet service (req'd for TV service)at new home. Talked to ViaSat (Exede)and explained our personal internet usage and decided to upgrade from standard service to the next level they offered assuming it would work for us. Scheduled installation for 6/16/14, service seemed to be working fine for 1st few days. Cable install was delayed so used internet for Netflix movies - did not have all home computers/tablets/phones on line since we just moved in. On 6/22/14 received an email saying we were approaching our monthly data limit (6 days after starting service). On 6/23 my husband called ViaSat (I was out of the country for business) to find out the issue. Since he was not officially on the account, he could not make changes, but was told that we *** need to upgrade to the more expensive service (original was $49.99, upgrade would be $129.99/month)if we want more data or we would have to watch inferior quality video, possibly not use on demand, etc... This price seemed very excessive considering cable internet service is $39.99/month for data limits over 250 GB and the upgraded ViaSat would only be for 25GB so he inquired about cancelling. He was told that we would be responsible for $15/month fee for the 24 month "contract" we entered into (note nothing was signed). Since he could not make changes, I had to call back when I arrived back in the US. On 6/27/14 I called ViaSat and was told the same thing. I argued that we called immediately about the issue and felt that since this was so early into our verbal "contract" that we should be able to end it without a fee but was told that the minute it was installed the 24 month contract started with no satisfaction period or anything. I asked to talk with a supervisor and they told me the same thing. I then called an alternative cable internet company to inquire on pricing and service. On 7/7/14 I called ViaSat back with the intention of canceling and offered to pay a portion of the cancellation fee since I knew they did have to pay for the installation but was told I had no choice but to pay the whole thing. I was told that no supervisor could do anything else about it. I was then also told that I would have to return the modem and a part from the satellite dish. The dish was installed on our roof with a 40 foot ladder by a professional from ViaSat and there is no way for us to get the part off so I was told if we keep it we would be charged $150 or if they sent a person out to get it it would cost $120 - subsequently they waived this fee but are still charging the full cancel fee. So now it will cost us $15* 23 months for disconnect (after less than 1 month of service - keeping in mind I have already paid for a month of service @$68.00). I said I want a paper bill and I don't authorize any charges to be taken off my credit card on file and they said they are paperless and since I already gave them my credit card, they would automatically charge my card. I then hung up with with the representative and called back today 7/8 to fully cancel the service. As of 1:30pm EDT the service is canceled and they are charging me $345 on the next bill (will be charged to my card on file). My issues are that we had no time to even test to see if the service was sufficient (no money back guarantee), they did not fully explain the limitations of the system (to little data - that is insufficient for my husband's home business, daughter's school use and personal use), they are unwilling to negotiate any limited cancel fee since we are requesting it so soon after installation (other companies have a 30 day guarantee), the alternative is still insufficient for a very high price. To avoid any additional charges, I canceled today 7/8 and will pay the fees so my credit is not damaged. My account # is XXXXXXXXX and I informed the customer service person at Exede (ViaSat)today that I am filing this complaint.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing Ms. *******'s complaint to our attention. We apologize for any misunderstanding she *** have experienced regarding ViaSat's Data Allowance Policy.

Our review of Ms. *******'s account shows that her husband contacted ViaSat on June 23, 2014; however, as he was unable to verify the account, the ViaSat representative was unable to assist him. Ms. ******* contacted ViaSat on June 27, 2014 regarding her data, at which time the ViaSat agent educated her on the Data Allowance Policy.

The Data Allowance Policy is meant to ensure all customers have a fair amount of bandwidth usage based on their package plan, allowing consistency across our entire customer base. Customers are made aware of ViaSat's Data Allowance Policy at the time of sale. Our Data Allowance Policy is addressed on the first page of the Customer Agreement, signed by Ms. ******* on June 16, 2014 and also available at exede.com/legal. Pursuant to the Data Allowance Policy, speeds *** be slowed or restricted for a period of time when customers use their entire monthly system usage. We created the usage meter so customers can monitor their monthly data allowance, giving them the opportunity to stay within the limits of their package. The most common causes for high usage are typically downloading or streaming media content (e.g. online videos, music, and internet radio), downloading full-length movies, and downloading or uploading large files.

On July 2, 2014, a ViaSat agent reached out to Ms. ******* to discuss her account. There was no answer, and a message was left. The agent applied 5 GB of free data onto Ms. *******'s account as a courtesy. Ms. ******* contacted ViaSat on July 7, 2014 to inquire about disconnecting the account, at which time she was advised of the Early Termination Fees. The account was officially disconnected on July 8, 2014.

The Customer Agreement states ViaSat requires subscribers to commit to a 24-month Minimum Service Term, and Early Termination Fees will apply if service is canceled prior to the Minimum Service Term. Customers are reminded of the Early Termination Fees at the time they elect to disconnect early.

Regarding the Customer Agreement which Ms. ******* states she did not physically sign, the Customer Agreement is electronically signed by customers during the service installation process. An account cannot be established without the customer's electronic signature. The last four digits of the on-file payment method for a customer's account are required to access the document. Our records show Ms. *******'s electronic signature on the Customer Agreement dated June 16, 2014. We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the electronic signature process.

In order to come to a resolution regarding this issue, ViaSat will waive Ms. *******'s Early Termination Fees of approximately $345.00 in full. Ms. ******* is responsible for returning ViaSat's modem and transceiver within 20 days after her disconnection, or she will be subject to an unreturned equipment fee of $300.00, not including taxes, per the Customer Agreement. A UPS box with a free return shipping label will be delivered to her home address within a week after her disconnection, and will include return instructions.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I appreciated the timely response and that they will waive the early termination fee. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: "Electronically" signed my signature without notification or authorization to a 10 page fine print 2 year contract.
Tech was scheduled to arrive between 8-12pm, arrived at 4 pm with a 2 hr install. Twenty minutes later I received an email with my "electronic" signature signed on a 10 page contract of fine print which I was completely unaware of and did not authorize. At 8pm I received an email stating we were at 70% of our monthly data cap of 10 gigs. The next morning less than 16 hours after install, I cancelled the service. Two days later a charge of $382.82 appears on my card as a early termination fee. Today the return box arrives and I am expected to return the tria off the dish that is two stories up or else I'm on the hook for an additional $400. My bank has already charged me $60 in overdraft fees due to the $382.82 charge. Wis. Stats. ยง 423.203. Three Day Right to Cancel is applicable here.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing Ms. *******'s complaint to our attention. We apologize for any issue she *** have experienced regarding ViaSat's Data Allowance Policy.

The Data Allowance Policy is meant to ensure all customers have a fair amount of bandwidth usage based on their package plan, allowing consistency across our entire customer base. Customers are made aware of ViaSat's Data Allowance Policy at the time of sale. Our Data Allowance Policy is addressed on the first page of the Customer Agreement, signed by Ms. ******* on June 14 and also available at exede.com/legal. Pursuant to the Data Allowance Policy, speeds *** be slowed or restricted for a period of time when customers use their entire monthly system usage. The most common causes for high usage are typically downloading or streaming media content (e.g. online videos, music, and internet radio), downloading full-length movies, and downloading or uploading large files.

Ms. ******* called ViaSat on June 15, 2014 regarding the Customer Agreement which she states she did not physically sign. The Customer Agreement is electronically signed by customers during the service installation process. An account cannot be established without the customer's electronic signature, and accessing it requires the last four digits of the customer's payment method. Our records show Ms. *******'s electronic signature on the Customer Agreement dated June 14, 2014. We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the electronic signature process.

In order to come to a resolution regarding this issue, ViaSat will issue a refund for the charge of $382.82 to the payment method on file for Ms. *******. ViaSat will also reimburse Ms. ******* for the overdraft fees she was charged by her bank, granted that she provides a copy of her monthly bank statement that shows ViaSat's charge caused her to go into overdraft. Ms. ******* can either fax this documentation to ************, or email it to *********************@viasat.com. Ms. ******* should ensure that she blacks out any private information (e.g., bank account number) prior to sending this documentation.

Ms. ******* is responsible for returning ViaSat's modem and transceiver within 20 days after her disconnection, or she will be subject to an unreturned equipment fee of $300.00, not including taxes, per the Customer Agreement. A UPS box with a free return shipping label will be delivered to her home address within a week after her disconnection, and will include return instructions.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: Lied and said satellite internet was "great for gaming". Lied and said no fees were going to be collected. Said I signed a contract.
April 15th, 2014 install date. Account number XXXXXXXXX. Problem started immediately. I had Exede 12mb installed in my house. First problem was that they charged me $50.00 to install on a pole in my yard because they claimed they couldn't install it on my house. The sales representative told me Exede internet would be great for gaming and that it was super fast and that the network latency was super low. The latency was never faster than 700 m/s. The sales lady additionally said that there would be no fees, that she would void them all if that would convince me to sign up. So I signed up and upon arrival of the first bill it was $200 more than she said it would be. The company then claimed that I agreed to pay $200 for an equipment lease fee, which I never agreed to and was assured I wouldn't have to pay any kind of equipment fees. I then called the company and told them I never agreed to pay a lease fee, they agreed with me that I never signed a contract therefore didn't agree to the lease fee. She then informed me all that I would owe them was for one month of service, which I said I had no problem paying. A couple of weeks later a charge of $593.07 showed up on my bank statement, overdrafting my account by over $100. I called the customer service and they said that by letting the installer install their service I had agreed to pay all fees including early termination fees and the equipment lease fee. When talking to the customer service representative he stated that the lady who sold me on the product likely lied to me, but corporate didn't see the need to follow through with any of her promises.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing Mr. ***'s complaint to ViaSat's attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this *** have caused. Upon further review of the complaint, ViaSat has determined that Mr. *** allowed his account go into a non pay disconnection as the service was not meeting his needs or expectations when it came to gaming. At the time of sale customers are made aware of ViaSat's Data Allowance Policy, the 24-month minimum service term commitment, early termination fees, and certain gaming limitations. Each of these points are also addressed in the customer agreement and available at exede.com/legal. We apologize if Mr. *** feels these points were not communicated to his satisfaction. In order to arrive at a resolution ViaSat has agreed to issue back $329.50 to the payment method on file for the charged early termination fees, and $199.99 for the 24 month equipment lease fee. Mr. *** will see these two refunds within 3-5 business days. Thank you for allowing ViaSat the opportunity to respond.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Selling snake-oil. this company lies and deceives and generally don't give a d**n because they already got you hooked into a 24 month contract.
We've been bound by their 24 month contract. They advertise, and I quote "get 12Mbps download" (straight off of their website) and the most that I have seen us 5.56 Mbps downloads. With EVERY networkable device on our end unplugged, data is still FLYING out the door. The 10Gb/month cap placed on us by our chosen plan is being eaten up by THEIR modem updates and maintenance functions. Not by our internal data usage. All-in-all, the WORST company that I have had the displeasure of dealing with.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing Mr. ******'s complaint to our attention. We apologize for any issue he *** have experienced with ViaSat's Exede Internet service and Data Allowance Policy.

Due to the nature of satellite-based internet service, there are many variables that can affect speeds, such as, weather at the gateway or customer's home, network congestion, as well as the customer's computer equipment. Speeds can also be affected by programs that are running in the background, the router, and day-to-day activity. The Customer Agreement, signed by ****** Cherry on *** 27, 2014 and available for viewing on ***************, states that ViaSat does not agreed that the service will be uninterrupted or error-free, or will operate at any minimum upload or download speed.

The Data Allowance Policy is meant to ensure all customers have a fair amount of bandwidth usage based on their package plan, allowing consistency across our entire customer base. Customers are made aware of ViaSat's Data Allowance Policy at the time of sale. Our Data Allowance Policy is addressed on the first page of the Customer Agreement. Pursuant to the Data Allowance Policy, speeds *** be slowed or restricted for a period of time when customers use their entire monthly system usage. The most common causes for high usage are typically downloading or streaming media content (e.g. online videos, music, and internet radio), downloading full-length movies, and downloading or uploading large files. We created the usage meter so customers can monitor their monthly data allowance, giving them the opportunity to stay within the limits of their package.

Our review of Mr. ******'s account shows that he contacted ViaSat on June 4, 2014 regarding his data. At this time, he was educated on the Data Allowance Policy, how to monitor his usage, and his various options for obtaining more data (e.g., utilizing the Late Night Free Zone from midnight to 5:00 AM, purchasing more data, or transitioning his account to a service package that offered more data). The ViaSat representative also provided him with 5 GB of data at no cost to Mr. ****** to restore his speeds to normal, and assisted him in setting up an online account so he could monitor his usage in the future.

On June 17, 2014, Mr. ****** contacted ViaSat to disconnect his account, citing connectivity and usage issues. At this time, the ViaSat representative offered Mr. ****** a free service call as well as a free month of service; however, Mr. ****** declined the offer. At this time, the ViaSat representative advised him of the Early Termination Fees if he were to disconnect.

The Customer Agreement states ViaSat requires subscribers to commit to a 24-month Minimum Service Term modify for RUS, and Early Termination Fees will apply if service is canceled prior to the Minimum Service Term. Customers are reminded of the Early Termination Fees at the time they elect to disconnect early.

In order to come to a resolution regarding this issue, ViaSat will disconnect Mr. ******'s account with the Early Termination Fees waived. Mr. ****** is responsible for returning ViaSat's modem and transceiver within 20 days after his disconnection, or he will be subject to an unreturned equipment fee of $300.00, not including taxes, per the Customer Agreement. A UPS box with a free return shipping label will be delivered to his home address within a week after his disconnection, and will include return instructions.

Currently, Mr. ******'s account is still active. ViaSat will disconnect the account on July 3, 2014. ViaSat will also issue a refund for the prepaid lease fees Mr. ****** paid in the amount of $199.99. Mr. ****** should be aware that he will lose the number associated with his Exede Voice services once his internet services have been discontinued. If he would like it ported to a different carrier, he should attempt to do so prior to the disconnection of his account.

We apologize for any frustration Mr. ****** *** have experienced. Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 232
07/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: This company exede internet has NOT given me what I paid for from them. In the beginning I was told by customer service that I would get internet and phone for $64.00 total. They sent out a tech to hook this up and all that was hooked up was the internet. Tech said the phone would be hooked up at a later date. Plus, I had to buy a pole to attach the dish to for $50.00. I was shocked by this, to me the tech should have all the necessary items to install my internet up. When the bill came in I was charged $64.00 for the INTERNET only. I called customer service to complain about this. They said phone was extra $20.00. So now I was paying $64.00 for just the INTERNET. Customer service was rudeputting me on hold for over an hour while I waited for a supervisor to talk to. I called back the next day. Customer service said there was NO way I was told the total cost for internet and phone was $64.00. They kept saying I was misunderstood. Plus, the internet I got from them was very baddata usage was NOT what they said I was getting. After a week all my data was used up and they wanted to charge me MORE for data usage increase. Basically from day one exede internet lied about everything they told me. They double-charged me 2 different times and when I called to get that issue fixed they did NOT correct the issue and charged me 2 times once again. Absolutely horrible customer service here. I called to CANCEL everything and they said I could not cancel my contract and had to pay for the 3 years. I NEVER got good service on internet AND never got good customer service from exede either. I want ALL my money back AND the contract cancelled. I has only been a little over a month now and NOTHING has gone right by this company. I should NOT have to pay for services that are unacceptable and unsatisfactory.
Product_Or_Service: internet and phone
Account_Number: account #XXXXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing Ms. ********'s Better Business Bureau compliant to ViaSat's attention regarding the billing of her account.

At the time of sale Customers are made aware of ViaSat's Data Allowance Policy, the 24-month Minimum Service Term commitment, Early Termination Fees, and certain limitations. Each of these points are also addressed in the Customer Agreement signed by Ms. ******** on *** 22, 2014 and available at exede.com/legal. We apologize if Ms. ******** feels these points were not communicated to her satisfaction.

Ms. ******** contacted ViaSat's Customer Service Department on *** 28, 2014 requesting verification of her monthly bill. ViaSat's Customer Care Representative advised Ms. ******** of the charges on her account, and verified that the first months bill had failed. On June 3, 2014 Ms. ******** contacted ViaSat's Customer Service Department regarding speed concerns. At that time, ViaSat's Representative advised Ms. ******** that she had gone over her usage for the month. However, as a gesture of good faith, ViaSat's Representative added 5 GB of usage to her account to restore slowed speeds.

The Data Allowance Policy is meant to ensure all customers have a fair amount of bandwidth usage based on their package plan, allowing consistency across our entire customer base. We created the usage meter so customers can monitor their monthly data allowance allowing them the opportunity to stay within the limits of their package. Customers are made aware of ViaSat's Data Allowance Policy at the time of sale, and it is also available at exede.com/legal. Pursuant to the Data Allowance Policy, speeds *** be slowed or restricted for a period of time when customers use their entire monthly system usage. The most common causes for high usage are typically downloading or streaming media content (e.g. online videos, music, and internet radio), downloading full-length movies, and downloading or uploading large files.

Given that Ms. ******** was advised of the Data Allowance Policy, and her monthly bill, ViaSat will not agree to refund any charges collected for services rendered. Additionally, ViaSat will not agree to waive the Early Termination Fees as Ms. ******** disconnected prior to the completion of the 24 month Customer Agreement. However, as a gesture of good faith, ViaSat will agree to waive half of the Early Termination Fee's. Nonetheless, Ms. ******** is responsible for returning ViaSat's modem and transceiver within 20 days after her disconnection, or she will be subject to an unreturned equipment fee of $300.00, not including taxes, per the Customer Agreement. A UPS box with a free return shipping label will be delivered to her home address within a week after her disconnection, and will include return instructions.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do NOT accept the response from this business. From the very beginning they lied to me and gave me the run-around. Just one issue after another, and customer service was rude and unprofessional. I NEVER got good service at all. Customer service was no help in resolving anything, especially when they double charged me twice and did NOT correct the issue. Charging way too much just for internet service was unacceptable. I was supposed to get internet and phone for $64.00. But they lied and when bill came in it was $64.00 just for internet service. And they double charged me$128.00 2 times, and I calle customer service to correct this issue and they STILL charged me 2 times once again. This company exede is the WORST company I have ever seen in my life. I owe them NOTHING at all, because I never got any good service from them. Contract needs to be canceled. They owe me money back also. I sent back ALL equipment via UPS on july 2nd.

Final Business Response
As stated by ViaSat in our previous response, ViaSat provided Ms. ******** with the correct information regarding the Data Allowance Policy, and assistance with resolving any connectivity issues she was experiencing. The double charges Ms. ******** refers to were in fact not double charges. The payment ViaSat attempt to collect on *** 26, 2014 failed; however, on June 4, 2014 Ms. ******** made two onetime payments of $64.68. Nevertheless, on June 12, 2014 one of these payments was refunded to Ms. ********. On June 24, 2014 ViaSat once again attempted to collect the monthly payment; however, the payment failed. Once again, ViaSat provided Ms. ******** with the correct information regarding her services and the Data Allowance Policy; therefore, the Early Termination Fees will not be waived. Currently, Ms. ******** has a balance owed of $30.64 which has been waived as a gesture of good faith. ViaSat will attempt to collect the Early Termination Fees on July 24, 2014. Should Ms. ******** not pay the owed fees, she runs the risk of her account being sent to an outside collections agency.

Thank You!

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

07/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: I canceled Wild Blue internet service a couple of weeks ago. They installed a satellite on my roof to get there service. I was told that I be paying an extra $15 a month to pay for the equipment so if I cancel early I would have to pay $15 a month to pay for it. I had no problem with that. I canceled 3 month early, now they want not only the $45 but their equipment too, plus they want me to climb the roof and take off what they call a TRIA, and if they do it I would be charge $125.00 for them to do it plus $350 for every item of the equipment they don't get back. The main reason I canceled them was because of poor service and if they want their equipment back then I feel they owe me a refund.
Product_Or_Service: internet service and equipment

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing **********'s Better Business Bureau complaint to ViaSat's attention regarding the billing of his account.

With the information provided by ********** ViaSat has been unable to locate the account in question. Nevertheless, if ********** can provide ViaSat with the account number, phone number, email address, or name on the account, ViaSat will be able to further assist.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My account number is *******, the phone number on the account is ************, the E-mail on the account is ************************, and the name on the account is mine, ************. Thank you ************.


Final Business Response
Per ViaSat's numerous responses, we have agreed to have a technician come to Mr. ******'s and remove the transceiver. As stated in the contract signed by Mr. ******:

"If you cease to be a ViaSat Customer for any reason (whether voluntarily or involuntarily), you must call ViaSat within seven days after the termination of your ViaSat service, to (i) request that a prepaid shipping package to be sent to you to ship the Equipment to ViaSat; or (ii) make arrangements for ViaSat to de-install your Equipment at our standard rates. You acknowledge that the Equipment must be returned to ViaSat in good working order, normal wear and tear excepted. If ViaSat does not receive all of the Equipment within 30 days after the termination of your ViaSat Services or if the Equipment is damaged when it is returned to ViaSat, you agree to pay ViaSat the sum of $150 for each unreturned or damaged satellite modem and $150 for each unreturned or damaged transceiver integrated assembly. This fee represents compensation for a portion of the expense incurred by ViaSat in establishing your account and providing you the Equipment for your use."

As of today, July 7, 2014, ViaSat has not charged Mr. ****** for failure to return equipment, and has added a credit to his account to avoid further charges. We believe this is a resolution resolves the complaint at hand and no further action is required.

Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is wildblue responsibility to take parts off the satellite. If they want their equipment they can have them but they got to climb the roof themselves. There was no agreement about anything they said. The agreement was that I be paying the extra $15 a month for 2 years because as a purchasing agreement. I have no use for the equipment, so they can have that. But in no way did I agree to take apart their satellite. That is their responsibility, and their sale rep. at the time knew that I was disable at the time and unable to climb a ladder.Wildblue is the worst internet service I ever had, half the time I wasn't able to get on the internet. If they want their equipment, come get it!

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

07/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Reimbursed for no service and equipment failure as well as no call, no show.
I was billed for billing cycles of *** and June 2014. My service was down beginning on *** 12th. Notified Wild Blue. Appointment scheduled and no call no show. Multiple times thereafter was the same occurrence. After one month of this(missing work waiting on them),I cancelled service on the 12th of June. I just want my money back for the months of *** and June. This is morally wrong business. I was never late for a payment the three years I gave them business and they treat me like this.?

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing Mr. *******'s Better Business Bureau complaint regarding the billing of his ViaSat account.

Please be advised that Mr. ******* contacted ViaSat's Customer Care Department on *** 22, 2014 regarding connectivity of his ViaSat account. During his conversation with ViaSat's Customer Care Representative, Mr. ******* was advised that a service call was required and would be issued. On *** 27, 2014, ViaSat's Home Service Representative contacted Mr. ******* to reschedule his order. Mr. ******* agreed to the reschedule; however, he contacted ViaSat prior to the completion of the service call to reschedule. Over the course of the weeks following, ViaSat's Home Service Providers attempted to contact Mr. ******* to no availability.

Nevertheless, Mr. ******* contacted ViaSat requesting the disconnection of his ViaSat and refund of the charges collected for *** and June. As Mr. ******* had services through *** 20, 2014, ViaSat did no agree to refund the *** charges; however, a refund for the June payment was issued on June 23, 2014. The refund of $39.95 was issued to the payment method on file, and should have been received by in three to five business days.

We apologize for any frustration Mr. ******* *** have experienced. We feel the resolution previously agreed to and the actions taken by ViaSat adequately address his complaint.

Thank You!

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
Consumer filed duplicate compliant. Case XXXXXXXX has been deleted.

No Internet Service for the month of ***. Documented on the 12th of ***. Billed thereafter while no service was preformed on faulty equipment. Missed multiple days of work due to service guys not showing and no call. Wild Blue would setup a service date and no call no show. This continued until the 12th of June when service was dropped. Was billed on the 9th of *** and 9th of June. No service during this time due to no show of service.Product_Or_Service: Internet service


DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation)
DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation)Refunded for the billing period of ***, debited from my account on the 9th day of ***. Not asking for hand-outs. Just a refund of no service.

$39.95

Final Business Response
As stated in ViaSat's previous response Mr. ******* did not contact ViaSat until *** 22, 2014; therefore, ViaSat did not feel any refund was owed for this time. However, as a way to resolve the complaint, ViaSat will agree to refund a portion of these charges. The refund of $23.97 has been issued to the payment method on file and should be received in three to five business days. With this, ViaSat feels the complaint has been resolved.

Thank You!

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

06/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: Their service is absolutely terrible. I would like out of my contract without having to pay any fee for cancellation.
In November of 2013, I order ***** internet from ******. I have had the internet for several months now and it is AWFUL. They give a 10 GB data usage limit, unless you would like to pay more, once you hit 10 GB they lower your internet speed. When I first ordered the internet I was able to still use the internet to upload and download once the limit was hit so I kept it. They have now drastically reduced the speeds so that once the data is up, my internet is useless. I would like to review my contract with them as well, as I do not recall signing a contract with them. When my contractor set up the internet he clicked "ok" digitally for me, instead of let me review what was being agreed too. This service is so awful, I want out of my contract and will return the equipment. I am not asking for a refund of any kind.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing Ms. *******'s complaint to our attention. We apologize for any issue or misunderstanding she may have experienced regarding ******'s Data Allowance Policy.

The Data Allowance Policy is meant to ensure all customers have a fair amount of bandwidth usage based on their package plan, allowing consistency across our entire customer base. Customers are made aware of ******'s Data Allowance Policy at the time of sale. Our Data Allowance Policy is addressed on the first page of the Customer Agreement, signed by Ms. ******* on November 29, 2013 and also available at *****.com/legal.

Pursuant to the Data Allowance Policy, speeds may be slowed or restricted for a period of time when customers use their entire monthly system usage. The most common causes for high usage are typically downloading or streaming media content (e.g. online videos, music, and internet radio), downloading full-length movies, and downloading or uploading large files. We created the usage meter so customers can monitor their monthly data allowance, giving them the opportunity to stay within the limits of their package. Since being installed on November 29, 2013, Ms. ******* has been in breach of the Data Allowance Policy five times.

Our review of Ms. *******'s account shows that she contacted ****** on December 18, 2013 because she'd gone over her usage. At this time, Ms. ******* was educated on the Data Allowance Policy.

Regarding the Customer Agreement Ms. ******* states she did not physically sign, the Customer Agreement is electronically signed by customers during the service installation process. An account cannot be established without the customer's electronic signature. Our records show Ms. *****'s electronic signature on the Customer Agreement dated November 29, 2013. We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the electronic signature process.

The Customer Agreement states ****** requires subscribers to commit to a 24-month Minimum Service Term, and Early Termination Fees will apply if service is canceled prior to the Minimum Service Term. Customers are reminded of the Early Termination Fees at the time they elect to disconnect early.

****** does not agree to waive Ms. *******'s Early Termination Fee of approximately $****** in full based on the above information. However, in order to come to a resolution regarding this issue, ****** will waive half of the charge if Ms. ******* chooses to move forward with the disconnection of her account. Ms. ******* would be responsible for returning ******'s modem and transceiver within 20 days after her disconnection, or she will be subject to an unreturned equipment fee of $******, not including taxes, per the Customer Agreement. A UPS box with a free return shipping label will be delivered to her home address within a week after her disconnection, and will include return instructions.

Currently, Ms. *******'s account is still active. Ms. ******* may contact a member of ******'s Consumer Affairs department at ************ at her own convenience to have her account disconnected. Members of this team are available Monday through Friday from 7:00 AM to 4:00 PM, Mountain Standard Time. Ms. ******* should be advised that the number provided will automatically direct her to a voicemail box. If she leaves a brief message with her name and callback number, her call will be returned as soon as possible.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As the business addressed above, they have a signature from Ms.*****. I'm not certain who this person is, as it is not me and I had stated I did not recall signing anything with them. My contractors electronically signed everything for me. I am not receiving the service I was sold. I was told that after my data limit was reached I would still be able to use the service. At this point, the internet is useless after the data limit has been reached. Ihave requested the Exede tell me how my data is being used up, as we don't use it often and can't believe 10 GB of data can vanish. They have been unable to fulfull my request. I wish to cancel this service, return the equipment, and pay no cancellation fee.

Final Business Response
Thank you for bringing Ms. ********* rebuttal to our attention.

In order to close this matter, ****** will waive Ms. ********* Early Termination Fees in full. Ms. ******* is responsible for returning ******'s modem and transceiver within 20 days of her disconnection, or will be subject to an unreturned equipment fee of $******, not including taxes, per the Customer Agreement. A UPS box with a free return shipping label will be delivered to her home address within a week after her disconnection, and will include return instructions.

Currently, Ms. ********* account is still active. ****** will disconnect it on June 30, 2014. If Ms. ******* changes her mind about disconnecting her service, she need only advise us through this open complaint.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company is unable to pinpoint exactly where my data is being used. I would like them to provide me with exactly where and what every megabyte of data is being used on. I do not believe I am using the amount they say and they are unable to provide me with anything besides a data that is being used. That is unacceptable. The only accepted resolution of this for me is to cancel my account, pay no termination fee, and I will return the equipment promptly. Their service is terrible and their inability to show what my data is being used on, not just when, is inexcusable.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

06/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Last month Direct TV recommended this internet provider. When we spoke to them they assure us it would work for our area and be more than enough data

for our needs. We were over data in less than two weeks. They want to charge us an ungodly amount to cancel our service. We have called multiply times explaining that it takes forever for something to load and by that time we are over on data.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing Mr. *******'s Better Business Bureau complaint to ViaSat's attention regarding the Data Allowance Policy.

Please be advised, at the time of sale Customers are made aware of ViaSat's Data Allowance Policy, the 24-month Minimum Service Term commitment, Early Termination Fees, and certain limitations. Each of these points are also addressed in the Customer Agreement signed by Mr. ******* on April 21, 2014 and available at exede.com/legal. We apologize if Mr. ******* feels these points were not communicated to his satisfaction.

The Data Allowance Policy is meant to ensure all customers have a fair amount of bandwidth usage based on their package plan, allowing consistency across our entire customer base. We created the usage meter so customers can monitor their monthly data allowance allowing them the opportunity to stay within the limits of their package. Pursuant to the Data Allowance Policy, speeds may be slowed or restricted for a period of time when customers use their entire monthly system usage. The most common causes for high usage are typically downloading or streaming media content (e.g. online videos, music, and internet radio), downloading full-length movies, and downloading or uploading large files.

Mr. ******* has 10 GB of usage which was to last until his next billing cycle date of May 24, 2014; however, as of today, May 7, 2014, he has utilized 12.1 GB. Therefore, Mr. *******'s ViaSat account services may have been slowed. When Mr. ******* contacted ViaSat's Customer Service Department on May 1, 2014, ViaSat's Customer Service Representative advised him of this information. Given that Mr. ******* was advised of the Data Allowance Policy at the time of sale, and on his call on May 1, 2014, ViaSat will not waive the Early Termination Fees in full. However, ViaSat will agree to either waive half of these fees should he choose to disconnect, or add 5 GB of additional usage to his account at no charge. This will give Mr. ******* the opportunity to monitor his usage effectively and determine what may be causing the usage issues. Please advise as to which option Mr. ******* would like to take. He may contact ViaSat's Consumer Affairs Department at ************.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Viasat never once explained anything about any limitations. They said there would be more than enough Data, and that it worked fine in our area. We went ahead and set up a time for then to go out, after reviewing the company we decided the reviews were to negative to move forward. We let them know this. We had no ideal they would show up, they came when our 14 year old child was home. There was never a contract signed by Mr *******. We want this company to come and get there equipment we are not paying any fee for a contract we did not sign.

Final Business Response
As previously stated, the contracted was signed on April 21, 2014. Please be advised, customers electronically sign the Customer Agreement during the service installation process. An account cannot be established without the customer's electronic signature. ViaSat has already moved forward with the disconnection of the account and waiver of half of the Early Termination Fees per our previous response. If documentation is provided showing that no one was home other than the 14 year old child, ViaSat is willing to waive the remaining Early Termination Fee charge. However, he will still be responsible for returning the leased modem and transceiver within 20 days after his disconnection, or he will be subject to an unreturned equipment fee of $300.00, not including taxes, per the Customer Agreement. A UPS box with a free return shipping label was to be delivered to his home address within a week after the disconnection, and will include return instructions. Please have Mr. ******* submit this documentation to our Consumer Affairs Department at Executive.**********************

Thank You!


Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Final Consumer Response
Consumer filed duplicate complaint. Complaint # ******** deleted.

Last month Direct TV recommended this internet provider. When we spoke to them they assure us it would work for our area and be more than enough data

for our needs. We were over data in less than two weeks. They want to charge us an ungodly amount to cancel our service. We have called multiply times explaining that it takes forever for something to load and by that time we are over on data.

We want to cancel our service and have them pick up there equipment without a cancellation fee. We feel we were mislead and we are paying for something we cant even use.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Page 1 of 18
02/27/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Access Provider, Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite, Satellite Communication-Common Carrier

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.