BBB Accredited Business since

Health Choice One, Inc.

Phone: (720) 200-2825 Fax: (866) 763-1086 View Additional Phone Numbers 6436 S Racine Cir STE 125, Centennial, CO 80111 http://www.healthchoiceone.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Health Choice One, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Health Choice One, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Health Choice One, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 19, 2005 Business started: 04/28/2004 Business started locally: 04/28/2004 Business incorporated 04/28/2004 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Insurance
1560 Broadway Ste 850, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/insurance/
Phone Number: (303) 894-7499
insurance@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Slutzker, CEO Ms. Bobbie Fortney, CFO Ms. Jennine Seebach, Director of Agency S Ms. Jennette Slutzker, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Slutzker, CEO
Business Category

Insurance - Health

Industry Tips
Insurance

Additional Locations

  • 6436 S Racine Cir STE 125

    Centennial, CO 80111 (720) 200-2825

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 03 2012 entered into General Agency Contract for health insurance. Termed contract, they will not respond since Aug of this year. No $ involved . 8.27.2015 Sent verbal and written request for release to be signed. Not even courtesy of response in three months with continued contact. Followup with multiple phone calls and email messages, never returned one. Then sent secure fax and have proof of their receipt, no response. Have contacted all CEO, CFO, etc., etc. None will respond. Left multiple phone messages, never returns a one. I sent legal termination notice per their own contract and they still will not respond. There is no money involved here at all, I have never spoken or received any support or had any business dealings with this company since March 27th 2012, but they continue to keep me tied up and are preventing me from taking care of my health insurance clients with United Healthcare. There is absolutely no reasonable explanation for this poor business practice, I might could understand if they were making money off of me, but they are not and never have with UHCOne ~ because I have never written not even one single policy.

Desired Settlement: Just sign off and release me or respond in writing what specifically they want from me and why. I certainly have never gotten anything from whatever relationship they think they have with me, and they surely have not received anything off of me since I have never even written a single UHCOne policy. Thanks so very much !!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/11/24) */ This agent was provided a release as of Nov 5. (That is the date we received the fax from her terminating her contract) A copy of the release was sent to her and the insurance carrier. The date of this complaint was 11-23, however we have provided her the release no less then 2 times and also to the carrier rep (we sent the release again on 11-20). Our carrier rep also informed this agent that the release was being processed on their end when she reached out to him last week. I would be happy to send it to her again if she would like. Please let me know what else we can do to help. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/11/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Excessive number of solicitation phone calls - approaching 20 from 10 different phone numbers in one day - outrageous. Problem date: 01/07/2014. Received nearly 20 solicitation phone calls from 10 different phone numbers in one day. I wanted only to compare health plans side by side on the web and NOT deal with an agent. Web form said I would be contacted by AN AGENT so I figured I could live with that. I spoke with several agents because I grew tired of the nuisance calls and told them to immediately remove my phone number from their call lists. I blocked the others. This has taken hours of my day and I consider the calls excessively aggressive. I don't have time to fend off this kind of sales solicitation. In fact, I find it harassing. I called both available phone numbers during normal business hours, hoping to resolve the matter before I contacted BBB. No answer at either, and no option to leave voicemail. I have responded to the email solicitation I also received, to cease and desist. Have had no response. I want the unwanted solicitation calls to stop!

Desired Settlement: Cease and desist the unwanted phone calls.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2015/02/19) */ We only called this client 3 times. Jan 7 10:51 am Jan 7 11:37 am Jan 7 1:18 pm which we removed his number from our dialer. When you put your number on the Internet, it is sold to multiple people. The other calls were not from our company. *** ******** Chief Operating Officer Health Choice One, Inc

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Inappropriate behavior as well as the questions asked by agent associated with ****** ****** **** whose phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX, was offensive. I received a call from this agent associated with ****** ****** *** with the phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX. During the conversation, this agent associated with Health Choice One with the phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX, began asking me questions that I truly deemed inappropriate and not required in order to obtain health insurance through the **** This agent associated with Health Choice One with the phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX, demonstrated unethical behaviors as well as being culturally incompetent. He was very insulting.

Desired Settlement: I would like for ****** ****** *** to pull this call and listen to this agent associated with Health Choice One with the phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX. I was contacted at 6:19 pm. Since all calls are recorded and monitored, as stated by the recording supplied by ****** ****** *** in addition to the agent associated with ****** ****** *** with the phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX; my request shouldn't be a problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/02/14) */ Hello! Our screening questions are all approved by the Division of Insurance. There are many reasons that agents still ask health questions. The first reason we ask about health history, is because there are supplemental products that we can provide to our clients to help to mitigate the out of pocket costs in the event of a accident, cancer, heart attach or stroke. The products all ask health questions. We do not want to offer these products to client who would not qualify for them. Also, some of our clients do not have the monthly budget to afford an Affordable Care Act Plan. As a service to our clients, we like to show them ALL of their options. These other options do have health questions attached to them. Under the Affordable Care Act, there are MANY different types of health plans available. By asking health questions, we are able to determine which product would be a fit for our clients. One example of this would be specialist vists, RX out of pocket costs, specific hospitals, HMO VS PPO. Many of our clients are currently undergoing cancer or other treatments, knowing which doctors, hospitals and RX costs that are currently being used helps us to insure that we are placing them in an appropriate product. If we were to put them in a product with low out of pocket costs, but the wrong doctors, this could interrupt their current treatment. If we put a client on a $13,000 out of pocket costs and their current cancer medication is $36,000 a month, this could mean that they have to pay $13,000 before anything is covered. We try to make sure we know what we need to look for. Asking about health history and medications, helps us to assist our clients. The Affordable Care Act does NOT make it illegal to ask these questions, it makes it illegal for an insurance carrier to deny coverage or charge a higher premium. We are heavily regulated by the Division of Insurance and CMS and we would not do anything to violate our responsibilities to our clients.

12/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Agent misrepresented what was covered by the provider when I specifically requested wellness coverage for myself. When I enrolled for insurance coverage I told the agent what I wanted, which was coverage for wellness (pap smears; breast exam; etc.). I spoke with ****** ***** 3 times before actually signing up. I reiterated I wanted wellness coverage in our conversations and she assured me that the company she was signing me up for would cover that at no additional charge. I enrolled and scheduled my Dr. appts. Then the bills started arriving. When I called I was told wellness was NOT covered. When I complained to managers, ****** ******** ******* ********** and *** **** all told me they would pull the recordings dating back to my conversation with Ms. ***** regarding enrollment and what was covered. I was assured they keep every recording, however, I have yet to have anyone call me back regarding Ms. *****'s misrepresentation. In addition to being out the premium payments (totaling $2063.40) which were useless and which were auto debit from my bank account (not my choice),to date I am also out $1109.12 in medical bills that were supposed to be covered according to my conversation with Ms. *****. I would have been better off not enrolling in medical insurance coverage and just paying cash for the medical services.

Desired Settlement: 100% of premium refunded ($2063.40) since I have been forced to pay 100% of the medical service bills out of pocket. The agent, Ms. Moore misrepresented what was covered rendering the insurance worthless and also because the agent Managers are only providing me with lip service and dead promises. Health Choice needs to be held accountable for their misrepresentations.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/12/23) */ During the phone conversation at the time of application with the client, the agent discussed two plans. One plan included preventative services, the other plan provided LIMITED preventative services. During the verification call at the time of sale, the client was advised to read her policy for a list of ALL exclusions and covered services. The client did call our office in October and was upset that the preventative care was not covered by this plan. At that time, the client was advised to call the carrier and file an appeal / complaint. The carrier would then review the file to see if the services should be reconsidered. To my knowledge, a appeal / compliant was never filed with the carrier. If the client can contact the carrier and begin this process, we would then be able to provide carrier with all of the information and they would make a determination. We are not able to pay claims or refund money on behalf of an insurance company. This must happen directly from the carrier. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/12/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On October 4th, 2014 I contacted HII to make a complaint and they told me that they only handle the billing part for HCC. on October 4th at 3:50pm I contacted HCC and spoke with a Mr. Smith. I explained to him my situation. He stated that he could not do anything for me and that I would have to contact my agent at Health Choice One which is what I did. I also wrote a letter in regards to my situation on HCC's website that same day.

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: refund on a health plan that was purchase. May 2013 I purchased a health plan through Healthchoiceone agency. I specifically informed them I was needing health coverage for myself and daughter. I was in the nursing program and I have to have health insurance and my daughter in going to college she is 18yrs old. We are rarely sick so we don't need much coverage I inquired several time for the plan to include office visits (minor cough and cold aches and pains that require a doctor's visit) and once a year well woman visit for us. Also I requested something inexpensive that would cover my needs. When I was explained of the coverage I continued to ask was the well woman visit covered I was informed by the company representative yes. I scheduled a doctor's appt for me and my daughter. It took a month for us to get in; the appt was scheduled for Aug 5th. Prior to the appt the doctors office called and informed me the insurance doesn't to cover the well woman visit over the age of 16 yrs. I felt I was misinformed of the coverage by the agency. the doctor is a provider on the plan. I intern call the health plan verification dept they confirmed the visit would not be covered so they gave me the number to the agency. The first time I called I got directed to several different people. Finally I research my emails the agency representative who I purchased the policy through I left a voice message and email with is ****** *****--- ************************** informing her of my unhappiness concerning the plan and I would like a refund. I specifically requested and asked was this service covered and I was told it was. I feel I was misinformed the nature of the plan. If I was told the truth regarding the plan I would not have purchased it. I had already agreed to another plan through another agency that accommodated what I need but I rejected it based on the fact when ****** with Healthchoiceone ask me to read to her the other companies plan. Which I did she said she had a better plan that would cover that what was offered and what I was looking for an it was cheaper. I went with her plan and I was explained the plan and I did asked several time was the well women visit covered and again actually 2 different representative stated yes and one stated I would only be subject to the copay. The plan that I purchased is not beneficial for me. She offered me another more expensive plan which I cannot afford that will cover what I asked originally. I decline because there were and is other plan the can accommodate my request and is cheaper. I requested a refund based on the inaccurate information that was provided to me at the time of purchase. I was told I would not be refunded. I think they knew I would not have purchased the plan if they told me well woman visit was not covered. my ID ********** group ***** ***** *****-***** The first month payment was May $207.00 + $125.00 enrollment fee. June and July $207.00 totaling $746.00 I am They were not honest with me regarding the coverage I asked about and specifically need.

Desired Settlement: The first month payment was May $207.00 + $125.00 enrollment fee. June $207.00 and July $207.00 totaling $746.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/09/13) */ To Whom it May Concern, I am writing this response based on transcripts of the recorded sales calls between Ms. *****-***** and Health Choice One agent ************. Ms. *****-***** discussed the policy details in the morning with Ms.****** and applied for coverage later that day. The subject of wellness care and preventive coverage was only very briefly discussed during the morning call and it was only discussed as it related to Mammograms. The description Ms.****** provided was correct for the coverage of Mammograms. When Ms.****** called Ms. *****-***** back to complete the application, very little was discussed about coverage details. There were questions that Ms. *****-***** had about cancellation and refunding of the premium if she changed her mind, but the conversation was limited to that and application questions and answers. Wellness and preventive care were not discussed until the application was completed and Ms. *****-***** was sent to a separate Health Choice One employee who then verifies the customers understanding of the policy benefits, exclusions, premium amounts and payment dates and details. During this process Ms. *****-***** was informed that the plan doesn't cover wellness except for well-child visits up to age 16 and Mammograms. When she was told this she said that was a problem and that she would like to speak to Ms.****** again. When she returned to Ms.******, the explanation provided was not accurate about the wellness coverage provided by the plan. Ms.****** discussed the Mammogram coverage correctly again, but then explained that other services like pap tests and colonoscopies are covered, but subject to the plan deductible. Ms.****** did correctly explain that if she used a network provider that network discounts would apply for those services. Then ****** said that the $50 copay would apply for pap tests and that the charges for the lab work would be subject her deductible and she would have to pay them. Ms. *****-***** then asked if it was subject to the copay and Ms.****** answered "copay and deductible, yes ma'am. After this explanation, the client agreed to go back to the verification department and complete the process with the verifier. The same disclosure about wellness not being covered except for Mammograms and well child up to age 16 was again read to Ms. *****-***** and she acknowledged that she understood by saying yes. Health Choice One has a training program that explains each policy to agents and we had trained on this product approximately 45 days prior to Ms. *****-***** purchase because it was replacing another plan that was no longer available that had different benefits. We have had a rigorous verification system in place to prevent misunderstandings like this from happening. We have thousands of very satisfied customers that have a clear understand of their policy benefits and what they do and do not cover. Unfortunately, Ms. *****-***** is not one of those satisfied customers. Health Choice One is going to request that the carrier refund the premium and application fee that Ms. *****-***** paid and we will take this complaint and apply some additional safeguards to ensure that this type of misunderstanding does not happen again. Sincerely, **************** Vice President of Sales Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 14, 2013/09/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am in acceptance of the response as long as it pertains to me getting a full refund in the amount of $746.00. Thank you, ***** *****-*****