This business is not BBB accredited.

The Curtis Hotel

Phone: (303) 571-0300 1405 Curtis Street, Denver, CO 80202 http://thecurtis.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Curtis Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Curtis Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 04, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974
Business Management
Mr. Andrew Funt, Manager Alexandra Walterspiel, VP
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Andrew Funt, Manager
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1405 Curtis Street

    Denver, CO 80202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: parking fee is $28.00 overnight. Debited my account $112 and lost my car for over 45 minutes. Reversed fee I thought but double charged instead. I checked in to ****** on 4/26/13 @ 3:00p.m. There was no self parking so I used the valet parking for $28.00 or so I thought according to their sign. When I got my bill it was double charged for $56.00 when I asked about it they said "Oh these things happen, we will reverse the charge" so I did sign a paper that showed the charge reversed and a balance of $0 and a charge of $0. When I went to use my card for gas it was declined. I looked at my bank account to find that the hotel did not reverse the charge but took out an additional $56.00 so I have now paid $112.00 for parking. I have been unable to get an answer from them and was told that the additional $40.00 would come back off but nothing on the additional $112.00. To top off the parking charge, they lost my car. We had to wait over 45 minutes to get my car brought to us which in turn made us late for our conference. This hotel has lots of problems, as the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night because there were guest smoking so much it set off the alarms.This is suppose to be a non-smoking hotel. With routine floor checks they could have prevented this from happening. Furthermore, you had the front desk staff not able to restore the elevators resulting in a two hour stand in the lobby until we could return to our room. Being charged $156.00 for a stay that resulted in less than 4 hours in a room doesn't sit well with this patron. Card charged ends in ****. confirmation number Confirmation #********

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the $140.00 and the corresponding Honor points to be restored immediately. If they can take it out immediately they can put it back just as fast.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/20) */ Dear Better Business Bureau, Re: Case #********: *************** The Curtis Hotel has made a good faith effort to resolve this complaint. Per ****************s request all monies billed to her debit card have been reimbursed. The hotel in error double charged for valet parking and as soon as we recognized the error, we credited the account. Unfortunately, this credit was processed through the bank and there was a delay in the reconciliation to the account. The Curtis team sincerely apologizes for the error and the inconveniences experienced. While we cannot take away this error, the hotel has refunded all Hilton Honors points that were used for this stay and they can now be used for a future stay at any Hilton property. At the Curtis, we pride ourselves on providing superior guest service, and are extremely disappointed that on this occasion we missed the mark. The time that *************** spent with us is certainly not the experience that we strive to provide for our guests, and once again, we apologize. We feel that we have satisfied all of ****************s requests and have done everything we can to rectify the situation. We politely request that the Better Business Bureau close this complaint.