This business is not BBB accredited.

Magnolia Hotel

Phone: (303) 607-9000 818 17th St, Denver, CO 80202 http://www.magnoliahotels.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Magnolia Hotel include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Magnolia Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Magnolia Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 06, 2006 Business started: 08/01/1995 Business started locally: 08/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mike Pratt, Vice President of Sales & Marketing Linda Fisher, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Linda Fisher, General Manager
Principal: Mike Pratt, Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    818 17th St

    Denver, CO 80202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stayed in Magnolia Hotel and the room had bed bugs. A manager told me she would send me a check for my luggage. The hotel has refused to do so. I stayed in the Magnolia on August 2-4 with my girlfriend, Neha Yadav. We were there for a wedding. I was the best man. Everything was nice about the hotel until the night before check out when my girlfriend woke up with a bite on her leg. We didnt' think much of it until later, when we noticed a bug scurry across the sheet. I trapped the bug in a jar and called the manager. She came up and, from the beginning, handled the situation poorly. We showed her the captured bug and she agreed immediately it was a bed bug. After that, she simply stood there and waited for us to speak (after we had explained the problem on the phone). We asked that out room be refunded and luggage be replaced. She told us that she would refund the room, but our luggage would be fine if we "sprayed bug spray" on it. We resisted, understanding bed bugs to be a much more serious and persistent threat. We continued arguing with her, and eventually she agreed to comp our rooms and said she would have mainenance come up to inspect the room and then call us back. The maintnenace person showed up abotu 15 minutes later, lifted up the bed, and said that the room was not infested. He said, when the room is infested, there are generally hundreds of thousands of bugs clustered by the headboard. He also said that the hotel had only had them "once or twice." He said that he was not sure the bug in the jar was a bed bug. We asked him to leave. A few hours later, I got a call from the manager. She was apologetic and said that she could reimburse our luggage but "could not give us cash out of the register." She took down the brands/sizes of our bags, my home address, and my email address and said that we could expect a check in the mail. We then thanked her, explained that we were upset, but feel like, if she was able to reimburse us for the luggage that would ned to be thrown out, we could leave happy. I heard nothing from the hotel for almost a week. I decided to call. I spoke to the manager who told me that she could nto reimburse us for the luggage. I asked why she told us she could and she claimed that she never said that. After some back and forth I asked to speak to her manager, Mr. Gillespie. I spoke with him and he said that he believed the manager, that she never said they woudl reimburse us, only that she would look into it. He said it is not their "policy" to reimburse for luggage unless the room was infested adn that our room was not infested, as there was only the one bug that we found. He accused us of bringing the bed bug into the hotel. He was unapologetic and said that "bedbugs happen" and it isnt the fault of the hotel. I explained that we had thrown away the luggage, relying on the manager's statement that she would replace them. Mr. Gillespie told me that I had not relied on her statemnt but my own assumption that the luggage needed to be thrown away. He was very rude. My girlfriend had several exchanges with other management with the same reult. They all claim that the manager never told us that she would reimburse us, even though none of them were there. They directly called her a liar and spoke to her in a manner which left her in tears. After these interactions, we felt we had no choice but to discontnue seeking a remedy through Magnolia.

Desired Settlement: We had 4 luggage items that we threw out because of the presence of bed bugs. We would like those items replaced. These are the items that Stephnie, the manager, told us she would replace. We looked up the cost of the items and it was just over $600.00.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Magnolia Hotel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)