This business is not BBB accredited.

Indian Hot Springs Spa & Lodge

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 989-6666 View Additional Phone Numbers 302 Soda Creek Rd, Idaho Springs, CO 80452

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Indian Hot Springs Spa & Lodge include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Indian Hot Springs Spa & Lodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 07, 1995 Business started: 02/01/1972 Business started locally: 02/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kelly Castellano, Office Manager Lee, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kelly Castellano, Office Manager
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Argo Enterprises LLC

Additional Locations


    302 Soda Creek Rd

    Idaho Springs, CO 80452


    PO Box 1990

    Idaho Springs, CO 80452


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their website advertises the price of a "Resort room" at $75/night. It does say $15 extra for Friday, Saturday, and Holiday nights. When I called to reserve a room for a Sunday and Monday night, they told me it was (I don't remember the price exactly exactly) over $100/night. When I mentioned that was more than the website price, her only response was, "Sorry".I think the price on the website was an "offer to sell", and they should honor the online price or change their website immediately.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Change their website to show actual price or honor the price on the website.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/05/06) */ We have talked to ***** multiple times and explained to him that we were in the process of re-doing our whole website. However, he is acting as if we are doing a bait and switch tactic. From what I know of the issue, he has talked, solely, on the phone and it was explained to him prior to trying to book as to what the actual prices are. Besides, under each page, in addition to the page that he was looking at, we do have, "Prices are subject to change."...and, they have changed due to price increases in the industry and for the improvements that we are constantly making during our purchase of the Indian Hot Springs. All ***** is out is his time arguing with us about our website, which has been changed, like we said we were in the process of doing. We were waiting for our final price increase until doing so. I apologize for the late response to this, but I did not receive this into my email until yesterday. However, the response is the same as when he called. As for resolution, the website reflects our current pricing.

5/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: bad customer service, dirty rooms, pool and caves, and Bed Bugs my fiancee and I and another couple reserved 2 rooms to stay up there on 1/31/15 we made the reservations, they said we were all set up. We get there on 2/7/15 and they said they didn't have our reservation. finally 45 mins later they found it, they spelled our last name wrong which was my fiance's name. we get to our room and its was dirty the carpet was horrid, and the bedroom window was broken when my fiance went to open it it almost cut his hand.Then we noticed we didn't get the package we had reserved so we went back to the front desk and had to pay cash difference for the package we had reserved. we proceeded to try and enjoy our visit with the swimming pool which was not clean and over packed, kids were running all over and jumping into the pool. the privet caves were way to hot to relax in for more then 5 minutes, and were dirty. all the restrooms were down and or dirty. We got the package with the $25 dinner coupon and 1 hour privet cave bath and all day pool pass. We went down into the little town and had dinner which was very good and proceeded to go to the little bar next door and had a few night caps. We all returned to the hotel about midnight and hung out for a while between the two rooms which were right next door to each other. when we went to retire for the night i pulled back the blankets to see a few bed bugs, we lifted all the sheets off the mattress and the whole left side of the mattress was ripped from top to bottom which made it easy to really look for them, when we pulled the mattress open it was bed bug city, we took pictures and packed our stuff up and went to the front desk. The guy took all our info and said he would have a manager call us the next day. We all ended up driving home in the middle of the night, had to stop and vacuum out both cars, leave our bags out in the bed of our truck and strip down in front of our houses to put our clothes and shoes in a plastic bag for caution that we would not bring any into our homes cause i hear all it takes is one bed bug. The next morning we had not heard back anything so we called and they said they were really busy and someone would call us back... three phone calls later and still hadn't talked to anyone. This morning we finally talked to a manager and he refused to refund our money cause he said we were to loud? there were people running all over the building all night we had no one come to our door and say we were to loud not once while we were there. if there were any complaints about us being loud i would expect someone to come say something to us either a guest or an employee. So ***** the manager refused our refund and was very rude about it. The whole reason we were up there was to relax and enjoy our stay and it was not relaxing in any way.

Desired Settlement: for a full refund for both rooms that we were not able to sleep in and enjoy, and for them to take care of the bed bugs so no other people bring them into their home for the reason iv'e read that bed bugs are very hard to get rid of and is a nightmare. It's not fare to people to have to worry about bringing bed bugs home. The place is already over priced for how run down and dirty. All my fiance wanted was a refund for not getting what we payed for. and then for the manager to be so rude and accuse us for being loud when we did not receive a complaint the whole time we were there, who's to say it wasn't the other 5 people we saw going in and out of their rooms?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/11) */ I have already sent you two emails regarding this issue but I will respond here, as well. I will start by saying that I am not going to argue each of the points in this claim because the actual story is so different from their "we are just innocent people trying to relax" that it is just easier to tell the correct version of the story. 1st off, when these people showed up, we could not find their reservation because we believe they gave us the wrong names to start with. Also, they gave us a credit card that we could not pre-charge. They reserved the room under Scurvy instead of the actual name Scrubby, which is almost comical, if not ironic. We tried to swipe the card again and it declined again. Then, the person in this complaint tried to swipe one of his cards and it also declined. Finally, he gave us another card to use that worked. This is why they were at the front desk so long. At this point, I told one of my clerks that I think they are going to be a problem customer and I was right. Anyway, we had a major plumbing incident that took us about 17 hours to fix, overnight and into the next day so we had part of our hallway down to do this repair. We directed traffic around through our pool room and, surprisingly, had very few complaints about it. Anyway, the next morning I got in and was told by the front desk that room 205 and 207 had bed bugs and that the customer had already left. When I saw the customer's name, I knew something was fishy. First off, the building that they stayed in, from my knowledge, has never had bed bugs and now they are in both of the rooms where we had problems with the customers at check in? There are better odds in hitting the lottery. That was exactly my response. As it was a Sunday and we had tons of check outs to worry about and our usual crowds to use the facilities, combined with the fact that we still had a plumbing issue, I instructed housekeeping to isolate those rooms and we will do what we need to on Monday. Around 8 A.M. Sunday, the person staying in Room 206 came to the front desk and said that the people in Room 205 and 207, across from them, came in there rooms really late in the morning and were being loud (understatement, as you can see from his letter I forwarded to you) and when he asked them to keep it down, the door was pushed in hard enough to break the security latch and then he was threatened. Thankfully, this i****'s calmer friend pulled him out of the room. Anyway, I apologized to our customer saying that I will get to the bottom of all of this and he was quite cool about everything. About 25 minutes later, room 208 came to the desk and started complaining about room 205 and 207. Then, room 209 came down and said the same thing but that she was also coming in late and was questioned by the cops because they believe someone at this hotel was causing a problem at one of the gas stations in town. Later in the day, the people below 205 starting complaining about the floor above them. So, I am not quite sure what their definition of quiet is, but I am sure that no sane person would agree with them. As I stated, I did not have time to check on the rooms but I did have an employee take a picture of the damage to the door on room 206. Forward to Monday morning, and the customer called asking what I could do for him regarding his bed bug issue. I had already had housekeeping check out for the bugs, which they could not find. Anyway, this was the first time I talked to him, and he started off by saying that he didn't think it was fair that his fiancé had to wake up with bed bugs crawling all over her at 2 in the morning and he wanted a refund. It was at this point that I told him that he needed to get his story straight. He said, what do you mean? I said, how is it possible that she woke up with bed bugs when you weren't even in the room until you showed up drunk from wherever you were at 2 in the morning? He said that he is allowed to go anywhere he wants to and I said, of course you can but you can't claim to have your fiancé waking up with bugs all over her when you weren't in the room! Maybe I shouldn't have pointed out to him how the facts didn't match his story, so that you guys could catch him in one of his lies, but I was ****** and told him that I don't believe him. Talking with my maintenance, which this guy sent photos of the mattress and the bed bugs to, he said that the photos weren't even of our beds. At this point, I told the guy that I was in the process of gathering information from all of the customers that he woke up or worse and that I was building a case against him for the door and threatening another customer. He said that the guy was lying. I told him that I had a piece of the door latch that he broke on my desk and complaints from 7 rooms so I tend to believe evidence. We argued back and forth and he told me that our lawyers will settle this and I told him it should be fun. At this point, he asked me again if I thought it was fair that his fiancé had to wake up with bed bugs and I said, that for people such as him, I think they are the type of people that deserve to wake up with bed bugs. At this point, he tried switching tactics and said that he was going to come up here and I told him that I would LOVE to see him and he hung up. I refuse to be intimidated by him, especially knowing that he is making up everything. Still, I went into both rooms with flashlights and examined both beds and the bedding. Reading his description about the big tear in the mattress is a lie. The mattresses, I agree, are very old but they are what came with the place when we purchased the hot springs in November. We already ordered new mattresses for the building and they should be here by Thursday (but they were ordered well before this incident occurred). Ironically enough, we were in the process of installing security cameras on Saturday but they couldn't finish the job until Monday. I told the installers that I sure wish that the cameras were operational because of the incident and they actually asked me if it was with the two rooms on the second floor. I said, why would you know that? They said that when they were working on that floor, the customers were very loud and they were already doing shots in the rooms with the doors open and it was still pretty early in the evening. I realize that a lot of this is he said, she said but I will get more customers to send you letters and you should be able to compare it with their "innocent" account and you should be able to determine that you are dealing with fraudsters. I am going to file a case with the local police this week, as well. I am waiting for more responses. So long story short, they purposely mess up their reservation; cause issues at the front desk; party it up like rock stars and claim bed bugs. All of this act is designed to create an environment where they can claim that they are victims. I am wondering if you have other incidents like this relating to the people in this claim. I don't know, maybe other hotels just decide not to fight and let the incident fade away. Well, we are not going to take this lightly and I hope you, the BBB, do not either for people making false claims. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First off the manager is very unprofessional, he uses profanity like no other manager Iv'e ever came across extremely rude and unprofessional. He couldn't even help himself with his remark calling us ******** his character shows how horrible of a manager he is by the way he talks to his customers and the wrist band that says F@#% off on it. Second of all why in gods name would we give you guys wrong names to reserve rooms? that makes no since at all and is ridiculous. On 1/31/15 my faience and I both called to reserve two rooms for 2/7/15 one for us and one for another couple for a birthday present surprise, one was on her card and one on my card. I made a reservation for one room under ******* on my card and then handed the phone over to my faience so she could reserve a room under her name Scruby. We talked to the lady and she took all our info including our names, email, phone number and credit cards, she told both of us she ran both our cards for $1 to hold the rooms and that they would see us on 2/7/15. When we got there we were told they could not find our reservations. They took booth our ID's and credit cards... after 45 mins we were told by ***** they found the problem and found our rooms. They never put the room under ******* they put both rooms under my faience name which they spelled wrong they spelled it Scurvy instead of Scruby, even after they realized they spelled it wrong they continued to spell it wrong and say it wrong even after being corrected and looking at her ID and credit card it is not our fault they spelled her last name wrong even after she spelled it to the lady on the phone when we reserved the rooms. And ***** still couldn't get it right in his response. It's Scruby not Scurvy or Scrubby. Third off the rooms are in horrible condition and there are plenty of complaints on yelp, trip advisor and facebook about how horrid your rooms and spa areas are and of course the whole main purpose of this complaint the BED BUGS are also in the complaints. We looked past the condition of the room and spa areas and the mix up with check in and enjoy the weekend and spas. We couldn't even enjoy those the pool was over crowded kids were running a muck and the privet spas were dirty and to hot. And last we still proceeded to enjoy our night so we all got ready and went to BoJo's Pizza for dinner around 7:30 had dinner after that we went to the little bar behind Bojo's called the mousse and had a few drinks, and actually our waiter met us over there and bought us a drink for being so cool and fun at the restaurant. We had a few drinks and around midnight we went back to our rooms and hung out there, there were people outside, roaming around. so it just wasn't us up and about. We did not have any customers or staff not once come to neither room to complain about us being to loud, that only came up when I tried to call and get a refund. And yes we are saying not "claiming" as you are calling it that your rooms have BED BUGS its a fact not a claim. When we went to go to bed a little after 1am my faience pulled the covers back and saw a bug and a few dried blood spots that is when we proceeded to check the mattress which was horrid i bet you wouldn't even sleep on it why would you expect your customers too? The whole side was torn from top to bottom so it wasn't hard to locate the bugs. We pulled open the mattress and let and behold BED BUGS! We have pics that we took with the day and time on them. And why would we claim there are bed bugs and drive home in the middle of the night and pay almost 300.00 to stay there if we weren't planing on having a fun relaxing weekend. Unforgettably it was the total opposite. We had to throw away our bags we had our clothes in bag up the clothes and keep them in the back of our truck, then before going into our home strip down outside bag up our clothes and then the next morning steam clean our truck. We are pretty much over getting our refund EVEN though it would be the right thing to do. The main concern here is the BED BUGS that you are potentially giving to hundreds of people and the professionalism of the Manager *****. I would never talk to any of my customers the way he did even if the customer was wrong or how mad i was. So please for the sake of others that want to come enjoy your spa and hotel take care of the BED BUGS and do a better keep up of the place it's dirty and falling apart its a shame. And ***** you need to learn how to talk to your customers and have a professional approach to your customers and management position. The pictures I have attached are photo's of the bed in room 205. not the best camera on his phone but you can clearly see the bugs all the reddish black spots are BED BUGS!!! Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2015/02/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Well... You keep denying the problem but it won't just go away. Scams are designed for the scam artist to get something for nothing. The only one that got something for nothing is the Indian hot springs. You got my money and I did not get sanitary, satufactory product. Pretty sure that is the scam. Top dollar, to stay in the "bed bug get away". That's the scam. And yes, who the **** carries pictures of mattresses on their phone.That's the dumbest thing I've ever heard. I didn't have to dig ,what so ever to find multiple complaints, filed on this same site from other people having the same horrible exsperience. The pictures are dated and have the time at which they were taken.It's indisputable when and where they were taken. I'm over this children's game with your establishment. You win. You got money from some more unhappy customers. I will do my best to make sure none of the thousands of people I network with, ever set foot in the Indian hot springs. Just seems that either, the staff and customers don't know about the conditions, or don't care. Either way, it's discusting. if the bug problem hasn't spread to your home's to feed of of you, your children and spouses, it will soon enough. I feel sorry for you when it does. So, if the establishment is ok with it's employees, guests and Thier children being eaten alive,then carry on. However, call me old fashioned but I'll stick to the bug free hotels. Final Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2015/04/27) */ I am not sure what more you guys want me to respond to. His last response was that he gave up, which this **** should have done the minute he realized that we weren't falling for any of his ****. The **** has pictures of beds that are not ours and you guys have received letters from other guests claiming that he was an abusive person, even kicking in another person's door, threatening him while his wife was screaming in her bed and using as many *********slurs as possible. He basically threatened me with a lawsuit, prior to contacting the BBB, and when I informed him that the owners of the Indian Hot Springs have a lot more money than him but it should be fun to see him in court, he said "Never mind. I am on my way up there right now. What do you think about that?" I told him that I would be extremely happy to see him in person and that I will be waiting. He never showed up. He is a bully and realized that I was not afraid of him. That is why he contacted the BBB; he thought that we would be afraid of the claim being on our BBB report. Well, he is wrong, again. At what point does the BBB finally realize that this matter has been a scam from the beginning and close the case? I feel that I have been very, very patient, but even my patience has a limit. This customer did not submit additional information, so I did not feel like I had to refute anything. Now, since he has not contacted us since that complaint, you are asking me to re-open a can of worms with someone that probably has moved on to bullying someone else. I am just not sure how a case gets resolved at the BBB. I can respond to make the case seem closed but then he will respond again and we will do this song and dance forever. I am telling the BBB, just like I told him, that we are not going to refund his money, ever. He should feel lucky that the customer did not want to press charges when he kicked in the door. Anything more that he has to say will be more lies and more time wasted. At some point, it should be the BBB's responsibility to make a judgment on the case and close it. If that isn't what happens at the BBB, then the question should be asked, "Who benefits from the BBB?" I don't mean to sound ignorant nor am I trying to offend, but having this case sit on your books/website without resolution really does a disservice to the Indian Hot Springs. This guy can basically sling our establishment through the mud without any backlash from the BBB. Also, the more times that I respond, it is more likely that I will appear to be a hot head, which is not the case. It's just that you can only deal with this type of person for so long until the concept of cordiality does not exist. In his world, you are giving him what he wants: A platform to bully without repercussion. His type believes that the squeaky wheel gets the grease and, eventually, we will have to cave due to his complaint just sitting in limbo and the bad image that will be hanging over us until it goes away (us paying him off).

12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to send my personal item left in room, after I gave my credit card number to pay for the shipping. We stayed two nights at the resort. October 12-14 2014. I had left my black cape (jacket) in my room. I called the next day to let them know I had left it. Was told they did not have it in lost in found, and would call me if it showed up. After three days of calling and I threatened to leave a bad review on tripadvisor I was told that they have found it. ***** the general manager told me to send a pre paid box and she would ship it to me. I went to my local post office and they told me that it was ridiculous to send a box in a box and having no idea how much it weighed. I called ***** again and explained it would be more cost effective if she would just mail it and that I would pay for the postage. ***** through this whole process was very rude to me and had to say it was not her responsibility. ***** told me she would ship it to me and took my credit card info. It is now November 12, and no package. I called again ***** said she mailed it on October 31. I have called three more times and left a message for Debbie which I was told was an owner. Still no cap and no phone calls returned.

Desired Settlement: All I want is for them to send me my cape like Tessa promised and took my credit card info.

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The private baths were very dirty as well as the room and pool. I asked for a refund but was told no. On the wall behind the front desk it said that a refund can be received for the bath within 15 minutes. We asked for the refund but we're told no. The private baths were very dirty, with rusty pipes and smelled horrible. Our room also was dirty and smelled. This place was not what was expected from the website and I was not relaxed from staying there at all.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for my stay.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/10) */ I would like to begin with my apologies for the delayed response. I have been out of the office for roughly two weeks due to an injury. I looked up the reservation information and found that Mr. ********** stayed with us on a special advertised package that included a $25.00 dinner credit that was able to be used at one of five local participating restaurants. That voucher had already been paid out by the time this case was filed with the BBB. Mr. ********** paid a total with tax in the amount of $108.75. I have issued a refund in the amount of 83.75, the balance of the package for the room and bath portion. I would have been happy to assist and resolve the issue in a quick manner if I would have been contacted directly. We do not normally have these types of complaints as we did sold 3,076 of these package reservations last year and 1,445 to date this year. Those totals do not figure room rentals not a discounted rate or guests that just come in and rent a mineral bath for an hour. We have thousands and thousands of guests yearly that enjoy or facility and the services we provide. I am sorry to hear that Mr. ********** did not. The credit can take 48 - 72 business hours to post to his statement. The credit was processed today to a Visa card ending in ****. A copy of the attached statement was emailed to Mr. ********** for his records. I hope this resolves the issue for Mr. **********. If there is anything else I can do, Please contact me at your convenience. I have returned to the office as of today for normal business hours, Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Indian Hot Springs Spa & Lodge
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)