BBB Accredited Business since

Longmont United Hospital

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 651-5111 Fax: (303) 678-4050 View Additional Phone Numbers 1950 Mountain View Ave, Longmont, CO 80501 http://www.luhcares.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Longmont United Hospital meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Longmont United Hospital include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Longmont United Hospital
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 30, 1996 Business started: 06/06/1955 Business started locally: 06/06/1955 Business incorporated 06/06/1955 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Business Management
Mr. Mitchell Carson, President/ CEO Mr. Daniel Frank, Controller Mr. Peter Powers, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mitchell Carson, President/ CEO
Business Category

Hospitals


Additional Locations

  • 1380 Tulip St., Ste. A

    Longmont, CO 80501

  • 1950 Mountain View Ave

    Longmont, CO 80501

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: LONGMONT UNITED LAB INCORRECTLY FILED INSURANCE WITH THE WRONG INSURANCE COMPANY. On September of 2014, I had lab work done at Longmont United as I have done for years. My insurance has not changed for at least 5 years; but someone filed the claim with another company. I received a past due bill for the lab and noticed the wrong Iinsurance. I went to the business office and the clerk found the problem and called the lab to correct the problem. I never heard any more about it until June 2015 when we received a letter from *** in ******* stating that the lab *********** **** turned us to collection. Since that time no one at LUH or ****** *** has helped. My wife finally filed the lab claim with our Iinsurance and Iit was paid within one week, July 2015. Nobody at LUH or ****** *** has done anything to notify the collection agency.

Desired Settlement: I want, at a minimum, to receive a copy of a letter sent to the credit bureaus and collection company clearing our credit. We had excellent credit prior to his incident.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/22) */ The claim originally went to the insurance (UHC) for a total billed amount of $122 (9/22/14). The claim denied for patient cannot be identified on 9/24/15. The balance was rejected to patient, and they received 2 statements before being sent to collections (9/25/14 and 11/3/14). The account was sent to collections on 2/21/15, because the patient never called in and updated the insurance information per the statements. Per comments on account, on 7/8/15, after account had been in collections for 5 months, the patient called in and provided updated insurance information. United Healthcare made a payment of $20.08 on 8/3/15. Out of the $122 billed amount, $20.08 was paid and the rest was a provider discount. Collection agency was then contacted to cancel the account. Had the patient responded to the statements sent, we could have updated the insurance and not sent to collections. It appears the patient did go to the hospital but unfortunately the hospital does not do the billing for the lab so that information never flowed to the billing company. While it is certainly unfortunate for the patient, there was no intentional wrong doing by Carent or the hospital. Once the patient provided the corrected information, the account was pulled from collections and re-billed. Collections agency will be providing a letter of guarantee to patient that this circumstance is not reflected on their credit history. If there is any further questions that can be answered, please don't hesitate to let us know. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Of course I am pleased that my credit will hopefully be restored. Thank you for that. However, after visiting with the business office clerk after the first past due bill, I was told it would be corrected. The business office took down the correct insurance information and talked to the 'billing company' while I was there. No other correspondence happened until the letter from the collection agency was received. So, I did update the correct insurance in a timely manner. The case is closed from my perspective; but I am not pleased with the lack of 'care' from LUH.

7/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Accounts sent to collections despite payments having been made. Lack of communications between billing departments and to the patient Wife's bill. Service date 8/2014. Payments made 10/28/14, 11/21/14. Called in December to make a payment and was told that the account had been sent to *********** (voluntary service). Since we do not want to use *********** we were told to wait until account came back. Called twice in January and was told by **** and ****** (same?) that the account had NOT come back yet. Dunning letters indicated that this was not true. Emailed Main business office through the web site with no response. A second email proved to be more fruitful, **** contacted me on 4/8/2015. **** indicated that the account had been sent to collections. Continued to make payments to LUH contacting **** each time. Additional payments were made 4/8/2015, 5/7/2015. My bill- Service date 11/2014. We made payments 1/26/15, 2/12/15, 3/13/15, 4/8/15 and 5/9/15. When I called 6/10/15 to make a payment, **** indicated that this account had also been sent to collections but she could not explain why. I made a payment anyway. Summary - There are 2 departments collecting money. Statements sent do not provide the Main business office phone. Statements show XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX while the numbers provided by **** were XXX-XXX-XXXX and XXX-XXX-XXXX. Accounts returned from *********** go to the Main Billing office. Contact with the local number provided on the statement goes to the "normal" billing office which has zero knowledge about the account going to or being with the Main billing office. Additionally, the patient portal provides zero information and the accounts do not even show despite providing account numbers. Both of these accounts had been receiving payments. Neither account deserved to be sent to collections. Nothing in any statements I have seen show any intent or the pending actions of sending the account to a collection agency. It should be noted that this complaint should NOT reflect on **** or her work, she had no information to provide since she was just as much in the dark as we were. This is directly a result of LUH and their business systems which prove to have an alarming lack of communications between departments that serve, at least in part, the same function. I would like both accounts to be returned to LUH where I can continue to make payments directly to LUH.

Desired Settlement: I would like both accounts to be returned to LUH where I can continue to make payments directly to LUH.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/18) */ *** ******, Our office is in receipt of your complaint with the BBB regarding the above date of service and appreciates the opportunity to address your concerns. After investigation of the account in your name with our office, our records document the following: We were only able to locate one account, under your name, from Longmont United Hospital that has been sent for third-party collection efforts as of today's date, June 18th, 2015. You may have additional bills, from additional providers for the date of service in question. Any outside entity is not associated with the Longmont United Hospital billing process. The account in your name was never sent to **** ******** Our records indicate the account was sent only to our ******* ******** ********** for possible payment arrangement to be set. During this time the statements included a final statement sent 4/27/2015, with verbiage that the account may be sent for further collection efforts. Our records do not indicate your account was ever placed in a formal payment arrangement. Longmont United Hospital is happy to cancel your account in question, from the collection agency. We will send the account back to our ******* ******** ********** for a formal payment arrangement, and to follow the normal course of business. The monthly payment arrangement will be set in the amount of $60.00/month, per the Longmont United Hospital payment plan guidelines, for the balance remaining on this account of $709.00. Someone from our billing office will contact you to arrange this payment arrangement for the account in your name. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While my account may not have gone to *********** the fact remains that monthly payments were made starting on 1/26/15 continuing through 6/15/15. On 6/15 I learned that my account had gone to collections despite these payments having been made. On 6/20/15 I received email correspondence threatening to send the account to collections if immediate action was not taken. This is typical of how this account has been going.... that email was 3 weeks late and after the fact. Actually it was 7 weeks late if you count the 30 day warning time. I do appreciate that LUH has offered to bring my account back to the Patient Accounts office, this is the correct and desired answer. However this only solves 1/2 of the issue. My wife's account remains in collection despite similar circumstances. I made payments on her account on 10/28/14 and 11/21/14 however Her account DID go to ************ We repeatedly called looking for the account to return to LUH from *********** so we could continue to make payments directly to LUH. We were repeatedly told that the account was not in the system and we would have to wait for it to return. It apparently went to collections immediately upon its return. It should be noted that I was contacted by **** (LUH) regarding this account in response to the second email I sent requesting someone to contact me. In the BBB complaint I indicated erroneously that **** contacted me in April, it was actually 2/12/15 and a payment was made at that time. Monthly payments have continued to be made since that time. I hesitate to list her account number here however if someone from LUH will contact me I will gladly provide it so it too can be reviewed. I would happily accept the response if that account receives a similar resolution. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/06/29) */ *** ******, Thank you, for your response. We will be happy to address your concerns regarding your wife's account. In order to handle this appropriately we request that your wife sign a HIPAA release for us to discuss her account, and related concerns, directly with you. Per the conversation you had with Longmont United Hospital staff member, ****** ******** on June 25th, 2015, a Medical Information Release Form was mailed to your wife at XXXXX ****** ***** *** ********* ** XXXXX. Upon receipt of this signed document, we will be happy to address the concerns regarding your wife's account. Thank You.

10/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to send statements. been paying monthly and just went to make a payment online and my account disappeared. sent me to collections. Here we go again! Longmont Hospital has THE WORST billing practices. They send you about two statements and then they stop sending them to you and send you to collections. I do not know what I owe because I don't get statements anymore.I have been making payments online and I went online to pay on my bill on ********* Account # XXXXXXXXXXX and it can not be found. I AM TIRED OF THIS! This is not the first time this has happened. I have paid all my past bills in full to LUH and do not know what the PROBLEM is here! I know so many people who are having the same problem in Longmont. Why am I being sent to collections for attempting to pay a debt? It this not illegal to not send statements to your consumer and send to collections when your making monthly payments? I have no problems with the other medical bills I pay. And you charge interest to boot! You are going to affect my credit which is good.Also with the last experience like this, you get a phone call and they want to you to make a verbal commitment to pay on a certain date so that if you don't make it by then they send you to collections which I personally have not had a problem with. And they try to get you to pay a larger amount than you can afford but I pay what I can and don't fall prey to that tatic.

Desired Settlement: I want my bill out of collections and back online at the correct amount I owe and I want a statement of what I have paid already to this account.I have proof of what I paid so far. Let's see if you can come up with the same amount.And I want a monthly statement until I have finished paying this off.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/26) */ This statement is to acknowledge and respond to the complaint filed by ******** ********* to the Better Business Bureau regarding Longmont United Hospital billing practices. Account number referenced in the complaint is XXXXXXXXXX. Ms. ********* was seen at Longmont United Hospital on ***** ***** **** and total charges for that service date were $1,352.90. On *** ** **** payment from Ms. *********'s insurance provider was received and posted leaving a balance of $634.35 to Ms. *********. After reviewing the calls we made, it was not explained clearly to Ms. ********* that she had to set up a larger payment plan and as a result of our communication gap, we are retrieving the account from collections, taking it off her credit report, and will have someone call her to clearly explain our payment plan policy. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No one told me about a larger payment plan. I am on short term disability from work.This is exactly what they said last time this happened. that someone didn't explain this to me.I have so many bills right now, everyone gets what I can afford.That will have to be acceptable for now.I did hear from them today and they will send me hardship paperwork for me to fill out. I will fill it out and if It is not approved I still will not be able to pay more until some of my bills are paid down.Once again I am attempting to pay a debt.I am doing the best I can. The part of the response I don't accept is lack of larger payment and communication.They just try to bully people into what they want. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/08) */ On ********* *** ***** Ms. ********* spoke with the business office of Longmont United Hospital. An agreed upon payment arrangement was made. Longmont United Hospital agreed to the payment arrangement even though it is outside our typical payment plan policy while we await the Financial Assistance application from Ms. *********.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Longmont United Hospital
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)