BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Denver & Boulder, Colorado

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/14/2005

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

Phone: (720) 747-6000Fax: (303) 368-0529View Additional Phone Numbers10375 E Harvard Ave STE 101, DenverCO 80231-3965

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/14/2005

BBB has determined that 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 461 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

This company primarily provides warranty coverage for pre-owned homes.

The BBB encourages consumers to resolve any concerns or disputes directly with the company first before filing a complaint with the BBB. The company has established a special phone number at 800 858-0976 to help resolve consumer complaints.

This company is also affiliated with Home Buyers Warranty Corporation that administers a home warranty program for new homes. A separate report is available on this operation.

For additional information on the home service contract industry, see the web site for National Home Service Contract Association at www.homeservicecontract.org.

In addition to the BBB Educational and General Comments below, here is important information you need to know about the company products:

* Problems that existed prior to the purchase of the home ARE NOT covered under most warranties. This is called a pre-existing condition.

* You MUST ALWAYS contact the warranty company first and receive authorization prior to having repairs completed. The company WILL NOT pay for any repairs performed without its prior approval.

* The company contracts with independent service providers in each locale of their service area and they grade their contractor's performance criteria along with time of response to the incident.

* Resale warranties ARE NOT contracts of insurance. They are limited home service agreements intended to cover breakdowns of specific items due to normal wear and tear.

* Resale warranties DO NOT relieve the home buyer from performing normal maintenance and minor repairs after they buy the home.

The company has improved its quality assurance and customer service functions which are the root cause in the number of complaints reducing in the last year versus the prior three years. The BBB continues to meet with the company to determine if the number of complaints are unusual in relation to the size of the company and its frequency of transactions and claim incidents.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

461 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 204 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues5
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues213
Problems with Product / Service238
Total Closed Complaints 461

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (461)BBB Closure Definitions
04/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: Authorization Number ******* was given to use ********* Heating and Air Conditioning Service. Now 2-10 will not honer the warranty.
Re. Warranty **************** *****************************************

Further, to my telephone conversation with *** this evening and and ***** yesterday afternoon, please find attached the paid in full Invoice No. ***** from ********* Heating and Air Conditioning Services in the amount of $601.00 per your request.

Friday, February 21, 2013 I spoke with ***** concerning problems with our heating and air conditioning unit manufactured in August 2013 and installed only a few months before our closing date of December 23, 2013 for the above captioned area property.

1. ***** verified my 2-10 Home Warranty information
2. I informed ***** we called a local heating and air condition service company, (********* Heating and Air Conditioning Service) and that they were at the property but had not started working on the unit as of that time at 4:10PM.
3. ***** said let me see if I can help you, and informed me that ********* Heating and AC Service were not in your network, but could add them. He asked me for their name twice to put it in your system.
4. ***** stated that I would have to pay the bill in full, and only be obligated for $75.00 after ********* Heating and Air Conditioning Service submitted their bill to 2-10.
5. ***** gave me an Authorization Number ******* and a telephone number (800) ******** for ********* Heating and Air Conditioning Service to call after their work was completed.
6. I passed this information onto ********* Heating and Air Conditioning Service and they started working on the AC/Heating Unit.
7. By 9:00PM ********* Heating and Air Conditioning Service installed a new thermostat which short-out and replaced the wiring and a third temporary thermostat to be replaced this Monday and calling 2-10 thereafter.
8. *** informed me that ***** not only did not added ********* Heating and Air Conditioning Service to your data base and apparently communicated his authorization incorrectly.

**************

Initial Business Response
March 10, 2014

Case #: ********, **************

The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation has received the complaint submitted by Mr. ******. Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond.

We do apologize for any frustration or inconvenience Mr. ****** may have experienced during the claim handling process. We strive to provide fast and reliable service to all of our customers and anything less than that is unacceptable, and will be investigated further internally by our company.

Our records indicate that the February 21, 2014 claim was dispatched to our network service provider, ******** Heating & Air LLC in order to diagnosis for coverage determination; dispatching a claim is neither authorizing nor agreeing to coverage. Mr. ****** did speak with one of our representatives on February 22, 2014 and informed us that the repairs had been completed by an outside network service provider.

Our records indicate that Mr. ****** was offered $266 reimbursement for these repairs. This price quote is based on our network service provider's cost to replace the thermostat, repair the broken wiring, and add two pounds of refrigerant to the system. We regret that we are not able to offer a full reimbursement for the $803 that Mr. ****** paid. Per the terms and conditions of the Service Agreement, section A.2a states that "Instead of performing repair or replacement services, we may pay you cash. The amount of cash we pay is the lesser of (i) what the ordinary customer would pay after negotiating the best price for such services in your area and without the benefits of this contractor, or (ii) the amount we would pay for parts and labor for covered service based upon our contracts with authorized service contractors, this amount is usually less than the retail cost or your actual cost." Mr. ****** may accept this reimbursement by contacting our company at 888-***-**** at any time to verify how he would like his reimbursement check to be addressed.

We thank Mr. ****** for his understanding concerning this matter. We do take these matters very seriously and we thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We value your business and look forward to servicing your future warranty needs.

Sincerely,

*************
Office of the President
Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Last weeks response from Ms.************** for the President of 2-10 a/k/a Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation consummates their ability to know the facts and unable to give a true verbal and/or written account of what transpired.

Example:

1. This is the first time we heard about the $266.00 Offer. Who did they make this offer to. Not Me!

2. Again, we were given a verbal authorization number and was told that *******'s Heating and Air Conditioning Services was added to their network and thats what accrued. Also *******'s Heating and Air Conditioning Service total bill was $601.00 and not the $803.00 per Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation records.

3. Once more, never heard of ******** Heating & Air LLC and why would they be dispatched them anyway, inasmuch as, 2-10 authorized *******'s Heating and Air Conditioning Service to do the work on February 21, 2014.

The first and only written communique received from 2-10 was a brochure and my coverage around the end of this past February. I returned it back via CERTIFIED MAIL RECEIPT No.******************** **** dated Friday, March 21, 2014 with a hand written statement on their brochure cover letter to CANCEL this policy and return all monies paid.

We would like to end this charade, so please cancel this policy and remit the $266.00 that was never offered.

**************

Final Consumer Response
Monday, April 7, 2014

Dear *******,

Received today a letter dated March 27, 2014 canceling the 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty and a check dated April 1, 2014 reimbursing the total warranty premium.

Thanks for your help
**************

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: Company failed to replace or offer me a new refrigerator after four (4) visits if they were unable to repair it as stated in their contract.
Jan.24,2014
2-10 Home Buyers Warranty Corporation
10375 E. Harvard Ave. Suite 100
Denver, Co. 80231

Atten: President & To All Concerned:

Please take note that I am returning said check ( un cashed or signed) in the amount of $400.00 ( four hundred dollars) bearing check #**********; dated Jan. 03,2014.

In brief, I am returning said check because it was and is an insult to my loyal membership in my participating in your insurance program which was to cover the repairs of all my appliances ( namely my refrigerator-in question)
I've been a customer since 2006 joining your program under the builders contract, who had built my townhouse unit, of which I signed up for the additional appliance coverage. To date after twelve visits from your repair service offers ( of which there were only to have been four visits) and if the repair could not be satisfied, I was to have been offered a replacement of " SAME LIKR" or " BETTER".

Need I further state, after questioning about the replacement of " SAME" or " BETTER" I was told that I was only entitled to $400.00 to compensate my loss in the use of my refrigerator because they could not repair the icemaker of the refrigerator ( after twelve (12) visits at your companies discretion of which there were only to have been four (4) visits according to your contract.) and the fact that your company had spent $1,000.00 plus in trying to repair the same. Why would your company spend that kind of money in trying to repair a product when after the fourth visit it was evident that the ice maker was not repairable, as stated in your contract. I was never offered a replacement of "SAME" or " BETTER". Who was the brainy head master that would spend a $1,000.00 in repair service rather than honor the contract and just replace the unit.
I am not satisfied with the $400.00 offer, therefore I trust that I will be given the replacement refrigerator of "SAME" or "BETTER" in respect to my loyalty as a member. When I joined your program, I always made my annual payments ( for the past seven years) for services in full; I never made the payments in installments. Lastly,
I am aware that my membership under the builder's contract, I am still covered by your company 2-10 as far as my structural, wiring, foundation & etc. until 2016. Also please find enclosed a copy of my (your) contract of which I have not yet honored an annual payment for 2014 until this matter is resolved.

I await your response, Mr. President-2-10 Home Buyers Warranty Corp.

Respectfully, I am

*********************' This in My Contract #********* with 2-10 H.B.W. Corp.

Atten: Better Business Bureau the above letter is what I sent to the 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty Corp. stating my request and the fact that they did not honor their own contract, and I as a participant am not willing to settle.

Initial Business Response
February 14, 2014

The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation ("HBW") has received the complaint submitted by ***********. Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond.

First, HBW would like to apologize for any frustrations and inconveniences *********** has experienced during the claim handling experience. It is very important for *********** to understand the Terms and Conditions, as well as Limitations of her Service Agreement with HBW. Section D-2 of the Terms and Conditions states "in instances where the cost of completing a full repair or replacement exceeds a stated contract dollar limit, we will pay an amount equal to the contract dollar limit in lieu of providing repair or replacement services". The dollar limit *********** has on her Service Agreement per kitchen appliance is $400.00, which is listed under the "Limitations" section of the Kitchen Appliances portion of the Service Agreement which states "all kitchen appliances are limited to $400.00 per contract year per appliance. Purchase of the Deluxe Appliance Coverage option removes this limitation".

Our records indicate that *********** has been offered and explained the Deluxe Appliance Coverage option every year prior to the renewal of her Service Agreement with HBW, but the option has been declined each time. HBW, as a gesture of goodwill to *********** had reset the Dollar Limit for her refrigerator in order to provide *********** with the $400.00 check.

HBW is unable to offer any additional monies, or honor ***********'s request to provide a like-kind replacement refrigerator as the cost would exceed the $400.00 limit set per the Service Agreement. We thank *********** for bringing her concerns to our attention as we do take these matters very seriously. We value ***********'s business and look forward to servicing her future warranty needs.

Sincerely,

**********
Office of the President
Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation


Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/03/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: My contract states that I should have coverage on my appliances. They are not allowing me to file a claim on my appliance.
Our warranty was purchased on 5/30/13 and we filed a claim for our dryer being broken on 6/1/13. The warranty company covered the claim (the dryer was fixed) and sent us a copy of our contract (D01D-********). The contract shows that the purchaser (the property real estate agent, John) paid $499, with a finance charge of $37.90 for a total of $536.90. This charged amount was for full coverage of major systems and appliances with a deductible of $75. On 1/8/14 our dryer broke again. We contacted the warranty company on that date and they informed us that we could not file a claim because it was showing that we did not have appliance coverage, even though the warranty company had paid our appliance claim back in June. One gentleman I spoke with informed me that in the notes section when the contract was purchased, it indicated that the agent wanted the 'major systems and appliances' package, but that somehow we only had major systems. Because it was late in the evening, the customer service department was already closed, so he asked us to call back the following day during normal business hours to discuss it with a supervisor. On 1/9/14, after speaking with a number of representatives and supervisors, I was informed that the notes now suddenly did not indicate what the gentleman told me the night before. I was also told that allegedly the phone log from when the contract was purchased was pulled and reconfirmed their position that appliance coverage was never requested or purchased. I in turn scanned and emailed the 2-10 customer service supervisor ****** on 1/17/13 (over a week from when this began) a copy of the contract they had sent me. After ****** reviewed a copy of my contract (which I thought they would have been able to bring up, since they supposedly keep phone logs from months ago), I spoke with her and she admitted that the 2-10 accounting department made a mistake and inadvertently charged the agent the wrong amount. Even though they have admitted to their mistake, they have not been willing to make amends, they have continuously been disrespectful and discourteous, and have flat out lied (regarding alleged phone logs). They STILL refuse to uphold the contract that the agent purchased, and we are still without a dryer (going on almost 2 weeks now).

Initial Business Response
February 11, 2014

The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation ("HBW") has received the complaint submitted by Mr. *******. Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond.

First, HBW would like to apologize for any frustrations or inconveniences Mr. ******* has experienced during the claims handling process. Our records indicate that Mr. ******* has since had all repairs to his Dryer completed by the service contractor dispatched by HBW as of January 27, 2014.

Additionally, HBW has swapped the coverage Mr. ******* originally purchased with his Service Agreement from Major Systems coverage which covers all components except Appliances, to the Enhanced option which covers everything including the Appliances at no extra cost to Mr. *******.

We thank Mr. ******* for bringing his concerns to our attention as we do take these matters very seriously. We greatly value Mr. *******'s business and look forward to servicing his future warranty needs.

Sincerely,

**********
Office of the President
Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a repair estimate or agreement

Complaint: Furnace was deemed dangerous (leaking carbon monoxide) and was no longer working.
Furnace stopped working 1/22/14 and filed a claim with the 2-10 warranty company. They sent out a service provider (******)prior to their arrival it began working again. Woke up the next morning (1/23/14) and the furnace had stopped working again. Called the contractor again and tried restarting the furnace. Was able to get it working by the time they got here. Furnace stopped some time later again and I placed a call to the contractor's cell phone again (2:30 pm). Contractor didn't answer so I left a message and tried calling the office. Continued trying to call the contractor with no success until a couple hours later (4:30 pm). I gave the gentlemen the code off the furnace (flashing light). He told me he would call me back in 10 minutes. Never called me back. Furnace wouldn't fire or do anything continued to try to call and leave messages. Called 2-10 Home warranty stating we were unable to get ahold of the in-network service provider. We had been without heat for several hours with temperatures in single digits. 2-10 tried finding a service provider but was having no success. We were told if we could find a service provider they would get them approved for out of network. We found a heating company and the heating company called 2-10 and they authorized them. They then came out to our home and evaluated/ran diagnostics on the furnace. He gave a price to repair the unit or replace. His recommendation was to replace the unit. We were then told we had to have the contractor call in the morning and get authorization to do the repairs/replace. We have 3 small children and had no heat. We just wanted to have heat. We went through the night with no heat and no where to go and outside temperatures were -1. The next morning (1/24/14) the contractor called 2-10 first thing and the customer service rep told him he would have to speak with his supervisor. After hearing nothing for 45 minutes, I placed a call to 2-10 home warranty again. The gentleman I spoke with was extremely rude and said he wouldn't have an answer for several hours. I explained my concerns as we have 3 small children, no heat and was worried about our pipes freezing. 2-10 was giving us a hard time about going out of network even though they were the ones who authorized us to do so. 2-10 demanded we get a second opinion. The in-network contractor (*********) they wanted couldn't come out until Monday (1/27/14; 3 days later). We explained our concerns in regards to our children and future damage which may occur because of the cold temperature including broken waterlines, damages to personal property etc). We were told by 2-10 "This is not our problem and we could wait until Monday." We realized this wasn't acceptable and we requested they dispatched another service company (Clean Away - ****** very helpful) to give another opinion. The other company confirmed the unit should be replaced. It was determined the heating element was cracked which can lead to carbon monoxide leaks, the circuit board needed replaced, the list goes on and on. They offered us a payoff of $907.00. The cost to replace the unit was $3488.00 (plus the service call of $149) with the approved out of network service provider (**************). Despite using the approved out of network service provider they would only pay $907.00. Due to our desperate situation we told ************** to replace the furnace. We spent 200 minutes on the phone with 2-10 home warranty in less than a 24 hour period. My husband and myself missed work in order to deal with the situation. Please contact us for more information and more details. ************ or ************.

Initial Business Response
February 10, 2014

The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation ("HBW") has received the complaint submitted by Mrs. *******. Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond.

First, HBW would like to apologize for any frustrations or inconveniences Mrs. ******* and her family have experienced during the claims handling process. Our records show the Service Request was submitted by the homeowner on January 22, 2014 via the homeowner internet application and dispatched to ******* Heating & Cooling, Inc. Mr. ******* contacted HBW the next day to state the service contractor had missed the appointment he had scheduled and wanted to use his own out of network service contractor at that point. HBW at that time, had approved for Mr. ******* to use his own service contractor and emailed him the guidelines for using an Out of Network Service Contractor ("ONSC") to ********************* stating that "if you initiated the use of your own 'Out-of-Network Service Provider' these guidelines will also apply:
1) Home Buyers Warranty does have the right to a 2nd opinion with an In-Network Service Provider.
2) Home Buyers Warranty may only reimburse the costs that an In-Network Service Provider would have charged for the same work."

Once we received the diagnosis from the *******'s ONSC, we advised Mr. ******* of his options of either accepting a 2nd opinion from an In-Network Service Contractor, or accepting a reimbursement per what an In-Network Service Contractor would have charged for the same work. Mr. ******* then accepted to have a 2nd opinion sent to his home. On January 24, 2014 the service contractor ***** ****, Inc reported a cracked heat exchanger, failed control board and relay, shorted out inducer motor and the inducer wheel had broken. The service contractor had advised to replace the furnace due to the condition and number of failures. At that time, HBW had offered the *******'s with two options to proceed with the claim.

Option 1 was to accept the non-covered charges not eligible under the Service Agreement in the amount of $394.00. Option 2 was to accept a "buyout" or cash in-lieu of repairs in the amount of $907.50, which is the cost HBW, was prepared to spend for the like-kind furnace and associated labor to install it. On January 24, 2014 Mr. ******* had accepted the buyout amount understanding that this would buy out coverage for this furnace for the remainder of the current Service Agreement year.

Per Section D-2.b of the Terms and Conditions states "we may also offer you the option of accepting cash in lieu of repair or replacement services in an amount based on what we would ordinarily expect to pay for parts and labor for covered items, an amount that is usually less than retail cost or your actual cost. We are not obliged to extend such an offer in any particular instance, and you are under no obligation to accept such an offer, which may be in the event one has been extended. Such offers are typically made subject to restrictions". Being as Mr. ******* has already had his furnace replaced with an ONC, HBW is not obligated to reimburse or pay any more monies than the $907.50 buyout offer which has been extended to and accepted by Mr. *******. As you can see, from the date the service request was submitted to the date the resolution was offered to the *******'s was only two days.

We thank Mrs. ******* for bringing her concerns to our attention as we do take these matters very seriously. We value Mrs. *******'s business and look forward to servicing her future warranty needs.

Sincerely,

**********
Office of the President
Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: 3 repair man as come to fix out stove he did not look at stove in detail. 2-10 employees are not consistent. We have been without stove for 7 weeks
I called 2-10 Home warranty company to look at our stove. Universal came to look and he said it was the panel. He came back a week later and repaired it then stated the repair was not right that the electrical work needed to be fixed from the breaker blowing. I had electrician come and fix this. I called home warranty asking for a new repair man because the other company did not take stove apart or inspect it properly. New guy came and said the whole back was burnt up and fried. He ordered 4 parts. I was told he would be back on Monday to fix it. They called and said part was not in yet. They were going to come the next week on Thursday. I got a call on Wed. the part was not in yet. We have two little kids and been without a stove for 7 weeks. It is very expensive and unhealthy to eat out or eat microwave food. Throughout this whole process the company workers of 2-10 are inconsistent and do not know what is going on. I have called and called haven't had phone called back the management does not know what they are doing as well giving misleading untrue information such as this: So since parts were not in, I called home warranty asking for a new stove 7 weeks is too long. They said no we will give you your $100 dollar deposit back. I have not seen that money back yet. I call back telling them about the part not being in they stated they have no idea where the part is they do not order them (Told by a supervisor) I called stove repair company they stated home warranty did order part and they called them saying it was not in yet they did not order it on time and did not label it was express shipping. I call home warranty and talk to supervisor they said they did order it and it will be here Jan. 15th. It does not take this long to ship a small stove part. I find that very hard to believe that on supervisor tells me they did not order it and another 5 hours later says they did its late because of weather and will be here the 15th. I am very upset with the company and how rude the supervisors are and that they just don't care and don't even care to look up information. I am tired of not having a stove a home warranty is to repair without this hassle. I want the stove fixed and fixed soon.

Initial Business Response
January 30, 2014

The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation has received the complaint submitted by Ms. ****. Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond.

On November 22, 2014 a claim was placed for the Oven because it would not turn on. After the control panel was replaced on December 12, 2013 by Universal Appliance Service, they recommended that an electrician go out. On December 18, 2013 we were informed by Ms. **** that an out-of-network service provider had been out and said that the unit is unrepairable. She also told us that Universal Appliance Service was booked, so for sooner service we dispatched the claim to Premier Appliance Repair. On December 26, 2013 we authorized Premier Appliance Repair to make repairs and they ordered the parts that were needed. On January 2, 2014 we were informed that Premier Appliance Repair received three out of the four parts that were ordered. We found that the cord was the last part needed and it was on back order until January 27, 2014. I spoke with Ms. **** on January 28, 2014 and she informed me that Premier Appliance Repair had an appointment to make the repairs that day. I have called and left a voice mail to Ms. **** asking if the repairs had been complete, but have not received a call back. If there is still a failure with the Oven please inform us so we can rectify the issue.

We thank you for your understanding concerning this matter. We do take these matters very seriously and we thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We respectfully consider this matter closed.

Sincerely,

******* ****
Office of the President
Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 76
02/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: I purchased a home warranty, which included additional septic system coverage. My septic pump malfunctioned and the company denied coverage.
On 07/30/2013, I purchased a 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty. The service agreement number is GAv1E-7487532C. My warranty includes the basic coverage, along with septic system coverage (basic coverage - $300; additional septic - $100).
On 01/05/2014, I noticed sewage water in my back yard. I quickly realized that my pump had malfunctioned. My septic system is set up as follows: The waste is flushed into the 1st compartment of the septic tank. Only the liquids flow into the secondary compartment or distribution tank. A pump is located within the distribution tank. This pump pushes the liquids into the drain field. The pump stopped working, causing the waste to overflow into the yard.
On 01/05/14, I called 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty and explained the problem. After reviewing my account the representative agreed that the pump should fall under the warranty coverage. An appointment was set with Cumberland Plumbing Inc. for 01/06/2014 (work order #*******). The following day, I received a call from Cumberland Plumbing Inc. We discussed the problem. The caller informed me that Cumberland Plumbing Inc. did not repair septic issues.
On 01/06/14, I called 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty again and spoke with another representative (*******). I told her about my discussion with Cumberland Plumbing Inc. I informed her that I had a 3-month old child, and was nervous about having hazardous waste in the back yard. ******* apologized for the mistake, before asking me to explain the problem again, which I did. ******* told me that the pump would not be covered under my warranty agreement. I had to tell her that I purchased additional septic system coverage. ******* checked my account then apologized for overlooking my additional septic system coverage. An appointment was set up with High Priority Plumbing on 01/08/14 (work order #*******). High Priority Plumbing did not show up for the scheduled appointment. I called and spoke with a representative from High Priority Plumbing. The representative told me that High Priority Plumbing does not repair septic system issues.
I immediately called 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty and spoke with a different representative (*******). After explaining the situation, ******* agreed that the pump would fall under my additional warranty coverage. ******* set up an appointment with Rooter Express for late in the afternoon on 01/08/2014(work order #*******). An employee from Rooter express (*****) responded on 01/08/2014. ***** told me that the pump needed to be replaced. ***** contacted 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty and informed me that coverage had been denied. ***** said he could replace the pump for $833. I felt I had no choice but to except the offer. It was late in the day (approximately 4:30pm) and the waste in the yard had grown exponentially after 4 days. I knew estimates from other contractors would require at least one more day of dealing with the problem and that was simply unacceptable. I gave ***** the green light. I helped shovel mud and waste so we could finish before nightfall. The pump was replaced. I paid $813, while 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty paid $20 (Rooter Express invoice #20723).
I called 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty and asked for an explanation. I was told that sewage ejector pumps are clearly excluded under the basic coverage exclusions. I told them that "ejector pumps" are clearly included under the additional septic system coverage. They said ejector pumps are included only if the ejector pump is connected from the house to the septic tank.
To summarize, 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty includes sump pumps, but excludes sewage ejector pumps in the basic coverage package. The additional septic system coverage includes "septic tank; ejector pump from house to septic tank." The pump that was installed is actually called a "Heavy Duty Submersible Effluent/Dewatering Pump".

Initial Business Response
January 22, 2014

The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation ("HBW") has received the complaint submitted by Mr. *****. Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond.

First, HBW would like to apologize to Mr. ***** for any miscommunication or misunderstanding he has experienced during the claim handling experience. It is important for Mr. ***** to understand the coverage for Septic Systems under his Service Agreement ("Agreement") with our company. The optional Septic System coverage states what items are considered covered as "Septic tank, ejector pump from house to septic tank, line from house to septic tank" and lists items which are excluded from coverage as "lift stations, tile fields and leach beds, insufficient capacity, ground-level clean out, pumping, grinder pumps". Per Mr. *****'s own account, the failure to his Septic System is the pump which pumps to the drain field which is also called a leach bed. Being the failure is NOT the ejector pump from the house to the tank, but from the tank to the leach bed, the failure is not eligible for service under the Agreement Mr. ***** purchased.

Any conversation Mr. ***** has had with a Customer Service Representative prior to obtaining a diagnosis from a licensed independent service contractor is not an admission of coverage or liability for coverage. In order to determine if the failure present is truly eligible for service or not, we must obtain a diagnosis from a licensed and insured independent service contractor. At that time HBW will issue a coverage determination based on the facts provided during the diagnosis.

We thank Mr. ***** for bringing his concerns to our attention as we do take these matters seriously. HBW respectfully requests the Better Business Bureau consider closing this case as the failure to Mr. *****'s Septic System is clearly listed as excluded from coverage.

Sincerely,

**** *****
Office of the President
Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On 07/30/2013, I purchased a Home Buyers Warranty from the following company: 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty (10375 E. Harvard Ave., Suite 100 Denver, CO 80231). The service agreement number is GAv1E-7487532C. My warranty includes the basic coverage, along with septic system coverage. The basic coverage cost $300 and the additional septic system coverage was an additional $100. The warranty expires on 07/29/2014.

On 01/05/2014, I noticed sewage water in my back yard. I quickly realized that my pump had malfunctioned. My septic system is set up as follows: The waste is flushed into the 1st compartment of the septic tank. Only the liquids flow into the secondary compartment or distribution tank. A pump is located within the distribution tank. This pump pushes the liquids into the drain field. The pump stopped working, causing the waste to overflow into the yard.

On 01/05/2014, I called 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty and explained the problem. The 2-10 representative initially told me that the pump would not be covered under my warranty agreement. I informed her that I purchased additional septic system coverage. The operator checked my account again and noticed that I had purchased the listed additional coverage. The representative agreed that the pump should fall under the warranty coverage. The representative set up an appointment with Cumberland Plumbing Inc. for 01/06/2014 (work order #*******).

On 01/06/2014, I received a call from Cumberland Plumbing Inc. We discussed the problem. The caller informed me that Cumberland Plumbing Inc. did not repair septic system issues.

On 01/06/2014, I called 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty again and spoke with another representative (*******). I told her about my discussion with Cumberland Plumbing Inc. I informed her that I had a 3-month old child, and was nervous about having hazardous waste in the back yard. ******* apologized for the mistake, before asking me to explain the problem again, which I did. ******* told me that the pump would not be covered under my warranty agreement. I had to tell her that I purchased additional septic system coverage. ******* checked my account then apologized for overlooking my additional septic system coverage. ******* agreed that the pump should fall under the warranty coverage. ******* told me that she would schedule an appointment with High Priority Plumbing. I asked ******* to contact High Priority Plumbing to make sure they could address the problem. ******* placed me on hold while she contacted High Priority Plumbing. After speaking with High Priority Plumbing, ******* assured me that they could address the problem. The appointment was set up for 01/08/2014 (work order #*******). I reminded ******* that I had an infant and was nervous about days of hazardous waste exposure. The earliest appointment was 01/08/2014.

On 01/08/2014, High Priority Plumbing did not show up at the scheduled appointment (11am - 2pm). I called High Priority Plumbing at 2pm. A representative from High Priority Plumbing (********) said they were extremely busy and would not be able to respond until later in the day. ******** asked me to explain the problem, which I did. ******** informed me that High Priority Plumbing did not repair septic system issues.

At this point I was very upset. I immediately called 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty and spoke with a different representative (*******). Once again, I had to explain the whole ordeal. Once again, ******* said coverage would be denied. I told ******* about the additional septic system coverage I purchased. ******* agreed that the pump would fall under my additional warranty coverage. ******* set up an appointment with Rooter Express for late in the afternoon on 01/08/2014(work order #*******). An employee from Rooter express (*****) responded on 01/08/2014. ***** told me that the pump needed to be replaced. ***** contacted 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty and informed me that coverage had been denied. ***** said my tab was currently $120 - just for diagnosing the problem. ***** said 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty agreed to pay $20 only. ***** said he could replace the pump for $833. I felt I had no choice but to except the offer. It was late in the day (approximately 4:30pm) and the waste in the yard had grown exponentially after 4 days. I knew estimates from other contractors would require at least one more day of dealing with the problem and that was simply unacceptable. I gave ***** the green light. I helped shovel mud and waste so we could finish before nightfall. The pump was replaced. I paid $813, while 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty paid $20 (Rooter Express invoice #*****).

I called 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty and asked for an explanation. I was told that sewage ejector pumps are clearly excluded under the basic coverage exclusions. I told them that "ejector pumps" are clearly included under the additional septic system coverage. They said ejector pumps are included only if the ejector pump is connected from the house to the septic tank. I asked ***** if this made sense to him. ***** said no. ***** said the ejector pump is never positioned before the septic tank. Waste must pass through the 1st compartment of the septic tank, allowing liquids only to be pumped out of the tank.

I also asked 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty to explain exactly what the additional septic system covered. They could not provide an answer.

To summarize, 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty includes sump pumps, but excludes sewage ejector pumps in the basic coverage package. The additional septic system coverage includes "septic tank; ejector pump from house to septic tank." The pump that was installed is actually called a "Heavy Duty Submersible Effluent/Dewatering Pump".

There is a $500 limit in the warranty agreement for the additional septic system coverage. I feel that 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty is responsible for covering the full $500 based on the following two points. The first point: 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty claims what is covered and what not is covered is clearly stated in my service agreement. I completely disagree. Three different representatives from 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty led me to believe that the pump would be covered. This is obviously a training issue when the call taker's interpretation of the service agreement is different from the supervisor's interpretation. The language in the warranty agreement seems to be purposely ambiguous, allowing 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty to interpret the gray areas any way they want. I can provide a copy of the warranty agreement if necessary. The second point: Hazardous waste was present in my yard for several days while I waited for 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty to have a contractor respond to my residence. Any company should be held accountable for this type of incompetence. Because of this issue, I was desperate to have the matter resolved immediately, regardless of cost. I did not have the luxury of going through the normal process of having contractors respond to my residence and request estimates, which would have saved me hundreds of dollars. The following statement solidifies my second point: While the Rooter Express contractor was installing the pump he noticed some mud at the bottom of the tank and suggested that I call someone to pump the entire tank. The following day (01/09/2014), I contacted AAA Septic Service for a tank clean out. The AAA Septic Service contractor (John) said he would have pumped the entire tank and replaced the pump for $450.

Thank you for any assistance in resolving this matter.



***** *****


Final Business Response
After reviewing Mr. *****'s rebuttal to our response I notice his rebuttal is nearly verbatim to his original and poses no additional evidence to support his argument. Per Mr. *****'s own account, the failure is a pump which pumps to the drain field which is also called a leach bed.

Per our Service Agreement under Septic Coverage it specifically excludes coverage for Leach beds. Also, the only 3 items we list as "covered" for Septic coverage are the ejector pump from the house to the tank, the line from the house to the tank and the tank itself.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: This company (2-10) would not honor the agreement that the contractor wrote-up (two different contractor)that sent to the property.
On November 5, 2013 I called in a service order to 2-10 warranty. They sent a contractor out and he diagnosed my hot water heater as needing to be replaced. He wrote a invoice that said this and gave me a copy and said he would call it in to the company. He called this invoice in and spoke to them and my wife also spoke to 2-10 and they said they would cover the hot water heater and the labor. The contractor said we would order this and call when it comes in. Three weeks later no call, so I called 2-10. They 2-10 said they called another contractor to go out, and that contractor should have called me and said that he was giving the work. 2-10 never told me the paying customer. They sends another contractor out and he too diagnose that I need a new water heater and wrote me an invoice that say I need a new water heater. Another week pass-by and still no service for this water heater. I called 2-10 once again, and they say, nothing wrong with the water heater and that it's a water leak instead.Therefore I have to call customer care to get this taking care of. They refuse to replace the water heater and also refuse to send another contractor out since they sent out this second contractor who they say told them the hot water heater was ok, but did have a water leak. He never told me this, nor did he put it in writing that the water heater was fine.2-10 say one contractor say it needs to be replaced and the other one say it doesn't. So I suggest a third opinion and they refuse and I would to pay for a third contractor myself. They are going with the second contractor instead of the first. They don't want to replace the hot water heater. I've been a customer since 2005 and the customer service lady wouldn't let speak, she justed talk right over me and was rude. They should pay like they said, and honor the quote that they and the contractor said. How can 2-10 say one thing and behide close doors do something else and never call the customer and tell them this.It's look like they trying to get of pay for this hot water heater and labor cost. They saying one contrator say it's a bad water heater and one say it's good water heat so we going with the guy that say it's a good water heater.

Initial Business Response
December 27, 2013


The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation (HBW) has received the complaint submitted by Mr. *******. Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond.

On November 6, 2013 HBW received a diagnosis from Quality Heating, A/C, Plmb & Rooter Inc. stating that there is a leak at the top of the water heater tank. The service provider also stated that the vent does not have a draft diverter on the top. On November 13, 2013 Quality Heating, A/C, Plmb & Rooter Inc. informed HBW that they were unable to complete the repair, so we dispatched the claim to a new company, ADL Plumbing.

On November 26, 2013 ADL Plumbing called in a diagnosis and informed HBW that there was a pipe leak above the water heater. The service provider explained that the water heater was not leaking itself. HBW called Mr. ******* on December 19, 2013 and explained if the water heater was still leaking, HBW can dispatch a new service provider to verify where the leak is located to proceed with repairs. Mr. ******* advised that the water heater is located at a rental property and he was unaware if there was still a leak. He said that he will go to the home to verify and call HBW back. Since then, HBW called Mr. ******* and left separate voicemail messages on December 23rd, 24th, and 26th, 2013 without a return phone call. At this time, additional failures have not been reported to HBW so we respectfully ask that this issue be closed.

We thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do take these matters very seriously and we thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention.

Sincerely,

******* ****
Office of the President
Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I called HBW and tryed to reach ******* ****, I was told she was on vacation. Therefore I talked to someone else and she gave me a new work order number ******* and said she would be sending out a another contractor. This was two weeks ago, I just received a call from ADL Plumbing ( who is the same contractor that started all this confusion) today 01/16/2014. HBW is trying toget out of paying for a Hotwater Heater that they said they would replace over the phone and on the invoices that two contractor that sent to the property gave to me on site.

The bottom line they sent two contractor out and the first one said it should be replaced and HBW approved over the phone and by invoice. The second contractor said the same by invoice and said he would call this in. I never heard anything back until I called to follow-up and then I found out about not replacing the water heater from them. I have the invoices that the contractors, who HBW sent to my house gave me saying they would replace the Hot water heater.

I respectfully requests the Better Business Bureau consider this case to be left opened as HBW, is ignoring the facts and the truth about this case.







Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Final Business Response
February 3, 2014

The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation ("HBW") has received the additional response submitted by Mr. *******. Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond.

It is important for Mr. ******* to understand that HBW, per the Terms and Conditions in Section E-14 "we reserve the right to obtain an additional opinion at our expense". HBW exercised that right in this instance, and the additional opinion stated there is no failure to the water heater itself. There is a pipe above Mr. *******'s water heater which is leaking, and as we have stated before, HBW will cover the costs for the pipe leak repair as that is an eligible failure.

Replacement of Mr. *******'s water heater will not rectify the problem he is experiencing as there is no failure to the unit itself. As it stands, HBW will not replace Mr. *******'s water heater unless he can provide documentation from a licensed and insured service contractor stating there is a failure present to the water heater itself. Per Section A-2 of the Terms and Conditions states "service applies only to the Eligible Equipment which has become inoperable due to normal wear and tear".

At this time, HBW respectfully requests the Better Business Bureau consider closing this case as we have had multiple visits by an independent service contractor who have confirmed there are no failures to Mr. *******'s water heater and therefore eliminating the need to replace the unit.

Sincerely,

**** *****
Office of the President
Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

01/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Place a claim to have a garbage disposal and faucet repair. Contractor came out and look over the problem and submitted everything to the warranty.
Place a claim for a leaking garbage disposal and faucet. Contractor came out and stated both items needed to be replace. Warranty company called my wife and stated that the garbage disposal can be replace and installed , but that we can get a builder grade faucet replace which is truly unacceptable. We are not excepting a check for $107 dollars for a $250 dollar faucet. I pay for service to have my items replace when they break down not be forced to take a less quality product. So when I called to inquire about getting my faucet replace with a better quality the customer service rep inquire he dosent handle it and that he will need to send a email to customer service. That was on 12-12-13 at 3:39 pm , he stated that I will get a call within 24 hours which would be 12-13-13 at 3:39 pm today. I been a customer since 2007 and have two property with this company and I will have to say the customer service is horrible. The rep was not helpful at all and very rude. He name is **** and his employee number is #7540. At this point I just want my refund of my trade fee of $50 dollars and to cancel the remaining service with this company on both property. I already have another warranty company I am willing to go to not deal with the unprofessional customer service rep. and bad replace service of products. I will never refer anyone to the company and have no idea why they still in business.

Initial Business Response
January 20, 2014

The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation has received the complaint submitted on December 13, 2013, by ****** *****. Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond.

We do apologize for any frustration or inconvenience Mr. ***** may have experienced during the claim handling process. We strive to provide fast and reliable service to all of our customers and anything less than that is unacceptable. We want to thank Mr. ***** for informing us of his complaint regarding customer service issues that will be investigated further internally by our company.

Additionally, we understand that Mr. ***** is requesting his service/trade fee of $50.00 reimbursed as well as a refund of $350.00 for his two warranties that he is requesting to cancel. We agree to reimburse Mr. *****'s $50.00 service/trade fee as a goodwill gesture.

In regards to the garbage disposal claim, Mr. ***** requested and accepted a repair buyout today for our cost for replacing the disposal in the amount of $271.46.

We also understand that his faucet failed and required replacement and we offered and he accepted a repair buyout of $107.00 that was based on the terms and conditions of his Service Agreement. Per the Service Agreement "Plumbing" section; "Faucets and faucet handles (chrome builder's standard used when replacement is necessary)." Since the Service Agreement offers chrome builder's standard when replacement is necessary, we offered Mr. ***** our cost for replacing a chrome builder's standard faucet. In addition, per the Service Agreement section E1; "We reserve the right to determine whether Eligible Equipment or its components will be repaired or replaced. Replacement is based on "like-kind". For appliances and plumbing fixtures, this means we will replace, when replacement is authorized, with equal or better quality equipment, except where noted in eligible equipment." Since "chrome builder's standard" is noted in eligible equipment, our buyout offer was based on the Service Agreement.

Regarding Mr. *****'s warranty cancellation request, per the Service Agreement section I;
4. "If this Service Agreement is canceled a pro rata refund of the purchase price of this Service Agreement will be refunded to the party purchasing the Agreement.
5. MONEY BACK GUARANTEE If you are not satisfied within the first thirty days of the service period, you may request cancellation in writing, and we will return the full purchase price to the party purchasing the
Agreement." We have forwarded Mr. *****'s cancellation request to *************@2-10.com to be processed. We will determine the amount of any refund due Mr. ***** based on the terms of the Service Agreement.

We thank you for your understanding concerning this matter. We do take these matters very seriously and we thank Mr. ***** for bringing these concerns to our attention. We request this matter to be considered closed.

Sincerely,

Rochele Nobel
Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will excepted the resolution once everything has been addressed. I urge this matter to remain open until everything has been resolved. The customer service at HBW is a joke and the representatives are very rude and you have to continue to explain your issues to different individuals with my value able time being wasted sitting on hold for several hours and several transfers later. I should not have to continue to call a company that is to provide me with above customer service standards. Someone should own this and see it through to resolution. My wife and I work for fortune 100 companies both of us in management and we have never seen such lack of customer service in our lives. She been on her job for 19 years and myself for over 10 years. The consumer is the ones paying for the service and provide these companies and employees careers.

Final Business Response
January 29, 2014

The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation ("HBW") has received the additional response submitted by Mr. ***** Sr. Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond.

First, HBW would like to apologize for any frustrations and delays Mr. ***** Sr. has experienced regarding receipt of the buyout check and service fee reimbursement check. Our records indicate there was an error on the printing of the buyout check of $271.46 which caused it to not be deliverable. The new, corrected check was re-sent as of January 15, 2014.

In regards to Mr. ***** Sr.'s request for cancellation of the property at 25 Roman Drive in Dallas, GA, our Cancellations Department never received the request for cancellation as our Representative instructed previously. As of today we have submitted the cancellation of Mr. ***** Sr.'s Service Agreement at the above address effective January 22, 2014 as that is the date of Mr. ***** Sr.'s response. The Service Agreement will be cancelled and Mr. ***** Sr. will receive a pro rata refund of the purchase price to the card being used to make monthly payments.

If Mr. ***** Sr. has not yet received the two checks issued regarding the garbage disposal claim at 3711 Lockerbie Lane, we ask he contact our Department directly for faster resolution. Our contact number is X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and Mr. ***** Sr. should request to speak with Adam Booth. HBW respectfully requests the Better Business Bureau consider closing the case as we have provided Mr. ***** Sr. with alternate means of resolution outside of the BBB.

Sincerely,

**** *****
Office of the President
Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

01/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: SENT OUT AC CONTRACTER THAT WROTE I HAD A DAMAGE COIL ON INVOICE AND THE WARRANT SAY IT JUST NEED CLEANED
I CALLED THE WARRANT COMPANY BECAUSE I WAS HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY AC UNIY. THEY FIRST SENT OUT A CONTRACTOR THAT SAID ON THE INVOICE HE GAVE ME I HAD A DAMAGE COIL. THE WARRANTY COMPANY SAID I ONLY NEED IT CLEAN AND IT WAS NOT COVERED.I TOLD THEM THAT HE SAID I COULDNT BE CLEAN.THEY COULD NEVER COME UP WITH HIS ORIGINAL INVOICE AND WOULD NOT SEND ANYONE ELSE OUT TO CHECK IT OUT. I TRIED TO FAX THE INVOICE BUT OF THEY SAID THEY COULD READ IT. THEY SAID I COULD PAY TO GET A SECOND OPINION AND OF COURSE WHEN HE SAID THE SAME THING IN THERE INVOICE THEY CALL HIM AND TWIST HIS WORDS TO COME UP WITH A WAY TO DENY MY AC REPAIR. THIS ORDEAL FOR ABOUT THREE MONTH AND THE HOLE TIME THEY HAD THE WRONG NUMBER LISTED FOR ME EXCEPTED WHEN THEY CALL TO SAID I WAS DENIED. AFTER ALL THIS I COULDNT EVEN EASLY CANCEL SERVICE. I FAZ THEY TWICE AND EMAILED THEM BECAUSE THEY WOULDNT CANCEL OVER THE PHONE AND I STILL HAD TO CALL ME BANK TO CANCEL FUTURE PAYMENTS

Initial Business Response

November 4, 2013



The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation has received the complaint submitted by Ms. **********. Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond.

We apologize for any frustration or inconvenience experienced during the claim handling process. We strive to provide fast and reliable service to all of our customers and anything less than that is unacceptable, and will be investigated further internally by our company.

After reviewing the claim, our records indicate that the network contractor had done simple repairs to the air conditioner during the first visit to the home on July 30th, including replacing a service valve that was leaking and adding 4LB of refrigerant to bring the unit to a full charge. At that time, it was noted that the condensing unit was in need of cleaning and regular maintenance and had damages that were not the result of normal wear and tear. The network contractor provided Ms. ********** an estimate for cleaning and repairing the broken fan blades.

Ms. ********** obtained a second opinion on her own accord and provided HBW with the estimate. Per the technician that she hired, the ''corrosion'' and damages done to the condensing unit were caused by dog urine. This type of damage is specifically excluded in the terms and conditions of the service agreement.

8. There is no coverage for any loss or damage that is caused or made worse by any of the following causes, whether acting alone or in sequence or concurrence with any other cause or causes, including misuse or abuse, missing parts, structural shifting, structural changes, fire, freezing, electrical failure, electrical surge, water damage, water failure, lightning, mud, earthquake, soil or foundation movement, storms, accidents, pest damage, mold, mildew, rot, fungus, war, terrorism, acts of God, actual, alleged or threatened discharge, seepage, release or escape of any solid, liquid, gaseous, or thermal irritant or contaminant, including smoke, vapor, soot, fumes, acids, alkalis, chemicals, and waste; including but not limited to the leaching of sulfur dioxide from Chinese manufactured.

Ms. ********** requested that her warranty be cancelled on October 10th and at that time; the 5th of 12 payments was voided. Per the terms, there is no further refund due to Ms. **********.

We thank you for your understanding concerning this matter. We do take these matters very seriously and we thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We value your business and look forward to servicing your future warranty needs.



Sincerely,

***************


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
IM STILL WAITING ON THE SIGNED COPY FROM THERE CONTRACTOR WHICH WILL PROVE THERE LIES

Final Business Response
The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation is in receipt of the rebuttal submitted by Ms. **********. The customer's original complaint indicates in the first sentence that she has a copy of the invoice with the contractor's diagnosis and repair estimate. As the contractor who was at the home was not in our network and did not submit any invoice to our company, we are not privy to the information. We would recommend that Ms. ********** contact Integrity HVAC if she wishes the contractor submit that information to them.

Sincerely,
*************
Office of the President
Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

12/30/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: Home warranty. Hot water heater failed. Company will not pay for price of repair.
40 gallon Gas water heater failed. Contacted the home warranty company for service repair. Home warranty service sent out a contractor who recommended an replacement and possible upgrade to tankless. The contractor stated that the job would cost between $800 and $1200 dollars to replace the existing unit. The contractor suggested that that money be used towards a tankless system. The home warranty company only offered around $550 minus $100 ($451) deductible for replacement. The representative from the home warranty service hung up on me for no reason. In additional conversations from the contractor, he stated that they have never had problems getting paid for warranty work in the past.

Initial Business Response
December 3, 2013


The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation has received the response from Mr. *****. Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond.

On November 3, 2013 a claim was turned in through our company website stating that the hot water heater was leaking at the bottom. Plumbing Systems, Inc. was dispatched and diagnosed on November 11, 2013 that the unit was leaking and needed to be replaced. At this time we were advised that Mr. ***** was interested in the possibility of taking a buyout and proceeded to obtain a buyout amount.

On November 11, 2013 an attempt was made to contact Mr. ***** to discuss, we were unable to speak directly or leave a message as the line would switch to a fax machine pickup. Mr. ***** called in on November 12, 2013 and spoke with our customer care department, as they were explaining the amounts, the line was disconnected. Mr. ***** called back in and was able to obtain all the information and accepted a buyout for a replacement unit of $451.00. The figures are calculated based on our in network pricing.

The contractor that was at the home quoted retail pricing for upgrading Mr. *****'s unit to a tank less water heater. The limited service agreement does not cover and upgrades, only replacement of like, kind and quality.

We apologize for the confusion and frustration that Mr. ***** has experienced with his claim.

**** ******
Office of the President
Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The buyout price is well below what acutual reembursement for services is. Again, I understand that 2-10 acts as an insurance company and offers a contract price for repairs. The contractor who was sent to my house (at your choosing)stated that he would be reembursed a fair amount more for replacement than what I got at "buyout". I tried to negotiate for a "fair buyout" on more than one occasion by phone, only to be rebuffed. I felt that I had no other option than to cash the check despite it having a disclaimer on the back that cashing the check would settle the mattter. I even held on to the check for awhile before cashing it as I was waiting for a reponse from the company. Clearly, they were not willing to budge so I felt pressured to cash the check. Looks like we will have to agree to disagree. The way I was treated during calls to the corporate office was unprofessional. I expect nothing else from 2-10.

Final Business Response
December 26, 2013

The Office of the President at Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation has received the response from Mr. *****. Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond.

There is a difference in pricing for a hot water heater between contractors as well as with the warranty company. The buyout pricing is based off the typical installation for a water heater including a service call, labor to install as well as the 50 gallon gas water heater. Per Section D-2b of the Terms and Conditions states "we may also offer you the option of accepting cash in lieu of repair or replacement services in an amount based on what we would ordinarily expect to pay for parts and labor for covered items, an amount that is usually less than retail cost or your actual cost".

As this claim has been resolved and the buyout check for $451 cashed on November 15, 2013, we respectfully ask that the BBB close this matter as we have upheld the Terms and Conditions of the Service Agreement throughout this claim. Acceptance and endorsement of this check indicates the homeowner has agreed that this is full and final settlement for this claimable system.

**** ******
Office of the President
Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Page 1 of 17

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Warranty Plans

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/17/1983Business started: 01/01/1983
Licensing

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. David Underhill (Litigation Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Bartosch (President)Mr. Scott J. Cromie (CEO)Ms. Lindsay Iten (Regulatory Affairs Spc)
Business Category

Home Warranty Plans

Products & Services

This company is a home service contract company
providing coverage for pre-owned homes.

Alternate Business Names
Home Buyers Warranty Corporation, Home Trust Warranty, Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corporation, Home Buyers Resale Warranty, 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty of California, Inc., Home Buyers Resale Warranty Co., 2-10 HBW of Nevada, Inc., 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty of Virginia, Inc., Home Buyers Resale Warranty Corp.
Industry Tips
Home Resale Warranties
Warranties

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

10375 E Harvard Ave STE 101

Denver, CO 80231-3965

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10375 E Harvard Ave STE 101 

    Denver, CO 80231-3965

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*2-10 Home Buyers Warranty is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 858-0976
  • (800) 775-4736
  • (720) 747-4323
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Warranty Plans

Home Resale Warranties
Warranties
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.