BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/07/1999

Total Comfort Heating & Cooling Company

Phone: (303) 989-7507Fax: (303) 340-813213918 E Mississippi Ave Ste 323, AuroraCO 80012-3603

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/07/1999

BBB has determined that Total Comfort Heating & Cooling Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Total Comfort Heating & Cooling Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Total Comfort Heating & Cooling Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/22/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Price gouging and not providing itemized billing.
I called this HVAC company to repair my AC, and they came to do the repair on July 1, 2013. I was told over the phone there would be no trip charge if they did the work, so I scheduled them. Since they had to schedule so far out, I had time to research the problem with my AC myself. I narrowed it down to what I thought was the issue - a blown capacitor. I also researched what they cost to replace since I was already wary of price gouging by HVAC businesses during times of high heat. The part itself is $26 - $36. It's also a fairly simple repair if that's the issue, taking appx. 10 minutes to change it out. I couldn't find anyone who sells the part, and I wasn't 100% sure it was the problem since I am not HVAC certified, so I waited for the repar company to tell me what the issue really was. When the company came to do the repair, they said it would be $380 to replace the very part I had done research on. I asked the repair tech what the $380 includes, since the price of the part is only $26 - $36, and a 6th grader could replace it in 10 minutes or less. He said, "I don't know, that's just what they tell me it's going to cost." I didn't feel like waiting another 2 weeks for a company to come out and fix it, so I told the tech to go ahead with the repair. Next, I called the manager of the shop, ****, to ask what's included in the price of the repair since the bill wasn't itemized. He hemmed and hawed about gas prices (mind you, this is less than a mile from my home), the tech's education and expertise, the service charge (which is still unknown since they don't itemize their bills), etc. I added up $5 in gas (again, the office is less than a mile from my home), $36 for the part with a fair 30% markup, and $120 for a service call which seems standard from the research I've done, and the most I can come up with as a fair price is $180 at the very most. This is what a company with scruples would charge, and that's even a little high. But my charge was $380 - $200 more than what would be considered remotely fair. I paid for the repair because to get an HVAC repair team to your house when it's 90 degrees or more outside takes at least two weeks when everyone in the house works. I understand businesses have a right to a reasonable profit, but this is nothing less than price gouging and is deceitful as well, because according to the bill, the hourly rate would be $344 - parts $36 subtracted from labor (tech was there less than an hour). When I asked the manager why he was charging so much over the cost to replace the $36 part, his response was "Well if you could fix it yourself, why did you call us?" Not the type of response companies with good customer service provide. And when I asked why my bill wasn't itemized so that I could know exactly what I was paying for, his response was, "That's the way we do things here."

Desired Settlement
I would like an apology from the manager, ****, for the way I was treated. I would also like an itemized bill showing exactly what my $380 paid for. I would also like to see what they charge hourly. Since I was told they don't charge for coming out as long as they do the repair, I'm left to conclude the $380 is for parts and labor - one of which is being grossly overcharged for.

The thing is, he probably doesn't run into too many educated consumers who question what he charges and why. The fact they don't provide an itemized bill tells me all I need to know regarding the intentions of this company. So, I'm hoping you can help me out.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ********** did call and schedule a service call for July 1 at 8am. The complaint was that he was hearing a buzz when the unit tried to come on but it would never come on. He was quoted an $89 trip/diagnostic charge that is waived when a repair is made.

The dispatcher called Mr. ********** at 7:45 to let him know the technician was on the way and was about 20 minutes out. He responded angrily that he was our first call and there was no reason we should be late and that we were going to make him late for work. The dispatcher tried to apologize for the delay.

The technician arrived at 8:04 (according to MapQuest, our shop was closer to 11 miles away than the 1 mile Mr. ********** is suggesting) and met Mrs. **********. When we arrived the technician found the condensing unit completely dismantled - we have a picture to show the condition of the unit when we arrived. ****** diagnosed the problem as a bad dual run capacitor and quoted Mrs. ********** the $380 repair cost (our part cost us more than the $26 to $36 that Mr. ********** is suggesting). She called her husband and had ****** speak to him on the phone. Mr. ********** angrily and sarcastically expressed that he thought the price was way too high but if ****** had the part with him to go ahead with the repair because he had been unable to purchase the part himself because he was not a licensed HVAC person. After giving the approval for the repair, Mr. ********** called our office to again express his concerns about the cost of the repair. He spoke to ****. After much back and forth with **** trying to explain the costs associated with the repair and Mr. ********** arguing and saying "any monkey could do this repair", **** gave Mr. ********** the names of 2 companies that would sell the part to Mr. ********** as a non-licensed consumer and offered to pull ****** off the job at no cost to the customer so that he could do the repair himself. He declined that offer and said that he wanted us to do the repair but that he was very unhappy with us and was going to let everyone know that we were "rip-offs".

While **** was speaking with Mr. **********, ****** had Mrs. ********** sign the invoice to authorize the repair that Mr. ********** had approved over the phone, put the unit back together, installed the new part and cycled the unit to assure that it was now in good working order. Having to put the unit back together before he could install the new part took an additional 20 minutes of repair time.

We feel that we tried to do everything we could to remedy a bad situation but were unable to satisfy this customer. We stand behind our workmanship and professional work ethic.

01/26/2015Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/10/1992Business started: 01/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Douglas (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Jackie Douglas (Bookkeeper)
Business Category

Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
D & H Refrigeration Services
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Total Comfort Heating & Cooling Company

13918 E Mississippi Ave Ste 323

Aurora, CO 80012-3603

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 13918 E Mississippi Ave Ste 323 

    Aurora, CO 80012-3603

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Total Comfort Heating & Cooling Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating Contractors

Hiring a Contractor
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.