BBB Accredited Business since

R & R Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Phone: (303) 289-3441 Fax: (303) 289-9989 1005 E 75th Ave, Denver, CO 80229 http://www.rrheatcool.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R & R Heating & Cooling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for R & R Heating & Cooling, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on R & R Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 03, 1996 Business started: 02/06/1996 Business started locally: 02/06/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Denver Building Department
201 W. Colfax Avenue, Denver CO 80202
www.denvergov.org
Phone Number: (720) 865-2770

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert D. Gross, President Ms. Carolyn Gross
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert D. Gross, President
Business Category

Heating Contractors Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: R and R charged me $816.75 to add 8.5 lbs of freon to my A/C, when the whole a/c only holds 6.5 lbs! They cheated me. **** found no leak 2 mos later On 6/3/15, I had R & R out to check my 11 year-old ***** a/c, as I had done before without problem. It had only needed extra coolant on their first visit because, the tech told me, when it was installed, they did not add enough extra coolant to make up for the long distance of pipe I had. Every other year since, all has been fine. The night before, I ran the a/c (very hot!) and it cooled normally. The technician came out and did not talk to me, despite the fact that I was sitting right there. At the end, he came over and told me that he had had to put in 8.5 lbs of freon at a cost of $807.50. No discussion with me! I asked him how much the unit help and he did not tell me. Even with a 10% senior discount, I was left with a bill for $816.75! He said that looking for leaks could cost may hundreds of dollars more and that I should just have it re-checked next year. I complained to the mgr that he had not discussed the cost with me before he did it, so they said they would take the cost of that of a new a/c. Their bid was incomplete, so I asked **** for a bid. He told me that 8.5 lbs was unbelievable and that techs often get a percentage of what they sell. He said HE would NOT buy a new a/c and I could have a **** tech re-check the pressure. The R & R story sounded more and more fishy to me, so I waited 2 months and had **** ******** out on 8/6/15 to re-check the pressure, figuring a leak that big would show something in 2 mos. He found, on the a/c unit itself, that unit had shipped with 6.5 lbs of freon and the 8.5 lb figure was ridiculous, if it had worked normally the night before. He said there was NO LEAK! R & R had cheated me out of $816.75.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $816.75.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/20) */ R and R Heating & Cooling, Inc. has been in the HVAC business for 22 years and as a company we strive to be fair and intelligent on all calls. Our employees do not work for commission on parts nor Freon. In regards to this particular case this particular unit is shipped with 6.5 LBS of Freon as the other company noted as well however, to do a full charge the line set also plays a factor in how much Freon is required. This is noted in the attachment we have supplied showing anything over 25ft of line set you would calculate it by .6 ounces. For this home the line set is 50ft so which once calculated we needed an additional 1.5 LBS to set full charge. On this particular day we were called to do a clean as well as a check on the unit and our tech found the unit very low on Freon. As a normal routine when looking for a leak we change the stem core valves and we did not find as to why the Freon level was so low. Due to this unit being an 11 year old R-22 unit the loss of Freon may be a possible slow leak @ the coil. We did remind our tech of our policy to ask the customers before repairs are done. We did follow up with the customer as she stated she was interested in a new unit so we did supply her with 3 options in which we also included to credit her for the service call in question toward a new unit. We value her business and we appreciate the feedback and we will issue a refund of $816.75 to her for the service call in question. Due to the other company coming out to find out what we already knew we will not be submitting a refund for this. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/08/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will reply YES when I receive the check for $816.75. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/10/02) */ We followed up with the customer on 10/2/15 @ 4:30pm to make sure she did receive our check #XXXXX in the amount of $816.75. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2015/10/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received a full refund for their outrageous bill for services not performed. My whole a/c system did not hold 8.5 lbs of freon (label said 6.5 lbs) and yet this is what they charged me for. I had run the a/c the night before their "service" and it had cooled normally. This whole bill was fake! Beware.

9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After water heater installed, found damage to home; Gauges in drywall, gauge in wood trim door jam, rubbed off marks up stair walls. complaint ignored Water heater installed on 8/24/15, purchased by seller: ***** ******* This was paid on 8/25/15 by ***** ****** with ******** ******* ****** **** for $2,151.80 (as a part of home inspection resolution for myself, the home buyer ********* ****** and **** ******** Invoice #XXXXX, Customer order ******** The house was vacant at time of removal of old water heater and installation of new water heater. This was verified by realtor **** ******. There was no other work being done to or in the house other than water heater installation. There were no marks or gauges on walls/trim work/door jam pre installation. After water heater was installed on 8/24/15, there were several areas of markings on walls, gauges in drywall and trim work of door jam going up/down basement stair well. I have pictures of damages. After speaking on phone with manager, ** ****** with R and R Heating & Cooling, Inc., regarding issue on 9/1/15 (when I discovered damages)...she spoke with technicians who then denied causing damage. Mgr said she would speak with company owner and would have owner get back to me that morning, but nobody has attempted to reach me since then as of 9/3/15 (as I'm writing this). I did email mgr, *******@rrheatcool.com the afternoon on 9/1/15 to explain issue and provided attachments of pictures of damages, but have not heard back from company at all and they will not return phone call as of 9/3/15.

Desired Settlement: R & R Heating & Cooling, Inc. needs to repair/fix damages to include; drywall gauge repairs with paint match, repair wood trim gauge on door jam, clean/scrub off marks on walls going up/down stair well in basement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/09) */ On 9/4/15 we did respond to the customer after they sent pictures to us 9/1/15 @ 11:04 am. We needed some more clarity as some pictures didn't show up clear enough and we were seeking customers point of view to the questions we posed on 9/4/15. We have responded to the email the customer sent 9/4/15 @ 10:32 pm. as to letting them know we will repair.

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought our home in September of 2010. We had a warranty with R and R Heating & Air Conditioning through the purchase of the home. They were the company that installed our unit. In November of 2011 we had R and R come out to service our unit. We assumed that the replacement of the board would be the only issue. The new board was just the beginning of a series of issues that we would experience with R and R. In November of 2011 they replaced the board with a new one and it was completely covered under our warranty. Of course it should be, the house was just over a year old. We didn't have any issues again that year besides the fact that our house never really cooled to the temperature that it should. We then had to call them again in July of 2012, the very next year. This visit, we were charged for labor in the amount of $** and they apparently had to charge the unit and made some adjustments. It seemed to work properly the rest of that summer. We were told we could only use them to service our unit or our warranty would be void. Again in June of 2013 we had to call them again to come out because our air was not working. A pattern is obviously developing. This visit they charged us over $*** to replace the control board again, and said someone had siphoned the fluid out of the unit in our yard. I am confused by that because we have a 173 pound dog and I'm not aware of too many people that would risk jumping over our fence into our yard with him there. Two days later we had to have them back out again to change the motor. They came out and there wasn't a charge for that visit. Now it is exactly a year later and low and behold we tried to turn on our air conditioning and of course we have yet another issue. This unit is barely 4 years old. We are now being told that we need to pay another $95 and possibly more for them to service it again. This has been the worst experience with a company that I have ever had. We try and speak with the owner and he will never call back or get on the phone.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement We would like a brand new air conditioning unit installed and a refund on all of the previous fees we have been charged in the past. We tried to work this out with the company but their lack of business ethics have left us no other choice but to go through BBB.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/26) */ R and R Heating & Cooling is the servicing company for the homeowner's equipment not the manufacture. When the home was built in 2010 the builder picked the equipment to be used and we installed brand new equipment. The equipment comes with a limited warranty see attached which is given to the homeowner at closing. The builder gives a 2 year labor warranty in which we honored after that it is the homeowners responsibility. The warranty agreement with the builder does not include maintenance to the unit. The first call 11/19/11 we changed out a bad board N/C, we also noted on the service ticket that is was recommended to have the units cleaned. 7/3/12 call we checked the charge on the AC @ N/C. 6/11/13 at the time the home was built the city didn't have in place the code which requires to have tamper proof caps due to Freon disappearing. We added these caps no charge to the homeowner for the new code purposes. We could not determine how the Freon was gone. We preformed a nitro test for leaks and found none. The condenser is located in the middle of dog play area. 6/11/13 we replaced the blower motor under warranty N/C. The last call 6/5/14 we found that the unit needs to be cleaned which can be a cause for the no air flow out of the vents and we charged the homeowner for the diagnostic. At this time we recommended to have the unit cleaned and this is not covered under warranty. R and R Heating & Cooling is offering to help with the cost of the cleaning and have a representative from the manufacture of the equipment to come to their home to evaluate their equipment.