BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1995

Moore Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (303) 680-5300Fax: (303) 680-8487

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to take any responsibility for damage caused during service call.
On 6/21/2013 Service man came & checked A/C in attic. On 7/3/2013 my ceiling collapsed in a section of my kitchen/family room. Initial inspection by ***************** team said damage was the result of a fractured pipe coming off the A/C causing water to drain into insulation. ******* from Moore came out later that day & said pipe fractured because "someone stepped on it". No one had been in my attic between 6/21/13 and 7/3/13 when the ceiling fell. ******* insisted (and wrote) that he determined the pipe was not broken by Moore Heating & and Air Conditioning!!!

I am sure no one purposely broke this pipe, but people can unknowingly make mistakes. Moore's attitude I found highly reprehensible and I would like to warn others of how they (do not) take care of their customers - even long term customers such as myself.

Desired Settlement
I was charged and paid $115 for the new pipe. No big deal. An apology for damages caused if, by chance, their service man unknowingly stepped on the pipe, would be in order, I think.

But primarily I want others warned not to deal with them.

Business Response
We have been taking care of this gentlemen for a number of years without incident. From our perspective, which our technician did communicate to the owner is that there was a new roof also very recently installed. On the existing a/c unit in question, the inside part is up in the attic area. We also took pictures of the PVC condensate drain pipe that had been shattered up in the attic.

To review the situation, the existing drain from the attic airhandler and inside coil runs alongside the walkway over to the attic access. Where the drain was broken it was partially covered by insulation (until the leak occurred) and is about 15' away from the airhandler (which is the part we service in the attic when we do an a/c maintenance). Typically we would only service the functional parts and the existing drain line would not wear out or break on it's own, in that we are in agreement.

In that spring there was a new roof installed above the attic. According to ****** county records the roofing permit for work was obtained 6-12-13 and had final inspection on 6-24-13. Looking at the way that the pipe was shattered it was most likely stepped on or possibly something heavy dropped on it. Our a/c start up occurred on 6-21-13, the customer called to inform us of the problem on 7-3-13 and we immediately sent a new technician to assess the situation.

It would be next to impossible for the offending party to not realize the pipe was broken underfoot. The technician initially involved has been with our company over 14 years with typically excellent customer feedback, as well as the primary technician working this unit for a number of years. Our conjecture is if he had broken it during his last visit A) He would have surely known he caused a problem with the force required to shatter 3/4" PVC pipe B) It would have been relatively easy for him to make the repairs by simply cutting out the broken section and gluing in a new section of pipe which is a standard (low cost) stock item on our service trucks. In short if he would have caused the problem he could have easily fixed it at no charge to the customer.

Without assigning blame, roofers are not always known for their delicacy. There are some roof vents above that area. If it is hot enough the a/c condensation can evaporate a small amount of water in an very warm attic, of course if there is a moderate amount you will have water damage. We are not sure how much the a/c was run prior to us starting it. What we suggested to the customer was he should also consider contacting the roofing contractor as well. We also held out his last check - as yet still uncashed, pending resolving this situation to his satisfaction. We did not hear back from him until this complaint.

Our reputation is very important to us, as it must be for any successful customer oriented business. We are family owned with long term, professional employees and have been in business for over twenty years. We would never knowingly leave a customer in this (easily correctable - for us) situation. I will further follow up with the customer to address his concerns.

Thank you,

***********

*************************************************************
**********************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.