BBB Accredited Business since

B.C. Building Services, Inc

Phone: (303) 646-9498 Fax: (303) 646-9897   View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bcbuildingservices.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that B.C. Building Services, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for B.C. Building Services, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on B.C. Building Services, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 28, 2002 Business started: 11/01/2000 Business started locally: 11/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Denver Building Department
201 W. Colfax Avenue, Denver CO 80202
http://www.denvergov.org
Phone Number: (720) 865-2770

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joshua E. Slack, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joshua E. Slack, President
Business Category

Heating Contractors Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

Residential and commercial service, and new construction. Boilers, hot water heaters, in-floor radiant heat.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

B.C. Building Services, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 2685

    Elizabeth, CO 80107

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BC billed $198 for cleaning of HVAC system prior to purchase of our home. The system was claimed to be working properly, but this was not the case. On May 18th, 2014 BC Building Services issued an invoice for the cleaning and service of the HVAC system of the home we were under contract to purchase. Their billed invoice states that they cleaned and serviced the HVAC system and that the system operates with no issues. Within a few weeks of living in the home we realized the air conditioning does not work properly. After having another company complete a service call it was discovered that the coils of the AC system were caked with dirt and were freezing and not supplying air flow to our home. This is the result of 5-7 years of build-up. This provides clear evidence that the work BC stated to be completed was not actually completed. When calling BC to ask that the work be completed as stated, they refused to acknowledge what work they would do, being very vague in their explanation. When we were told that the soonest a technician could come to our home to evaluate the work was 2 weeks from today, the receptionist told my wife that she was a 'joke' after she questioned this. I have never experienced such poor quality of work or such poor customer service in my entire life. Part of the agreement to purchase our home was the understanding that this work was done properly and that we were moving into a home with functioning HVAC. This approach of BC is by far the worst I have ever experienced in dealing with any service-based organization.

Desired Settlement: Given the low standard that BC upholds, I do not feel comfortable having them complete any more work on our home. I would like to receive a refund for the $198 they charged for work that was not completed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/11) */ B.C. Building Services was hired by Trevor Madden on May 13, 2014 to clean and service the HVAC equipment at 1285 S. Hudson, our technician at the time Cole performed the cleaning per invoice #XX-XXXXX. Somewhere around the week of June 9, Mr. ****** called our office stated that his AC didn't seem to be working properly, our office staff answered several questions for him and he said that if he had any other problems he would call back and get on the schedule. On June 23rd, Mrs. ****** called our office very unhappy that her AC wasn't working. Mrs. ****** spoke with our dispatcher to get a service call scheduled. She wasn't satisfied with waiting two weeks for a tech so she left me a message stating that I WOULD have someone to her house today or she would take matters further. I called her back around 2pm on the 23rd, I explained to her that we would do everything possible to get someone out to her home and check the coil in question and if indeed it had not been cleaned we would do so, but I also explained to her that if further problems came out that we would have to discuss and determine how to repair and what said repairs may cost. Mrs. ****** was very angry that I couldn't get someone to her house, she swore at me and told me what a joke my company is. I transferred her to the dispatcher who scheduled a time for X-XX-XX and we would put her on a waiting list for quicker service in the event we got caught up on our schedule (which we have and would have been to the residence on 7-2-14) Mrs. ****** told our dispatcher "Your company is a joke" along with a lot of other comments about poor customer service, etc. It was impossible to try and reason with Mrs. ****** for myself or our dispatcher. Mrs. ****** also told our dispatcher she wanted her $198 back, our dispatcher told her that the $198 was paid by Mr. Madden, the previous owner and we could not pay her the money at that point Mrs. ****** hung up the phone on our office. We run an honest and upfront business, it is never our intention to charge someone for work that was not completed, we have a signed invoice from the previous owner stating the work had been completed and the system was working at the time of our service call. We were willing to go back and check our work and make necessary repairs that had been paid for if they were not completed. Because we did not perform the work for the new owner and we have a signed invoice that the work has been completed and the system was running upon completion of our visit we cannot refund the money to a new owner. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) At this point it's a matter of he said, she said. I won't continue to fight against them, because it's not worth the time, effort or headache. The poor customer service they've offered combined with the poor quality of work and now hiding behind a signed invoice from a previous owner who lived out of state and was operating off of trust that the work was actually completed, is unlike anything I've ever experienced. BC Building Services did not complete the work as stated, end of story. Very poor experience, all around. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/11) */ B.C. Building Services Inc. has offered to come back and check the work in question and if the work was not completed we will take the necessary steps in getting this resolved and cleaned. It is not nor has it ever been our companies intention to take money for a job that was not completed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Based on the standards, or lack thereof, that have become evident throughout my interactions I have no reason to want BCB to return to my house and do any additional work. We have already worked with a more reputable company who completed the work in a satisfactory manner. I have no desire to interact with BCB any further or to have them complete any additional work, when they have proved disrespectful, dishonest and not capable of completing work in a satisfactory manner

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a NEW furnace installed, with a water heater. Since the install, I have had multiple water leaks. Have left messages for Owner,to call me. Had a new furnace and water heater installed 3 weeks ago. Spent OVER $**. Had the installers come back already to repair first install. Was assured by the OWNER, who also came out, that he would stop by and check on the install repairs. Everytime the weather freezes, so does the water in the pipes. This then causes water damage, (which I repaired the first time), and water all over. Have left numerous messages for the owner to call, and spoke to the office staff, which agrees that SOMEONE needs to fix this.

Desired Settlement: I want the install to be PERFECTED, the proper draining of the system, and a reimbursement for the time and damage of the FAILING system.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/04/23) */ We were contracted by ********** to replace a furnace, water heater and install ducting for a basement finish. The work was performed on 12-18-13. On 1-6-14 ********** called and said he had water in his mechanical room, our technician ****** found the drain line going outside had froze up, he installed electric heat tape at no charge to **********. I visited the residence on 1-7-14, I spoke with ********** I explained what had happened, I offered to provide ********** new drywall to repair what he was going to tear down, he said it was no problem he wanted to open the space below and use it for storage. ********** paid me during my visit. While I was there I noticed a pinhole leak coming from a PVC pipe joint. On 1-8-14 our tech, ***** was there and repaired the pipe. We have had no contact with ********** since our last visit to his residence in January. If needed our office has copies of the proposal and invoices from our visits to ********** residence. ********** has also gone onto the internet and posted negative comments about ************************** and me personally. Had ********** contacted our office with an issue I can assure you it would have been taken care of. We always have and always will stand behind our work. ********** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I want to be called by ****, I HAVE left messages, and no contact. The problem still remains, until fixed properly. I wrote a review after numerous tries at getting work coompleted. Just want the system that I paid for to work properly. Also, ther heat tape used, was the heat tape that I gave to help, but this was a temporary, (try) fix. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/05/21) */ Please ask ********** to contact our office (303)646-9498 to schedule a time to repair. We have left several messages at the residence and have not had a return phone call. We look forward to clearing this up. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As of today 05/13/2014 I have not heard anything from ***********, in regards to coming out to repair. YES, I would love to schedule a time, but someone would need to CALL me. *********** has my cell phone, and home number, PLEASE CALL!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on B.C. Building Services, Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart