BBB Accredited Business since

Controlling Systems Inc.

Phone: (303) 762-1421 7000 Broadway Ste 1-106, Denver, CO 80221 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Controlling Systems is a locally owned Heating, Air Conditioning and Indoor Air Quality Company that specializes in residential and light commercial service, repair and installation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Controlling Systems Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Controlling Systems Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1983 Business started: 10/01/1976 in CO Business started locally: 10/01/1976 Business incorporated 03/24/1977 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Adams County Building Department
12200 Pecos St, Westminster CO 80234
Phone Number: (303) 453-8700

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Bill East, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill East, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

Controlling Systems Inc. sells the following brand(s): We service and repair all brands of equipment

Controlling Systems Inc. offers the following product(s): We service and repair all brands of equipment

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa, Master Card, Discover, American Express, and multiple finance options available (w.a.c.)
Refund and Exchange Policy
Our goal is 100% customer satisfaction at any reasonable cost!
Alternate Business Names
Controlling Systems Inc
Industry Tips
Heating & Cooling

Additional Locations

  • 7000 Broadway Ste 1-106

    Denver, CO 80221


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Controlling Systems in September 2015 for a furnace tuning, cleaning, and safety inspection. The technician arrived on time and started working promptly. Fifteen minutes later, he told me the inducer gasket was missing a part and that the heat exchanger was "purplish in color" due to overheating. He did not tune or clean the furnace, but provided an estimate for a new furnace and left a few minutes later after accepting payment. He also explained the hazards of even the smallest carbon monoxide leak potentially associated with the furnace issues he identified. I felt that his explanation was a scare tactic used to sell a new furnace. I called my home warranty company the next day, as they would cover this kind of issue. Their HVAC affiliate sent a service technician out two days later, who concluded the Controlling Systems tech was incorrect, that the inducer motor gasket was not missing a part or faulty and that the heat exchanger was not overheated. I then got a third opinion from a Dr. Fix-It technician the following week, who also found no fault with the furnace parts the Controlling Systems technician identified. I called Controlling Systems to express my concerns with the inspection, spoke with the owner, and received a laundry list of possible explanations for his employee's diagnosis in addition to a promise to refund my charges and have a service manager follow up with me. During our conversation, he told me he would have the tech fired (who had been an employee for about year) if he found out there was any wrongdoing, to which I said I was not looking to cause anyone to lose their job but to report what I felt was a bogus inspection. I did not receive a follow-up phone call or a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like Controlling Systems to reimburse me the amount of the service call: $89.

Business Response: Mr ***** is exactly correct.  I did make that promise and failed to deliver.  I mailed him a refund check last week for $89 and we did in fact cut ties with the service technician we had sent to his home.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Controlling Systems Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)