BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AfterOurs Urgent Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AfterOurs Urgent Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 17, 2008 Business started: 02/01/2006 Business started locally: 02/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Rehm, Owner Alan Ashinhurst, Director Ms. Marjorie Bellaire, Client Services Manager Jen Rehm
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Marjorie Bellaire, Client Services Manager
Principal: Mr. Chris Rehm, Owner
Business Category

Health & Medical - General

Industry Tips
Home Health Care Providers

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1515 Wazee St

    Denver, CO 80202

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 W County Line Rd Ste 100

    Highlands Ranch, CO 80129 (888) 472-0168 (303) 861-7878

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 West County Line Road

    Littleton, CO 80129

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3212 E 104th Ave

    Denver, CO 80233

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3655 East 104th Ave

    Thornton, CO 80224

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6895 E Hampden Ave

    Denver, CO 80224 (303) 218-7763

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9180 Stargrass Cir

    Highlands Ranch, CO 80126 (303) 517-7335

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No one will respond to my countless attempts to resolve illegal reporting to collection agency. Back in January, 2014, I went to the AfterOurs clinic on Hampden ave, Denver. Besides having to wait for 2 hours to be seen, the experience with the MD was fine. My insurance paid for the visit & I was left with a co-pay of $35.00. I moved a few times since that visit, putting in address changes with the post office. I received a few bills from AfterOurs, making a $10.00 in April of this year per an arrangement with a supervisor I spoke with in billing, since unbeknownst to me, they had reported me to a credit agency - ***************** in March, 2014. This supervisor had said she would take the bill back from *****************. Apparently, she did not as it remained on my Bill, even though they said later that they were sending me statements(?). Why would they send me statements if a collection agency had taken over my account? (Although, oddly, I did receive one statement from them very recently that was forwarded to my new address - even though my bill had been sent to ***************** in March, 2013, according to the statement.) Except this last one, I had not gotten any statements from them since I made the last $10.00 payment. I contacted the billing dept. several times via email & phone (303-407-1986; *****@pinmedbill.com) who refused to take back the $25.00 bill from *****************, thereby ruining my 25-year perfect credit rating: "Hi ******, Yes, your account was sent to an outside collection company (*****************) I show we sent 3 statements for the $35 balance and received a $10 payment on 4.18.14. Our statements require a 20% of balance payment or at least $25 whichever is greater. We did give you extra time to pay as there was issues with your insurance and if it had processed correctly. thank you, Angie ****** RCM Specialist Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX ext 9072 Email: *******@pinmedbill.com" Basically, in subsequent emails, Ms. ****** said the bills were sent to me & it was too bad I did not receive them as it was not their responsibility that the post office did not deliver them. I have no idea where the bills were going that they supposedly were sending to me. So, for the past seven months, in my efforts to have someone contact the billing person above & get back my account from *****************, I have left countless messages with the AfterOurs office on Hampden Ave - with various medical assistants, who said they would give my messages to the manager. No one called me back. So, I called the other AfterOurs clinics in Thornton & Highlands Ranch, telling them my situation. They, too, said they would leave messages with the manager at the Hampden Ave clinic. I get no calls back. I left messages for ******************* (XXX-XXX-XXXX) and*****************(sp?) (XXX-XXX-XXXX). Weeks go by, no return calls. I left several messages with ************, Lead Nurse at the Hampden Clinic (XXX-XXX-XXXX). She returned my call once, leaving ONE message to my TEN messages both on her cell number above & the Hampden clinic number (XXX-XXX-XXXX). No second call back from her. So, I try and take a different route via the AfterOurs website: www.afteroursinc.com & send an email via their preset email - three times. No response. I send an email to: ***************@AfterOursInc.com - it comes back "undeliverable." Then, I send an email to: *********@*********** - another email on the site - it comes back "undeliverable." I leave a message on AfterOurs Facebook page (https://www.************************************Care/XXXXXXXXXXXX); post a tweet on their Twitter page (@AfterOursDoc); leave messages on their YouTube channels (http://youtu.be/gXe1U1FBmR8 http://y************************************************ http://y******************w). No response. Finally, I leave a message with Dr. ***********, Physicians Leadership Committee Chair, AfterOurs Care, letting him know about my numerous attempts to contact someone who will assist me (XXX-XXX-XXXX). No response from him either.

Desired Settlement: Back in January, 2014, I went to the AfterOurs clinic on Hampden ave, Denver. Besides having to wait for 2 hours to be seen, the experience with the MD was fine. My insurance paid for the visit and I was left with a co-pay of $35.00. I moved a few times since that visit, putting in address changes with the post office. I received a few bills from AfterOurs, making a $10.00 in April of this year per an arrangement with a supervisor I spoke with in billing, since unbeknownst to me, they had reported me to a credit agency - Vengroff/Williams in March, 2014. This supervisor had said she would take the bill back from Vengroff/Williams, apparently, she did not as it remained on my Bill, even though they said they were sending me statements(?). Why would they send me statements if a collection agency had taken over my account? (Although, oddly, I did receive one statement from them very recently that was forwarded to my new address - even though my bill had been sent to Vengroff/Williams in March, 2013, according to the statement.) Except this last one, I had not gotten any statements from them since I made the last $10.00 payment. I contacted the billing dept. several times via email and phone (303-407-1986; *****@**********.com) who refused to take back the $25.00 bill from Vengroff/Williams, thereby ruining my 25-year perfect credit rating: "Hi ******, Yes, your account was sent to an outside collection company (Vengroff/Williams) I show we sent 3 statements for the $35 balance and received a $10 payment on 4.18.14. Our statements require a 20% of balance payment or at least $25 whichever is greater. We did give you extra time to pay as there was issues with your insurance and if it had processed correctly. thank you, A*********** RCM Specialist Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX ext 9072 Email: *******@**********.com" Basically, in subsequent emails, Ms. ****** said the bills were sent to me and it was too bad I did not receive them as it was not their responsibility that the post office did not deliver them. I have no idea where(http://youtu.be/gXe1U1FBmR8 ******************************************************** http://youtu.be/SDakh_Iq9pw). No response to ANY of these efforts to communicate. So, I leave a message with Dr. Paul Raford, Physicians Leadership Committee Chair, AfterOurs Care, letting him know about my numerous attempts to contact someone who will assist me

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2014/09/09) */ We sent 3 statements for $35.00 to this patient and then sent the account to collections after not receiving payment for more than 90 days. After being placed in collections, the patient called our Billing Department and spoke with our billing manager who pulled her account out of collections as a courtesy. The patient then paid $10.00 on 4.18.14 towards her $35.00 balance. We sent her two more statements for $25, without ever receiving another payment and so she was placed back in collections. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 21, 2014/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They did not address anything in my complaint. All they did was repeat what I already said in my complaint. I did not receive any bills from AfterHours after I made the $10. Even though I moved and put in a new address, I did not receive any bills. WHY didn't ANYONE respond to my constant emails and calls as I stated in first complaint? They need to answer this question! I DID try to reach them many, many, many, many times - to no avail. As you can see by my first complaint, NO ONE would return my calls!!! I tried to reach someone to resolve the billing issue because the BILLING department was refusing to resolve it. Doesn't AfterHours have anyone ABOVE billing? I wanted to speak to someone who supervises the billing department, yet NO ONE would return my calls!!! I want someone other than billing - who refuses to assist me - to answer my inquiries!!! Is this so difficult to UNDERSTAND?? Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/09/22) */ The patient's complaint in regards to her bill was addressed. The patient was sent to collections - legally - for failure to pay her bill after multiple statements were sent to the address we had on file (which was verified correct by the patient). The patient claims that she filed a forward of address with the post office, however, the patient never updated that address with us. When the patient realized her account was turned over to collections (she obviously received that notice forwarded to the correct address via the post office), she called and made a $10.00 payment with our billing office. In order to avoid collections, we require a payment on the account of $25 or 20% of the patient's balance, whichever is greater. This patient should have paid $25 to avoid collections (as this amount was greater than 20% of her bill), however, because the patient made a payment at all (after multiple attempts to collect) our billing department took her account out of collections as a courtesy to the patient. This did not eliminate the $25 balance still owed to us, it just removed her account from collections and stopped any reporting to the credit bureaus that could occur. Once the account was taken out of collections the patient was once again sent statements from our billing department showing the remaining balance of $25 due on her account. We sent statements to the address we had on file (again, verified as correct by the patient after making the first $10 payment) and did not receive any additional payment from the patient. After multiple statements were sent to the patient to try to collect the $25, we turned the account back over to collections. The patient claims the post office did not deliver the statements. We did communicate with the patient over the phone and she knew that she still owed $25. We did not ruin the patient's credit - the patient did not pay her bill. 3 staff members that the patient mentioned in her complaint are no longer employees of our company and the staff in our clinics are here to care for our patients on a medical level. All billing questions and concerns are directed to our billing department as they are the only employees able to communicate with insurance companies and our collections company for all billing inquiries and resolutions. This patient's billing issue was sent to our billing department and was handled appropriately each time. Our billing department did not refuse to resolve the patient's billing issue, in fact the billing department did the patient a favor by taking her out of collections the first time - it was the patient who did not follow through on her obligation to pay the remaining $25 balance which is why her account was sent to collections a 2nd time.

8/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged payment in full rather than charging the appropriate insurance co-pay for our policy going against their contract with Blue Cross Blue Shield. My husband, who has been staying at his mother's house in Littleton due to her having been in the ICU etc. etc. at Littleton Adventist Hospital. We were transferred to Florida (unfortunately) and he needed to go to an Urgent Care Clinic this morning. After checking with Blue Cross Blue Shield to see which are covered by our insurance we had a couple of names and confirmed the $50.00 co-pay amount for urgent care. After arriving at After hours Urgent Care he filled out the usual large amount of payer work and signing it all. The usual financial responsibility form states that you will take financial responsibility if the insurance fails to pay etc. It was not noticed that they have a policy of requiring everyone who has a deductible on their insurance to pay in full at the time of service (or so they told me when I called back). After he returned to the house and let me know what had happened I called Blue Cross Blue Shield and discussed it with them. They informed me that they are required by contract to only request the applicable co-pay. Although we have a deductible for hospitals stays or out-patient surgery the deductible is not an issue, as is the case for almost everyone with an HMO, PPO, or other managed healthcare plan. Also we need to file our own claim which is also against the BCBS Provider contract. Being a contracted provider is misleading on their part. Especially when you call the urgent care center and ask if they are indeed a provider (which had already been confirmed by BCBS themselves, they do not inform you over the phone that they will require you to pay in full. They allow you to drive there when obviously you are not well (thus the need for urgent care)fill out a ton of papers that you are not up to filling out and it is easy to miss their policy of paying upfront. Especially when you have been told by your insurance company you will have a $50 co-pay. I did call and speak to the office manager to try to resolve this directly with them. I requested that the claim be filed properly etc. which she apologized for but said it is there policy to collect in full for all patients with any deductible despite being told the insurance only requires a certain co-pay. Additionally my husband was only given a receipt after his card was run (such as from the gas pump) not a medical form to allow us to file a claim. I am usually the kind of person to go out of my way to call to make sure someone's supervisor is aware of great service provided whether over the phone, in person, etc. and very very rarely complain. Due to being a former manager I am only too aware that people tend to only let supervisors/managers know about complaints and rarely about a job well done. This is a first for me to complain to the BBB. However, I feel that this is impoper business practice and people should be made aware that they will be required to pay up front and file their own claim. Thank you for your assistance!

Desired Settlement: Refund the $80 he was charged above our applicable co-pay.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/12) */ Hello *********, We do collect payment at the time of service based upon the plan allowable and the patient's benefit design/deductible. We did not collect more than the allowed amount as evidenced by Anthem's explanation of benefits. Per the BCBS Explanation of Benefits approved charges applied to the deductible is $168.66, and pt paid $130 at time of service. The patient still owes AfterOurs $38.66.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AfterOurs Urgent Care
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)