BBB Accredited Business since

T & G Flooring

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 293-8600 Fax: (303) 293-2006 788 W 8th Ave, Denver, CO 80204 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.tandgflooring.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that T & G Flooring meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for T & G Flooring include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on T & G Flooring
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 16, 1998 Business started: 01/10/1996 Business started locally: 01/10/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Business Management
Ms. Emily Keale, Co-Owner Mr. Chris Keale, Co-Owner Mr. Tony Sena, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Chris Keale, Co-Owner
Principal: Ms. Emily Keale, Co-Owner
Business Category

Hardwood Floor Contractors Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing

Alternate Business Names
T & G Hardwood Floor Specialist
Industry Tips
Flooring

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

T & G Flooring has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Work was eliminated from the scope, but the amount billed never showed a credit for that work. We were billed approx the same amount as the estimate. We had hardwood floors installed by T&G. A portion of the work was eliminated from the original scope(4 hours of stitching new wood into existing wood by our laundry room). The subcontractor did not end up having to "stitch" in new hardwood by our laundry room. He told us that this would have been time-consuming work and that we should get a fairly substantial credit for that work. After reviewing the final invoice, it was clear that we were not receiving a credit of any sort. They were charging us approximately the same amount as the original estimate we received. It was T&G's idea for us to pay everything except $200 so we could resolve this billing issue in the meantime. T&G is again asking us to pay the $200 without showing us proper documentation of the credit. If we pay the $200 remaining balance that they say we owe, we basically receive no credit for the work by our laundry room that was eliminated from the scope. We don't think it's fair for us to pay for work that was never done. Here are the numbers to back up our claim: Estimate for living room and kitchen: $10,259.03 - this estimate was revised for 5" oak on 1/20/15 Estimate for stairs: $2,370.54 Credit for demo in living room: ($190.00) Credit for demo in kitchen: ($298.00) Payment: ($5,100.00) Payment: ($4,486.40) Payment: ($1,185.29) Payment ($1,185.25) Using those numbers, I show that we would still owe $184.63, not $200 like they are stating. But if we pay that amount, we are not getting any credit for the work that was removed from the scope. T&G has threatened to send our name to a collections agency. I am going to pay the $200 to avoid credit problems. I expect to be refunded $200 in order to resolve this claim.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a refund of $200.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2015/10/23) */ We successfully completed a $12,000 project for this client but subsequently we had a minor miscommunication over billing a $200 change order. We decided to credit the amount back to the client as a matter of good will. This matter is closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 15, 2015/10/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The business responded to our complaint and helped resolve the issue.

4/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: T&G overbilled us, put us 2 months behind schedule, were incompetent, lots of rework. Current dispute is over about $7778 and undelivered materials. Current dispute is overcharging and undelivered material. But first...Workers were extremely incompetent, and argumentative. Workers did not show up when they said they would. They made big errors that violated building codes, everywhere from the leveling of the floor, to not using enough glue to glue down the floor, to using the wrong size stair tread, not meeting code on the uneven floor, not meeting code on the step riser variance, and not even knowing the building codes. Everything they did then had to be ripped out and redone. And each error resulted in weeks of arguments and delays. Other contractors had to be rescheduled, and the entire project was delayed by months. The aggravation was overwhelming. T&G was non-responsive, not answering phone calls, not returning phone messages. Then T&G overcharged for labor and material. When I asked to see proof of hours worked he replied "not your concern." I have so much more aggravating details, but no room to write it here. T&G wants to be paid for work not done, materials not delivered, and is threatening collection if these are not paid. The project was to install 1523sf wood floor and 16 stair treads. Signed estimate no contract. T&G's est was $32,272.21 incl labor, and $15,000 down. 2nd est of $5,290.45 for leveling. The leveling est was time and material, expecting cost to be less. Total max fixed-bid $37,562.66. T&G overcharged us, threatened collection even though they still have not completed the work. The 16 stairs were never done and the material not delivered. Leveling was 8hr labor but T&G charged 40, then reset to 32. Leveling material was 26 bags, but T&G charged 52, then reset to 32. When we asked to see proof of these hours, he wrote "My internal journal entries to reallocate the invoices are not your concern." Labor ******* billed $4699.41 floor labor which we owe. (Total invoice was $6954.44 but that included 2255.16 for stair labor which was not done.) And yet T&G wants the full amount even though the work was not done. Material ******* billed $18,421.45 for floor and stairs, but was not itemized. T&G wants the full amount even though the stair material was not delivered. Labor ******* is billed $643.31 for misc floor work, the description of which is already included in ******** Thus, T&G is double billing for this work. T&G wants to be paid for work not done, materials not delivered, and is threatening collection if these are not paid. They are asking for $11,019.20, calcuated thus ******* $6954.44 + ******* $18421.45 + ******* $643.31 - DownXXXXXX = XXXXX.20

Desired Settlement: We have no confidence in the workmanship or the integrity of T&G and just want to terminate the relationship. In the latest email, T&G demands $11,019.20 now even though the stair material is not delivered, and then an additional $6,237.50 for labor and material to do the stairs. We are willing to pay $9,478.48 BUT only if the stair material is delivered, no further work is done, and the contract is terminated. If T&G will not deliver the stair material, then we do not know how to subtract that from the material cost since it is not itemized. Therefore, the simplest thing to do is to deliver the stair material and pay $9,478.48 to T&G upon delivery of the material, COD. This will conclude the arrangement between T&G and the homeowners, and the homeowners will make other arrangements to finish to stairs. Our Leveling calc: 8 hrs labor $60/hr = $480 4 bags cement patch ********* $24/bag = $96 32 bags leveling comp ********** $46/bag =$1472 5 gallon of primer at $50/gallon = $250 Shop supplies $59.13 SUBTOTAL $2357.13 Our Total Charges calc: Leveling $2,357.13 Labor $4,700 Material (floor AND stairs) $18,421.45 Sub Total $24,478.48 Downpayment($15,000) TOTAL DUE $9,478.48

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/18) */ T&G contracted with the client in the amount of $32, 272.21 to perform two distinct services. First, we were to install a hickory wood floor in his basement. Second, we were to install hickory stairs on the staircase leading from the 1st floor to the basement. The contract, signed by the client, is a firm fixed bid. In addition to that work, we have contracted with the client for a time and materials bid to provide floor-leveling services as preparation work to installing the wood floor installation. We have delivered the wood floor component of the project and the client has accepted that work. The stair component of the project has not been delivered at this time. None of the above points are in dispute. The following points are, to varying degrees, in dispute. T&G did have warranty work that needed to be done in order to successfully complete the wood floor preparation as well as the wood floor installation. T&G performed that warranty work with diligence. I personally oversaw the work and worked hand in hand with the client to ensure a successful outcome. There are no open warranty issues relating to the wood floor. Only the stairs remain to be completed. The total cost for the wood floor installation, including labor and materials but excluding the time and materials floor-leveling contract is $26,019.20. That leaves $6,253.01 for the balance of the stair work ($32,272.21 less $26,019.20). To date, the client has paid $15,000, leaving a past-due balance of $11,019.20. The client also owes T&G for floor preparation work. We have not agreed on that amount even though I can easily present time cards and purchase orders to substantiate the invoice due on that contract. However, I suggested that we set aside that negotiation until after we resolve payment on the work completed on the primary contract. We have the stair materials and would gladly deliver them but that expense is incremental to the current balance due. The client must abide by our executed contracts. Consideration is due for work performed and accepted. If the client wishes to terminate a portion of a fixed contract, that is his prerogative, but it does not relieve him of the burden of compensating my firm for work completed and accepted. It also does not empower him to set arbitrary values to the goods and services delivered to date. I have offered repeatedly to review the invoices so that the client understands his bill. Rather than accept my repeated invitations, the client has repeatedly reached out to other members of my leadership team in an attempt to further reduce his balance due. Every day, my teams work in the nicest homes in Colorado, as well as in iconic commercial properties. Our business has been built on successfully delivering a top quality product and a great customer experience. If my team falls short of that goal, I ensure we work hard to make amends and set things right. We've done that here. The obligation is now on the client to pay for goods and services provided. Our contract terms are clear. The client must pay the balance due for work competed and accepted, or face late payment penalties, interest expense, and/or other escalated collection measures and expenses. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/02/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After consulting an attorney, he explained that no one wins with litigation. He explained the 2 types of bids here. The wood/stair bid has to be paid (minus the damage they caused). The leveling bid is a labor/material bid and is still in dispute, but I paid what I think I owe as described in complaint. On Feb23, I mailed 2 checks to T&G with letter (see attachment), and a heads-up email that I was sending payment & letter. As of Feb28, checks still not cashed and no communication from T&G. This is still not resolved, but as of Mar4, the relationship ends and I will hire someone else to finish the work, as the attorney explained this is the proper procedure -- advisement and mitigation. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2015/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is no resolution. Dealing with T&G has been a horrible experience that just never ends. For $37,000, we should not have all this aggravation and incompetence. T&G writes that they want the end result to speak for itself? The floor is WARPING. Now we have to spend $5000 to sand down the humps and re-finish. See attached photo taken in the morning sun that highlights the warping. The floor is not "beautiful" and this is not a "high quality result". And now T&G wants to take us to collection? After paying lawyer's fees and court costs, it was cheaper to just pay T&G after offering them an opportunity to complete the work. T&G states it doesn't want a "point by point debate", which is understandable since their position is indefensible. Instead, T&G dismisses our complaint as "errant and emotive". Attached is a chronological point-by-point discussion of what T&G calls "minor problems". Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/04/27) */ We stand behind our work without exception. Each job comes with a full installation warranty. If there is a problem with our work, we'll gladly fix it. Our warranty is happily extended to all customer accounts in good standing. In spite of the client's outstanding balance, if they would like me to come and inspect the floor and evaluate their concerns, they simply need to contact me to make an appointment. I'm happy to stop by. If there is cupping or crowning wood, it is typically caused by excessive moisture. That will be an area of focus during the inspection.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on T & G Flooring
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart