BBB Accredited Business since

Home Stars, Inc.

Phone: (303) 979-1200 Fax: (303) 979-1291 2059 S Broadway, Denver, CO 80210

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Home Stars, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Home Stars, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 22, 2004 Business started: 11/06/2001 Business started locally: 11/06/2001 Business incorporated 11/06/2001 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Mark L. Davis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark L. Davis, President
Business Category

Furniture - Wholesale Billiard Equipment & Supplies Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

Additional Locations

  • 2059 S Broadway

    Denver, CO 80210 (303) 979-1200


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A set of kitchen cabinets was purchased from Homestar, and unfortunately, one of the drawers was either never delivered or taken from the home. Thanks We have attempted to contact the company for a replacement but they refuse to send us one. Their installer also failed to install some of the doors properly and the cut out measured for the refrigerator was inaccurate. Homestar refuses to fix these issues and wants to charge us for the missing drawer. The quality of the product is mediocre and the customer service is even worse.

Desired Settlement: Send a replacement drawer. We will find someone else to install it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/05) */ Contrary to what the customer is reporting - we did deliver ALL his cabinets ordered as well as did the install. An inventory check for ALL cabinet parts ordered was done at the time of delivery. This is customary company procedure on EVERY job we do. During install - at the customers request we converted the drawer directly below the oven insert into a false panel and left the remaining parts of the drawer at the customers home. Just over 30 days after the install we received a call saying that the parts to his drawer was missing and he would like to have them returned. We reinforced to the customer that we NEVER take any left over parts and that he (or someone) must have disposed/misplaced of it somehow. With ALL the additional work going on in his home this would have been an easy possibility. In fact, when we went over to follow up on additional warranty work - the home was in complete shambles. There was stuff everywhere! We have offered to replace the drawer at our cost which is just $75 and that offer is still on the table. As to his complaint that the cabinets were installed incorrectly, this is completely false. Upon further inspection of his cabinets during a courtesy warranty follow up it was very apparent that additional work that was done as it relates to his kitchen remodel (counter tops, etc.) were installed incorrectly and had created issues with the proper performance of his cabinets. We have offered friendly customer service advise to this individual on proper remodel work but because of his insistence to cut corners due to cost, he is now facing challenges within his kitchen that we had absolutely no part of. What is ironic about this complaint is that this gentleman's wife had just expressed to us that she would like to get additional cabinets for another part of the home. Go figure! If we can be of any further assistance - please feel free to ask. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Offering to charge a customer twice for a drawer simply because the installer assumed it would not be needed is not reasonable. We have not requested any additional cabinets from this company and will not be doing so, nor will anyone we know, unless their offer changes. What business would squabble about an amount that represents less than 1% of the original purchase? The same business that would blame other craftsman for a poorly a functioning product without attempting to repair it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/13) */ Our offer to handle the situation stands as earlier reported. We are more than happy to assist but we are not going to replace an item that has already been delivered and per the customer's request, NOT INSTALLED. What the customer did with the remaining parts to the drawer is not our responsibility to figure out. It was ordered, we delivered it and we modified it again per the customers request during installation and left ALL remaining parts at the home. In addition, the wife DID ask us about ordering additional cabinets at the time of a service call and the fact the husband is denying such a claim gives us further evidence that his word is not to be trusted. Again, we are more than happy to help but only under the terms we earlier indicated. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/02/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No one from our household has requested or will be requesting any cabinets from home star. They are dishonest businessmen and should be reprimanded by the BBB.

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 12"Presidential Shuffleboard table with delivery and set-up. It is defective. I would like to return it for a refund. I purchased a 12" ********************** Shuffleboard from *************, the owner of Homestars Home Furnishings on December 3, 2013, (Invoice # *****). I paid $1574.28 with $787.28 down and $787.00 due upon delivery and set-up. The agreement called for delivery and set-up. The table was delivered on December 13, 2013 by ************** of Alpine Billiards. After the initial table set-up, I asked ***** to level the playing surface. He showed me that his level, used to install billiard tables, rocked back and forth significantly on the playing surface. He said, "I won't touch it." His assistant, however, attempted to level the playing surface using the climate controls. We all attempted to play upon the surface, without success. ***** said that that was all he could do, and asked for the delivery/set-up balance. I wrote him a check for $787.00 (#*****), and they left. After they left, I again tried to play shuffleboard on the table and discovered that the playing surface itself was extremely warped in the middle, causing every puck to fall off of the table on either the right or the left. I called **** the next morning on Saturday, December 14, 2013, expressing my extreme concerns. He said to send him pictures of the problem and he would send them on to the manufacturer. I sent him pictures and a video showing the pucks rolling off of the playing surface, both left and right, at the same time. I also began to research shuffleboard tables. After concluding that the table surface was warped beyond repair, I stopped payment on the delivery/set-up check, and called **** to let him know that, and requested a refund for defective merchandise. His demeanour changed dramatically after that, saying I had not followed "proper protocol." During subsequent emails, he has insisted to send out people to "fix" the problem. I have maintained that the merchandise is extremely defective and I would like a simple refund. Based upon the first delivery, I have no confidence in the quality of ********************** merchandise. Their website has no exact location or contact information. ********** has also implied that the plane, or level, of my basement floor is the problem. It is very important to separate the plane upon which the table rests, and the playing surface itself. They are two completely separate planes. While a shuffleboard table may rest upon an uneven surface, this can be made level using the leg adjusters. The playing surface plane delivered to me is five levels of factory pressed and glued hardwood. it is bowed or warped in the middle for a total of 3 millimeters, (1.5 on each side). Climate adjusters on shuffleboard tables are designed to adjust up to the a thickness of one piece on paper. There is no way to adjust or bend a solid piece of hardwood by 3 mm. using climate adjusters on a shuffleboard table. Based upon this, as I have previously stated, I have no confidence in ********************** in their manufacture of shuffleboard tables. I would like a simple refund for defective merchandise. Given that the merchandise was extremely defective, I believe that the "all sales are final or 18% re-stock fee subject to approval" does not apply.

Desired Settlement: I would like a simple refund for defective merchandise. The "all sales are final or 18% re-stock fee subject to approval" note on the invoice should be void.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/14) */ To whom it may concern: We here at Home Stars have forwarded ALL emails and forms of communication by Mr. ******* ************ to the manufacturer. We have been informed by the manufacturer that they believe that the shuffleboard table simply is not adjusted properly. We have requested to the customer for us to have a different installer come out to verify whether his table can be adjusted properly or not. In the event his shuffleboard table is truly warped and unacceptable we will simply replace with one that is acceptable. Although all sales are final, we do guarantee everything we sell and always have. We do have the right however to investigate the problem and do our job to resolve the problem. You may have noticed in the customers email that he stopped payment on his check for the balance that was due. This is actually an illegal process when merchandise is in your home. We however are not going to make a big deal of this at this point unless we are not able to get in to remedy the situation. Our goal is to give the customer exactly what he paid for. We simply need to get over to resolve this issue which we have ALWAYS been more than happy to do. Please have the customer call to set up an appointment for this to happen. Sincerely, ********** President - Home Stars, Inc. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After reading the reply from ********** of Homestars to my BBB complaint, he sent me an email that completely contradicted what he had said. He stated that the manufacturer had agreed that the board playing surface was defective. He offered only to replace it. I had previously stated on numerous occasions that I wanted only a refund for defective merchandise, and no longer had confidence in the quality of merchandise from ************ *********. His email included a forward from ***********, Sales and Marketing Manager of ************ *********, saying he was sending a replacement. From that I found that ************ ********* is the importer for *********************, a furniture company in the country of Zimbabwe. Its website stated it manufactures its products in "family owned factories." It manufactures many types of furniture sold primarily in South Africa, and includes furniture for hotels. I could not find********************* or Prestige ********* on any of numerous websites for the sale of shuffleboard tables, including the website for Homestars Furnishings. Their tables are still offered on Craigslist Denver, but without the mention of any brand name, and just the phone number for Homestars. I have concluded, as a consumer, that the type of table I want would not be one from*********************. There are many shuffleboard manufactures, including Champion, Olhausen, and McClure, all manufactured within the United States, that I believe would cost more, but provide a quality that would be long-lasting, and not warp over time, making the table useless. Homestars has stated that they guarantee everything they sell, and they will "make it right." In this particular case, I would like a simple refund for the delivery of defective merchandise. They have already received a replacement. Due to the fact that the table was so severely defective, and due my lack of faith in the manufacturer, I believe this is both warranted and fair. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/02/21) */ We have picked up the shuffleboard table and given the customer his full refund minus the 18% re-stock fee. This issue has been satisfied by both parties in accordance to Home Stars company policies. Refund check has already been cashed by customer and this case has been resolved amicably. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have chosen to go with the offered 18% re-stock fee. However it has not yet taken place. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Home Stars, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)