BBB Accredited Business since

Oak Express

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 566-8500 5640 Broadway, Denver, CO 80216 http://www.furniturerow.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oak Express meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oak Express include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oak Express
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 18, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 12/12/1977 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Woody Boyd, COO Ms. June Biederman, Executive Assistant Mr. Joe Dunmyer, Store Manager Mr. Angelo Giron, Assistant Manager Mr. Dustin Ingram, Store Manager Ms. Judy Jones, Receptionist Mr. Patrick Mendoza, Regional Sales Manager Mr. Ruben Navarro, Store Manager Mr. Bill Oechsler, CMO Mr. Troy Petrie, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Woody Boyd, COO
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Furniture Row

Additional Locations

  • 10777 W 6th Ave

    Lakewood, CO 80215 (303) 205-1290

  • 4298 S Parker Rd

    Aurora, CO 80014 (303) 766-2364

  • 5640 Broadway

    Denver, CO 80216 (303) 566-8500

  • 5740 N Broadway

    Denver, CO 80216 (303) 295-7590

  • 8375 Park Meadows Dr

    Lone Tree, CO 80124 (303) 397-6988

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Defective product and poor customer service in trying to resolve the issue. I purchased a dining table. When the table was delivered it rocked and 3 out of 4 chairs rocked. The manager arranged for pick up and re-delivery of a new table. The new table arrived and the table is fine, but again, 3 out of 4 chairs rock. I arrived at the store the next day after arguing with the delivery crew over the situation. The manager of the store insisted that the original set was fine and welcomed me to the back of the store to check for myself. We arranged for pick up of the table. I asked for the District Managers number, whom I've reached out to during the week multiple times, with no response. I've called the store again and asked for the situation to be rectified. I do not want to return the set, I want the set fixed. I've tried the chairs in my bathroom, garage, living room, dining room and kitchen and the chairs rock in all of these places. I've been told numerous times it is my floor. My original set did not have this problem. I do not believe it is my floor. I also think it is completely unfair that I paid cash for this set and I am being asked to return the set and wait 5-7 days for Oak Express to cut me a check that I **** have to pick up.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I would not like the set picked up. I would like the set repaired. I would like the price difference refunded as the set has now gone on sale. If the set is returned, I would like a check at the time of pick up. I did pay cash when I paid for it, I understand that the store does not keep cash on hand and need the furniture returned in order for me to get my money back, but I do not think it is appropriate that I need to wait 5-7 days AFTER pick up of the furniture. At this point, I have already had to take time out of my days for two delivery windows of 2 1/2 hours. Now I'm going to have to wait for a third. That is 7 1/2 hours, not including my second trip to the store to speak directly to the manager. Multiple unreturned calls to the district manager and several calls to the store to speak to managers to try to resolve the issue myself.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/11/13) */ I spoke with **** and she **** be back from vacation tomorrow. I am planning on going out to her location to adjust or replace the 3 chairs that are not leveling out. We **** get her taken care of and make sure she is satisfied with her purchase.

10/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am taking full responsibility for spilling a plug in room freshener on a ***** **** ****** ****** All that I want is to know what stain I can replace the "stripping of the wood" with. I have contacted them several times, as well as my boyfriend who was told that the warranty was voided. OK, what I want is to know where I can get something to fix this with. This is what I received in return: No one ever responded to my e-mails. My mom, who recently had surgery and wanted to see if she could help out, was told by **** ********** **** ******* ********** **** Oct 7, 10:53 AM Sorry ****** The local store and I have already went over this with your daughter numerous times. Unfortunately, nail polish remover is not covered by any manufacturer or extended warranty. We apologize for any inconvenience this causes you. We would be willing to offer a discount above normal sale prices to replace or pick out a new set due to the unfortunate circumstances with your daughters set. Please contact ***** at the local store if you'd like to proceed forward that way".They said they had been over this several times with me (WRONG), that it was nail polish remover which is not covered (WRONG)and "they would be willing to offer a discount above normal sale prices to replace or pick out a new set due to the unfortunate circumstances".We also had 2 chairs that were falling apart, when my boyfriend asked to get them replaced, they asked if we were "jumping up and down on them"? He (my boyfriend) then asked what we could do to fix it (still admitting our fault), since we had received no responses and was told the warranty was voided and they couldn't tell us which stain to use. They told him they use different stains for different stores. Product_Or_Service: ***** **** ***** ****** *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) All I want to know is what stain and/or paint I can use on this. Their response seems to involve more money. I've never purchased a product that I haven't been able to fix it to make it more attractive.If truly they cannot tell me the stain or paint, I should have received a notice about this when I purchased it. I would not have purchased something that is NOT fixable due to stain. A new table should be warranted for free if they are unable to provide me with a simple stain.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/13) */ We contacted the manufacturer on August 7th requesting to get the customer a stain number or even a can of stain to help with the situation. Our response back from ***** at ******** ********** who makes the set the customer has was this. "Sadly, there is not a stain number that I can give you as the factory buys custom blended stains from their suppliers in 50 gallon drums. Shipping a small can of the finish across the ocean is illegal so unfortunately the customer will need to look around for a local cabinet shop or similar wood shop to get that table refinished." The table bought is imported, so the stain is not readily available. *****, the store manager then relayed this to either ***** or her boyfriend. I'm sorry I was wrong on the actual substance that damaged the furniture, however this is not the root of the issue. We looked into getting the stain from the manufacturer for the customer, and as you can see from the response that it's not as simple as that. We offered to help in the best interest of everyone. Unfortunately, we don't have the means to repair furniture as that is not our business, if we could we would love to help out. If you would like to discuss this matter over the phone you can simply call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I also have a copy of the e-mail from the manufacturer if needed.

5/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Run around on warranty I purchased living room set from ********* *** but the ottoman end up giving out since I brought the warranty so they gave me a credit but the had nothing within that price range so ended up getting another set which was a little more expensive and I had to make up the difference and pay for delivery. I also paid for the warranty package again. With this new set I've had for about a year and half the backing has started to give out. I contacted the warranty company and sent in all the pictures and invoices they asked for so they give me the run around and never returned my call till I threated to call the BBB then returned my call and said this was manufactured warranty I need to speak to ********* **** so I called them and they sent out there inspector and he said yes your back is loose I will repair it or tell them it needs to be replaced. I followed up with ********* row and they told me it was normal wear and tear and they suggest I don't buy anything so cheap next and suggested that I try to submit another claim with ***** ***** ******** **** their warranty people. After a couple months I'm still waiting on either ***** ***** or ********* *** to honor their deal. ********* *** act as if they care by saying well call the warranty company to get this moved along but neither one has helped me at all.

Desired Settlement: I would either like to see me get a refund, store credit or replacement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/20) */ I spoke with *** ******* on 5/19. Even though we have exchanged his furniture a number of times, we are going to give *** ******* full credit for what he has paid toward the purchase of new set. Because we are processing this transaction as a 'warrantee replacement', the new product **** have no warrantee. *** ******* also understands that he will not be able to purchase an extended warranty through ***** ***** because the replacement is satisfying the warranty. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/12/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Both the table and chairs are of very poor quality. The store representative was extremely rude. They neither care about the product nor the customer Bought on 4/8.Delivered on 4/20. Called to report table top problems on 4/24. After putting the leaf in the table and removing it, the table would not close completely. Called ***** at the store. He was very helpful and ordered a new top immediately. Three days later (4/27), I called again to tell them the chairs have very sharp places on them, some nicked places on one chair, a nail sticking out, and some veneer peeling off one chair. The person I spoke to today was rude and sarcastic. I told him the problems with the chairs. He said he would send 3 new chairs. I told him the chairs needed sanded, a nail driven , etc. when I said the work was shoddy he said he had worked there 10 years and people always take the replacement pieces. Then he said why are you looking at the bottoms of the chairs? I told him the edges were sharp. My invoice number is XX-XXXXXXXX. The price is $ 806.00.

Desired Settlement: I am so upset I would like to get a full refund for the entire dining set. I now know why they have a no return policy . They must have lots of complaints because they are quick to say ok we will replace it. I am not satisfied with my purchase at all.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/28) */ Hello, My name is ***** *** ****, Regional Manager for Oak Express. I spoke with ***** ****** this morning in regards to her damage she received. We had her scheduled for a swap out of her furniture for non damaged furniture on May 5th 2015. I told ***** she is more than welcomed to return the product for a full refund on May 5th instead of swapping it out. She said that she would like to go that route. On May 5th, once we receive her furniture back at our store we will credit her account 100 percent. I apologized for the damaged product as we always want everything to be perfect and left her my cell phone if she needed anything else. Thank you and have a great day

2/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is about the lies we were told at ********* **** The manager sold us that their service was second to none. Not true!! We were told that that our furniture would be delivered with "white glove care", only to find out that this was a total lie. Our first piece of furniture was delivered and was a tight fit into the door. I asked the delivery man to take the cushios off so it would fit. As me and the other delivery guy heard the cushion ripping off, we pushed back and told him to stop. The guy pushing said no and managed to completely rip the cushion, zipper and leather on our couch. The company did send a repairman to fix and he told us that is was too far gone. Then I requested that a different crew deliver the remainder of the furniture all while the Manager was supposed to be discounting the first couch. Never happened and now I am left with a torn up couch and a bunch of lies that he told us that "the Buck Stops Here", "I will make it right". Yes, I guess he would until he got our money. Then, we did 48 months same as cash and my wife has been paying the amount on the bill but we were called and told that we were behind as the amount on the bill was not correct. This has been a bad experience all the way around and I will continue to tell people not to shop at this business.

Desired Settlement: I ask for a refund of the delivery charges that was totally ignored and now the finance part of this transaction is giving us grief. I am happy with the product, other than the damage, but they can come pick all of this up and I will buy from a reputable dealer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/02/10) */ Along with our apologies to our customer, our store manager, **** ***** contacted *** ****. **** adjusted the sale to *** ****'s request and this matter should resolved.

12/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Store took purchased bed they first offered to repair and replaced it with not the same item that is extremely defective. I purchased a bed from Oak Express along with many other furniture items. The then in store manager ** offered to fix the bed when the drawers had been damaged. I waited at home all day for the repair men on the day the manager ** had given for them to fix it, but the repair men never arrived. I was not even given a delivery window. Also, the then store manager ** made rude comments to me when I was shopping in the store. He told one delivery man that I was just like his wife when I was deciding to purchase a $800 dollar chest, and he also made other strange offensive comments to and about me to store visitors. I was trying to get the bed fixed, so I finally called other stores that said that they would fix the bed and get things resolved. It took over a month in December for the district manager to get back to me regarding my complaint. After December, I became extremely busy with college. Summer 2014, a replacement bed was delivered since the district manager ******* ******* said that it was easier for him to deliver a new bed, or not possible to get replacement parts. I preferred to keep my bed and get it fixed, but was going along with what was easier for him to do. The bed that arrived was not made out of Oak like the bed I paid for. It is not possible to screw it together since the parts to screw it in are missing and the screws just fall out. The wood is cheap pine filled with knots, and the boards are not fully connected and are broken due to the knots. Some boards are really badly damaged. When the delivery personnel installed the bed, they rudely told me to leave them alone with it in my room since they wanted to hide the defects from me. When I called the district manager ******* ******* about it, right after the delivery, he avoided me for weeks. The current new in store manager rudely said that he will not help me with anything, and that I have to talk with the district manager to receive any service. My request still have been ignored. The delivery personnel have in the past damaged furniture in my home. I have sent photos of the strangely defective and clearly not the same bed that I purchased to the business office that said I would receive a call regarding resolving the problem by or before Monday November third. I never received that call. I was considering purchasing more furniture from the store, but with this type of problem I do not have any confidence in them and do not want my belongings damaged.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to have to sleep on the floor until I can find another bed, but I no longer have confidence in this store. I spent more than $1,000.00 on this bed and would like to return the defective item they replaced it with since there is no way to get my old bed back, very strange things are happening with my deliveries, and I do not want for their delivery personnel to damage additional furniture items in my home. I will pay men I hire to return the item to avoid damages to my home.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/19) */ I have spoken with Miss *****, and we have agreed to exchange the item. This will be our third attempt, and she has agreed to come to the store to see the product before delivery. Consumer Response /* (-5, 10, 2014/12/27) */ The bed has not been delivered yet. I have waited a very long time. I met with the delivery man to inspect it, but we could not open the boxes for fear of damaging it that way. He asked whether I preferred them to leave it in the box or inspect it first because he was concerned that it might get damaged if it was taken out of the box before delivery. He explained to me how the bed foot board was damaged and unusable after the last delivery of the damaged and defective bed. I returned to the store yesterday afternoon to say my answer and explained to the saleslady that the delivery people needed to use a screwdriver since the last delivery people broke my foot board with the drill used as a screwdriver. She said that they would not unless I wanted to deliver it myself and that they had to use the drill to save time. She said that if they broke it I would have to accept another type of bed. This really is a huge waste of my time and only gives the delivery people job security. It is a waste of time to deliver the bed again when they could use a screwdriver and not break it, and it is awful breaking my bed again. I have to sleep on the floor because of them and don't want the other style of bed. I also don't want a broken bed again. I do not enjoy them in my home. I will be at the delivery truck at five am because it is much worse having another delivery since they insist on breaking the bed. I also asked for her to ask them to keep it in the boxes since I was given a chose by the delivery boss last time I was at the store. She told me that they had to take it out of the boxes and put the parts in moving blankets "like when you move", since there was "no room for the boxes on the truck". My delivery is last and the first one on the truck. The truck will travel all over town and go over bumps as well as be next to a ton of furniture. My furniture always came on the truck in the boxes from Oak Express! She lied to me and is trying to break my bed and disrespect me. This is a great deal of unending suffering for me. Also, she did not give me a choice of a delivery window like she did for other customers and did not even ask for my phone number and address. I had to come to the store today to wait for other customers than be disrespected by her and give her my address and phone number or they would have delivered it to another address! I keep updating my phone number over the years, but still the oldest one is in their system! It is awful doing business. I still am sleeping on the floor and want my storage bed, not the other style of bed. I don't want them to waste my time again and come in my home to break another bed! It is really upsetting. Consumer Response /* (-5, 11, 2014/12/27) */ The bed has not been delivered yet. I have waited a very long time. I met with the delivery man to inspect it, but we could not open the boxes for fear of damaging it that way. He asked whether I preferred them to leave it in the box or inspect it first because he was concerned that it might get damaged if it was taken out of the box before delivery. He explained to me how the bed foot board was damaged and unusable after the last delivery of the damaged and defective bed. I returned to the store yesterday afternoon to say my answer and explained to the saleslady that the delivery people needed to use a screwdriver since the last delivery people broke my foot board with the drill used as a screwdriver. She said that they would not unless I wanted to deliver it myself and that they had to use the drill to save time. She said that if they broke it I would have to accept another type of bed. This really is a huge waste of my time and only gives the delivery people job security. It is a waste of time to deliver the bed again when they could use a screwdriver and not break it, and it is awful breaking my bed again. I have to sleep on the floor because of them and don't want the other style of bed. I also don't want a broken bed again. I do not enjoy them in my home. I will be at the delivery truck at five am because it is much worse having another delivery since they insist on breaking the bed. I also asked for her to ask them to keep it in the boxes since I was given a chose by the delivery boss last time I was at the store. She told me that they had to take it out of the boxes and put the parts in moving blankets "like when you move", since there was "no room for the boxes on the truck". My delivery is last and the first one on the truck. The truck will travel all over town and go over bumps as well as be next to a ton of furniture. My furniture always came on the truck in the boxes from Oak Express! She lied to me and is trying to break my bed and disrespect me. This is a great deal of unending suffering for me. Also, she did not give me a choice of a delivery window like she did for other customers and did not even ask for my phone number and address. I had to come to the store today to wait for other customers than be disrespected by her and give her my address and phone number or they would have delivered it to another address! I keep updating my phone number over the years, but still the oldest one is in their system! It is awful doing business. I still am sleeping on the floor and want my storage bed, not the other style of bed. I don't want them to waste my time again and come in my home to break another bed! It is really upsetting. Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2014/12/31) */ The problem has been resolved. The district manager was extremely nice and went out of his way to solve the problem. What the saleslady said to me on Friday was not nearly as bad as it seemed. I simply had panicked after speaking with her because of how I interpreted her words, because of past experiences not just with this business, and especially after I saw on the day of delivery the delivery guy who was part of the team that resulted in the previously broken bed was delivering beds and would not speak with me. I was wrong about assuming the destructiveness of the tools they usually use but have no idea how the bed was previously broken. I also do not know how they usually do their deliveries. I just vaguely remember mine. I did not know how the delivery was going to be accomplished with this obstacle of him not speaking and other fears about him after that behavior. Sometimes workmen just barge into my home and do not listen while they do things they should not without even thinking. I had even previously had a nightmare about the bed delivery. I am very grateful that the bed was delivered with excellent service and teamwork by a different group of people. Furniture Row went out of their way to resolve the problem and ease my fears, and the District Manager even called me on Saturday regarding the delivery. I am really glad this is resolved and love my stylish and functional beautiful bed. I am much more comfortable now. I also appreciate how Furniture Row resolved the problem and went out of their way to do it and help me even when I freaked out on delivery day.

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: chair was defective - returned and given new chair after 2 months of complaining and run-around - 2nd chair missing parts - 3rd chair broken in box - Bought $4k in office furniture - chair was defective - returned and given new chair after 2 months of complaining and run-around - they wouldn't assemble new chair - new chair missing parts - manager *** avoided my calls - sales associates ignored our requests, lost our info numerous times, were rude and argumentative - Manager ***** from another store got involved after many months of complaining - shared issue with Regional Manager who he said would make it right - she did nothing and I am still without a chair! Very poorly run business that does not back up their product. The chair I returned sat in the warehouse (blocking the emergency exit) for over 3 months!

Desired Settlement: Provide what I paid for!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/15) */ We tried to contact Mr ***** at two incorrect numbers prior to his complaint, and was able to reach him at a third number provided to us last week. He came in Saturday and picked up his chair. We are very sorry this exchange took so long and hope Mr ***** is pleased with his new chair. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/12/15) */ From: ****@*************.com (mailto:****@*************.com) Sent: Monday, December 15, XXXX X:XX AM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: (SPAM) Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) Importance: Low *******, Thank you for the follow up. I posted the same message on the Furniture Row website, Yelp and Google + and did get a quick response on Friday. I wish it hadn't taken 4 months and the need for embarrassing public complaints but that got their attention and I dropped of the defective chair and picked up a new one on Saturday. It appears to be defect free and should be the end of the story. I sure hope so. Thanks again for being there, **** Sent from my iPhone

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the extended 5 year warranty/damage coverage with my wood furniture. When it came time to use it, they honor it as advertised I purchased quite a bit of furniture in early 2013 from Oak Express in Colorado Springs. One of the items they also convinced me to purchase was the 5 year warranty coverage. They said it's great for military, with our moves, as it covers ANY damage that may happen with the furniture. They said that they will attempt to repair the damage, and if unable, then the coverage would replace it. I had some damage on my table that I wanted to see if they would either repair or replace, and the reply I got back from Great White Bottling Company (the company Oak Express sells this for) stated that the would had to be broken for coverage. I did all of this while I was in Afghanistan and didn't have the ability to resolve the issue there. Upon my return, I went to Oak Express and asked a sales person to describe to me some information about the warranty and coverage, and again, they stated that it covered any damage. At this point, I asked to speak to a manager, who happened to be there, named ***** ****** I explained to him the situation with their advertising of the product and what was actually covered. He assured me he would get it taken care of and asked me to email him the pictures of the damage. I sent him the picture of the table, as well as a nightstand that had some pretty bad water damage. When I called him about what was going to be done, he stated that the finish didn't look broken through on the table, again, hardly the ANY damage coverage, and also that the nightstand did not look like an isolated incident, which it was given the material. He said they wouldn't do anything about it. Their advertising practice is unethical at best and illegal at worst. This is unacceptable of what they say the coverage will do vs what the coverage will actually cover.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking that they modify their advertising of what the product coverage will actually coverage and how they sell it. I would also like my damaged table and nightstand replaced. *** ***** clearly did not uphold his end of the deal when the conversation was over the phone and immediately went to the line of Great White Bottling Company. In person, he reiterated any damage and they would fix the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/24) */ The extended warranty that Mr. ******* purchased is covered by Great White Bottling. The literature provided at the time of sale details what is, and what is not covered. In short, the warranty covers damage that occurs from a single incident that goes through the finish and into the wood. The extended warranty does not cover surface scratches as they are considered normal wear and tear, not damage. Great White Bottling denied his claim as they determined the night stand only had surface scratches. If Mr. ******* is unhappy with the coverage, I will refund what he paid for the warranty but he would no longer be covered for qualified damage to his table. As for the night stand, Great White Bottling has no record of Mr. ******* making a claim on his night stand. Water stains on the night stand should be covered by the extended warranty. However, Great White Bottling would have to make that determination. I would ask Mr. ******* to make a claim on his night stand. If Great White Bottling denies his claim on his night stand have him contact me for assistance. In either case, Mr. ******* can contact me directly so we can work out a mutually satisfactory solution. Sincerely, ***** ****** Regional Sales Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The bigger issue is how it's sold. You don't get any paperwork detailing the warranty until after it is purchased. Additionally, the selling point of "any damage will be covered, first an attempt to repair will be made, and if unable, then it will be replaced," is incorrect and misleading. I appreciate Mr. ********* assistance, however, the sales approach must be replaced, a copy of the agreement should be given so it can be read before purchasing, not after. The sales tactic is intentionally misleading. I will not accept a refund because of the possibility of serious damage. I would rather they do what they say they will do, which is attempt to repair the damage on the table, which falls under the "any damage" that it was sold as. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/04) */ I would like to help him resolve this issue. However, Great White Bottling has no record of Mr. ******* making a claim on his nightstand. If he needs help processing his claim he can contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I was contacted by one of the store managers to replace the table and will be swapping it out. The nightstand was never the issue at hand. The nightstand will be reported to Great White Bottling as soon as I am able. Hopefully there are no issues with that.

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered and financed a sofa on June 15th worth approximately #3,000. We were told the product would arrive in 8-12 weeks;however, payments began the month of order. After 14 weeks we have made 3 payments; however, the product has not arrived. The business has given numerous conflicting statements as to when the sofa was ordered and when it would arrive. Product_Or_Service: Calico Hills sectiona sofa Order_Number: inoice # XXXXX Account_Number: ****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Due to the business failing to deliver their product, we are requesting a refund of the money we have made in payments and a charge back or cancellation of the financing agreement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/10/09) */ I called Mr. ******* today, he stated he could not talk. I asked if there was a time we could, so that we could come to a resolution. I have not talked to him about his issues or situation to come to a resolution. In fact I had no idea of any issues he had had with the store until this complaint. He simply said he couldn't talk and hung up the line. I would love to help him with his issue, as customer service is our number one priority at the end of the day. He may reach me when he would like to speak of the issues I can help him resolve.

10/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The furniture I purchased has not been delivered or it was delivered damaged. I was promised furniture 2-3 weeks after purchase. Still waiting. On May 19, 2014 my wife and I purchased furniture from several Furniture Row stores. These purchases included a Headboard, Footboard, Nightstand, Dresser and Side Rails from the Mocha collection along with a Baltimore 5 piece dining room set from Bedroom Expressions. We also purchased a sofa, loveseat, ottoman, and chair from the Soland collection from Sofa Mart. Furthermore we purchased a Brixam Pillow Top King Mattress set from Denver Mattress. As part of our purchases we also paid for delivery for all of these items. These purchases totaled $******** and were made from the North Little Rock store via credit card. According to salesmen ***** ****** and **** ****** at this location, our furniture would available for delivery at our home in ***** ******* in no longer than 3 weeks from the Marion, Iowa location. After speaking with the employees of the Marion store within several days of purchase, it was made known to me that the pieces from Sofa Mart were on back order and would not be available until the end of ****. After calling the Bedroom Expressions and Denver Mattress in Marion once weekly for the next 3 weeks I was able to arrange delivery of these items on June 17th. On June 16th, after calling to arrange a delivery time, I was informed that the headboard and footboard of my bedding were damaged on delivery to the Marion store. These pieces had been damaged over a week ago, but they did not care to inform of us of them until we called the day before delivery and it was too late to get a new set delivered as planned. I was informed by the manager **** ******** that the side rails, headboard, and footboard would be delivered 1-2 weeks later at the end of June. The next day two delivery men delivered the mattress set from Denver Mattress along with the dining room set, dresser, nightstand, and a temporary bed frame to use while awaiting another permanent set to arrive. Upon delivery a center piece in the dining room table had a large scratch on it and the delivery men noted that it had fallen at another delivery. We were informed that Bedroom Expressions would get us a replacement piece and have its employees rebuild our table. Later in the delivery one of the workers was witnessed attempting to move the dresser by himself. This resulted in a large defect in the corner of the dresser that was witnessed by both myself and my parents. We were then told a replacement dresser would be brought along with the dining table piece. These damaged goods were noted in the receipt that was signed upon delivery. The manager assured us that he would keep in touch weekly. After a week and a half, we still had not heard from the store, so on June 23rd, we contacted Bedroom Expressions and Sofa Mart once again to address when these replacement pieces would be delivered. At this time we were told that at the earliest it would be sometime in July. Actually, the dining table had been sitting in a warehouse the entire time, but they just never mentioned it. Throughout this entire process we were told that employees would contact us to arrange delivery, replacement pieces, and update us on the status of back-ordered furniture. Not once did any employee contact us, rather we had to call back multiple times to track the status of our furniture that had been purchased a month earlier and was broken by their employees or was on back order. At the time of purchase in May, none of the furniture bought was on back order. We were under the impression that it would take no longer than 3 weeks to have it delivered to our new house in Iowa. We took this information into account when deciding to choose Furniture Row for our furniture. Had we known the truth of the matter we would have likely gone elsewhere. We were misled repeatedly by sales staff, managers, delivery men, etc... We both work full time have sacrificed multiple days off of work to keep track of our furniture and be available for delivery.

Desired Settlement: The value of the furniture purchased from Furniture Row is approximately $*****. It was supposed to be delivered in 3 weeks time. The original value of the furniture that was available on the original scheduled delivery date of June 17th was $********. That is the total price of the mattress set, dining room table, dresser, and nightstand. Of the items that were delivered, the dresser and dining room table were damaged. This lowers the value of the furniture delivered as promised from $******** to $********. This means that $******** of $***** of furniture was delivered, undamaged, as promised. That is roughly 33% of what we paid. We took a day off of work to have this furniture delivered. As of now, one of us will have to take 2 additional days off if Furniture Row delivers the remaining pieces as promised. This costs our household $*** per day at our current salaries. The remaining value of my furniture that has not been delivered is roughly $*****. I think that 10% of this value, or $***, along with an additional $*** dollars in store credit for our time to be home for additional deliveries is a fair compensation for the trouble we have endured. Of course this would be in addition to the expedient delivery and in some cases reconstruction/replacement of the remaining furniture that we have purchased. Thus, in conclusion we are seeking the expedient and undamaged delivery of our remaining sofa, loveseat, chair, ottoman, undamaged dining room table, and undamaged dresser. We are also seeking $*** in store credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/04) */ We issued a refund check for ****** ****** for the following... 15% discount for the dining set, dresser, and bed that was damaged upon delivery. the total of that was $******. we also refunded the customer $*** for compensation for missing a day of work to accept the second delivery of furniture that damaged originally. We refunded the customer her original delivery charge of $******. We have been in constant contact with the customer concerning this issue and arrival times of her reordered items. Ms. ****** has already received all of her items except for the headboard due to backorder. We have helped this issue with a temporary bed frame until the complete frame is delivered. Sofa Mart has refunded 15% of purchase for items not delivered on time plus $*** for a missed day of work. The Oak Express refund check has already been sent in the mail to the customer as well. The total Oak Express refund $****** and sofa mart total of refund $******. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I feel that the business addressed my complaint seriously and fairly.

6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers damaged TV and tried to conceal it by sliding the broken cable behind the TV. Movers delivered furniture and in the process pulled out the cable where it connects to the rear of the TV. They then slid the broken connector and cable back behind the TV but on the wrong side where the cable actually connects.

Desired Settlement: $400.00 the cost of the TV

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/12) */ A refund check for Mr ***** was ordered. He was given a status update on June 6th letting him know that the store would be receiving his check either Saturday 6/7 or Monday 6/9. The check was received on Monday 6/9 and was placed in the mail to Mr *****. He should receive the check any day now. It is in the amount of $400.00

6/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It isn't the dollar amount in dispute. I am called over and over by thier "collectors even though my account is up to date. I keep getting harassing calls on my phone from their collections even though my account is/has been current, and in this case not due until 6/09/14!!! They refuse to identify themselves on the phone but I can tell from the number they are calling from it is them!! I remarried and they have a problem changing my name in their system then call me using my old last name asking for me. I have tried repeatedly to change my name I am NOT giving them my marriage and divorce certificates as proof that is stupid.

Desired Settlement: I wish that my debt to them be revoked. I should not owe anything to a company that refuses to update their own records and therefore find it ok to harass me via my cell phone.m Even when my **** is not has not been late. I am a sickly person (this effects my health!) that has been called every month weeks BEFORE my due date of my bill.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ I called Ms ******* 5/30/14 and explained to her that it is not Furniture Row contacting her. The finance account she has is through Capital One. I suggested to Ms ******* that she contact their customer service number to find out if it is inded them contacting her. From her description, it sounds like she is either past due on her payments, or that it is someone other than Capital One "fishing" for her private information. I have never known Capital One or any other legitimate finance company to refuse to identify themselves. Either way, a simple call to their customer service department can answer all those questions. The number is listed on each of her monthly statements.

6/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rewe received defective merchandise. Stores and managers will not return phone calls. We purchased a table and 10 chairs from Oak Express. When we received our products, one chair is broken, the table leaf has a stain slop on it making it ugly. The other chairs were only 3/4 of the way put together properly. We paid almost $500 for delivery and setup. We also purchased a sofa from Sofa Mart. It arrived with one of the reclining footstools bent. It was also the wrong one. It was not the one on the floor at the time of the sale. When I asked about this, the sales woman said I was confused and didnt remember correctly. There were 6 other people that remember it the way we do and have pictures to prove it. I habe contacted

Desired Settlement: We are requesting $1500.00 for the setup we had to finish, the broken chair, the damaged table leaf and bent sofa. Also for the hassel of all of this. I have called the store, regional manage and someone at corporate. No one will call me back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/30) */ I spoke with **** ******* on 5/22/14 it was my understanding this issue has been resolved. **** was given several options. She was told she could return all of her product and we would exchange it or she could return it and be given a full refund. Alternately, we offered to refund her 500.00 to accept the damaged table and sofa, "as is". Additionally, we agreed she could return the broken chair within the one year and we would exchange it for her at no charge. She agreed to accept the 500 refund and bring the chair in the next time she is in town. I have had no further contact from **** since we made that agreement She can contact me on my cell phone ,XXX-XXX-XXXX, or by email at ************@furniturerow.com if she has additional questions or concerns. Sincerely, ***** ****** RSM, Oak Express and Sofa Mart Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/06/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did talk with Mr ***** on said date. I said the refund of $500 for damage was appropriate for the TABLE. We still had to complete set up that we paid for. And we had to fix the sofa. We spend almost $4500 including the delivery fee. $500 was not much effort in our opinion. We are agreeable to exchanging the chair. We would like a refund of the delivery/setup fee since we completed the setup and now have to drive 3 hours, one way, to return a broken chair. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/06/12) */ When we last spoke, Mrs. ******* agreed to accept the $500.00 discount, and to exchanging the chair herself. This was offered as an alternative to the store doing a service call and exchanging her product. I explained to Mrs. ******** the reasoning behind the offer was that would be the cost for store either way. If she did not accept the discount we would have exchanged her product at no cost to her. Asking for an additional $500.00 is not a reasonable request. I will offer Mrs. ******** an additional $100.00 as a matter of customer service. Alternately, she can return the product and we will refund the remainder of what she paid us. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/06/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We arent going to exchange the chair. We had a local repair place fix it.. You can mail us a check.

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Albuquerque store has not completed delivery on items purchased 4/1/14. The store refuses full refund on goods not delivered. I purchased a dining room set 4/1/14. With this group comes 3 rugs for $498. Delivery ETA was promised at 1-2 weeks. I have received the room group, minus the rugs. I called repeatedly to see if the rugs had come in. On two occasions, I was told that they had, only to find out that they had not. I do not live near the store. I finally called the regional manager 5/2/14. He stated that there was inventory discrepancies, but he would personally go to El Paso, and bring the rugs back. I have not heard from him since, he is not returning my phone calls. The store manager is only offering a refund of $199; he stated that the additional $199 was for a mirror. This is contrary to the itemized invoice. I even sought out an attorney to attempt to force them to refund me, costing me an additional $200 to draft a letter of demand. Again, the store manager refused to refund more than $199. This is even after I showed him the itemized invoice listing the price paid at $498.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a minimum of $498.00 I paid for the rug group, as well as the $200 I paid the attorney to draft a letter of demand. If I have to go to court, I will be seeking treble, as well as court costs and attorney fees. This store has violated the Unfair Trade Practice Act.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/27) */ We don't believe we have acted in bad faith, in effort to resolve her concerns. We will offer Mrs. ***** a refund of $498.00, the cost of the rug. We have attempted to make contact, and will continue to until reached.

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a warranty on furniture I purchased from Furniture Row. The warranty guarantees that Furniture Row will repair or replace any of my purchased furniture if it is damaged. I submitted a claim for a damaged night stand and a damaged desk on March 10, 2014 and to date NOTHING has been fixed or repaired. I called Furniture Row and they referred me to the warranty company who approved (in writing) the exchange of one piece of furniture (a nightstand) and the other piece (a desk) was approved for a credit since they don't make my model anymore. However, Furniture Row has received no documentation about the desk. I have called Furniture Row 7 times about this problem and no one has called me back except an assistant manager once yesterday. He told me it would be resolved today and again I haven't heard back. The warranty company, Great White Bottling Company, Inc. will not return my calls. I paid $99 for this warranty and I have spent the last month trying to get someone to honor it. Product_Or_Service: Michigan Ave Nightstand/ Newport Desk Order_Number: 1-********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I want my furniture replaced or repaired to its original condition as promised in the WARRANTY I purchased.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/28) */ We have tried to contact Mrs ******* to address her situation, we are willing to do what ever it takes to address her situation. mrs ******* please call us back at 303-***-**** at your earliest convenience Thank you, ******* ****** 303-***-****.

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Broken pull handles on the drawer. We bought a VERY expensive dining set in March of 2013. Since it is in our formal dining room we do not use it except for special occasions. We do not have children living at home nor do we have any children visiting. 9 months after we bought it 2 handle on the hutch broke. The screw connector actually broke off in one drawer and the other screws are stripped so you can't get them out. We called them about this and after over a month of not hearing back from them we went in and talked to them. They had a couple of extra pull that they gave us. Problem was they didn't match and there was no way we could replace them. We called and told them this. They told us that we would receive a call from their repair company. We got a call telling us they would pick up the pulls and order new ones. They did come get the pulls but never let us know if they ordered the pulls. Fast forward another month with still no call. We went into the store and spoke with the assistant manager. As soon as we said our names she knew what we were doing there. She said they just happened to have gotten the pulls in earlier in the week. She also said that the repair company will call us. Still no call several weeks later so I called 4/19/14 and spoke with the manager. I explained what was going on and he aid our pull just came in. I told him that they are lying to us since the pulls came in weeks ago (we even saw the pulls). He also told me that several people have been having this problem with this dining set. I admit I was a little rude with them but I told them I am tired of not getting calls and not getting the item repaired. I also said I was reporting to BBB and corporate. We just got a call from them telling us if we don't hear from repair by Monday to call them back. With their track record I doubt we will get a call.

Desired Settlement: Want item repaired without damaging the drawers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/26) */ Upon hearing of Mr ****** situation, I have been in contact with him multiple times and apologized for the delay in receiving the part. We were able to get the handles for his set and had them delivered and installed on Friday, April 25th. I spoke with **** again on Saturday, April 26th just to make sure everything went okay. Mr **** was wonderful to work with and I believe we have resolved the situation.

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: dining set pd in full at time of purchase. damaged item delivered. won't deliver non damaged replacement. wont pickup/refund purchase price.Paid in fu Paid in full at time of purchase. We were told table was in stock and would be delivered the following Saturday. never delivered. I had to call store and they claimed table was never in stock, but would deliver damaged showroom model as temporary until new table set could be delivered 21 days later. 21 days came and went. I had to call and was told my table was delayed in customs on a dock in California, and would be delivered either 4/7 or 4/17. On 4/25 we received a call saying the factory in Asia burned down and now we won't get the table until 7/15/2014. We went to the store and manager Brandon said he would have it picked up Monday 4/28 between 6-9pm and would not refund until returned. I spoke with manager Clinton at 8:15pm and he said his crew was running 30 minutes late but would be here by 9:30pm. I called the driver at 10:10 PM and he said he had one more stop before coming to my house. the driver then shut off his phone and never showed up to pick up table. I believe this whole situation is a deliberate act of fraud because they lied to get my money and have had my money for over two months and are refusing to refund money.

Desired Settlement: full refund and pickup of secondhand **** product passed off as purchased item.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/30) */ We greatly apolagize for the inconvenience to Mr *******. His table and chairs was in fact picked up on Monday Evening 4/28. The refund invoice was processed Tuesday Morning 4/29, the customer was left a message to call back with the payment information. We recieved a call from the customer on the evening of 4/29 with their payment information. The refund has been processed and his reciept has been put into the mail. Once again, our sincere apolagy for the customers inconvenience. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) what the company doesn't admit to was the only reason the table was picked up was I called every 30 seconds until the drivers came out @ 1 AM to pick up the table.they guaranteed a 6pm-9pm window-which they ignored. they have not acknowledged the lies they told and why they felt it necessary to force a customer to such extremes to get a refund for a problem they willingly caused.

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a bed almost 3 weeks ago and still haven't received it...all I get from them is the run around A few week ago I ordered a bed for my son. It was a bunk bed style bed with a slide and just one bed not two. The guy said it would be in that Monday, so I hired someone to pick it up. I called and they said the bed was in on Monday. We went to get it and they loaded it in the truck, when I got home I realized it was the wrong bed. The one they had sent me was a regular bunkbed. I called back out there and after thirty minutes of arguing they told me the would reimburse what I paid to have it picked up and they would deliver the right one on Sunday March 2nd. Sunday came along, and I received a call from the delivery person stating I was supposed to get a bed but it wasn't ready so I wouldn't receive it yet. I once again called the store. I asked to talk to a manager and explained the situation to him, who in turn told me that I would get it Thursday and if I wasn't happy with that I could come get my money. Now they have made the mistake twice now so why be rude to me because I want what I paid for? My son is autistic, he really wants this bed, so getting my money back is not an option. He has been without a bed now because I got rid of his the day I picked his new one up. I need better customer service from these people and I need the merchandise I ordered ASAP

Desired Settlement: I want the bed that I ordered and I want it immediately, and for their games to cease. There is nothing else they can do for me because after this I will NEVER step foot back into their store.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/05) */ Left message with customer on 3/5/14 5:54pm asking for call back to help resolve issue.

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid for furniture in full-34 days later the furniture has not been delivered.Iformed Manager of my displeasure-he was rude and less than helpful. I am writing this letter on Wednesday, July 10, 2013 to inform you of my extreme displeasure with the customer service I have received from Furniture Row in Rockford, Illinois. I recently purchased $2,712.33 worth of furniture and paid for the furniture in full from the store located at *****************************************. My purchase was made on June 13th and I was assisted by an employee by the name of ***. *** helped me locate items in the store a few of days before June 13 and gave me a quote of the items I was interested in. When I returned to the store to purchase the items, the cost of my purchase raised $599 due to the fact that *** had forgotten to include one of the pieces of furniture (referred to as the "Big Daddy" pod chair) on the quote (I verbally agreed to return to the store to purchase said items on June 14th , but received a phone call from *** letting me know he made a mistake and that if I didn't come in prior to the 14th he could no longer offer me the furniture at the price he quoted me - I obliged *** and came in early as so I could get my furniture for my quoted price). I moved forward and added the "Big Daddy"chair to my overall purchase. Before paying for the items, *** was informed that I would be out of the country and unavailable from June 26th through July 7th - an auxiliary phone number and contact was provided to *** as so there would not be a delay in delivery of said furniture. I told *** that I would like to have the furniture in my home prior to my departure on June 26th. At this time *** told me that he could not guarantee me that the furniture would arrive by the 26th of June, but that the furniture would definitely be delivered prior to my return on July 8th. I then proceeded to tell *** that if the furniture could not be delivered before my return that "it would be a deal breaker" for the purchase. After writing my check and confirming the free delivery, I asked *** about my free promotional television I was going to receive for my purchase and wanted to make sure that it was going to be delivered the same time as the furniture. ***, for the first time after promoting this t.v. and leading me to believe "everything would be delivered for free" informed me that I had to wait for an email from Best Buy and then go to Best Buy and pick it up myself. I informed *** at this time that I was not happy about having to pick up the t.v. as he never stated in the two days of me dealing with him that this was the case. You could imagine my surprise and disappointment when I returned home to find that I still did not have living room furniture in my home.I called the store on July 10 and spoke with store manager **** & told him that I had purchased and paid in full for my furniture and it had yet to be delivered; and that I only had Friday of this week available to accept the delivery. He informed me that he would be unable to meet my request and would not deliver my furniture this week. I reminded him that I was told by *** that my furniture would be delivered before July 8th and that *** informed me that he was going to put a "rush" on the items to ensure that that was the case. I told him that I was lead to believe that there would not be a problem and that *** told me he would "make it happen". I asked **** when he received my furniture in the store, and he stated "July 5th". I then informed **** that I found that odd because *** called my cell phone on June 28th and left a message that the furniture was in the store and that he was going to call the auxiliary number to set up delivery. **** then said,"Oh, well let me pull up the exact dates here." It was obvious that **** had been dishonest.I then asked **** if I could please have his supervisor's phone number. **** replied, "He doesn't have a phone number, and contacting him isn't going to get you your furniture any faster."I have a complete narrative of this issue, but the space here does not allow for further detail.

Desired Settlement: At this point, especially after receiving a threatening phone call from the store manager ****, that he was going to pursue legal action against me for expressing my displeasure on my personal & private Facebook page, the only acceptable gesture from Furniture Row Outlet at this point is to deliver my furniture and refund 100% of my money.

Business Response: Consumer **sponse /* (-5, 2, 2013/07/11) */ (Below is a complete copy of my complaint) I am writing this letter on Wednesday, July 10, 2013 to inform you of my extreme displeasure with the customer service I have received from your store located in **ckford, Illinois. I recently purchased $2,712.33 worth of furniture and paid for the furniture in full from your store located at *****************************************. My purchase was made on June 13th and I was assisted by an employee by the name of ***. *** helped me locate items in the store a few of days before June 13 and gave me a quote of the items I was interested in. When I returned to the store to purchase the items, the cost of my purchase raised $599 due to the fact that *** had forgotten to include one of the pieces of furniture (referred to as the "Big Daddy" pod chair) on the quote (I verbally agreed to return to the store to purchase said items on June 14th , but received a phone call from *** letting me know he made a mistake and that if I didn't come in prior to the 14th he could no longer offer me the furniture at the price he quoted me - I obliged *** and came in early as so I could get my furniture for my quoted price). I moved forward and added the "Big Daddy"chair to my overall purchase. Before paying for the items, *** was informed that I would be out of the country and unavailable from June 26th through July 7th - an auxiliary phone number and contact was provided to *** as so there would not be a delay in delivery of said furniture. I told *** that I would like to have the furniture in my home prior to my departure on June 26th. At this time *** told me that he could not guarantee me that the furniture would arrive by the 26th of June, but that the furniture would definitely be delivered prior to my return on July 8th. I then proceeded to tell *** that if the furniture could not be delivered before my return that "it would be a deal breaker" for the purchase. After writing my check and confirming the free delivery, I asked *** about my free promotional television I was going to receive for my purchase and wanted to make sure that it was going to be delivered the same time as the furniture. ***, for the first time after promoting this t.v. and leading me to believe "everything would be delivered for free" informed me that I had to wait for an email from Best Buy and then go to Best Buy and pick it up myself. I informed *** at this time that I was not happy about having to pick up the t.v. as he never stated in the two days of me dealing with him that this was the case. You could imagine my surprise and disappointment when I returned home to find that I still did not have living room furniture in my home. On July 8th, I received a phone call from *** and he stated he wanted to schedule my furniture delivery. I was unavailable at the moment of his call and told him that I would get back to him at my earliest convenience. As I was going through my voicemails I had received a message from *** on June 28th telling me my furniture was in (odd since I left him the specific dates I was going to be unavailable). Today (July 10, 2013) I called the store and asked to speak with *** and was informed that he was off for the day. The gentleman who answered the phone offered to help me schedule my furniture delivery and informed me that it might "take a while" as he was "new, but would try his best" (I appreciated his honesty). I informed the gentleman that I received a call confirming that my furniture was in the store already and that I would like to have it delivered this week. He told me that was not possible. I then asked to speak to the store manager. The store manager, ****, then came to the phone. I introduced myself to **** & told him that I had purchased and paid in full for my furniture and it had yet to be delivered, and that I only had Friday of this week available to accept the delivery. He informed me that he would be unable to meet my request and would not deliver my furniture this week. I reminded him that I was told by *** that my furniture would be delivered before July 8th and that *** informed me that he was going to put a "rush" on the items to ensure that that was the case. I told him that I was lead to believe that there would not be a problem and that *** told me he would "make it happen". I asked **** when he received my furniture in the store, and he stated "July 5th". I then informed **** that I found that odd because *** called my cell phone on June 28th and left a message that the furniture was in the store and that he was going to call the auxiliary number to set up delivery. **** then said, "Oh, well let me pull up the exact dates here." It was obvious that **** had been dishonest. **** then confirmed that phone calls to my primary and auxiliary numbers on June 28th had been made. He stated, "Well, we called you on the 28th." I reminded him that I was out of town and that his employee was told this numerous times. I asked **** if he thought that he had provided superior customer service by just placing one call in a 10 day period to the auxiliary number. He stated, "We don't have time to call you every day." I informed him that I didn't have an expectation of him calling me every day, but I did expect better than 1 phone call in a 10 day period. I asked him if he thought he was providing me with the best customer service possible and he stated, "Yes". As I continued to talk **** started to talk over me and cut me off in the middle of my sentences. I actually had to stop at one point and ask **** to "please stop cutting me off in the middle of my sentences" and informed him that he was "being rude by talking over me". He stated, "fine". At this point I could tell **** was more interested in arguing his point than making sure I had received high quality customer service and was not willing to accept any sort of accountability for the poor attention to detail from his store. I then asked **** if I could please have his supervisor's phone number. **** replied, "He doesn't have a phone number, and contacting him isn't going to get you your furniture any faster." I replied, "That is fine ****, but I would like to inform him of my dissatisfaction with the customer service I have received from your store." He then proceeded to give me the following e-mail address: ****************************** I then asked **** what my alternative for delivering my furniture was and he stated the soonest he could have the furniture to my home was July 16th, 2013 (33 days after I ordered and paid in full for my furniture). I said, "I guess that will have to do then." Later in the afternoon while at lunch with a colleague, I received a phone call from **** on my cell phone telling me that he had been "notified" that I had "posted on social media about my frustration with my service and that that was my right, but since I had included his employee's name that he would seek legal action" against me if I did not "remove it immediately". I replied, "Okay," and then terminated the call. My personal Facebook page is private and only open to my "Friends" and is not open to the public. I did include the name "***" and did not include a last name. The comment was neither rude nor defamatory. A few minutes later I asked **** about the return policy in case I decided to cancel my order and how long it would take to receive my refund. he informed me I would have to forgo the price of my t.v. and that the t.v. was non-refundable and that he would have to check and see what the cost would be. I ended the conversation with, "Thank you ****." I can be reached at the information provided below and expect that your company will remedy this situation effective immediately. I also expect that ****, store manager, no longer contact me regarding my furniture or my complaint of customer service. I find his threats and invasion of my privacy to be unprofessional and completely out of line. ***** ** ****** ************************ Consumer **sponse /* (-5, 6, 2013/07/16) */ This situation has been remedied by the Area Sales Manager for the company and I am no longer interested in a response from said company. Consumer **sponse /* (-5, 7, 2013/07/17) */ On 7-16-13, the schecduled date for my furniture to be delivered, the furniture arrived on time; however, they delivered the WRONG funriture! After receiving a discount for their rude, threatening, and incompetent practices, they continue to still fail at the basic services that they claim to provide. I am no longer satisfied and do not feel this situation is resolved. I had previously worked with ***** *******, Area Sales Manager and have sent him an email informing him of the situation. I am awaiting his reply. I will now have to block off four hours of my day this Saturday to accept the delivery of the correct furniture. Consumer **sponse /* (-5, 11, 2013/08/01) */ When the furniture was finally delivered to my house they delivered the wrong furniture (the end tables, coffee table, and the area rug). We then had to re-schedule another day for them to come and collect the wrong furniture and deliver the appropriate furniture. Upon trying to reach Mr. *******, to inform him of this issue, he did not reply to any emails or phone calls. Business **sponse /* (1000, 15, 2013/08/27) */ Mr ****** received major discounts to his furniture already at this point. When he purchased, our store offered him $77 off because we were running a sale later that week that he would not be able to come back for. He also received a delivery discount of $173.64 at the time of his purchase again because he would not be able to make it into the store when we were running our sale. After he contacted the Regional about his issues, we authorized an additional discount of $704 that was processed on July 12, 2013. These are substantial discounts and in the end he does have the new furniture in his house. We beleive that the discounts given to Mr ****** are more than fair and his demand of a full refund AND keep the furniture is unreasonable. Mr ****** has always had the opportunity to return the furniture for the remainder of what he has spent but at this point he has received so many discounts he is probably better off keeping it. Consumer **sponse /* (2000, 17, 2013/08/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) My last request was unreasonable. Apparently I had to be after I received no response after they sent me the wrong furniture-which required me to take more time off of work to meet the delivery at my home. Un-returned phone calls and emails after they continued to be incompetent was quite aggravating. I am happy to move on and hope that someone is aware that after we reached a resolution, the incompetence continued.

8/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are contacting you to make you aware of our experience with both the Sofa Mart and Oak Express stores of your company. It started late in 2011 and is still ongoing. Unfortunately, the experience has been less than positive. We purchased approximately $5000 in furniture from your company. It may not be for some, but this was a very big purchase for us. We put an addition onto our home and wanted to fully furnish it as well as get new dining room furniture. We purchased a sectional couch, two end tables, an entertainment unit, a dining room table with six chairs and a dining room hutch. The sofa was delivered in early 2012. Two issues arose: one of the connectors to latch the two parts of the sectional was delivered broken and the delivery people damaged our new sliding door in our brand new family room. The rest of the furniture was to be delivered on February 11, 2012. When the Oak Express delivery arrived, they brought the dining room table and chairs and nothing else. They had to return later with the end tables, dining room hutch and pillars to the entertainment unit. When they returned, the end tables they delivered were not what we ordered. The dining room hutch was missing a knob. I was told they could not come back again that day, despite the fact we were missing a knob to our hutch, our end tables and the center entertainment unit. I had to make a special trip (the first of many) to get a knob off the dining room hutch floor model. This was very disappointing to say the least as we had a party planned at our house that evening and half of our new furniture was missing. When the center entertainment unit finally came in, they could not fit us in for delivery for an extended period of time, so we arranged to pick it up ourselves. This unit was to house our cable, TV, etc. and until we had it, we couldn't use our family room the way we wanted to. When we got the entertainment unit home and opened the box, the unit was completely destroyed - it looked like someone took a sledgehammer to it. (Trip #2 to your store) So, we had to call the store again, advise of the situation and was told to come into the store to check out the floor model as the sales person advised us it looked in good shape. We went to the store that evening (trip #3) and the floor model was damaged as well. We obviously were not going to take a damaged floor model when we paid for a new one. So, we had to wait until another center entertainment unit came in. When the correct end tables arrived, we were told we had to wait for someone to put them together before they could be delivered. By this time, we were rather fed up with waiting and just wanted our furniture. We were told we could pick up the end tables unassembled as they were "easy " to put together, (trip #4) When we brought the end tables home there were of course multiple pieces and no directions whatsoever as to how to assemble them. Frustrated, we returned the end tables (trip #5), advised your store to put them together and I would come back to pick them up to avoid the delivery delay, (trip #6) Less than a year after we had our furniture, one of the handles on the end table fell off. We called Oak Express and were told to bring the table back out (trip #7) and they would see if they could replace it. They could not but one of the sales reps was able to fix it. While still frustrating, this was probably the least trouble we had with resolving one of our multiple issues. Again, less than a year after we had the couch, a number of the cushions were sagging and losing their shape. We called and requested that at least one cushion be ordered and was told that would not be a problem, and would get a call when the cushion came in. We called two times over the span of over two months and was told it was not in. We had to call a third time and was told that the order was in. We went out to pick up (what we thought was) the cushion, and was handed two large bags of stuffing (trip #8). We asked what about the cushion and was told that they try the "stuffing first" to see if that works. So in the end we waited almost three months for two bags of stuffing. We felt this was not an acceptable solution and went back to the store and ended up dealing with *******. We must point out that she has been very helpful in an otherwise awful experience. She helped us pick out a different fabric for the sectional which she advised would be close to our original choice and would be more durable. While she was correct that the color is close to the original, it was still very disappointing to not have the original couch we picked out the go in our new family room. It should also be noted that this ordering of the new couch took another three trips to the store to complete the order as internal codes had to be inputted and for some reason this could not be done over the phone but required us to make extra trips. We also ordered new decorative pillows for the sectional when we ordered the new couch. While we waited for the new couch, we were told by ******* she could provide documentation on our receipt so that if the connectors on the new couch would break, a one time service call would be allowed to our home to fix the issue. While this was helpful on *******'s part, it required trip #12 (not sure at this point, we have lost count) to pick up the receipt. We would also like to point out that when we did make these extra trips, and ******* was not there, more often than not, we were met with blank stares and less than friendly attitudes. It seems that once the sale is over, customer service seems to go out the window. When the new couch was delivered this past Sunday, the pillows we ordered were not with it. We called ******* the following day and she advised the order for the pillows was lost and asked if we could come in and re-order them, (we had ordered different colors the second time around as the couch was a slightly different color) We told ******* no, we are not coming into the store again and to just order the same color pillows we had the first time around and we'd deal with it. Needless to say, at this point we are beyond frustrated with this experience and seriously doubt we'd ever shop at Furniture Row again nor recommend your store to anyone else. We still owe over $3000 on this furniture, and every month we write a check we are reminded of our extremely disappointing experience with your company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/08/07) */ We have contacted the customer and processed an additional refund on August 4th to satisfy the situation.

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought a montibello table and chairs for $748.23 was told by sales person if we found the same or even similar deal 200% guarantee on price bought a montibello table and chairs for $748.23 was told by sales person if we found the same or even similar deal 200% guarantee on price was even told this table was price matched with the room store and it didnt have the bottom drawer said even if it was marble - just had to look similar - well found another table for $597.00 then was told no this is not EXACTELY THE SAME must be ------- explained not told that -------- tried to call district manager - got voice mail - could not leave a message = ********************** voice mail box full --------does not sound right so i am filing a complaingt

Desired Settlement: just honor what you told me and do something nice for my wife for all the worrying she had to do over this thank ya

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/05/02) */ I spoke with Mr. ********** and told him we would honor the price guarantee he was explained.

3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told table was solid wood, I have it and this piece (not wood) chips off. I bought a table and it had a huge defect. The manager took very good care of me. He let me re select. Even through in a chair. At that time they did not offer me an extended warranty nor did they the first time I bought. Two years later it chip this piece off the top. I called back in November of 2012. They told me someone would get back to me. Here we are in mid February , still no one has got back to me, I have call several other times. Now I am told that I do not have the extended warranty to fix it. Wow! The manager could not even call to tell me. I do not have the money purchase a new table.

Desired Settlement: Fix it or give me a new one

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/03/07) */ Dear **** I contacted ****** ******** at the number provided. He did not know of a Better Business Bureau complaint and informed me that he would speak with his wife, *******. I asked Mr. ******** to forward pictures of the table issues. Although, the issues with the ********'s table are outside of the manufacturers warranty or scope of covered items I do not believe that said damage should have occurred. For this fact we will be allowing a full swap of the dining room table. Mr. ******** is scheduled to bring back his current table to the store in exchange for a brand new one. Sincerely, ************ Store Sales Manager