BBB Accredited Business since

Bona US

Phone: (303) 371-1411 Fax: (303) 371-6958 View Additional Phone Numbers 2550 S Parker Rd Ste 600, Aurora, CO 80014 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bona.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bona US meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bona US include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Bona US
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 13, 1991 Business started: 09/10/1987 Business started locally: 09/10/1987 Business incorporated 09/10/1987 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Richard Goering, VP of Operations Ms. Erica Kitzke, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Richard Goering, VP of Operations
Customer Contact: Ms. Erica Kitzke, Marketing Manager
Business Category

Floor Materials - Retail Cleaning Compounds

Alternate Business Names
BonaKemi U S A Inc
Industry Tips
Flooring

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bona US has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2550 S Parker Rd Ste 600

    Aurora, CO 80014 (303) 923-6656 (303) 923-6644

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we used BONA Mega waterborne wood floor finish gloss to finish our new floors.It has failed in multiple ways in a very short time. We built a brand new house in ******* NH in 2013. We installed a Beautiful Custom Brazilian Walnut Floor in February 2013. The Flooring Contractor *** from D and D Floors from ********* Ma ************ strongly reccommended that we upgrade to a more expensive better quality floor finish product in order to get the most from our floors.He told us to purchase Bona Mega waterborne wood floor finish gloss. We spent $2100 between the product and labor to have over 1500 sq feet of floor finished. Within 30 days of using the product the floor finish began to dull. The floor became dull and began to wear away to have no finish at all in spots over the past 6 months. The finish looks old and tired and its only been 6 months of normal wear and tear. I personally have finished many floors myself using an inexpensive oil based poly from Home Depot a quarter of the price. The Floors I finished have withstood heavy commercial use over 2-3 years and still look great. Our hardwood floors need to be refinished already 6 months after installing Bona Mega Waterborne Wood Floor Finish Gloss. We are very unhappy with this product and request that Bona Us Pay for us to have our floors refinished. Thank You for your time,***** *****

Desired Settlement: We want Bona Us to Refinish our hardwood floors or Pay to have someone refinish our hardwood floors

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/27) */ We will be contacting the contractor to gather additional information regarding the product application, to help us better troubleshoot the claim. Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/02/24) */ BONA US made a promise to fix our hardwood floors only after we issued a BBB Complaint about their failing product. They never delivered the promise. January of 2013 we finished our brand new hardwood floors with a product called Bona Mega from Bona US. The product and floor finish immediately began to show signs of failure breaking down and exposing bare wood. In addition the product and finish became cloudy and the sheen wore away. In the middle of 2013 we issued a BBB complaint to BONA US. They immediately responded and said they would take care of the issue. After months of us pursuing them they agreed to send out a rep to inspect the floors. The rep came agreed the finish had failed and promised to fix the problem by Thanksgiving 2013. Since that time we have not heard from BONA US. After months of chasing them they still have not done anything about our floors. We are very disappointed in their company and wish we had just gotten a decent inexpensive Home Depot Product to finish the floors. Instead we opted to get some high end Pricey Boutique companies product and it was a total failure. thanks BONA US We are requesting that BONA US pays for our floors to be refinished.Approximate amount $2250 for the cost of the floor refinishing labor and material. In addition we have to pay for a moving company to move our furniture and have our family displaced for days until the floor is completely cured. Consumer Response /* (-5, 13, 2014/02/24) */ Duplicate complaint filed: BONA US made a promise to fix our hardwood floors only after we issued a BBB Complaint about their failing product. They never delivered the promise. January of 2013 we finished our brand new hardwood floors with a product called Bona Mega from Bona US. The product and floor finish immediately began to show signs of failure breaking down and exposing bare wood. In addition the product and finish became cloudy and the sheen wore away. In the middle of 2013 we issued a BBB complaint to BONA US. They immediately responded and said they would take care of the issue. After months of us pursuing them they agreed to send out a rep to inspect the floors. The rep came agreed the finish had failed and promised to fix the problem by Thanksgiving 2013. Since that time we have not heard from BONA US. After months of chasing them they still have not done anything about our floors. We are very disappointed in their company and wish we had just gotten a decent inexpensive Home Depot Product to finish the floors. Instead we opted to get some high end Pricey Boutique companies product and it was a total failure. thanks BONA US We are requesting that BONA US pays for our floors to be refinished.Approximate amount $2250 for the cost of the floor refinishing labor and material. In addition we have to pay for a moving company to move our furniture and have our family displaced for days until the floor is completely cured. Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/03/19) */ In rebuttal to the complaint : After discussions with Mr. *****, and subsequent emails with a list of products used on the floor, it was determeined that the film build was most likely due to a build up of cleaning / polishing products. This was not denied by Mr. *****, but he was insistent that a Bona rep come to the home to at least look at the floor to see what was going on. As a gesture of good will, Mike Overy, Territory Manager, agreed to look at the floor and offer his opinion. No promises were made by Bona nor by a representative of Bona stating that we would resand the floor. A suggestion was made to involve the contractor, D and D Flooring, to utilize the Bona Recoat System to remove the maintenance products and recoat the floor as a gesture of good will. The contractor did not want to continue with this, and that is where things ended. Inspection by the TM confirmed a filmy residue on the floor consistent with the after market polishes identified by a ***** ************ and it was also noted that a large dog resides in the home and may contribute to any previous wear noted by the Fodens. If the contractor is willing to be involved, we may extend the offer to perform a recoat on the floor. Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2014/03/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Bona US did in fact respond to our complaint and they did send a rep to look at the floor. It took quite a lot of time and persistance on our part just to get this to happen. The rep looked at the floor and we agreed that residue was due to using hardwood floor cleaner from the supermarket. However this is only at best half the problem. Yes we have a large dog and scratches and dings are not what we are talking about. The floor finish has broken down and failed in many areas there are large areas of bare wood where the dog doesnt go. My 2 year old daughter has gotten splinters from our Bona Floor.These areas were pointed out to the Bona rep and he agreed. He also promised to bring a floor buffer over and buff the floor ..months went by this never happened. He also lead us to believe Bona would resolve the issue one way or another that they wouldnt not stand by there product they would fix this. Furthermore moving onto the residue, what kind of floor finish that you pay premium money for is not able to be cleaned with standard hard wood floor cleaner that is in supermarkets across the country, how ridiculous! The bona finish never mentions anything on the back of its bottle that you cant use standard hard wood floor cleaner that you can use with any other floor finish. We are very disappointed with this product and company. We have had many hardwood floors and even finished some ourselves and never used Bona and never haf these issues. Thank You for your time, **** *****

9/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Item doesn't work for hardwood floors. It just pushes the dirt around but doesn't actually pick it up. I purchased the Bona Floor Mop for $21.98 plus the spray bottle of Bona 32oz Floor Cleaner for $7.98 at Lowes about a week ago. I tried to return both items to Lowe's but don't have my receipt from the purchase, just my bank statement showing I was at Lowe's. They said that any return with Bona must go through the company, regardless if I had a receipt or not. I'd like a refund of $32.39, the amount I paid including tax. The item isn't effective for our hardwood floors and it's a waste of money because it doesn't do what it's promised to do.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of $32.39.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/17) */ ********* will be contacted by our Consumer Support Call Center to resolve his mop issue / complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Bona US
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart