BBB Accredited Business since

A Plus Hardwood Floors

Phone: (303) 477-9110 Fax: (720) 485-5708 800 E 64th Ave Unit 1, Denver, CO 80229 http://www.aplushardwoods.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We provide all types of hardwood flooring either for sale to the public for DIY individuals or we can provide and install your wood for you. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A Plus Hardwood Floors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A Plus Hardwood Floors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on A Plus Hardwood Floors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1995 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Drabek, Owner Brittney Skelton, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Drabek, Owner
Customer Contact: Brittney Skelton, Office Manager
Business Category

Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Hardwood Floor Contractors Floors - Hardwood

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards, check or cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
Varies by product - Please call the office. 
Alternate Business Names
A+ Hardwood Floors
Industry Tips
Flooring

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A Plus Hardwood Floors has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 800 E 64th Ave Unit 1

    Denver, CO 80229 (303) 477-9110

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Screen and coat of hardwood floor was done very poorly. Footprints, smudges and swirl marks were left in the floor that we're not there before. Due to waffle marks left by rug pads on my hardwood floors, we called for a screen and coat. The estimator assured me the marks could be removed. The screen and coat was performed on Aug 28. When we inspected the floor that evening, the waffle marks were still present. The following morning we also noticed swirl marks from the buffer, and footprints in the finish. When I called the company, I was told a screen and coat would not repair waffle marks but they agreed to fix the footprints. When they showed up to repair the floor I was told the footprints were "normal" and they refused to fix it. They are not answering the phone or returning my messages. Additionally, the guys who came into my house left big, dusty footprints all over my floor and only swept some of them up after I insisted. This company misrepresented the service they said they could provide and then refused to repair a very poorly done job.

Desired Settlement: I would like the floor done properly or a refund of my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/09) */ The customer was quoted to have a screen and coat done on her floors. A screen and coat is simply a light buffing and a fresh coat of finish. It is only a maintenance coat and should be treated as such. Contrary to what this customer states, our estimator would not have assured her that her rug marks would be removed. The estimator who performed her estimate is also the owner of the company and knows what a screen and coat will correct and what it will not. This customer signed a waiver that states, "If your floor needs even a minor sanding a screen and coat is not for you." The waiver goes on to state, "A screen and coat will not take out paint splatter or deep scratches on the floor. It is simply a coat of finish." Her original coat was done on August 28th and she called the next day to complain of issues with the floor. She told us there were footprints in the floor and we scheduled to have the original crew who did the floor come back for touch ups on Monday, September 1st - Labor Day. Unfortunately the customer was so rude and difficult for our guys that they ended up leaving without performing her touch ups. They called the owner of the company and gave him an update of the situation. Obviously our office was closed on Labor Day and that is why her calls were not immediately returned. On Tuesday, once the office was back open, our owner called her and set up a time to come out and see if he could take care of her issues. She agreed to have him out. Once he was there he tried to correct footprints. He was not 100% happy with his touch up work and decided we needed to have our crew come buff the footprints. We then decided that because she was so unhappy, we should just do another full screen and coat on the entire area instead of just detailing the footprints. Our office called to arrange this with her and she chose to have the new coat done on Monday, September 8th. Our office called on Tuesday, September 9th to confirm with the customer that we had taken care of her and she agreed that yes, we had. We feel this issue has been resolved and this complaint was filed before we had been given the chance to make things right. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Contrary to what the business states, the original estimator did tell me that the rug marks would be removed. Otherwise I would not have scheduled the screen and coat as that was why I asked for the estimate. As for the original floor guys returning on Labor Day, they did not call before they showed up, they never even said hello or good morning and they tracked dirty footprints all over my house which I has to insist they remove before they ran out of here refusing to accept responsibility for their poor work. The individual who tried to "repair " the floor left the it looking as if had been sanded and not finished at all, despite telling me there would be no way to distinguish what he had done. The floor has been re-done but still looks as if a bunch of amateurs or first timers did the work. I will have no further dealings with this business and will encourage my neighbors and any others to stay away from this company. I accept the resolution only because I want nothing further to do with them.

12/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract specified work would take 3-5 days and it took 11 days; unprofessional and didn't finish job as specified. The contract said it would take 3-5 days, and after being out of house for 5 days, the floors were far from being finished. We had to meet with them numerous times to go over areas of the floor that had been missed, and they repeatedly had to come back. In the end the job was 'finished' after 11 days', but they never put the top high traffic coat on. We had to hire another company to fix areas that they did not do properly and put the finish coat on. They put other jobs in front of ours while we had moved out of our house, and did not work on our project during the time we had agreed. They were unprofessional and showed no regard for displacing us from our house for 11 days. On two separate occasions they left our home vulnerable to break-ins. One time they left the key in the lock box without the cover so anyone walking by our house (in an urban neighborhood) could have seen the key and entered our home. The second time, they left the front door unlocked. They also did not do a thorough job and we kept having to point out areas that were not sanded and refinished. We asked them to seal the doors/entries into spaces not being sanded and they agreed to do this but did not. Our basement entrance was not sealed and there was dust throughout the basement. We asked them to tape the carpet where it meets the hardwood so they would not get stain on it, and they said they would. I saw they had not asked again for them to do it and they said they would. They never did and sanded part of our carpet off with their sander. Another day when we came to look at the work, we saw several holes in a wall that had just been painted--they put holes in this wall and when I said something they just shrugged there shoulders. Again, no respect for our house and us. It was a horrible experience dealing with them and they did very little to make the situation right.

Desired Settlement: The contract we agreed to was for 3-5 days of work and the cost was $2055. They did not fulfill the contract and did not finish the job to our satisfication. I had to pay another company $953.60 to do the high traffic top coat and fix areas where A+ hardwood did a poor job. I made a down payment of $1027.50 before the work started. The remaining invoice is $1027.50, but the work was not completed and the contract conditions were not met. I will pay $400 more, but will not pay the $1027.50. The cost of the additional company, the cleaning, repair to the walls, etc. far exceeds this difference.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/19) */ This was a difficult job and problems did arise but we went above and beyond to ensure everything was taken care of. The contract specified that this would be a "3-5 day project aprox." Had everything gone perfectly, the job would have been done within that time frame. The back of our estimate states that we will complete the job within a timely manner but in the event of any delays, we are not responsible for any additional expenses. This is construction. There will always be issues outside of our control. However, ****** did not hold up her end of the contract and that caused delays. Her contract states that she was to "remove furniture, fixtures, etc." Our estimator spoke to her about this at the time of her estimate and she explained that she would be removing her claw foot tub, sink (with small metal legs on the floor) and toilet from her bathroom so that we could sand from wall to wall but she ended up not doing so. Our office spoke to her about this in detail. ****** said she decided not to remove the fixtures and so we explained to her the bathroom would not be perfect but we would do the best we could. ****** said she understood and that was fine. We ended up having to do an enormous amount of handwork in her bathroom to work around all of these fixtures but did not charge her extra for that time. One of her main complaints to our office was that the sanding around these fixtures was not perfect. Even though we had already explained to her that this would be the case, we spent an extra 2 days detailing the areas for her. We were accused of leaving the lock box open. We apologized for this but there were other contractors working on her house while we were there. ****** was quoted for 10 boards worth of repairs. After the work was started she added on several additional repairs which forced us to order more wood than was expected. It turned out the wood she needed was out of stock for 4 days which we explained to her. This was one of the reasons her job took extra time. Because of the delay of wood, we did not charge her for the additional repairs she added. ****** complained that her floor had too many cracks. She has a fir floor and that is just part of having fir. Her wood floors are 100 years old! We fill the floors from edge to edge on every single job then spot fill any cracks where our filler may have shrunk. She was not happy with this so we went across the entire floor and re-filled it again by hand. Again, we did not charge her extra for this. Also, fir is not considered a hard wood. It is a soft wood and therefore has problems all it's own long before we even start the job. We put 3 coats of finish on her floor as her contract stated. She is unhappy with her floor in general because her dog is damaging it but that is because it is a soft wood. If she chose to hire another company to add and additional coat, that was up to her. We fulfilled what our contract stated. We completely disagree with ****** stating that we put any holes in her walls. Our owner was on the job site several times throughout the project and this was never mentioned to him. Had it been mentioned, we would have taken care of it like we did all of her other concerns. Our contract states that we will hang plastic in basic doorways and if there are areas larger than a basic doorway the customer is responsible for covering those areas. ******'s basement opening is larger than a basic doorway so that would have been up to her to cover. In regard to her carpet, it was not tucked properly before we started the job therefore we could not tape it off (it was simply rolled under). We did knick her carpet in one area but we corrected the issue and even put in custom oak thresholds to hold the carpet down properly and did not charge extra for this. Our owner was on her job site any time she had an issue. He listened to her complaints and we did the best we could to correct them but making her happy was nearly impossible. She was a very difficult customer but we feel we did all we could to make her floors look as good as possible and in the end, they looked fantastic. As she has had incredible customer service from our company and numerous discounts, we feel the bill should be paid in full immediately.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on A Plus Hardwood Floors
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart