BBB Accredited Business since

Spark Fun Electronics Inc.

Phone: (303) 284-0979 Fax: (303) 443-0048 6333 Dry Creek Pkwy, Niwot, CO 80503 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sparkfun.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

SparkFun is a provider of parts, knowledge and passion for electronics creation.
SparkFun helps anyone explore electronics by providing parts, knowledge and passion.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Spark Fun Electronics Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Spark Fun Electronics Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Spark Fun Electronics Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 2007 Business started: 09/17/2004 Business started locally: 09/17/2004 Business incorporated 09/17/2004 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nathan Seidle, Founder/Owner Mr. Matt Bolton, Dir Physical Ops Mr. Richard Parker, Dir Finance Mr. Paul Robinson, Dir Support
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Paul Robinson, Dir Support
Principal: Mr. Nathan Seidle, Founder/Owner
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers Electronic Instruments

Refund and Exchange Policy
We are happy to assist you with returns depending on certain factors related to the device you are interested in returning. Please take a moment to determine what category your return fits into:

Item Damaged in Transit

Has your item been damaged during its journey to you? The item is clearly damaged upon receipt, and you need a replacement. This category applies to items that have not been used, or powered in any way. If this is the case with your items, please contact Customer Service about a replacement. Be sure to include your order number please.

Ordered a Wrong or Unneeded Item

Is your item simply not what you wanted or you ordered the wrong thing? This category only applies to items that are in their original state: they have not been soldered to or modified in any way, and have not been powered or reprogrammed. Head over to the Unmodified Returns page.

Modified or Defective Item

Is your item defective, malfunctioning, or modified in some way? Would like to send the item in for testing and repair/replacement? Or if your item doesn't qualify for either of the above categories. Please proceed to the Modified/Defective returns page.
Alternate Business Names
SparkFun Electronics
Products & Services

SparkFun was founded in 2003 by CEO Nathan Seidle, then a University of Colorado - Boulder engineering student. While working on a class project, Nathan realized how difficult it was for the individual to get the parts necessary to make an electronics prototype come to life. After a frustrating battle to get the pieces he needed, he maxed out his credit cards on inventory (and pizza) and SparkFun was born.

Since then, SparkFun has grown into something much bigger. Our goal is to enable the individual tinkerer/engineer/student/inventor to get the products they need and the information necessary to make their ideas a reality. Using electronics is no longer limited to just engineers. Today, artists, designers, crafters, students, and engineers alike are tinkering with electronic gadgetry and SparkFun is here to meet their ever-increasing needs.


Additional Locations

  • 6333 Dry Creek Pkwy

    Niwot, CO 80503 (303) 284-0979

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see ******** document
Click Here to Get the File
https://odrcomplaint****.org/bureaus/files/complaints10456846Mock Complaint.pdf

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) see Attached document

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ **** **** **** very sorry for any trouble you may have had with our products. I have located your order #XXXXXXX that contains the ****** ********** but cannot locate an order associated with the ******* Kit. ** such, I have submitted a refund of ****** for the ****** ********** but am not able to do so for the ******* Kit. *** may contact me directly at ********@********.com to clarify that order information so I can issue a refund appropriately. ****** very sorry for any trouble. **** ******** **** ******** ******** of ******** ******* ******** ***********

7/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company vaguely describes items in it's "Ding and Dent" section. Images suggest bulk qty when clients receive small box with one item in it. Client attempted to order a product from the "Dings and Dents" section of Sparkfun.com. Client paid for three (3) of this item and only received one. On top of that the box is in fact smaller than implied in initial product images. Support ticket is pending review yet will not resolve incorrect product images. Images should reflect the actual product that clients are purchasing. Images supplied for this product are in the links listed below. All links are directly from the product page. *********************************************************** *********************************************************** A link to an image of what this client received can and will be suplied upon request.

Desired Settlement: Client would like for the business to update image to reflect, even a rough image of what you will receive when purchasing this product. Even an image of the box size next to something larger for comparison. Site should also mention that the image for the product is not what you are actually going to get.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ The client did order 3 pieces of our DD-XXXXX, and per his report, did only receive 1 piece. He notified us of the problem 7/22 and a package containing the 2 missing pieces is being sent 7/23 with upgraded shipping. The description of the product DD-XXXXX is necessarily vague, as it may be a dysfunctional example of one of the many products that comprise our Sensor category. The photographs are designed to show a wide variety of parts to indicate that what is received may be one of many items. The product description specifically says: 'Units come in single pieces and there in no guarantee as to what you will be receiving, but we can guarantee that you will not receive a blank PCB!' A link to the product: ************************************** By 'no guarantee of what you will be receiving', we mean that there is no guarantee as to what chip or board will be in the box. They may be very small or very large, and our image is representative of that variety. We guarantee that an item will be in the box, and that that item will be from the correct catalog category, but nothing more. These images have been in use on our website since before 2008 and have never been reported to cause similar confusion for any previous customer. At this point, I feel our description and images are appropriate, and do not feel any adjustment is warranted. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) As a web designer and IT Tech by trade I have never seen anything advertised in this manner. This still seems to be a flawed method and judging by the comments, I am not the only person that would like "Updated Photos". When talking to support staff they state that "We ship in single pieces" When I see this reply saying that I should expect three pieces (As per employee responding to my support ticket), It is confusing and contradictory. I am not a part of this company so I am not sure why I am trying to help this site sell more of this particular product. I will let this go because I know people will see this all regardless and realize that it's just silly to assume that his vague item description and photos are perfectly clear. I will remove my account from sparkfun and stick to randoms on eBay . At least their image policies are more reliable than the ones provided on this site. Good luck to you and I hope this strange method brings you great prosperity. PS: Stating that these images have been in use since 08 only re enforces the need for updated images.