BBB Accredited Business since

Affordable Electrical Service

Phone: (720) 221-4662 Fax: (720) 221-4662 View Additional Phone Numbers 1881 Phillips Dr, Northglenn, CO 80233 http://www.affordableelectricalnow.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Affordable Electrical Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Affordable Electrical Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Affordable Electrical Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 26, 2010 Business started: 10/23/2007 Business started locally: 10/23/2007 Business incorporated 02/13/2009 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Electrical Board
1560 Broadway, Suite 550, Denver, CO 80203
http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300
electrical@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Trujillo, Owner Ms. Kristy Begono
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kristy Begono
Principal: Mr. Patrick Trujillo, Owner
Business Category

Electricians

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Affordable Electrical Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1881 Phillips Dr

    Northglenn, CO 80233 (720) 221-4662

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel I was severely overcharged for a service call. I was quoted a service call charge of $75-$150 for repair of an electrical outlet. The technician arrived and immediately wrote in invoice for $150. When I told him that his office manager said the bill would be anywhere between $75 and $150 based on whatever service needs to be done to the outlet, he replied, she's just a contractor answering our phones. She doesn't know anything. It is our policy to write the invoice at $150 and if nothing major is required in the service like complete rewiring or installation of outlets, we downgrade the service and rewrite the invoice for less. He then proceeded to take the plate out of the outlet in question. He pulled all of the wiring out very hard and I saw a wiring cap come off. He said, oh here is your problem, something is loose. He then screwed the wiring cap back on, replaced the cap, asked if he could to upstairs to see my plug in my bathroom to see if it had a reset plug. It did, and he opened the plate and looked inside the plug. He then said that my reset button in my bathroom reset the plugs downstairs and it was fixed. He then charged me $150 for what he called a level one service call. When I questioned the cost and that he didn't do anything other than take a plate off and screw a wiring cap back on that he dislodged when he pulled it out of the plug he stated that its a level one service call and that costs $150.00. When I argued with him that this is not what we discussed prior he said he doesn't make the rules. That I owe him $150.00 and that is it. After providing him with a check for $150.00 I called the office manager ******* and she stated that she would have the owner call me. The owner called me and stated that I was informed of the price being $150 and I stated no, ******* said it was $85-$150 and he stated, oh, she does just that to gauge if you are the type of person who can pay the cost of the $150 and that $150 is always the cost for any electrician to come to your home. I told him that this is untrue, I have employed other electricians who did not charge me $150 for a service call. I told him that made no sense whatsoever and that I expected him to provide me a discounted cost for the fact that his technician did absolutely nothing other than show up, fix a wiring cap that he pulled off. He stated to me that he used the gas to come to my house so that cost $150. This man was very unreasonable and very nasty and he just hung up on me in the end.

Desired Settlement: I offered to pay this man the $85 for the cost of the service because his technician basically didn't service anything in my house other than something he broke when he pulled out wiring. I thought that was reasonable for his time and gas. I do not think $150 is reasonable.

Business Response:

I received the call from Home Advisor with the customers information.  I then called the number provided and customer answered. We spoke on the Level 1 trouble shoot. She kept asking for a price and I explained to her that I am not the electrician and I dont give prices over the phone.  She was very persistent so I gave her a general verbal of $75 -$150.  I then again explained to her that I am not the electrician and dont know what the extent of the call is going to be.  She was ok with it and scheduled the appointment with me.  Tech was dis***ched at 8:45am and was on site for 1 hour.  He explained the Level 1 trouble shoot and price and what was involved no matter the time spent.  He did give her an up front price of $150 and she did sign the invoice.

Tech then went to van, pulled tools and started at the initial problem at the wet bar area.  He took apart the 2 gang box.  When he opened up the box the wire not fell off.  THis should never happen unless it wasnt installed properly.  Loose wire nuts can cause extreme electrical hazards.  The tech checked for burnt wires, re wired the wires and closed up the box.  He then checked voltage with voltage tester and verified.  At this point it did not resolve the problem.  The tech then proceeded upstairs to master bathroom.  Upon opening switch in bath room he found a loose neutral connection on the GFCI.  He tightened this connection.  The tech then but both devices back in wall, checked voltage and verified, and plug tested with plug tester.  He then reset the GFCI.  He explained to the customer how the GFCI system operates.  

He did a panel inspection for the customer for free which is valued at $150.00.  He also changed a light bulb for the customer in a can light. 

The customer never mentioned to the tech that she was un happy with service or pricing.  

He was on site for 1 hour .  The customer was fully aware of the cost before doing the job. She did call me and I did tell that I would have the boss call her.  

 

*** call customer and this is the result of the call.

Customer was rude and kept interrupting me (***) as I was trying to explain the value of the work that he did preform.  She kept asking "Are you gonna give me a refund or not"   I finally got frustrated with how she was talking to me and said no.  She then informed me that "she would deal with me" and she hung up on me.  

 

We did nothing wrong as a company.  I dont want this to go any further and I am going to issue a $75.00 refund to the customer.  I will put it in the mail today.  

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

 

In the two phone calls that I made to the owner of this company, this was the resolution that I repeatedly asked for.  I would have not complained to the BBB if he had agreed to refund 1/2 of what I paid to him.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11032861, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Affordable Electrical Service
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart