This business is not BBB accredited.

TutorFi

Phone: (866) 548-3888 876 Silverberry Ln, Golden, CO 80401 http://www.tutorfi.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for TutorFi include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TutorFi
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 09/15/2003 Business started locally: 09/15/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Palat, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Palat, CEO
Business Category

Educational Consultants Tutoring


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    876 Silverberry Ln

    Golden, CO 80401 (866) 548-3888

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company sells business opportunity, then fails to provide the services they claim to provide, then fraudulently avoids paying refunds. While researching jobs and business opportunities, I found this ad for TutorFi. I briefly researched them, then decided on 9/4/2015 to buy my way, at a cost of $199.00, onto their "First Dibs Waiting list." I was quite surprised when ***** ***** himself contacted me with a welcome letter, only two days later. As planned out by the TutorFi website, I immediately began the "Fill Your Practice Training," which was meant to be monitored by my "coach," ******** ********* who, at first, performed as expected. I did, however, soon have problems accessing the website, and communications began to slow down tremendously. I sent email to the TutorFi support about problems logging in and accessing the website. Rather than getting a response from a support technician,, ******** replied instead. The claim has been made several times that their servers were being "brute force attacked," and they were installing new servers which would provide better service. After several communications with ********, ***** emailed me (on 9/18) with claims that the new firewall would be set up by the "next Tuesday" wnd things would be better, and iced the cake with a free month of service (normally billed at $97.00). As a requirement of operating this business, I had set up and paid ($21.34) for my Internet domain. As I continually attempted to use this rapidly failing website and lousy service, I began to grow impatient and suspect a scam. Repeated excuses and continual slowdowns in lesson approvals and lack of supposed services led me to believe that this business is nothing more than a fraud. For example, since each training lesson must be approved by my "coach," I am currently at a stand still since my 4th lesson has been awaiting approval since 9/16. Also new tutors with TutorFi are required to write teaching informational articles which are posted as a part of the tutor's webpage once they are approved. I have posted two such articles since 9/14 but the person, only identified as ****** has never attempted to contact me about edits or approve my articles. Another helpful person, the microphone settings tech. whose responsibility it is to assist tutors in insuring their audio equipment is working properly with the TutorFi online classroom, has never made any kind of appearance, nor has their "Practice Buddy," who is responsible for training newcomers with the uses of ****** ***** and its features. This is to orient the tutor in how to use these features with their teaching business. Over all, TutorFi is a failure as a business, because it provides little or no services. It excels as a scam and a fraud in that it takes your money, gives you lots of promises, and provides nothing in return.

Desired Settlement: A refund in full is required ($199) for the TutorFi account I paid for, plus the $21.34 I was required to pay for the Domain for use of said account. An apology for being misled, defrauded, and scammed would be nice, but unlikely, (at lease an honest one anyway).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/15) */ ******* was refunded in full including the extra $21.34 he requested. Below is an email to ******* that explains the entire situation and it even shows the emails that I sent to *******. Hi *******, When you asked for a refund, I thought you meant the $97 that was accidentally charged. I didn't realize you were asking for a full refund. If I would have realized that, I would have already refunded that to you. I did refund the $97 immediately after you were billed. I am so sorry about the confusion! With all the server issues, my mind was somewhere else. Please accept my apology. I did just ****** you the rest of your refund and did refund the entire $199 start up cost. Also, I really did reply to all of your emails and I pasted them below so you can see them. Maybe you didn't get them for some reason. I hope we can put this to rest and you understand that was a simple miscommunication. As of now, you are 100% refunded and again I am very sorry. I hope our misunderstanding doesn't haunt me forever. If you could at least let BBB and the other sites know that I did indeed refund you and apologized to you, that would be greatly appreciated. Sincerely, ***** ***** 9/18 reply Hi *******, I am so sorry for the hassles you have been encountering and I can assure you that this is a temporary issue. We are in the middle of migrating to a new server and the old one is being brute force attacked. When this happens, people get booted from our system. That's why you are getting the boot. I hope to have a new firewall in place by next Tuesday, but because of the hassle, I'll push your billing date ahead a full month. Thanks for your patience! ***** 9/20 reply Hi *******, Did you get my email from Friday? Please confirm. I think I explained it all in that email. I am also giving you a free month for the hassles. Yes, I do know the forum is not very active. Please contact ******** with all practice buddy session questions. We did just hire a new buddy **** and he'll help you. We might need to update that contact info. To your success, ***** ***** October 10th reply Hi *******, This was an accident and I'll refund you. Yes, I did promise a free month and it was not set up properly on our end. Sorry! I will now give you 2 free months for this fiasco. I pushed back your billing date to 12/9 and you'll see the refund on your card by Monday or Tuesday depending on the ******** *** holiday. By the way, did you ever get my email reply? I did email you two times and never heard back. As for our new server, we are in testing mode now, but you can still use the current program. Just note that it will boot you out the first time you login and then it will stick. That's the only issue we have. Once we are live on the new server, I will let you know. Thanks, *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on TutorFi
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)