This business is not BBB accredited.

Summerbrook Dental Group

Phone: (303) 693-1215 14991 E Hampden Ave Ste 370, Aurora, CO 80014 http://www.summerbrookdental.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Summerbrook Dental Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Summerbrook Dental Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 2009 Business started: 02/26/2007 Business started locally: 02/26/2007 Business incorporated 01/01/2009 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Dental Examiners
1560 Broadway, Suite 1310, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/dental/
Phone Number: (303) 894-7758
dental@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dr. James Craig, Owner Nancy Dewitt, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. James Craig, Owner
Business Category

Dentists


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14991 E Hampden Ave Ste 370

    Aurora, CO 80014 (303) 693-1215

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 08/06/2015 my husband had an endosteal implant procedure. My husband payed for it upfront. Several weeks later we received a bill from our dentist stating that we still owe $99.00 because our insurance company did not cover the procedure. When i called my insurance company they stated that the reason why they did not cover is that they did not receive all the necessary xrays from the dentist. I called my dental office and explained them the situation. I was informed that they will go ahead and send them the xrays again and most probably once the insurance company pays the claim, we will actually have a family credit instead of a remaining balance. On February 17th to my surprise i got another call from the dental office again asking for the payment of the remaining balance pf $99.00. When i asked why, i was informed that the insurance company did not pay once again. When i called my insurance company again they stated that they received the xrays but they were the wrong xrays again. It has been 6 months and the dental office has not been able to send them the correct xrays. I asked the insurance company which xrays they need and they said that they keep requesting the full arch xrays, instead they keep receiving the individual xrays. Once again, i called the dental office again and spoke with ***** - her answer was - ok, i will send them xrays again. I explained to her that if she keeps sending the same xrays nothing will be resolved and maybe she should call them before she sends them the wrong xrays again. She said she will call them but most probably it will take her a week because they are very busy. I can not believe that it took them 6 months to send my insurance company two sets of wrong xrays and instead of apologizing, she informed me that it is going to take her a week to make a simple phone call. My insurance company informed me that once they receive the correct xrays and pay the claim, i will have a credit of around$1100.00. I would like to receive the money i am owed as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: My insurance company informed me that once they receive the correct xrays and pay the claim, i will have a credit of around$1100.00. I would like to receive the money i am owed as soon as possible.

Business Response: Thank you so much for making me aware of this situation.  As the owner of this practice, I have taken it upon myself to be personally involved with your case.  You're correct in that the x-ray was not submitted appropriately in the beginning, and those responsible for that are no longer with our practice.  I have received word per your insurance company that they received the correct x-ray yesterday and they are now processing your claim.  Of course, insurance companies are notorious for not telling the truth - they could very well come back and say that they don't have the information they need, or they could deny the claim altogether and you may not end up with a credit on your account at all - it's a sad truth that insurance companies often don't tell the truth.  But we're working as hard as we can from our end to make sure that if there are any unfortunate events in the future, it's not because of anything outstanding from our practice.  Please keep in touch with us so that we can keep you updated on the details.  Often it takes insurance companies 60 days to process claims, so we may not see anything for a while.  In the meantime, please disregard any statements you receive from my office for the next 60 days.  Thank you!  *** *** *****

4/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summerbrook lied to me stating the services I needed were covered by my Insurance and then refused to communicate with me after I received my bill. Summerbrook claimed my insurance would cover the services I needed. They claimed I needed an x-ray I did not need and I denied it, but they did it anyways and lied about the x-ray I received. They also fixed more of the tooth that I gave permission to fix. They also claimed that the insurance company agreed to pay 80 percent but after I received the services and paid my portion claimed the insurance company refused to pay them what they agreed to pay and that I was responsible for the remaining portion, however they insisted it was covered before I agreed. They also gave me unauthorized services, they fixed the entire tooth when I told them I did not want them to and gave me an e-ray I did not want. They refused to give me an itemized bill and it took me 4 months to get anyone to return my call, when they did return my call they agreed to resubmit my bill, I did not hear back from them until I got a letter from collections. The collections letter asked that I pay my bill in full by March 28th yet I just received it the 5th of April. I paid them close to $200.00 after they fixed my tooth and cleaned my teeth, I would not have agreed to get that work done if they told me I would owe $357.80 after I pain $200.00.I was told that the employee who gave me the quotes after speaking to my ins company was fired for other situations such as mine by the employee who agreed to resubmit my claim and then never got back to me. They are charging me for services I did not agree to and also charging me for services they refused to tell me I received. Plus they wouldn't communicate with me after I repeatedly called and requested info on services she claimed I received but did not!

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take off the charges I did not agree to getting, the x-ray and fixing the entire tooth. They only fixed the top part, not the bottom which they claim I agreed to. I did not sign for it nor the x-ray. I would like an itemized bill, and proof they resubmitted my claim. My last request is to have them work with me and communicate with me and remove me from collections. I can not deal with a matter I was not aware of nor had time to take care of when the letter was sent a month late.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/10) */ Hi *******, I'm so sorry that you've felt a bit of a runaround with my office. Getting feedback like this is valuable to me because it can help me learn where we need more training, and it helps me see things from the patients' perspectives. I have done a LOT of research on your case the last day or two, and I wanted to let you know what I've found out. First, I looked in your chart and I do see that we have informed consent for each procedure done when you were here. You may not remember the x-rays, but it would have been impossible for me or anyone else to take an x-ray without your knowledge, and we do have in the chart that we talked about this prior to taking the x-rays (as we do with each patient). I guess on that same note about consent, we also have an informed consent in your chart from when we fixed your tooth with a filling. The consent says specifically, "Patient was given verbal and written alternatives to treatment, information about Amalgam as well as composite filling materials. Expected risks and benefits were covered. Patient had a chance to ask any questions which were answered to the patient's satisfaction...Informed consent was given to proceed with treatment today." So we did have quite a lengthy conversation about consent and your options. Just so you know, informed consent does not have to be signed (even though it traditionally is), it just has to be discussed. I'm a little confused by your comment about fixing your tooth - you said, "I would like them to take off the charges I did not agree to...fixing the entire tooth." Then you later said that "they only fixed the top part, not the bottom which they claim I agreed to." I'm not sure exactly what you mean by these statements - did you mean that you did not agree to fixing the entire tooth or were you upset that the entire tooth was fixed and not just the top part? Either way, the treatment done on this tooth was fillings to remove the decay in this tooth, and the entire tooth was fixed at that time. It would have been unusual if not impossible to fix only a part of the tooth, since doing a filling means removing all of the decay and it would have been highly unusual to remove part of the decay. Does that make sense? If I'm missing something, please call me directly because your statement was a bit confusing to me. To my knowledge, we did resubmit to your insurance, but they did not pay any additional amount toward your bill. Your insurance company does not offer good coverage at all, and even after we called them and asked what they would cover, they did not hold up their end of the bargain. In short, they told us what we could estimate for the procedure and then they pulled a bait and switch and didn't pay what they said they were going to pay. I'm really sorry this happened to you, the insurance that you have is just not very good. You mentioned that you were not made aware of or had sufficient time to take care of your bill. I have a record that we sent a bills to you in 2013 on the following dates: September 10, October 24, November 19, and December 12. On December 18 we spoke to you in person to arrange payment. So, there actually has been more than adequate opportunity for you to contact us to arrange payment. *******, this is all very unfortunate. It's unfortunate that my office did not seem to communicate clearly to you in your opinion, and it is unfortunate that you do not remember all of the discussions that we have a record of in your chart. However, because I want all of my patients to feel valued and because I want experiences at my office to be as pleasant as possible, I will gladly write off your balance and get you taken out of collections. You cannot return here as a patient, but you also will not owe us any additional money. We have already written off $187, but we will write off an additional amount in an effort to make you happy. I do hope that you find dental care elsewhere that can meet your standards. If you recall, you had 12 teeth last year that required treatment, some of which were savable but you wanted to pull instead of fix due to cost. It is very obvious to me that cost is a big concern for you and I hope that by writing off your balance at my office you will have extra funds that you can put toward another dentist fixing the teeth that you need fixed. It is very important, and to me at this point, it is far more important that you have these many serious dental problems addressed than that we fight over $350. I do hope you'll be able to find help somewhere and have these problems addressed. Unsolved dental issues can turn into life threatening problems if not fixed. Please, please find someone who can help you soon. Consider your balance with me to be at $0. I do wish you all the best in the future. Sincerely, Dr. ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went into Summerbrook Dental for Wisdom teeth extraction. During procedure, dentist chipped my front tooth. Refusing to rectify problem. Went into Summerbrook Dental for Wisdom teeth extraction. During procedure, dentist chipped my front tooth. Refusing to rectify problem. Hello ****, Unfortunately, I find myself in a position where I have no alternative but to write to you to explain in detail the disappointments I have encountered with Summerbrook Dental following my Wisdom teeth extraction in July 2013. It has been almost 2 1/2 months since I've last heard from you. I did allow some time for a professional response from you or Dr. Craig, but nothing as of yet. I am very disappointed with the customer service I have received fom this practice. Jennifer in billing took over a week to return my calls, the front desk still did not properly add my COB dental benefits, therefore, I'm receiving a bill for a copay, not to mention, my Secondary insurance was never billed for the wisdom teeth extraction. I would hope you will view this to provide me if necessary with a refund and/or bill my secondary insurance in a timely manner. I initially came to the practice from a purchase I made with Living Social at a discount. An assessment/x-rays of all of my teeth were explained to me, despite, the chip I now have on my front tooth. I am very aware of my dental needs, therefore, when you stated Dr. Craig says, 'there was no way that could have happened during the extraction' was quite the disappointment, considering, I'm very familiar with my own mouth.....as well as my teeth. I also have the molds that were made in the practice for the at home teeth bleaching, which also proves I did not have this chip in the front of my tooth. I've referred many people/co-workers because I thought highly of this practice/Dr. Craig. Sadly with the disappointment, I recently signed a Medical Release to leave this practice to repair the damages from Dr. Craig, which means more money out of my pocket. Cordially, Yolanda Loving

Desired Settlement: I don't trust anything with this practice, but I would like to have services/repair from a different practice & the previous provider pays for the services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/11/04) */ Hi *******, Thanks for reaching out to me. I am so sorry to hear about your frustration and will be happy to do anything in my power to fix this problem. I wish that we had chosen different words when communicating with you about your chipped tooth. It sounds like a member of my front desk staff may have been rude to you, and I take full responsibility for that. I am so sorry that this happened. When you came to me for wisdom tooth extraction, I found that your wisdom teeth were completely erupted (meaning not impacted), and that in extracting your teeth we did not have to incise any gum tissue or remove any bone to uncover your teeth, and the teeth came out quite nicely. The entire procedure went very smoothly, and you did not require any sedation or general anesthesia. I was surprised to hear from you after quite some time that your front tooth was chipped and that you felt it was as a result of your wisdom tooth surgery. Since we did not intubate you for sedation or general anesthesia, and since the teeth are so far back in your mouth, I confess that I do feel it would be quite unlikely for your teeth to have been chipped during the wisdom tooth procedure. Perhaps more concerning than this news however is the idea that it took so long for you to contact my office with this complaint. One would think that if this was a legitimate complaint that we would have heard from you that same day or the next day or even some time within 1 week to discuss this concern and allow me the opportunity to examine you again to see where the chip is, whether there is any decay under the chipped area that could have possibly contributed to your tooth breaking, or some other factor. As it stands today, I have asked you to come in for an evaluation of this chip so that I can determine a possible cause of this problem, and see if there is anything I can do to fix it for you. I feel that if this was really caused by your wisdom tooth extraction surgery (which I still feel is unlikely), that you would have contacted me much sooner. To have waited for so long to contact me does not seem like your tooth chipped at the time of surgery. Forgive me for suggesting so, but it does seem like if this really happened at the time of surgery and if you really felt that it was a big problem, why not tell me right away? If your tooth is chipped as a result of the surgery, and if you really feel like this was done by me during this procedure, I would be more than happy to fix the chip at no additional cost to you. I do not want you to feel like you have to pay to have this fixed somewhere if you really feel that I chipped your tooth. Despite my suspicions to the contrary, I would have been more than happy to fix this for you. Despite our disagreement on this matter, I hold no ill will toward you and really do want you to have the best treatment you can have. If you would like me to fix this chip I would be happy to do so at no additional charge to you, and again, please accept my sincerest apologies if anyone in my office was rude to you. I take full responsibility for the way patients are treated here, and I want you to know that we have truly valued our relationship together. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you Dr. Craig for responding to me. I do understand despite your suspicions to my complaint, I called immediately when I noticed the chip in my front tooth. Sadly, the staff are not timely with any returned phone calls. I found this very unprofessional considering I called repeatedly. I started to feel as if my complaint was not warranted and was ignored. Unfortunately, I felt it was time to escalate my complaint.

9/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Only AFTER my cleaning was I informed that they no longer accepted my insurance and they demanded full payment from me (my insurance covers this 100%) I have used this dentist group before for my cleanings, but the last time I was informed AFTER they did the cleaning that they no longer accept my insurance and was told that I will have to pay $68.80 for my cleaning which my insurance would have covered 100%. After many emails and a in-person conversation about this I was told that they had new people working the front desk and they were sorry.... The bills keep coming and now they are threating with a collector. I contacted them a few days ago and now their story changed to I had used up all of my doctor visits for that year (I contacted my insurance and this is NOT true, I have never even come close to use all my visits and that a cleaning would not count as a doctor visit)

Desired Settlement: I would like them to drop the charges of this cleaning for it was their fault that I was charged in the first place. And I was told this would be taking care of over a year ago by them, which it has not as I am receiving bills now from a collection agency.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/11) */ Hi ******, Thank you for bringing this to my attention. This is Dr. *****, and this is the first time I'm hearing about this issue. Let me start off by saying that our philosophy here is to make ll of our patients happy, and to that end, I'm going to write off your balance. Free and clear. I'm so sorry that this has happened to you, but it's not worth it to me to have people angry or upset because of issues like this, and I would rather write it off and move on, especially if you feel that's the right thing for me to do. I think it might be instructive to let you know what my research into your case has discovered this week so that you can avoid these types of problems in the future, whether it be at Summerbrook or at another Dental office. I've put a few hours into your case to try to determine why this may have happened and to avoid these types of problems in the future. This may be instructive, hopefully you find it valuable. I tried to call you today to discuss in person, but the phone numbers I have for you are disconnected or no longer in service. You have been to our office on just 2 occasions: in October of 2009 and again in February of 2012. Your first visit in 2009 you came in because a tooth was hurting. Although it was a very savable tooth, you requested that we extract it, and we helped do so. we also did a cleaning. You paid $10 at that appointment, and your insurance paid $91. You were with MetLife, and at that time (your very first appointment with us), we were NOT in-network with MetLife. We didn't see you again until February 2012 when you had another cleaning. You expressed frustration to me about another dental office that you had been to (Comfort Dental) because you had been going to Comfort Dental and were irritated that they took an x-ray of your lower front tooth and had to pay for it. At your appointment with us we did a cleaning again. Your insurance paid $96.00 and you did not pay anything at that appointment. You were with MetLife still, and we were still NOT in-network with MetLife. So, at both of your appointments with us, we were never in-network with MetLife. However, MetLife has not been giving you the same story that they've been giving us. MetLife sent us an official document called an "EOB" that said why they did not pay for your whole cleaning appointment, and they said it was because of "Frequency." This means that the insurance company is saying that you had too many dental visits within a certain time period. They DID pay for your cleaning, just NOT your exam. They're saying that you had too many exams around that time period. I'm not sure why they're telling you something different than they're telling us, but that's what their official document says. I'd be happy to send you a copy if you'd like. As I've been thinking about your case though, I wonder though if the exams that your insurance company says you had were with with Comfort Dental, since you mentioned to us that you had been in there numerous times to have your lower front tooth looked at, and that they were charging you for x-rays of this tooth? Could it be possible that Comfort Dental was also charging your insurance company for the exams that they were doing each time you came in? If so, then this would be why your insurance company did not pay for your visit. The "frequency" of exams that Comfort Dental was charging for would have been too much. That's just my though though, I can't say for sure whether this was the case. It's really important for you to know that although we were NOT with MetLife during either of your appointments with us, we ARE NOW in-network with MetLife, and so we would probably be able to avoid these problems in the future. I'm so sorry that this happened to you though, and I feel badly for the situation you're in. I wish that you would have brought this to my attention earlier so that I could have resolved this issue before you became so upset...in the last 18 months we have sent 17 billing statements and you have never reached out to us to discuss the charges. I verified this by checking our mailing records and also our phone records. Because we never heard from you, we had to assume you were not responsive and so, as per our policy, we asked a collection agency to help us collect this debt. The first time we have heard from you since February 2012 is just this past week. We responded within 2 business days to explain the charges and then the next day you emailed us to let us know that you felt the information you were being given was "BS." I agree that this must have been a very frustrating time for you, and now that we have heard from you again I am happy to be able to resolve this for you. In the end, it is far better for us to simply forgive the $68.00 than to make you upset further. I do hope that you're doing well and that you have been able to seek treatment for the teeth in your mouth that needed restorative work. If you should ever want to come back, I would be happy to see you again. If you have ANY further questions or problems, you can call our main number at 303-693-1215, you can reach me on my personal cell phone at 720-277-5446, or you can email me directly at drcraig@summerbrookdental.com. Thank you so much for making me aware of this, ******. I hope that we have done right by you at this point. Please do keep the lines of communication open, Dr. ***** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/09/11) */ I received an email from Dr. ***** today stated that he will dismiss the charges. So I guess as of this time this case is done/solved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Summerbrook Dental Group
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)