BBB Accredited Business since

Perfect Teeth - Management Office

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 285-6002 Fax: (303) 691-0089 View Additional Phone Numbers 1777 S Harrison St Ste 1400, Denver, CO 80210 http://www.perfectteeth.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Perfect Teeth - Management Office meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Consumers may contact Perfect Teeth's designated customer relations contact, Mr. Ray Walker, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, at (303) 285-6002.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Perfect Teeth - Management Office include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 12
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 28

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Perfect Teeth - Management Office
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 19, 1997 Business started: 05/17/1995 Business started locally: 05/17/1995 Business incorporated 05/17/1995 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Dental Examiners
1560 Broadway, Suite 1310, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/dental/
Phone Number: (303) 894-7758
dental@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ray Walker, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs Mr. Carl Budke, VP of Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ray Walker, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Dental Surgery Dentist - Periodontist Dentist - Dental Implants Dentist - Orthodontist Dentistry - Cosmetic

Alternate Business Names
Perfect Teeth
Products & Services

PERFECT TEETH, a network of dental offices affiliated with Birner Dental Management Services, Inc., offers high quality, comprehensive dental care across Colorado, New Mexico and Arizona. The PERFECT TEETH network includes more than 46 offices across the Colorado Front Range making it the largest provider of dental services throughout Colorado.


Additional Locations

  • 11005 S Parker Rd

    Parker, CO 80134 (303) 805-3588

  • 11175 E Mississippi Ave Ste 110

    Aurora, CO 80012 (303) 343-9313

  • 12650 W 64th Ave Unit J

    Arvada, CO 80004 (303) 423-9000

  • 13035 W Alameda Pkwy

    Lakewood, CO 80228 (303) 987-0544

  • 1631 Pace St Unit B

    Longmont, CO 80501 (303) 684-6524

  • 1633 Fillmore St Ste 200

    Denver, CO 80206 (303) 377-4747

  • 1699 S Colorado Blvd Unit A Ste J

    Denver, CO 80222 (303) 639-6000

  • 17200 E Iliff Ave Ste A7

    Aurora, CO 80013

  • 17211 S Golden Rd Ste 100

    Golden, CO 80401 (303) 279-7444

  • 1777 S Harrison St Ste 1400

    Denver, CO 80210 (303) 285-6075 (303) 285-6002

  • 1840 Folsom St Ste 201

    Boulder, CO 80302 (303) 443-5133

  • 18607 Green Valley Ranch Blvd Unit 104

    Denver, CO 80249 (303) 576-6884

  • 20269 E Smoky Hill Rd Unit H

    Centennial, CO 80015 (303) 617-5730

  • 2200 E 104th Ave Ste 112

    Thornton, CO 80233 (303) 452-4142

  • 2223 S Monaco Pkwy Unit F

    Denver, CO 80222 (303) 639-3279

  • 3190 W 34th Ave

    Denver, CO 80211 (303) 458-3838

  • 390 S Wilcox St Ste D

    Castle Rock, CO 80104 (303) 660-6000

  • 4321 S Buckley Rd

    Aurora, CO 80015 (303) 690-1812

  • 4521 E Virginia Ave.

    Denver, CO 80246 (303) 388-5501

  • 5151 S Federal Blvd Ste G2

    Littleton, CO 80123 (303) 795-1107

  • 5169 W 64th Ave

    Arvada, CO 80003 (303) 426-4050

  • 530 E Bromley Ln Unit 100

    Brighton, CO 80601 (303) 637-9047

  • 641 Ken Pratt Blvd

    Longmont, CO 80501 (303) 651-2700

  • 661 S Broadway St

    Boulder, CO 80305 (303) 499-9700

  • 6650 W 120th Ave Ste A6

    Broomfield, CO 80020 (303) 469-1970

  • 700 E Speer Blvd.

    Denver, CO 80203 (303) 733-1010

  • 7150 Leetsdale Dr Unit 110A

    Denver, CO 80224 (303) 321-1700

  • 7515 W Yale Ave # A

    Denver, CO 80227 (303) 988-3319

  • 7600 E Arapahoe Rd Ste 311

    Centennial, CO 80112 (303) 773-2273

  • 7660 S Pierce St.

    Littleton, CO 80128 (303) 972-7227

  • 8064 W Jewell Ave Unit 100

    Lakewood, CO 80232 (303) 985-3624

  • 8211 S Holly St

    Centennial, CO 80122 (303) 290-6006

  • 8749 Wadsworth Blvd

    Westminster, CO 80003 (303) 424-5463

  • 9227 E Lincoln Ave Ste 100

    Lone Tree, CO 80124 (303) 925-0603

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****- I made appointment for a teeth cleaning. While there, the dentist, ******** ************ DDS did a exam on me. I said I would only be interested in having work done that would be covered by my insurance. I was presented with 2 print outs showing extra cleaning and dental work. Both showed what my insurance would cover and my co-pay amount. I agreed to have the dental work done and paid what I was told my part was. I was notified that my insurance would NOT cover any of the work done and I was responsible for the outstanding balance. They had stamped the bottom of the printouts with a disclaimer. I got the dentist's name from my insurance company so I feel they should have known what my insurance company would and wouldn't cover so they did it on purpose. **** ARTIST! Product_Or_Service: Cleaning and dental work

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Billing Adjustment If they say it is not a **** then I believe it is their fault I have an outstanding balance and they should take the loss and adjust my account to show owning zero.

Business Response: Ms. ***** I apologize for the confusion. We quote the patient the best we can with information provided to us. There are many insurance plans where the same plan will have a little change to it and can be sometimes very difficult to verify for us. your plan with in a plan has a waiting period which we did not identify with the information provided to us. It is always helpful when the patient knows the plan limitations because we can get many different answers when verifying due to the many different changes in the same plans. Please feel free to call me. Donna Brandenburger ###-###-####

Business Response: We contacted Ms. ***** today January 26,2016 and requested that we split the balance on her account with her. Ms. ***** agreed to this solution and will pay her portion . We would like to apologize for the misunderstanding we had with her insurance policy. Thank you Ms. ***** for being a patient of ours, we appreciate you very much.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11031901, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *****

1/29/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Perfect Teeth Perfect Teeth has reported inaccurate information to credit bureaus that is affecting my chances of getting a new credits/loans. I have Perfect Teeth Perfect Teeth has reported inaccurate information to credit bureaus that is affecting my chances of getting a new credits/loans. I have no account with Perfect Teeth, I have never been in Perfect Teeth for any services, , I did not even know their address until I got my credit report and no body is authorized to use my disability insurance card. I do not owe and I have not received any letters, validations, information from Perfect Teeth. I have called on three occasions, they have not given me any response.

Desired Settlement: To resolve this complaint, I am seeking the following: Complete deletion of this inaccurate information that is not mine from my credit bureau files

Business Response:

Due to HIPAA regulations, we are unable to post a full response online, however, we have drafted a full response and mailed it to the patient directly at the address provided.

11/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They over billed me 186.00. They refunded me 86.00. But refuse to pay me back the 100.00 owed to me, even though I have proof that they overcharged me Billed 420.00 paid in full. January 2015.found out thru insurance company, they also show that I was over charged. Complained to office, got the runaround. Finally they reimburst me for 86. But Not the rest. I still have paper work to show this!they are still refusing to give me a manager to talk to.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money owed to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/11/03) */ Ms. *****, First, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has been for you. After reviewing your account and the explanation of benefits, we have found that we owe you an additional refund from your December 2014 date of service. The refund should be processed by the end of the week. To avoid this mistake again, we definitely will pay more attention to detail and stay in contact with our patients every step of the way. Again, we apologize and thank you for bringing the issue to our attention. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact the Operations Manager, ********, at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

11/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Due to negligence on the part of Perfect Teeth and subsequent delayed response, the results of my previous orthodonti treatment have been compromised. A decade ago, I received several thousand dollars of orthodontic treatment and have taken very good care of my teeth to ensure they are maintained. Due to negligence on the part of Perfect Teeth and subsequent delayed response, the results of that treatment have been compromised. On August 14th, 2014, I received a routine 6-month cleaning at Perfect Teeth ***** by *****. At the time, I commented that much of the glue on my bonded retainer on my upper teeth had been removed, but she said she had only removed plaque. On September 27th, 2014, I noticed a dramatic shifting of one of my teeth from its original position. I notified Perfect Teeth ***** within days and was told by *** ******* **** that they would set me up with an affiliated orthodontist asap to fix the problem at no cost to me. I did not hear from Perfect Teeth ***** and had to follow up five times until I ended up scheduling an appointment with *** ***** ********* myself at Perfect Teeth ******** When I expressed my frustration at having to follow up so many times, *** **** apologized and indicated that her Office Manager was leaving and had "dropped the ball on this one." On October 22nd, I took time off of work for my consultation at Perfect Teeth ******* with *** ********* where he said that my front teeth had all shifted and were no longer straight. He indicated that in order to return them to their original position, I would need 3-4 months of braces. The assistant said that she would need about a week to do research on the payment waiver coordinated through the regional office. On December 4th, after following up with Perfect Teeth ******* four times, I was told by Office Manager ******* that corporate had said they would cover the cost of a new bonded retainer on the top teeth but would not pay to correct the front teeth because I had waited so long to inform anyone. Perfect Teeth ***** had not relayed the promised fee waiver or the circumstances of my appointment to Perfect Teeth ******** After clarifying the promised services and timeline to ******* she called back and said that corporate would cover the cost of limited braces on the front six teeth. On January 14th, 2015, I received the limited braces at the Perfect Teeth ****** location (where *** ********* had moved). Since I work in a professional environment, having adult braces adversely affected my ability to be taken seriously at my job. Further, I had to take off work in order to attend multiple orthodontic appointments over the course of four months. On May 6th, *** ********* removed my braces, applied a bonded retainer to my top six teeth (rather than the top four I had bonded previously), and buffed off the glue on the front surfaces of my front teeth. I expressed concern that I was biting on the bonded retainer and that the front teeth were discolored (bright white in spots), but *** ********* indicated that the teeth were only dehydrated and would shortly return to a uniform color and I would get used to the bonded retainer. On May 19th, I went in for my retainer check appointment. I again expressed dissatisfaction my bite, the white spots on my teeth, and with the position of tooth 7, which remained crooked. *** ********* attempted to fix my bite, however, I am still unable to close my mouth fully and now have chronic mouth pain as my teeth are constantly shifting. *** ********* indicated that the white spots were from braces but he did not know why since I had only had braces for a short period of time with good hygiene. He advised me to whiten my teeth on my own and if that didn't work, he advised that more invasive measures with could be taken. Lastly, he agreed that tooth 7 remained crooked. He gave me three options, none of which were satisfactory, including having an additional round of braces which would likely leave a space between other teeth, shaving down the tooth so it has the appearance that it is straight, or accepting the tooth as now being crooked.

Desired Settlement: This is completely unacceptable. I submitted this complain to the company via their online portal on 6/3/2015 and failed to respond at all. I have now invested countless hours having to following up while being ignored, attending appointments, and living with pain and discomfort, all due to events that were no fault of my own. I received inexpert care which has permanently altered both the aesthetics and functionality of my teeth. My bite is now uncomfortable and both the alignment and color of my teeth have been changed for the worse. I would prefer not to make this a legal issue, but am currently left with few choices. I am hoping that Perfect Teeth will right a series of wrongs. Perfect Teeth should cover the cost for me to go to a non-Perfect Teeth orthodontist of my choosing and also for professional whitening.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/04) */ This letter in response to case #XXXXXXXX. In order to protect our patient's health information as outlined by HIPAA, we have responded directly to the patient via **** addressing her concerns and offering her a second opinion. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (4200, 15, 2015/09/30) */ I never received any mail communication from Perfect Teeth. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/10/30) */ This correspondence is in response to the BBB complaint filed July 23, 2015. I would first like to apologize for any and all miscommunications between our dental offices and yourself. On July 31, 2014 you were seen at Perfect Teeth on Speer Blvd to have a crown from a previous visit seated and have a comprehensive oral evaluation and full mouth series of radiographs. At that time it was noted that you had not had radiographs or a cleaning in over a year. It was documented by the hygienist that there was moderate plaque buildup and moderate bleeding on probing, especially in the molar areas. Oral irrigation with .12% chlorohexidine, Arestin on tooth #18, as well as fluoride varnish was recommended in conjunction with your cleaning and oral hygiene instructions explaining gingivitis, periodontal disease, decay process and etiology were also given at that time. During your evaluation with ********, 2 surface resin restorations were recommended on teeth # 13, 14, 12, 3, and 4, as well as crowns being recommended for teeth #18 and #19. You returned to the office on August 14, 2014 to have your cleaning, oral irrigation, Arestin, and fluoride varnish completed with the hygienist. On October 6, 2014 you returned to the office to start your restorative treatment with ********, and at that time informed her that your bonded retainer felt loose and that tooth #7 had moved since your cleaning being completed in August. ******** notated that she would contact the manager on your behalf to help resolve the situation. On December 10, 2014, you were seen by Dr. ***** ********* at the Buckley Perfect Teeth and expressed your concerns with a space that had opened up between teeth # 7 and #8, with tooth #7 being flared forward. At that time the option of limited upper orthodontic treatment for 3-4 months with the use of traditional metal braces was recommended to improve the position of tooth #8 and close the space between teeth #7 and #8, with a new bonded retainer being placed upon completion of treatment to help prevent the space from re-opening. Hilary at the Buckley location talked to corporate on your behalf and the recommended treatment was to be performed at no cost to you. You agreed to the proposed treatment plan and scheduled to begin treatment on January 14, 2015 at *************'s new office Perfect Teeth on Monaco. On January 14, 2015, after treatment consents were signed, you had limited brackets placed on your upper teeth. On May 6, 2015, you were seen to have your braces removed and a new bonded retainer placed. It is notated in your chart that at that time ************* asked you if you were satisfied with the esthetics; you stated you were which is why the braces were removed at that time. The bonded retainer was larger than the one you had previously to provide more support and lessen the chances of tooth movement after the braces were removed. After having the braces removed, you informed ************* that you were unhappy with the positioning of tooth #7, which appeared to be slightly flared forward. A radiograph was taken which showed that due to the angle of the crown of the tooth in relation to the angle of the root, the tooth does not line up completely straight with the other teeth. In order for the tooth to align perfectly, the root of the tooth would touch the root of the adjacent tooth, which may cause further dental issues. ************* gave you the best options in his professional opinion regarding the movement of tooth #7 and the risks and benefits for each option, and offered each option at no additional cost to you. As well, you were concerned about white spots on your teeth which appeared after having the braces removed. On occasion, there is decalcification associated with orthodontic treatment, which causes discoloration of the teeth. While good oral hygiene helps prevent this from occurring, it is a risk of treatment. This was explained on the consent form signed by you in our office on January 14, 2015 prior to treatment being rendered. While we strive to provide excellent dental care to our patients, orthodontic treatment is not an exact science, and circumstances outside of our control can affect the outcome of treatment. We understand your concerns, and would like to offer you a second opinion with another one of our Perfect Teeth orthodontists. Again, I apologize for any miscommunication between our offices and yourself.

11/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misrepresentation of contract. False billing practices. Over charging. Refusal of communication. After receiving dental services for myself in 2010 ********* office) and being overcharged $270 for services according to my EOB from the insurance company, I made multiple attempts to have the amount refunded to me. Multiple phone messages went unreturned and every time I spoke to a representative they told me no one was in the office that could authorize a refund but they would "leave a message" for someone to get back to me. If never happened and after months of trying I finally gave up. Then I took my daughter in to have a consultation for braces in 2014 ********* office). I explained that I was concerned about starting an orthodontics treatment and signing the treatment agreement as I knew we would be relocating to ******* in January 2015. The clerk ******* I believe) assured me that if I moved all I had to do was find a new dentist and they would "take over the agreement" and it would all be fine. After moving to ******* I kept receiving bills for treatment/ services not received. I called and asked why I was billed if she wasn't getting seen. ***** said they would keep billing until I found a new orthodontist. I paid my bill. My insurance changed and I inquired of all my new available dentists if they could take over the agreement. Every single one said they absolutely would not. They were all adamant that it was almost never done and no dentist any of them knew of would EVER touch a patient that had braces from another practice. I keep calling the office. I have left one voicemail and two messages for ***** to call me back and she never does. Whenever I call she is unavailable for one reason for another. So here we are, in *** getting billed for services not received. Still never having received a refund of the over charge. It is becoming obvious that this establishment is all about scamming as many people as it can. Had they not been the ONLY dentist covered under my plan I would not have had anything to do with them. My daughters last actual service received was in January.

Desired Settlement: Refund of overcharge and services paid for but not received, as well as removing the charges for unreceived services from my account. Removal of braces for my daughter when I am able to make it back to ********* Complete release from the treatment agreement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/10/21) */ Thank you for talking today. I am glad that we could find a solution to eliminate your issues. I have put into place every resolution we discussed today. Thank you for giving me the chance to provide the assistance you needed. Please feel free to contact me if any further issues arise.

6/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wanted a regular 6 month cleaning, was told I was getting a regular cleaning, was charged for more than a regular cleaning. I called Perfect Teeth at the beginning of May to schedule a cleaning. I made sure they were in network and my 6 month cleanings, xrays and preventative care was covered. I went in to Perfect Teeth as a first time patient for a routine cleaning on June 3, 2015. While filling out paperwork no one asked to see my insurance card to take a copy of it. I stated I just wanted a routine 6 month cleaning, covered under insurance. They said ok. After the cleaning was completed, the receptionist came in and said she called the insurance and I was not covered until Dec. 2015 so none of the appointment would be covered. She showed me a document and said that I would have to pay for the general cleaning and xrays. The document had several different charges and totals listed, along with several of her hand written amounts. I said I didn't understand what the things listed on the paper meant and she assured me that they were general cleaning charges that were not covered under my insurance. She said I had to sign the paper saying they had gone over it with me. I did not agree that I did not have insurance coverage but since the appointment was already over I figured I could sort things out with insurance after. I thought I could trust them. Obviously I was wrong. At the front, they told me I owed was $403. I asked why, it was even more than the total she had before and all she just kept saying my insurance didn't cover me so those were normal cleaning and x-ray charges. Again I did not agree, but the cleaning had been done, I did not want to cause trouble and I had to get to work, so I paid the bill and left. Later I called my insurance company to verify. They said I was covered. My coverage became effective Dec. 2014 and all preventative care, x-rays, and cleanings are 100% covered. I called Perfect Teeth June 4, 2015 and asked for a refund, they were dishonest with me about my insurance coverage. They said that they did a special treatment and exam. I said I understood it to be just a cleaning. I was a new patient and a routine cleaning was what I asked for and what they said I was being charged for. She (******* ****** of Prefect Teeth) said that I was lying (she was not present at the time of my appointment). *** ****** also said that they did explain that it was a special exam. They absolutely did not, and then she hung up on me. I called back and said to call the insurance company because I already verified with them that I was covered for a cleaning which was what I made an appointment for and all I received. All the hygienist did was measure my gums, scrape between my teeth, and polish my teeth: things that are all part of a routine cleaning. The appointment lasted a max of 20 minutes, so I am not sure how they claim they preformed a "special cleaning/major treatment". What they claimed to have done was not what I asked for and they lied to me about what the document I signed said. *** ****** referred to the cleaning I received as everything but, so that she could say it was not covered. She kept saying, "I don't care if you don't agree, I don't care what you say, I have your signature on this paper so go ahead and complain!" Also under further review of my receipt it says I received antibiotics. I did not. The hygienist kept saying she was going to numb me, I refused on several occasions. So if they claim they gave me some sort of antibiotic, they are being very dishonest because they did not discuss it with me and I certainly did not consent to it. *** ****** changed her story several times, called the 'cleaning' by 3 different names, said they preformed "major, special services and treatments" on me and that the charges were justified because she had my signature. I went in for a regular cleaning, that was all they did, and after the cleaning occurred, they called it something else in order to try to justify charging me $403. It should have been fully covered under my insurance, which I did have at the time of the appointment.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the full $403 amount. I asked for a regular cleaning, received a regular cleaning, and was charged for more than a cleaning and antibiotics that I never received. I should not have been charged at all, as I did have insurance coverage for what I scheduled the appointment for. This compliant is about the Perfect Teeth location **** ***** ******** *** **** ********* ** XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/06/17) */ We are initiating a refund to you today as requested. I did investigate the appointment you had with us and believe that you were not only informed prior to the treatment but agreed to it. The ******** Perfect teeth will never charge patients for treatment they did not agree to or for treatment they did not receive. I apologize for any misunderstanding.

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint towards this Perfect Teeth for providing false diagnosis and over pricing services. On March 3, 2015 I went to the Perfect Teeth on **** ** ******* **** for a basic teeth cleaning; which they usually charge $40 for the teeth cleaning, x-rays, and a free consultation. Before the cleaning a hygienest examined my teeth and told me that she was concerned that I was developing first signs of gingivitis that required deep cleaning and irrigation. I was also told that I had multiple cavities on my teeth that would later require fillings. Altogether the treatment would cost me $1,246.00 without insurance and $486.00 under their insurance plan. I decided not to begin with the treatment and go elsewhere for a second opinion. Nothing was done on me except the x-rays and before I left I sat down with the lady in charge of billing and she never told me that I had to pay anything. The following day I got a call telling me that I owed Perfect Teeth $131.00. $72 for the bitewings x-ray and $59.00 for the evaluation. About 3 weeks afterwards, I went to ********** ****** ****** and got another evaluation. The hygienest told me that I did not have gingivitis at all and that I only needed a regular cleaning. A dentist there also did a cavity check and told me that my teeth were fine, that I didn't need any fillings. Perfect Teeth was trying to charge me for procedures that I didn't need and gave me a false diagnosis. For that reason I wish to file a complaint for fraudulent practice and I refuse to pay for the hygienic evaluation that I was not informed that I would have to pay and was told at the beginning was free.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have the charge of $59.00 for the oral evaluation removed from my bill and if I am required to pay for the x-rays I request at least a copy of them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/11) */ June 10th, 2015 Re: BBB Case #XXXXXXXX Dear *** ****: I am writing this letter in response to the complaint filed with the BBB on April 29th, 2015. First I would like to apologize for any miscommunication between yourself and the office staff at our ******* location. On March 3rd, 2015 you came into the ******* office for an exam, routine bitewing x-rays and a cleaning as an existing patient. The last time you had an appointment with us was in August, 2013 and the dental plan was not valid upon your return. Prior to going back for your appointment you were asked if and what insurance you would be utilizing and at that time you informed us that you would be going forth with the Perfect Teeth Dental plan. The office took you back for your appointment and you were informed that due to the length between visits bitewing x-rays were needed to check the status of your oral health and to diagnose any existing carries or other dental needs. Upon examination by the doctor and the films, you were diagnosed with periodontal disease at which a "routine cleaning" was no longer a viable option as it had been in the past visits. Upon probing it was noted that you have red inflammation, bleeding and documented areas of recession in all four quadrants. The doctor recommended a 1 surface filling on tooth #31, buccal surface at this time. Both the hygienist and the dentist explained the recommended periodontal treatment in detail to you. The front office prepared the treatment plan for you, both without insurance, and with our plan including the cost of joining. You opted to join the plan, start the treatment and signed the treatment plan at this time. While the Hygienist was getting set up for the procedures you called your wife and then informed us that she works in a dental practice and that you will just go there for your services to be completed at no charge. The office informed you upon check out that the x-rays taken and the exam by the dentist came to a total of $131.00 at which time you refused to pay and walked out of the practice. The next day I, the operations manager at that location called you to discuss the balance on the account for the services received and was unable to reach you. When researching your account it was also found that when you came into the practice in August of 2013, you signed up for our Perfect Teeth Dental Plan and opted for the monthly convenience payment option we offered at that time. This payment option obligated you to 12 monthly payments of $15.00 per month in order to receive the discounted fees for the service done when you signed up. Of those twelve monthly payments, you paid only one $15.00 payment. Charges from your visit in August of 2013 should have been increased to $256.00 when the contractual agreement wasn't met for plan payment. As a courtesy these charges were not increased upon the audit in March, in an effort to keep the services recommended affordable to you. Again, I apologize for any miscommunication between yourself and our office. If you have any further questions or concern, please don't hesitate to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******* ** ******* Operations Manager- Perfect Teeth- *******

6/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are with a history of being responsible senior citizens. We do not feel responsible for this dental bill you sent recently. In the beginning we called asking you if you took United Health Care. We were told 'yes'. When we arrived at your office our individual UHC cards were taken, photocopied for billing purposes. We proceeded to get what we thought was a teeth cleaning & xrays. Our insurance told us they pay for xrays and dental cleaning. We told you if any extra charges were to be encountered to please discuss them with us BEFOREHAND. What we got from your office was lots of xrays and about 25 minutes of a dental tech measuring each of our teeth to note how much plaque we had on same!!!! WE NEVER GOT THE TEETH CLEANED!!! We went down the street and each had our teeth cleaned, and xrayed for $70.00! At the new dentist we never got the long list of cavities that we got from your office. Also this dentist has a lazer that is offered instead of doing root canal. They were focused on keeping our costs down (see hard copy online).

Desired Settlement: We have always been responsible people. WE APPRECIATE you correcting this bill of no monies due. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/06/01) */ Regarding the fee's for visiting our office, we sincerely apologize for the error in our billing & have corrected the account to reflect no balance due at this time. Should you have an further questions or concerns please call the Perfect Teeth location for resolution. Thank you,

4/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dentist gave me xrays that were not covered by my insurance but did not advise me in advance that this was going to be an out of pocket expense. On February 19, 2015, I went to Perfect Teeth as a new patient. Before the exam or cleaning the hygienist asked if I had xrays recently and I said I had some about a year ago at my former dentist. She said I was due for xrays and proceeded to do the full mouth xrays. I got a statement from ***** ****** of ******** showing that they did not cover the full mouth xrays for $85. I called Perfect Teeth and they didn't know why I was charged so advised me to call ***** ******* ***** ****** explained that since I was not due for full mouth xrays until Sept. 2015, they could not pay. I explained that I had xrays last March (XXXX) and they clarified those were bite wing xrays which they cover annually. I called Perfect Teeth back and explained what ** said. After they talked to the office manager, they called me back and said the office manager would not remove the charge, and that they always give new patients full mouth xrays. I explained that I was not advised that this could be an out of pocket expense and if I had known, I wouldn't have gone there. In fact, after the exam, the hygienist showed me the bill showing that the entire service - including x rays - would be covered by my insurance. The only out of pocket expense would have been a fluoride treatment which I denied service for. They said that from now on I needed to know that dentists would always give me full mouth xrays for new patients and I'd have to pay for it if the insurance didn't cover it. Why didn't they explain this beforehand? I believe they made an error. They should have called the insurance beforehand to ensure that all services would be covered. This, according to my past experience, has always been standard practice.

Desired Settlement: Remove this entire $85.00 charge from my account. Do not send this bill to a collections agency.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/04/17) */ April 17, 2015 ******* ******** **** W ********* *** ******* ** XXXXX RE: BBB case #XXXXXXXX Dr. *** ********, This correspondence is in response to the BBB complaint filed on March 11, 2015. I would like to first apologize for any and all miscommunications between our dental office and yourself. On February 19, 2015 you came to our office as a new patient. As a standard practice the hygiene assistant seats the patient and asks the patient if they have recently had a full set of x-rays. Both the doctor and hygienist need x-rays to properly diagnose the teeth and gum condition. She was under the impression you informed her you had bitewing x-rays one year prior, which would then be covered by your insurance and proceeded with the full set of x-rays. On March 9, 2015 you called our office inquiring about the denial by your insurance and spoke with a patient coordinator who then encouraged you to call your insurance, ***** ****** as to why they denied the x-rays. At that time, your grievance was brought to my attention and on March 25, 2015 the entire balance of $85 was removed from your account as a customer service adjustment due to the miscommunication with the back office staff. Again, I apologize about the miscommunication between our office staff and yourself. Sincerely, ****** ***** Operations Manager Perfect Teeth/Yale Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/04/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for removing this charge from my account. I do hope in the future your hygienist communicates clearly with patients and double checks with the insurance company prior to any procedure.

4/13/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document
Click Here to Get the File
********************************************************************* int_cmplt XXXXXXXX.pdf

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) see Attached document

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/04/08) */ The credit in question has been applied to the account since this letter was sent and the patient has been informed of his zero balance with us. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Nothing in writing, but assume the issue has been resolved. We shall see.

3/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We switched our daughters ***** **** to another location and they continue to bill us from this location.They will not return calls,billing manager i Every time we call the billing manager is absent for some reason or another.

Desired Settlement: Make it right, we owe nothing to them. They have been dou

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/02/24) */ Mr. ***** I would like to apologize for the non response from our managers. I received the complaint today and I have corrected the accounts in all three of the ortho offices. You will only be receiving a statement from the Yale office where ***** has been transferred to. Again I apologize for the slow response. ***** ************* XXX-XXX-XXXX

2/2/2015 Delivery Issues
1/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wanted a regular 6 month cleaning, was told I was getting a regular cleaning, was charged for more than a regular cleaning. On November 11, 2014 I had an appointment with Perfect Teeth and I wanted a regular cleaning, the regular cleaning that is covered under my 6th month cleaning in my dental plan. I told them that was all I wanted. This was a new insurance plan and I did not want to do anything that would affect the deductible. If I needed more done, I would come in after the first of the year to finish it. Near the end of my appointment they brought a bill plan thing to discuss options and tried to convince me that I needed fluoride. They told me most insurances do not cover it, so it wouldn't affect the deductible. I told them I have had insurances in the past that have covered it and I didn't want to take any chances. I stated again that I didn't want anything that would affect my deductible. They had me sign a paper and told me that all of it was covered under a regular cleaning. A few weeks later I received a message stating that everything was denied... After digging into it a little more I discovered they had sent it to the wrong insurance company. They told me that it didn't matter because it had the same address. This irritated me because on the day that I went in and gave them my new insurance I had told them that I no longer worked with the company which supplied me with that insurance. It was no longer valid and I had asked them to remove it from their system. A few weeks after they sent it to the correct insurance (December 23, 2014), I realized that they had done more than what I had asked. I hadn't used that insurance for the year and now I had to pay the insurance deductible and cover the costs of the things that I didn't want done. I confronted them and explained the situation. They pulled out the form I signed and told me that because I signed it I agreed to everything that happened. This form was given to me at the end of my appointment, they told me multiple times that everything was covered under my 6 month cleaning, and they wouldn't let me leave without signing it. I thought I could trust them, which is why I signed the document. The following is what was done and told me was covered under a general cleaning. No one discussed any charges above and beyond my cleaning. I thought it was strange that I had to pay $16 before I left, but didn't question it... Maybe I should have. Again, the following is what I was told was covered under a normal cleaning and was never discussed as an extra cost. I also was not asked during my appointment if I wanted any of it done. They just did it without my consent. I thought I could trust them, but I guess not. *Comprehensive Perio Evaluation $108 *Periodontal Maintenance $162 *Gingival Irrigation Per Quad (x4) $15 each Had they discussed these costs with me prior, I would have waited until the first of the year so that I could get the most out of my insurance. But as stated before, no one discussed any costs until I didn't have a choice. On the day I confronted them, I told them I wasn't going to pay... I was very upset because now I have to pay more than I can afford at this point in time and I had been lied to by a company I thought I could trust. It was a heated argument and I appoligize. As I walked out the door the girl screamed at me "have fun with claims." I know my steel-toed shoe hit the frame of the door, as I could see it wasn't broken, and I appoligize for that as well. It was not intentional. I still have not received a bill and would like this situation cleared up.

Desired Settlement: Bill be removed from my account or cleared to equal a balance of $0.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/01/16) */ Ms. ******** I would like to apologize for your frustration. your account at the West Jewell Perfect Teeth office is now at a 0 balance. I adjusted the $85.00 off the account today 1/16/2015. Donna Brandenburger Regional Director for Perfect Teeth. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/01/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They cleared my bill to the balance of $0.00

10/16/2014 Delivery Issues
10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I overpaid for services and to get my money refunded has just been the biggest hassle ever So I went into perfect teeth and got a lot of work done. They overcharged me which is ok, they didn't know the insurance company was going to pay more or less, so that I understand. I was told my refund check would be here within 2 weeks. I called after the 2 weeks and the check still had not been sent out. They told me they would send it out Wednesday, so I sent them an email, and they told me they would send it out Fri aug 1st. It is now aug 6th 3 1/2 weeks after I requested my refund, and I still haven't seen this refund. I just want my money back

Desired Settlement: I just would like my refund check which is around 1300 dollars in a decent time frame

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/24) */ Mr. ****** has been sent two refund checks...The first on 07/31/2014 which he claims he did not receive....This check was cancelled and a second replacement check was sent via UPS on 08/08/2014. This check was signed for on 08/11/2014 at 9:22 A.M. at his address shown on this complaint. Our corporation considers this issue closed.

9/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April of 2014, I went to my dental office, Perfect Teeth, in Tucson AZ.I requested an estimate for the cost of having a dental implant.Part of the procedure called for having a "bone graph" to replace lost bone in my upper jaw area. An extraction was required and I was told thatthe bone graph should be done at the time of this extraction.Given that this dental practice is one of the "in network" providers for my dental insurance company, I felt it was reasonable to assume that this estimatewas based on my insurance coverage.It turned out that I was not covered for this procedure. After complaining to the office manager and her assistant. I was told that I was responsible for checking my coverage with my insurance company. I elevated my complaint to the corporate office of Perfect Teeth in Colorado. I was contacted by the regional manager for Arizona. She informed me that there was an error in the procedure code that they had submitted and that now I would be covered. Three weeks later I was informed again by my insurance company that I still wasn't covered. My Complaint - The practice of providing "estimates" for procedures that aren't covered is misleading and deceitful. It's a blatant attempt to generate business on unsuspecting patients who believe that their "in network" dental provider is aware of their insurance coverage. - The local office manager and her assistant stated to me that they could confirm my coverage if I had asked, but wouldn't do it otherwise. They said they were too busy. No notice regarding this policy is stated anywhere. - The regional manager, led me to believe that an error in the procedural code they submitted was the problem. She stated I was covered now that this was corrected.It turns out I'm not. What's the deal?

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund The dental practitioner should have to pay this for not taking the time to confirm my coverage And then misleading me into believing that I was covered with a bogus estimate so I would approve the procedure.This is just plain wrong!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/08/19) */ To whom it may concern, Regarding patient ******* ******, seen and treated in our Perfect Teeth N. Wilmot office, date of service d04/29/2014. The patient was presented with a treatment plan recommended by our Oral Surgeon, Dr. ********** on 04/29/2014. Mr. ****** signed the Perfect Teeth Treatment Plan, acknowledging the estimate of covered services. The contract is between he and his insurance company, they do not guarantee payments to us, we cannot guarantee payment from the insurance company. Mr. ******'s insurance company has denied his claim for treatment completed 04/29/2014. We tried to appeal his claim as a courtesy on 07/17/2014, with the same response for denial. On 08/11/2014 Mr. ****** responded to our Perfect Teeth representative with the following response; Hello ***** I have spoken with *******. She has been a great help in this and I've chalked this up to a "learning experience". I will begin addressing my frustration with my insurance company. ******* has agreed to send me all pertinent information she has regarding her discussions on my behalf with my insurance carrier. Thanks for your response. ******* ****** Based on his response, he has accepted his responsibility in his financial responsibility for his treatment plan rendered 04/29/2014. Thank you, ******* ******* Regional Manager **** ** ***** **** *** *** ***** ** XXXXX M XXX-XXX-XXXX F XXX-XXX-XXXX ********@perfectteeth.com www.perfectteeth.com

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint involves two locations. I have been in pain since 2/11 and have missed multiple days of work and received misinformation. My complaint involves two locations. 2/11 I went into the W Jewell to have a filling put in because I was told I had a cavity. This is where I started to feel pain and sensitivity and was told that was normal with a filling. 2/26 I was still feeling pain so I went back in, took another day off work. I explained it hurts to bite down and is sensitive to cold. The dentist said he will adjust the bite. 3/12 I took a third day off of work because the pain and sensitivity was increasing and still not resolved. The dentist did nothing but provide me with a referral to the Yale office to see an Endodontist. I asked the girl at the front desk who called to make me an appointment if I could get in today since I already took time off work. I was told no, they have 1pm on March 18th available. I said I would have to speak with my boss. 3/13 I had spoke with my boss and called the yale office to see if 3/18 appointment was still available and explained I was in a lot of pain and its hard to eat. I was told if I can come in on friday 3/14 and I explained I cannot do fridays. I scheduled the 3/18 appointment and was told it would take two hours. I requested off the appropriate amount of time from work. 3/18 I took a fourth day off work and arrived at the Yale office only to be told they scheduled my appointment for 4/18 on a Friday by mistake and they cannot help me. The doctor came in for 2 minutes and gave me a perscription for pain of 10 pills that would only last like 5 days and told me to reschedule. I rescheduled for 4/2 at 4pm. I called the Jewell office requesting if any other location could see me as I was in extreme pain and already off work. Nothing could be done to assist me. 3/21 I found out I would be starting a new job 3/31 and could not make the 4/2 appointment so I rescheduled for 3/26 at 2pm. 3/26 I went in to have the root canal, right before I was also told I needed to have all the money up front. They would be willing to take a post dated check for two weeks. I did not bring a check book nor have this much money because that was never explained to me. I was given an estimate but the Jewell office excepts payment arrangements how was I to know this office was different. After the root canal was finished I was advised that they put in a temporary filling and I would have to have a permanent one put in. Again no one told me this would have to be done or I would have made an appointment in advance to have this done!! I was told if I was in a lot of pain to call back and she would give me a perscription. I looked at the tooth which looks like a piece of dry wall was used as the filling. I called the Jewell office to get in ASAP to have this fixed as it looks awful and I dont like this. They could not assist me. I called the green mountain office and was told since the Jewell office started treatment they have to finish it. I then called the corporate office who got me in touch with the Broomfield office. 3/27 I receive a call from the Broomfield office stating that after root canals I would have to get a crown. THIS INFORMATION WAS NOT GIVEN TO ME BEFORE WORK WAS COMPLETED. I feel like I have no choice in options now since I am told after the fact and now am already out $312 for a root canal and I have to pay over $700 for a crown. I should have been told this up front as I was under the impression $312 was the final amount. All my options are taken away as I cannot undo this. I am also in extreme pain still, I cannot sleep or bite down or even eat yogurt. I took ibuprofen 1600mg and still in pain. I called the Yale office as directed was told the doctor is out that I can take another day off and come in tomorrow and call the Jewell office about the pain. Was told the doctor never said to call her when she did tell me that!! The Yale office is nothing but rude to me when this was their fault for mis-scheduling me and they didnt provide me information about payment in full or I need a filling or crown after!!!

Desired Settlement: I was treated awful by everyone expect ****** at the Jewell office since she was the only one willing to try to resolve this even though I couldnt get any resolution. I want this fixed, I do not like having this drywall stuck in my tooth and I was not informed that I would have to come up with all kinds of money for a crown I cannot afford ahead of time. I feel like someone should take some kind of responsibility here. I have used up almost a week of vacation on this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/05/21) */ Ms. ****** i would like to apologize for all of the confusion you have experienced. I would recommend that you call the West Jewell office and schedule an appointment to cover the root canal you had completed. Please feel free to call me and we can discuss this further. ***** ************** Regional Director Region 2 Perfect Teeth XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 22, 2014/06/16) */ That does not resolve anything. I have an appointment scheduled already. This is not a misunderstanding I was treated badly and not given the proper information. Final Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2014/07/28) */ Please see attached.

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Perfect Teeth failed to provide a reasonable quote On May 29th I had a cleaning done, which included fluoride and irrigation. I was quoted at $42 for this work out-of-pocket, being told the rest of the bill is what my insurance, Delta Dental, would pay. The bill I got was for $48 ADDITIONAL - $90 total - 107% more than I was quoted. When I confronted Perfect Teeth about this dispute, they told me that they use estimates for out-of-pocket expenses and that there is "no way" to actually understand the charges unless they contact Delta, in writing, 30-45 DAYS in advance. The fluoride estimate was correct, but Perfect Teeth quoted me at $3 per quadrant for irrigation, when the bill is actually $15 (5x more than the quote). When I called Delta, Delta told me that it is common practice for front desk reps to call the insurance agency while work is being done to make sure in-office bills and quotes are accurate. Perfect Teeth claims this is not a possible practice. Perfect Teeth also claims that I paid my co-pay understanding it is just an estimate. My bill, as mentioned, was 107% more than I was quoted. An invoice estimate should be within 5% of the actual bill. This is unacceptable. Perfect Teeth does not practice in a way that allows the consumer to be educated about their choices. Perfect Teeth never communicated their practices to me. I paid my bill under the assumption they worked with my insurance agent. They do not work in a way that financially protects or educates the consumer.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of $48.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/06/27) */ We make every attempt to provide our patients with the most accurate estimate for their recommended dental treatment. Unfortunately, without providing the insurance company with a pre-authorization for treatment and waiting 14 business days for their response, we have to rely on the information initially provided by the insurance company to estimate treatment cost. We apologize if you felt that these procedures did not give you an accurate and clear understanding of the total cost for your dental treatment. We have reviewed your Explanation of Benefits and per your insurance the irrigation is your responsibility, however as a good will gesture we will refund you amount you paid $48. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) For future patients, I suggest you practice what the insurance company suggests and call the insurance to verify expenses. I accept the refund. I wrote a check to Perfect Teeth - I will be content as long as that check isn't cashed. In the event that it is, I expect a check soon thereafter.

5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a crown put on one of my upper teeth on the left side and when the tooth was prepared for the crown the dentist drill through the side of the tooth into the bone area. The dentist filled the hole with the build up for the crown and installed the crown. I started seeing a different dentist and they noticed bone loss around the tooth. The bone loose was increasing over time and was told the crown would have to be replaced and a bone graph done. After reporting this to Perfect Teeth and my new dentist sending perfect Teeth all the info and ex-rays Perfect Teeth agreed to pay for the new crown and bone graph. So I was having the repairs done to my tooth and when the dentist removed the crown and took more ex-rays and found that the tooth could not be repaired the tooth would have to be pulled and a implant put in. This was the only way to stop the bone loss around the tooth. Perfect Teeth paid for the crown and the bone graph but has not paid for the implant. I called and talked to ****, the office manager, and she refused to talk to me or return my phone calls. I found a number for on office in Denver and talked to ***** think he is the VP., he said he would look in to the problem. I have called **** back at least 3 times and left messages but he won't take or return my phone calls. I just want my tooth fixed they made a mistake and they should fix it all the way they said they would. not taking or returning my phone calls is not the way to resolve this problem. Product_Or_Service: dental work, a crown on a tooth

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Perfect Teeth need to pay for all repairs for my tooth witch is to pay for the implant also. I think the difference form what they paid and what it left to pay is around $1,100.00 or somy dentist has the total and have sent all the info and amount to Perfect Teeth.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/03/26) */ Thank you for the opportunity in allowing us to respond to this patients's concern. When the issue was raised to our office we performed a review and; in fact, as a courtesy provided a payment to the patient's new dentist to cover the cost of the treatment to be redone. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because of the damage done to the tooth from the crown installed incorrectly the tooth had to be pulled and an implant put in place of the tooth. The payment to the new dentist was not enough to cover the entire cost to fix the tooth. I feel that the total cost should paid by Perfect Teeth because if the crown wad done correctly I would still have my tooth and not an implant. I feel that Perfect Teeth stand by there mistake and pay for the cost to fix the tooth. Thank you ****** **** Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/05/19) */ Union and Academy Perfect Teeth is in receipt of Mr. ****' rebuttal regarding his initial BBB complaint. After review, the circumstances surrounding this issue has not changed. We stand by our initial determination that we are not responsible for his dental implant surgery. Therefore our position has not changed in this matter." Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 22, 2014/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The implant surgery was the fault of perfect teeth. If the tooth was drilled properly and not through the side and into the bone the tooth would not have had to been pulled. the dentist mad a mistake and caused the problem. If this is your final answer I will have no other option but to take this to court.

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an estimate for 2 crowns and a deep cleaning from the Perfect Teeth office at Monica & Evans. I was very specific in asking if the estimate was for all the work and their clerk assured me it was.On October 22, 2013 I had the first half of the deep cleaning and started the first crown. I handed their office person a check for &1,046, the amount of the estimate in full. They then informed me the estimate wouldn't cover the second crown at all. They said they would contact their corporate headquarters for instructions and get back to me. I never heard back.A week later I called corporate headquarters myself to try to resolve this issue. It took several phone calls to get a response. I emailed a copy of my estimate to ****** at the Yale office. A few days later she informed me that the estimate didn't include either the second crown or the second half of the deep cleaning and I need to pay another thousand dollars for this work.This is not acceptable. The company has to live up to the estimate they gave me, not jack up the price. If they gave me an incorrect estimate, they still have to live up to it. Product_Or_Service: Deep cleaning & 2 crowns

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want them to complete the deep cleaning and both crowns for the cost of the original estimate.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/12/18) */ Dear Mr. ******* I am writing in response to your BBB complaint dated November 5, 2013. First and foremost, I would like to apologize for any miscommunication between yourself, your insurance and our office regarding your recommended dental treatment. On September 16, 2013, you came to our practice as a new patient for a full mouth series of radiographs, comprehensive oral evaluation, and a cleaning. At that time you were diagnosed by our general dentist Dr. ************ as needing four quadrants of periodontal scaling with oral irrigation and Arestin, as well as crowns on teeth # 3 and #14 due to failing amalgam restorations. At that time, Dr. ************ discussed restoring tooth #14 as the top priority and completing the periodontal scaling on the left side at the same appointment. In an effort to not overwhelm patients with large treatment plans, treatment is broken down into phases based on the main concerns of the patient and recommendations of the provider, with only one phase presented at a time. A treatment estimate was presented to you for the build-up and crown on tooth #14 as well as the periodontal scaling on that side. This estimate did not include the recommended treatment for tooth #3 or the right side of periodontal scaling, because it was not considered the top priority, or the first phase of treatment. One of the patient coordinators at our office went over the treatment estimate, which you signed, stating you understood the recommended treatment, and Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/12/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If your policy is to present the bill in stages you must notify the patient of this in advance, not surprise the patient later with unexpected expenses. As you advised me of this policy and additional expense only after I received most of the first half of the treatment (I have still not received the take home antibiotics as they were out of stock), I was not anticipating nor did I make arrangements for the extra $1046. Even $500 will take me months to save. In the meantime the benefit of the first half of the deep cleaning and antibiotics has been lost due to the left side of my mouth being left untreated. Had I know of the total cost of the treatment, I would have delayed all of the treatment until it could all be done, not started it, have to stop it, and wait to save more money. When I take me car to the mechanic, we agree on the scope of work and the mechanic provides an estimate for the total cost of the work. Once I accept that estimate the mechanic cannot exceed the cost by more than 10%. Certainly the mechanic cannot simply double the estimate saying he forgot to tell me of the cost. Car repairs are often expensive, too, but at least I know how much it will be and can make my decision accordingly. Your office failed to advise me that there would be additional amounts due. This creates a trust issue. How can I now believe you won't find a way to surprise me with more bills? At best, your estimate is unclear to the patient as it doesn't present the quantity of any line items. That's why I specifically asked if the estimate covered the deep cleaning, antibiotics, and crowns (plural!). I was told it did. I agree there was a miscommunication on this point, but that error was by your staff. As such you should make good on the information supplied to me at that time - complete the treatment at no additional expense. If you intend to charge more later, as you say is your policy, you MUST inform the patient up front, not leave it as a surprise. Anything less than full disclosure is unethical, bad business practice, and disrespectful to your patients. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/02/04) */ January 30, 2014 BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX Dear Mr. ******* I am writing in response to your BBB complaint dated November 5, 2013. First and foremost, I would like to apologize for any miscommunication between yourself, your insurance and our office regarding your recommended dental treatment. On September 16, 2013, you came to our practice as a new patient for a full mouth series of radiographs, comprehensive oral evaluation, and a cleaning. At that time you were diagnosed by our general dentist Dr. ************ as needing four quadrants of periodontal scaling with oral irrigation and Arestin, as well as crowns on teeth # 3 and #14 due to failing amalgam restorations. At that time, Dr. ************ discussed restoring tooth #14 as the top priority and completing the periodontal scaling on the left side at the same appointment. In an effort to not overwhelm patients with large treatment plans, treatment is broken down into phases based on the main concerns of the patient and recommendations of the provider, with only one phase presented at a time. A treatment estimate was presented to you for the build-up and crown on tooth #14 as well as the periodontal scaling on that side. This estimate did not include the recommended treatment for tooth #3 or the right side of periodontal scaling, because it was not considered the top priority, or the first phase of treatment.

1/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They turned me over to collections when they hadn't submitted to insurance correctly. Gave them the appropriate information multiple times. I have been going to PT for 15+ years with no issues. I started having problems over the last year with appointment scheduling and follow through. I've had dental coverage the entire time I've gone to PT. I went in for on of my teeth cleanings that are included as part of my insurance coverage in January of 2013. I received notification that my insurance didn't pay for cleaning in August of 2013. I went through with them where they submitted and we discovered they submitted to the wrong insurance company. I provided the appropriate insurance information to *** and he said he would submit. I received another call in September and they still hadn't sent the claim to the appropriate insurance company. I again provided my carrier information and told them to let me know if there was a problem. Fast forward to November 2013 I get a letter from ****** Collections regarding the outstanding amount. I immediately called PT and talked to ****** ********* and AGAIN found that they did not have the appropriate insurance information. I setup a conference call with ***** and ****** and ***** confirmed coverage and have exhaustive explanation ****** finally understood how to submit a claim. I had ****** stay on the line and informed her that I would like for her to make arrangements to have my account pulled from collections because it was their screw up. She acknowledged the office has had a lot of turnover they have experienced similar situations. She called me later to inform he it wasn't her responsibility to pull the account from collections. I called the collection agency and they said they would need to receive a call from PT to prevent it from putting a black mark on my credit report. As of today no one has called them to have the account taken out of collections or at a minimum put on hold. The collection agency said there is nothing I can do(short of paying them) to keep it from going on my credit report. The call would have to come from PT. They have until Monday to make the call. I have never made a complaint to the BBB. I am very busy and only write this complaint as a last resort of frustration. I sent a complaint to the PT customer service email address on their main website again with no response.

Desired Settlement: Take the initiative to get me out of collections. I shouldn't have to pay for nor waste my time on their incompetence....

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/11) */ December 05, 2013 RE: Better Business Bureau-Case# XXXXXXXX Dear Mr. **********, This letter is in response to the BBB complaint filed on December 04, 2013. I would like to express my sincere apologies for any miscommunication between our office, your insurance carrier and yourself. On January 03, 2013 you presented to our office for your routine Periodontal Maintenance. On this day we asked you to update your health history, consent forms and all pertinent billing information including any changes to your dental insurance. On January 03, 2013 the insurance information we had on file provided by the patient (yourself), and verified with date of January 03, 2013 was, ************* **** and secondary ********** Following standard office procedure, the claim for this date of service was billet to your primary and secondary insurance. On February 20, 2013 we received an explanation of benefits from your primary insurance company stating that your insurance had terminated and you were no longer eligible for coverage. Monthly electronic statements were then sent to your home address, notifying you of the balance due, starting January 31, 2013. On August 29, 2013 our office contacted you via phone in regards to the balance due of $241.46, pertaining to the date of service of January 03, 2013. At that time you refused to pay because it was wrongfully submitted, and we asked for you to provide our office with the correct insurance information so that we could investigate the matter further and correct it accordingly. You told our office that you would contact your current carrier, and return our call with the information, since you did not have the information at hand. On September 05, 2013 you contacted our office stating that you had no intention on settling the balance and because it was "our" error, you should have not been held responsible. On this date, I personally requested your insurance information to forward to our Operations Manager and resubmit the claim, but again you were unable to provide us with the insurance carrier, subscriber id, or any substantial information that we could use to verify and correct the situation. As stated in our office policy which was signed by you "Insurance plans represent a contract between yourself and the Insurance Company. These contracts are not between the doctor and the Insurance Company. We will do our best to help you obtain benefits, but we cannot be responsible if your carrier does not pay. Further, if a member of our staff advises you that you are fully covered or implies that you will owe nothing, it is your responsibility to contact your insurance company for verification. Therefore, it is your responsibility to make certain your carrier makes prompt payment, and to handle any disputes that may arise. If your insurance is found to not be in force on the date dental services are provided you will be responsible for the full balance based on usual and customary fees. A finance charge of %18 APR (1.5% a month) will be added to the total balance on all accounts past 60 days." We strive to provide excellent customer service, and did everything in our power at the office in order to obtain the correct information for your dental insurance. Unfortunately, due to the age of the balance on your account, and being unable to obtain the correct insurance information for billing purposes in a timely manner, it was transferred to a collection agency, ****** Credit on October 29, 2013. It was no until November 27, 2013 when we were in contact with an ***** Representative that was able to provide your subscriber id, and group number for the submission. At that time I contacted all parties, and re-submitted the claim to ****** for services rendered on January 03, 2013. When payment is received from your insurance, we will notify ****** Credit on your behalf. Again, I apologize for any miscommunication between our office, yourself, and your dental insurance companies. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ****** ********* Operations Manager Perfect Teeth-South ***** **** ***** ***** ** ********** CO, XXXXX Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I accept the fact that Perfect Teeth had incorrect insurance information up until August of 2013. What I don't agree with are the facts presented at that point forward. As I mentioned in my initial filing I provided the insurance information multiple times from August until November and the claim never got filed again until I took the initiative to conference in ***** and have them explain that no claim had been filed. I spoke with both ****** and *** about this and while I didn't document exactly who I talked to and when I do know that I provided my insurance information multiple times and was assured that it would be submitted. I also said on multiple occasions to contact me if you have any issues with the claim and I was very disturbed to find a letter from a collection agency after dealing with this business for 15 years. At no time did I say that I would not pay the claim I simply informed Perfect Teeth that the claim hadn't been submitted and that I was frustrated with the lack of follow up over the last year.

12/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please see attached.

Desired Settlement: Please see attached.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/16) */ ******* called on October 22nd and partial was not ready, the patient came into office for cleaning on that day. Office left a message on Oct 24, Nov. 5 and Nov. 8 on patients home number that partial was ready. ******* did not return calls to schedule the delivery. ******* called on November 14th to schedule delivery for the 18th. Office was notified on the 14th of November that patient stopped payment on the credit card. Office manager spoke to patient, and on November 18th patient paid for the partial in full. ******* has since returned to the office on numerous occasions for adjustments and is very happy with the office and is going to continue as a patient.

12/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bill increase 3 months after original bill and all Perfect Teeth payment collections. My daughter received treatment at Perfect Teeth South 8th St Colorado Springs on 8 August 2013. The bill that day was $1451. Perfect Teeth collected $528 from us before the procedure. Perfect Teeth later collected a total of $1399 from our Dental plans, for a grand total collection of $1927. The original bill was for $1451. Three months from the original bill, on 28 October 2013, Perfect Teeth added a $500 UCR/PPO to fee to our bill and is asking for an additional $23 in payment. After talking to the Perfect Teeth 8th St office manager, it was explained to me that because Perfect teeth collected more money than expected from the Dental Plans, they simply chose to raise the bill total after the fact - of course the preferred course of action for them instead of refunding any monies. In what other business or service are bills raised after the fact because " We realized we could have gotten more money". This practice - especially coming from a publicly traded company whose motto is " Patients First" demands and will receive further scrutiny .

Desired Settlement: Perfect Teeth should honor the original bill; not knowing how much to charge a patient is not acceptable business practice. Perfect Teeth needs to either change its business practices or make it clear to the consumer that they may raise the original bill after the fact if they find that they " could have collected more money".

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/27) */ Thank you very much for bringing this unfortunate situation to our attention. We take great pride in our "Customer First" approach in our business practice. I just wish this issue would have been presented to me prior as the resolution of this matter is indeed quite simple. The office in question did in fact make an error in adjusting the insurance allowables/payments. The patient in question had a dual insurance. We processed the claim on the primary and the patient did pay his portion at time of service. Upon settlement of the primary claim, we submitted to the secondary claim of his dual insurances. Upon payment of the secondary plan the office was to apply the payment and then make the appropriate adjustments. Unfortunately this where the error occurred, the office adjusted the payments from the secondary plan instead of the primary. This reflected an amount due by the patient. The adjustment should have been made off the primary plan, which would have resulted in a refund to the patient. We have subsequently corrected this mistake, we have made the appropriate retraining of the office staff, and are processing a refund to the patient. Once again, we apologize for this error and have made efforts in ensuring that this was an isolated case and will not occur in the future. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 19, 2013/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate the attention given to this matter. I will assume that this billing account has been closed with Perfect Teeth 8th ST Colorado Springs and I will receive no more bills; or I will choose to reopen this case. It is still somewhat odd that a business does not know how to accurately bill a patient ( as the original bill total was increased 3 months after the fact), especially when it is a procedure that is done routinely over and over again daily at an oral surgeon's office. But mistakes do happen, and unfortunately this may have been resolved sooner with better communication. Nevertheless, at this point it is best to close this out with the end of 2013 and the start of a new year. Thank you BBB and Corporate Perfect Teeth for working this case. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/12/30) */ We make every effort in ensuring that our patients' insurance plans are linked correctly in our system. We want to ensure that our fee schedules are accurate. However; there are instances in which the insurances will cover more or less, or they have a cost for services that do not synch with ours. We are sorry for this confusion as we do strive to ensure that our processes are accurate and synched with all the carriers we support, but there are times that valid adjustments are required and this was one of those circumstances.

12/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They send me a billing for broken appointment. I did cancel my appointment by a phone call. I can prove the cancellation by phone call records. Today I received a bill from Perfect Teeth(Golden office) for broken appointment. The payment is 75 dollars. I did call them to cancel the appointment. I have my phone record to prove that. I am going to give some details why I cancelled my appointment with them and why I don't want to visit them again. I visited perfect teeth(Golden office) on Nov. 12 for the 30th tooth. The doctor ***** told me she needed to do a examination on me to see if I should see specialist for root canal. I signed paper works for the treatment and received the examination. Before the treatment, I told them I brought my own xray images and I gave them 4 xray images(2 images for molars on each side). After the examination, doctor ***** said that she would give me a referral for root canal. The front desk called perfect teeth(Yale office) to make appointment with doctor ***** On Nov. 13. The front desk also made another appointment with Dr. ***** on Nov. 14 for me. At checkout, doctor ***** marked the xray service. I read through the bill and pointed out I used my own xray. Doctor ***** said I could do xray right now. It seemed to me that they were trying to selling their service to me and that they just wanted to get money out of my pocket. Around 2PM on Nov. 13th, I went to the Golden office to ask for my xray images. I found that they gave me images which are not mine and that two images of molars on my right hand side were missing. Dr. ***** talked to the nurse who was responsible for cleaning to see if the nurse new where my images were. It turned out that both of them did not know where my images were. Dr. ***** said sorry for missing images and she would take xray images for me without any charge. I said that I don't want to take too many xrays because the energy of xray are high. Dr. ***** said their xray are not as strong as sunlight. I din not argue with her at her office because I have to go to Yale office to see Dr. ***** at 3PM. I was surprised by the disorder of Golden office. I don't understand how could they lost my xrays. I was impressed by the professional service of Yale office on Nov. 13 and decided to receive treatment there. I signed the request for releasing my records to Yale office and talked to the front desk at Yale office to ask them to call the Golden office to fax my records over. Around 5PM on Nov. 13, both Dr. ***** and front desk at Golden office called me. Unfortunately, I missed both calls. They left message in my voice mail. When I got the voice message, I called them back. But no one answered my phone. In the morning on Nov. 14, I called them at 10:48AM to cancel my appointment at 2:30PM. I have my phone record to prove that I did call them to cancel the appointment. I got confirmation from them and I was told over the phone that my appointment had been cancelled.

Desired Settlement: I need them remove the payment because I did not break appointment with them. I did cancel the appointment with Dr. ***** at 2:30PM on Nov. 14.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/06) */ The individual named above was first seen on November 19th,2013 for an emergency appointment concerning a toothache, at that time my Dentist diagnosed treatment and we scheduled with both the Specialist office and our office for treatment on November 21,2013. The patient came back on November 20,2013 to request the x-rays he brought with him to his original appointment. The patient soon after came back into the office and said we gave him the wrong x-rays. After looking thoroughly over them my Dentist confirmed they where the x-rays he brought with him but the patient became very argumentive and said the x-rays werent his, my Dentist tried to assure him that the x-rays where never misplaced and always kept in the envelopes he gave to us but also offered to take a single one for him. He declined the offer and confirmed with us that he would make it to his appointment that was scheduled the next day on November 21, 2013. We contacted him twice concerning his appointment time and asked for him to call us back regarding it, we never received a call until 10:48am the day of the appointment which was at 2:30pm which was for an hour and a half and as per our office policy that the individual signed it is clearly stated that any missed appointments and appointments that are cancelled and or rescheduled within the 24 hour time frame will incur a cancel fee of $50.00 dollars per each hour of an appotiment. The individual came into the office on December 4, 2013 to discuss the missed appointment fee of $75.00 we charged him. After some discussion I assured him we would waive the fee and ask that he give the allowed 24 hours to cancel and or reschedule any future appointments and he agreed and left the office without any more issues.

11/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business uses dishonest business practices and tries to sell you a service you don't need I went in to get a checkup and cleaning. They told me a regular cleaning wouldn't work because I had gum disease and I needed a $1000 deep cleaning. I went to another dentist who took xrays and told me that my gums were fine and that a regular cleaning was all I needed

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund but my main concern is that they cheat people and are dishonest. People come to them because it is a discount place and then they try to sell you on an expensive cleaning that you don't need. I am on disability and feel for all the people that have been cheated. I want to get the information out there

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/26) */ I apolpgize for your frustration. It is not in our best interest to conduct business as you have described. After reviewing your Chart we did a full mouth debridement on you at the time of the appointment which provided you with the best option we have. We will be glad to share our documentation with you and any dentist you would chose to see it. I will be glad to refund your money. Please just call the office and we will refund your credit card. Our goal is to provide patients with the care they need to help them stay as healthy as possible. I again apologize for your frustration and wish you the very best. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is not just about me getting a refund. I want to make sure this stays on the records so other people like me who are of low income or any income are not deceived into getting services that they don't need. All I needed was a regular cleaning not a $1000 one that they tried to sell me. I want to make sure other people aren't cheated and deceived and I hope by doing this it will deter them from trying to cheat others in the future Final Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2013/11/12) */ I apologize again for your frustration. I understand that we have issued you the refund and I did respond to you the day the refund was issued. We at Perfect Teeth put the patients health and well being before anything else we do. I wish you the very best life has to offer you and again would like to state that I am very sorry for all of the confusion surrounding your care.

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Perfect teeth needs to provide x rays to Met Life for a procedure completed in Feb 2013 My wife has a procedure for a crown on a dental implant. All necessary information needs to be submitted to Met Life Ins for payment. We paid the charge of $877 but Met Life will not act until they receive X rays. I have repeatedly called the Arapahoe road office as well as going to the office. I am always assured they will take care of it but Met Life still has not received what they require.

Desired Settlement: Need the Perfect teeth office to work with Met Life to process claim. Met Life would normally pay 50% of the charge or $438

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/08/27) */ To whom this may concern, This letter is in regards to the complaint submitted with your organization. The person named in the complaint submitted it pertaining to his wife, earlier in 2013 his wife had treatment done on 2/27/13 and utilized her husband's two insurance's for the treatment rendered, unfortunately the primary insurance denied benefit due to not a covered benefit for Implant crowns. We submitted the primary explanation of benefits to the secondary insurance on 3/27/2013 but the secondary didn't cover the cost after the primary denial after coordination of benefits. The patient balance after both insurances where considered was $908.00 which was paid on 3/28/2013 without any discussion by the patient or her husband. On 6/17/2013 the patient's husband called the office and requested that we cancel all upcoming appointments for both himself and his wife and said it was due to, ''Billing issues.'' He refused to give any additional information to the person handling the call nor wanted to discuss this matter with myself to try to rectify the issue. I called the patient back and left a message to help with the matter but I never received a response. The patient's husband then came into the office on 7/25/2013 and asked that we re-submit the claim to the secondary insurance again along with any x-rays for consideration, I did explain to him that we submitted the most recent bite wing x-rays with the primary EOB back on 3/27/2013 but I would submit again with also a narrative to explain the necessity with the treatment rendered. The patient's husband expressed his pleasure and thanked me for my co-operation with this matter. I mailed all pertinent information on 7/25/2013 and I'm awaiting the response with the insurance company. I called to check the status of the claim and was notified that it was processed on 8/6/2013 and I will receive a check for the amount of $581.50, once I receive this amount we will gladly refund back to the patient after all account balances are considered. I do apologize for this matter but I had to let the patients insurance preprocess the claim within their time frame and couldn't expedite the matter any quicker. Sincerely, *********** Operations Manager

6/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company has failed to submit a claim to Delta Dental with the provided insurance information and is trying to bill me for it On Dec 17, 2012 I saw Perfect Teeth for an evaluation and X-rays and on Dec 19, 2012 I had a scaling and root planning, with antibiotics. On the first visit, they photocopied my Delta Dental insurance card and called them to verify coverage. After the visit on the 19th I paid my co-insurance amount that totaled around $600. Within weeks I received an "Explanation of Benefits" from Delta Dental stating that the subscriber couldn't be found. I noticed that my name was in the subscriber field although it was supposed to be my boyfriend since I am on his insurance. My boyfriend called them on Jan 3 and spoke to ******* who assured him that the information in our accounts (he had similar issues) would be corrected and the claims resubmitted. I received my first bill from them in early February that showed the portion expected from insurance, $956.20, and had a $0 amount at the top for what was due from me. I wasn't concerned since I know insurance can take some time to submit payment to a provider. Yesterday I received a bill that showed the amount expected from insurance again and also a late fee of $14.34 which is due from me "immediately". I called Delta Dental today and they show that no claims at all have ever been submitted for me, which means that the office did not resubmit the claim as they were supposed to. Today I called Perfect Teeth and asked for the office manager as well as information for the district or regional manager. ******, the office manager, is supposed to call me back by 2PM today. Given the lack of results so far I am not terribly hopeful that much or anything will be done. I am concerned that they will simply turn it over to a collection agency and harm my credit rating for their unwillingness to submit a proper claim to my insurance company. I feel they have acted in bad faith so far and are not upholding what they agreed to do when I had my services done with them.

Desired Settlement: I demand that they immediately submit a claim to Delta Dental with the correct insurance information which is on both my intake form and on the photocopy of my insurance card. I will call Delta Dental to verify this. They are to immediately cease any collection efforts on my account and remove and all late fees that are currently on there or that they may add on there. They are not to attempt to submit this to a collection company for any reason and may not put a mark on my credit report. I am to receive a letter that states that my account is paid-in-full. These are non-negotiable.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (-10, 12, 2013/05/14) */ The claims for December 17, 2012, and December 19, 2012 were submitted both electronically as well as through regular mail. On March 15, 2013, I contacted Delta Dental to see if the claims had been received through the electronic system. Unfortunately, the claims were not showing in the system, and the mailed paper copies had not been received yet. On March 20, 2013, I left a message on the phone number you had provided, explaining that we were having issues with the electronic submission of your claims, but I would be checking in on the paper claims that were mailed in. On April 8, 2013, I received payment for your evaluation and x-rays as well as ************** oral surgery visit on December 6, 2012. I left a message for you at that time to let you know we had received payment for those two dates, but was still waiting on payment for December 19, 2012 and that per our previous conversation all late fees had been removed from the account. On April 16, 2013 I received payment for your visit on December 19, 2012. Again, I contacted you to let you know payment had been received. On April 22, 2013 you contacted our office to pay the remaining patient responsibility of $17.80 on ************** account which resulted from the calendar year deductible being applied by the insurance company. At that time, I also went over the patient balance on your account of $40.00, which was a result of the calendar year deductible being applied. Since then, the balance was paid over the phon Business' Final Response /* (1000, 15, 2013/05/17) */ I am writing this letter in regards to the BBB complaint filed on March 13, 2013. First, I would like to apologize for any miscommunication between our office, your insurance company Delta Dental, and yourself. On December 17, 2012 you were seen at our location as a new patient for an evaluation and full mouth series of x-rays. At that time, due to human error the insurance information with Delta Dental was entered incorrectly with you as the subscriber instead of a dependent on the policy. In January, the subscriber for the insurance, ************, contacted our office to clarify the insurance information. At that time, our office regenerated the claims electronically to Delta Dental. Unfortunately, there were issues with the electronic processing of your claims for December 17, 2012, and December 19, 2012, however, we did receive payment for claims submitted for ************ for his visits on October 2, 2012 and November 29, 2012. On March 13, 2012 you contacted our office due to concerns that late fees were accruing on the account and Delta Dental was not showing claims on file. You spoke with one of the front desk staff, *******, who once again verified the insurance information and regenerated the claims. I also spoke with you on that day to assure you that all late fees on the account would be removed, the claims had been regenerated, and your account was not considered delinquent due to the issues we were having getting claims processed.

5/22/2013 Delivery Issues