BBB Accredited Business since

Aurora Orthodontics & TMJ

Phone: (303) 690-0100 View Additional Phone Numbers 14991 E Hampden Ave Ste 300, Aurora, CO 80014 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aurora Orthodontics & TMJ meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aurora Orthodontics & TMJ
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 09, 1992 Business started: 04/30/1975 Business started locally: 04/30/1975 Business incorporated 01/31/2009 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Dental Examiners
1560 Broadway, Suite 1310, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-7758

Type of Entity


Business Management
Dr. S. Kent Lauson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. S. Kent Lauson, Owner
Business Category

Dentist - Orthodontist

Alternate Business Names
Dr. Kent Lauson DDS Dr. S. Kent Lauson DDS

Additional Locations

  • 14991 E Hampden Ave Ste 300

    Aurora, CO 80014 (303) 690-0400 (303) 680-0020


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I am a former patient of AOTMJ. I was being treated for chronic headaches, jaw, and neck pain. I have had numerous problems with this business which included, HIPPA violations, mental and/or emotional abuse, rude and unprofessional staff, poor communication regarding treatment, as well as various other issues. However, my main complaint that I am submitting here is that the treatment did not work to correct my headache and jaw pain. In fact, I am in more pain than prior to the treatment. While I understand that the contract that I signed did not include a guarantee, I specifically asked *** H. (the saleswoman) prior to signing the contact what would happen if the treatment did not work. The following is the exact response that I received from *** on 4/14/2014 Me: "What happens if the treatment does not work?" *** H.: "That doesn't happen. The treatment works." Me: "No, seriously, what happens if the treatment does not work?" *** H: “If it doesn’t work, at that point we would give you a refund or something…” Based on ***** response above, I am requesting a full refund of my portion of the payment, which was $8,308.00. AOTMJ can keep the portion paid to them directly by my insurance company. Thank you. ******** ****** (****)

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund of my portion of the payment, which was $8,308.00

Business Response:

We provide the best treatment for our patients in every circumstance.  Because this is a partnership between our office and the individual, we are reluctant to share the personal details of the extenuating circumstances regarding ********** treatment that limited us from executing our original prescribed treatment plan.  We remain committed to the completion of her treatment.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Both Dr. ****** and his staff are aware that I followed the treatment plan they gave me and it did not fix my chronic pain. Furthermore, I have been officially diagnosed with occipital neuralgia, so even if I spent the next 10 years treating my "TMJ" problem it would not correct my chronic headaches and neck pain. In fact, the treatment of the TMJ most likely made my occipital pain worse and most definitely caused my jaw pain to increase. I was extremely clear in describing my pain problem when I first visited AOTMJ and what my expected outcome of the treatment should be. Had I known that my pain was not caused by TMJ, as Dr. ****** diagnosed me with, I would have never started the treatment. Dr. ******** treatment plan is designed to treat TMJ, not occipital neuralgia. Plainly put, his plan DID NOT WORK to correct my chronic pain condition caused by occipital neuralgia.

Again, I understand that the agreement I signed did not come with a warranty, however, I SPECIFICALLY asked what would happen if the treatment did not work to relieve my pain and I was SPECIFICALLY told I would be offered a refund. If AOTMJ is committed to their patients, as they say they are, I would think that they would honor their word and provide me with a refund as requested.

I expect a refund of $8,300.00 Please contact me when the refund is available and I will arrange for pick up at your office.

Best Regards,

******** ******-****



******** ****** (****)

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Aurora Orthodontics & TMJ
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)