BBB Accredited Business since

Westerra Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 321-4209 View Additional Phone Numbers 3700 E Alameda Ave, Denver, CO 80209

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Savings, Checking, Money Market, CD and IRA Accounts. Auto, credit card, mortgage and personal loans.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Westerra Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Westerra Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2001 Business started: 05/25/1934 in CO Business started locally: 05/25/1934 Business incorporated 05/25/1934 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Banking
1560 Broadway Ste 975, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-7575

Division of Financial Services
1560 Broadway Ste 950, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-2336

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Denise Hall, VP of Resource Svc Laurie Jensen, VP Member Services Mr. John McCloy, CEO Lexie Vean, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Laurie Jensen, VP Member Services
Business Category

Credit Unions Banks

Additional Locations

  • 10169 S. Parker Road

    Parker, CO 80134

  • 14305 E. Alameda Ave.

    Aurora, CO 80012

  • 3700 E Alameda Ave

    Denver, CO 80209

  • 3700 N Quebec St., Unit 102

    Denver, CO 80207

  • 375 Union Blvd

    Denver, CO 80228

  • 5698 S Himalaya #B & C

    Centennial, CO 80015

  • 7270 W 88th Ave

    Westminster, CO 80021

  • 8174 S. Kipling Pkwy

    Littleton, CO 80127

  • 98 N Wadsworth Blvd Unit 130

    Lakewood, CO 80226


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently lost my job and had a little trouble with my June payment. I have never been late on a payment, if anything I pay months in advance.The customer service representative was the rudest person I have ever talked to in my life. She made me feel worse about my situation, she is not empathetic and has a condescending tone. I talked to her previously about my situation and she twisted two completely different situations/conversations together that did not even correlate. She has a I can't help you attitude and I never felt so helpless about my situation. This is not okay, the way I've been treated is not OK! I applied for the "skip a payment" program and was told I will here something in 2 business days. One week later I called and was told Westerra needs further information because of false notation/notes on my account. I have been jumping through hoops for something that should have been a simple process.

Desired Settlement: I need the process to not only go through but speed up before my next payment is due. i have done the "skip the payment" process before and had no problems. I don't understand why I'm having such a hard time now? I need to know what I need to pay and the representative that i spoke to should be held accountable for her horrible customer service!

Business Response:


Better Business Bureau

3801. E Florida Ave Ste. 350

Denver, Co. 80210


Attn: **** *********


Dear **** *********;


We are writing to you today in regards to complaint ID ******** filed 07/15/2016 by our member *** ***** *******


Westerra was contacted by our member *** ***** ******, requesting to skip a payment/extension, due to starting a new job.


The standard process for these requests is to determine eligibility.  This is done by asking a series of standard questions to all members and requesting additional information when necessary.  The request is then submitted to management for review.  During the review, management determines eligibility with the information that is provided.   If it appears the extension may not help to resolve the financial hardship the manager may request additional information to ensure Westerra is providing the appropriate solution.


In the case of *** ******, upon managements review, the information that was initially provided in the request, did not support the extension as being the appropriate solution.   Therefore management requested additional information, to ensure the appropriate solution was provided. 


Although *** ****** expressed her frustration for the Westerra representative asking for this additional information, the representative could have been more thorough in explaining why this information was being requested.   We strive to provide the best service and the right solutions for our members to help to ensure their financial success, therefore management has taken the opportunity to providing coaching to the representative. 


Since the date of this complaint Westerra has spoken with *** ****** to discuss her concerns and attempt to resolve the situation.  An appropriate solution has been determined based on additional information being provided.  The extension was not the right solution but modifying the monthly payment is; therefore Westerra is moving forward with *** ****** on a loan modification.  *** ****** has expressed her appreciation in identifying and offering this solution. 





******* *******

Sr. Collections Manager

Tell us why here...

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

***** ******


2/25/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is regarding Westerrra Credit Union. I feel they are scamming me out of my money. I took out a 5 year car loan in 2009 and I'm still paying on this car in 2016. Westerra continues to bill me interest on a daily basis and I'm unable to pay off this car. I call their place of business and I get different responses to my questions regarding the bill? I was told last Sept. I had five payments left but they continue to ask for additional money. My standard car payment is 295.73. As of 11-06-2015 they say I owe 203.67. They then say my FINAL payment will be 3-6-2016 in the amt. of 22.76 Then on another page they say Balance of 512.09 amt. due 295.73 due 2-6-16 Then it states 3-6-16 owe 216.36. March was 22.76 now its 216.36. I am in fear I will never be done with this car payment. They just add interest daily which I have been told as well. Please Help. This has gone on long enough and I'm in desperate need to get help here. I need this to come to an end. I hope you can HELP ME. I have lost all trust here. I'm seriously thinking of obtaining a lawyer. I want to retire but this is making it impossible. Sincerely, ***** ******

Desired Settlement: I want them contacted that I am investigating their practices and I want this matter resolved immediately! They are scamming me! I want them investigated and I want to know that they are a legal establishment!

Business Response:

We are writing you today in response to a complaint filed by our member Ms. ***** on 2/8/2016. Westerra received a complaint letter from Ms. ***** on 10/19/2015 regarding the remaining balance on her auto loan.  Ms. ***** believed she made 75 payments since the inception of her loan.  During a phone call on 10/20/15 we informed Ms. ***** only 72 payments had been made.  Westerra sent an email and letter as a follow up to the discussion held on 10/20/2015. In this letter we explained to Ms. ***** that she requested to skip two payments in November 2010 and one payment in February 2013.   Attached to the letter and email sent to our member was the pay history and copies of these extension agreements.   Also included was an amortization schedule of remaining payments, at her monthly installment payment of $295.73 and one final payment of $203.67. The members due date is the 6th of each month.   The month of November Ms. ***** made her regular installment of $295.73 on 11/17/2015, which was ten days past the due date and therefore was charged a $15.00 late charge. This increased the ending balance that was provided to her on 10/28/15 by $15.00. Ms. ***** called in on 12/28/2015 to request a new payoff a***** and was advised it would be $804.57 as of that date of her call. When the representative asked what day she thought she would actually be bringing in the payment, she did not know. The representative advised Ms. ***** that this loan accrued .21 cents a day in interest and that would make a difference when Westerra actually received her payment in full. We received a follow up letter from Ms. ***** on 1/12/2016 that stated she did not understand why we were charging her .21 cents a day. A response letter was provided to Ms. ***** on 1/15/2016 which explained the .21 cents a day was part of the interest figure given to her on the amortization page sent in October. The total interest due was $22.76 from 10/28/15 to 3/6/2016. This was not a charge above and beyond what we discussed in October.  The letter also itemized the interest that was taken from each payment.   Also provided in this letter was an updated amortization schedule through 3/6/2016. In summary, the reason for the payments which extend past the original maturity date, is due to the extensions our member Ms. ***** took advantage of during the course of the loan.  The interest being charged on the remaining balance is minimal and has only been accrued as outlined in her original contract. The $15.00 late charge was incurred when the November payment was paid late.  The responses to Ms. *****’s inquiries have been done so in a timely matter and as descriptive as possible.    If Ms. ***** would like to discuss this matter further we would be happy to discuss it with her. 


******* *******

Sr. Collections Manager 



1/26/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told when I opened this account that the interest rate was .40 and Im getting .20 If you heard the actual call then you hear the lady say that she could get me the .40 You did not listen to the call. I am expecting the promised .40 or I will be following up with the appropriate people. Original Message Date: 1/2/2015 From: Customer Care Subject: RE:Account Problem Welcome to Westerra, Mr. ******, I have asked my manager to pull the call between you and representative that opened this account type for you. After review, the rate discussed on the phone call was 0.2 percent. You may view a list of all our savings rates offered in the link listed below. If you have any further questions, please contact us directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you for choosing Westerra. Original Message Sent: 1/1/2015 2:20:33 PM To: WEST Subject: Account Problem I was told when I opened this account that the interest rate was .40 and Im getting .20 what is going on? If this is the case I will find somewhere else to put my money. Please e-mail me back with your answer. -****

Desired Settlement: I just want the stated .40% interest on my money that was promised with my call to them. That is the only reason I opened the additional account with them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/23) */ Thank you for contacting us about your concerns with the credit union. As per our phone conversation. We did review the call and the interest rate you are earning on the Preferred Money Market is the rate that was quoted over the phone. You stated that you found your notes and confirmed that the rate is correct and that the matter is closed. We appreciate you doing business with Westerra Credit Union. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/01/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for your quick response.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Westerra Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)