BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Denver & Boulder, Colorado

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Sooper Credit Union (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (303) 986-7500Fax: (303) 986-22925590 W Evans Ave, DenverCO 80227-3714http://www.soopercu.org

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Sooper Credit Union is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sooper Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sooper Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
11/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have emailed this company several times, in order to receive a monthly bill. I have never had my emails returned.
I have emailed this company several times, and have these emails saved, asking for a monthly statement mailed to me for my auto loan. They have never answered me back. I feel that if I am making my monthly payments on time every month I deserve to have my monthly statements sent to me. I have no online account in which to check online either. The costumer service from this company is inadequate.

Desired Settlement
I would just like my statements sent to me every month.

Business Response
We do show receipt of three e-mails from Mr. ********* **** one in ***** ****** , and ******** However, the e-mail addresses they were received from does not match the e-mail address we have on file. It is our practice to verify our member's identity prior to providing any account information. Phone contact was attempted without success at the same number listed in his complaint. Sooper Credit Union does not provide monthly statements to members with only a share savings account and an auto loan. He would and did receive quarterly statements and our records show one was mailed to his last known address dated ********* *** ***** The address on record at that time does not match the address listed in his complaint. Mr. ********* *** was provided a payment coupon book and our address and phone number is clearly listed on his loan documents. It is our members responsibility to inform us of any changes in order to keep our contact records up to date. On ******* *** ***** Mr. ********* *** accessed his account through our secure online banking platform and updated his address to the address listed in his complaint. Future statements will go to his new address. We are also generating a new payment coupon book for him. Should he need any further assistance please ask him to call us toll free at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.

05/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sooper Credit Union add unauthorized auto insurance to my vehicle that already had auto insurance on, and also changed the payoff amount on loan.
Sooper Credit Union added auto insurance to my vehicle without permission or prior knowledge. Showed proof of insurance when purchased vehicle and during history of the loan. They also changed the payoff amount on the loan because they are charging additional fees due to adding auto insurnace without approval or knowledge when I already had insurance on the vehicle. Now dealership where I traded my Jeep in wants me to pay more because Sooper credit union changed payroll amount. The dealership sent a check for 18,700. The payoff for loan account ****** was for $18,463.87. I want them to refund me the overpayments they charged me for auto insurance including the overpayment of the payoff. This total is $530.00. I never authorized any changes to my contract this includes added insurance
this should be against the law and null and void

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund in the amount of $530.00 $293 in changing my contract amount and overcharging me on a monthly basis since Dec 2012 by adding auto insurance and $237.13 for the over charging the dealership on my payoff. I also would like to make sure they cannot do this to other customers.

Business' Initial Response
This member has a vehicle loan requiring the borrower to maintain full coverage insurance at all times. If no proof of coverage is provided, three letters are mailed to the borrower and an automated phone system attempts to obtain the required information. If no information is obtained, insurance has to be added to the loan. Copies of the policy are then mailed. A full refund would be granted if proper coverage was in place and the information is provided. This member never obtained the required insurance.

Consumer's Final Response
Case# ******** Consumer: ******, ******

Duplicate complaint referenced above, added as more info received from consumer.

Sooper Credit Union refuses to give me refund after altering my contract
Sooper Credit Union added insurance to my auto loan after I provided proof of insurance at the time of purchase and a refuse to give me a copy of my contract. I never authorized the added insurance. They also changed the payoff amount when I traded my vehicle in they charged the dealership higher then the payoff amount. Dealership is trying to collect from me. I have an ulcer from this and I am sad that they are getting away with this unethical and illegal behavior.

I would like a refund and an apology and for them to be repermanded.

03/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
reported to credit beurea unnecessarily
There are a plethora of small things that have lead to the utter failure of the interaction that I have had with this bank. Begining with a lack of contemporary banking practices to the despicable phone practices of the "collections manager, *****."

1. Due to a lack of contemporary banking features such as auto pay, or the lack of ability to have the bank draft my account/ debit card without paying a rediculous fee, I have been forced to wire money from my wells fargo account to which takes some udisclosclosed time to trnsfer. As I look through the dates in question I dont see a period where I paid more than 30 days late. I have sent a payment every single month!If there is a late payment it is because of their archaic banking system.

2) I called "*****" and tried to describe the many problems with the situation and tried to reach a solution but I was incapabable of finishing a single sentence. He was so rude and incompassionate on the phone I discontinued the conversation and now get the pleasure of spending hours and hours disputing the poor credit reporting practice.

3) other thinngs to consider: I over pay my bill slightly every single month, I am actually slightly AHEAD of my payment schedule, to this end they actually reported the WRONG AMOUNT to the credit agencies. I have tried to update my address with, no success, in their system, as such they sent, according to '*****' 3 letters (to the wrong address) and one phone call in which I said I had forgotten, I would pay (and did)and then they report derrogatoryily after only 30 days of half hearted attempts to do anyhting about the situation. They did not even let me know they had done it!

To summerize, they were wrong to report derrogatory information in the first place, they did it incorrectly, and they were unprofeesional about doing it. If '*****' had taken it upon himself to treat me with an ounce of respect this whole misunderstanding could have been avoided.

Desired Settlement
Fix the derrogatory information on my credit score

Business' Initial Response
March 6, 2013

BBB Serving Denver/Boulder
RE: Case # ******** Credit Reporting
*******************
***************
********************

To Whom It May Concern,

I have reviewed the payment record on Mr. ********'s auto loan for the last two years and find no inaccuracies in our credit reporting. His account was last reported over 30 days late for the October 22, 2012 payment. This particular payment was 42 days late. Mr. ********'s monthly payment has been paid late every month during the two year history I reviewed. Federal regulations require all credit information be reported accurately. We would be in violation of these regulations if we were to modify accurate information. Therefore, we are not able to alter the payment history as requested.

In reviewing the collection comments, it was notated that Mr. ******** may be utilizing Wells Fargo's bill payment system to make his monthly payments. It appears he has not set his payment up on an automatic recurring payment basis and must initiate the transaction each month. Sooper Credit Union has no access or control of that system. I recommend he contact Wells Fargo for assistance utilizing their bill payment system. However, Sooper Credit Union does offer direct deposit and FREE monthly ACH deposit services. We do not and have not charged any fees for these services. If Mr. ******** would like assistance in setting this up please ask him to contact one of our Member Service Representatives at ************.

Mr. ********'s address listed in the complaint matches our system address. I show several late notices and a Consumer's Right to Cure were mailed to this address and no mail has been returned as undeliverable. In addition, Sooper Credit Union has issued a free payment coupon book to help remind Mr. ******** when his payments are due and where to submit them. He also receives quarterly account statements.

I have spoken to our Director of Collections concerning the phone call. I reminded him that it is our policy to provide excellent member service and treat all members with respect and compassion. It appears that this conversation did not go as either party had wished. I apologize for any miscommunication on our part and Mr. ******** can contact me directly should he have any further questions or concerns. I can be reached at 303-986-7500, ext. ***.



Sincerely,



************
Vice President of Lending

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/06/1991Business started: 12/21/1951
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1951, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darrell Mann Mr. Dan Kester (President/CEO)Ms. Donna Ogorek (ext 5641)Ms. Shauna Sansotta
Business Category

Credit Unions

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sooper Credit Union

5590 W Evans Ave

Denver, CO 80227-3714

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5005 W 60th Ave 

    Arvada, CO 80003-6918

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    998 S Chambers Rd 

    Aurora, CO 80017-3067(303) 430-5473

  • 2132 W Colorado Ave 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80904-3352

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5590 W Evans Ave 

    Denver, CO 80227-3714

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2440 Patterson Rd 

    Grand Junction, CO 81505

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sooper Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.