This business is not BBB accredited.

Sooper Credit Union

Find a Location

Phone: (303) 427-5005 Fax: (303) 430-5552 View Additional Phone Numbers 5005 W 60th Ave, Arvada, CO 80003

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sooper Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 06, 1991 Business started: 12/21/1951 Business started locally: 12/21/1951 Business incorporated 12/21/1951 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Financial Services
1560 Broadway Ste 950, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-2336

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Dan Kester, President/CEO Mr. Darrell Mann Ms. Donna Ogorek, VP Marketing Ms. Shauna Sansotta
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Kester, President/CEO
Principal: Mr. Darrell Mann
Business Category

Credit Unions

Additional Locations


    17200 E Iliff Ave STE A3

    Aurora, CO 80013 (303) 430-5473


    5005 W 60th Ave

    Arvada, CO 80003 (888) 766-7371 (303) 427-5005


    5151 W. 60th Ave

    Arvada, CO 80003


    5590 W Evans Ave

    Denver, CO 80227 (303) 986-7500


    2132 W Colorado Ave

    Colorado Springs, CO 80904 (719) 634-3516


    2440 Patterson Rd

    Grand Junction, CO 81505 (970) 242-0123


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a auto refi loan for tomorrow and tried to go online and set up my pay off for my loan with sooper CU and it would not allow me too. Sooper CU was unprofessional and kept hanging up on me when I told them I no longer live in Colorado and cant come in to a branch. They basically wont let me pay my loan off!!! I need my transaction limit raised by tomorrow 4/12 so I can pay my loan off. You cant just not allow someone to pay their loan off when they want to.

Desired Settlement: I want my transaction limit raised by EOB on 4/12/16 so I can pay my loan off. It is not right that they can play these games so more interest accrues when I am able to pay it off today as wee speak. It will already cost me $4 to pay it off tomorrow.

8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would hate for anyone else to be a victim of this companies negligent business practices. Approximately a month ago I received a letter from Sooper Credit Union indicating that my debit card, among others, had been identified as being compromised. They advised a new card and pin would be mailed to me and my compromised card would be automatically deactivated ten days from the date of the letter. None of this was unacceptable and I was happy that my bank had jumped into such serious action to protect my private information. As described a new card and pin arrived and I promptly activated the new card and destroyed the old card. I went about business as usual for a few weeks until Monday, August 10, 2015. I logged on to my account to find two fraudulent charges along with a slew of overdraft fees as a result of the fraudulent activity. One charge was on 8/8 and the other on 8/10. Of course I immediately called Sooper Credit Union, confident they would act with the same urgency as reflected in the aforementioned letter. I was, however, to be disappointed. The representative on the phone told me to call the number listed on the transaction description and politely ask for my money back and if that did not work to call and a "fraud packet" would be sent to me. I advised the merchant wasn't one that I was familiar with and that I would like to just proceed with the fraud packet. She advised that the fraud packet would not be processed if I did not first try to recoup the money myself. The number on the transaction description, XXXXXXXXXXX, was associated with a known scam. I asked if she could lease tell me what card the charges had come from. She advised it was the card that had been identified weeks earlier as being compromised and should have been deactivated per the letter I had received. I asked why this card was still active to which she replied that they hadn't gotten around to deactivating all the cards yet. I asked her to please cancel this card immediately which she assured me she was doing as we spoke. Reluctantly, the representative agreed to send me the packet as my only options were to have it mailed or to pick it up at a branch location. She neglected to mention I could download and print it off the website, which I discovered on my own after digging around the website trying to find any policy information regarding fraud activity on accounts. Thus ended my first attempt to report the incident. Unsatisfied with my first encounter with Sooper Credit Union, I called a few hours later to complain about the situation again and hopefully get a manager or supervisor's assistance. The representative was very apologetic and explained that once the notification letter had been sent out they had received a slew of complaints from members who found the small window for deactivation inconvenient. They decided to unilaterally delay the deactivation but failed to send any notification regarding this delay. As a result, the fraudulent charges were allowed to be processed and the overdraft fees assessed. The representative gave me her email address so I could scan and email the fraud packet and she would forward the claim to the Accounting Department. She also provided me with her personal extension in case I needed her assistance further. But this was to be the extent of her ability to assist me. I was then told to wait 10 days for the Accounting Department to process the request. , I called Sooper Credit Union again to inquire about the status of my report and how I could go about closing the account. The branch manager I spoke with listened to my story in full and told me there wasn't anything anyone could do with regards to the status of my report. I would simply have to wait it out. She did advise she would speak with her manager to get further advice of how to correct the situation. I was put on hold and after a few minutes the call was disconnected. I called once again and was transferred to the branch manager's voicemail. I left a message with contact information and there has been no return call.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that was stolen to be replaced, the overdraft fees assessed as a result to be refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/08/13) */ Ms. ****** was contacted by phone on August 11, 2015 by the Director of Communications to address the concerns on her account. The fraudulent purchases and all overdraft fees were refunded back to her account on August 11, 2015. The matter has been resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/08/13) */ Sooper Credit Union contacted me on 8/11/2015 and apologized for the mishandling of the situation and refunded all fees and fraudulent charges. I appreciate Sooper Credit Union making this right. Thank you for all your help

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have emailed this company several times, in order to receive a monthly bill. I have never had my emails returned. I have emailed this company several times, and have these emails saved, asking for a monthly statement mailed to me for my auto loan. They have never answered me back. I feel that if I am making my monthly payments on time every month I deserve to have my monthly statements sent to me. I have no online account in which to check online either. The costumer service from this company is inadequate.

Desired Settlement: I would just like my statements sent to me every month.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/30) */ We do show receipt of three e-mails from Mr. ********* **** one in ***** ****** , and ******** However, the e-mail addresses they were received from does not match the e-mail address we have on file. It is our practice to verify our member's identity prior to providing any account information. Phone contact was attempted without success at the same number listed in his complaint. Sooper Credit Union does not provide monthly statements to members with only a share savings account and an auto loan. He would and did receive quarterly statements and our records show one was mailed to his last known address dated ********* *** ***** The address on record at that time does not match the address listed in his complaint. Mr. ********* *** was provided a payment coupon book and our address and phone number is clearly listed on his loan documents. It is our members responsibility to inform us of any changes in order to keep our contact records up to date. On ******* *** ***** Mr. ********* *** accessed his account through our secure online banking platform and updated his address to the address listed in his complaint. Future statements will go to his new address. We are also generating a new payment coupon book for him. Should he need any further assistance please ask him to call us toll free at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sooper Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)