BBB Accredited Business since

Public Service Credit Union

Find a Location

Phone: (303) 691-2345 Fax: (303) 639-2921 View Additional Phone Numbers 9990 Park Meadows Drive, Lone Tree, CO 80124 http://www.pscu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Public Service Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Public Service Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 9
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 28

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Public Service Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1938 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1938
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Banking
1560 Broadway Ste 975, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/banking/
Phone Number: (303) 894-7575
banking@dora.state.co.us

Division of Financial Services
1560 Broadway Ste 950, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/financial-services/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2336
financialservices@dora.state.co.us

Division of Securities
1560 Broadway Ste 900, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us
Phone Number: (303) 894-2320

Type of Entity

Cooperative Association

Business Management
Mr. Darryl T. Marksberrry, President / CEO Mr. Steve Ferrero, VP Marketing & Public Relations Ms. Sandra McGill, Business Services Specialist Mr. Chris Stengle, Director of Business Development
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darryl T. Marksberrry, President / CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Planning Consultants Investment Advisory Service Loans Loans - Small Business Retirement Planning Service Financial Services Investment Management Mortgage Bankers Banks

Industry Tips
Financial Planners Investment Fraud

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Public Service Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was repossessed, after contacting the bank I was told that I had 10 day to pay the past due amount plus the repo fees. Also was told that the towing company was a separate fee, not handled by the bank. I made the payment to the bank. After payment was made was told to wait about 24-48 hours so it could be processes. When I try to retrieve my car from the towing I was told that the car was moved to an auction house and had to contact my bank. After contacting the bank, they told me that yes in fact the car was moved. I could not get it back. No other information was given to me. The person was rude and yelling telling me that I was told I only had ten day to get it back. But I was never told that it also interluded taking it out of the towing company. PSCU has not sent any information about the auction date or place so I could attempt to buy the car nor have the given me any other information.

Desired Settlement: Either get vehicle back or similar replacement .

Business Response:

******,

Public Service Credit Union mailed a Notice of Plan to Sell Property on 01/08/16 advising required details of how you were able to obtain your vehicle along with contact information for the credit union.  This notice was sent to the address you had on file with the Credit Union. Public Service Credit Union will mail an additional letter today explaining the details of actions taken. Please contact us with any additional questions you may have. A direct contact will be included in the letter mailed today.

2/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a car loan through Public Service Credit Union. There was a small issue when we were getting drivers set up in the summer of 2015 that caused the insurance to briefly be liability instead of full. We resolved it promptly, provided a letter of explanation to Public Service Credit Union, as well as verification of insurance, a copy of the policy to show deductible limits, and communicated to our insurance company that they were the lien holder. We kept getting notices that they were going to purchase an (unnecessary) insurance policy at an exorbitant rate of $5890/year if we didn't send them the documents. When we received yet another notice from them, I sent all of the paperwork again, as well as a copy of a confirmation email where our insurance agent confirmed the credit union had been notified that they are on record as the lien holder. All of their letters said that they would cancel the policy if we sent them the requested information. The information has been sent now twice, and instead of cancelling the policy, we received a notice that our loan payment each month is nearly double because of a policy they added but didn't need to because they had the documentation. They are saying we have late payments, when in actuality, the amount of the original loan has been paid on time every month since it started. I've also asked them to contact me in writing to tell me what they're missing to cancel the policy, and I've not heard anything, just the form letters and now the past-due notice. I'm afraid their lack of acknowledgement of our communication meeting their requirements will impact my credit and our vehicle ownership.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to drop the erroneous policy as they have promised in their letters, waive the recent $15 late fee, and restore our payments to the correct value of $550/month, not $1,067.71.

Business Response:

If you can provide adequate proof of physical damage insurance for the time frame of July 29, 2015 to September 17, 2015, the remaining CPI premium may be refunded and monthly payments may be adjusted.

 

Our insurance department indicates that adequate proof of insurance was not received in order for us to adjust the insurance that was added to the loan. We did verify the proper coverages were not in placed from July 29, 2015 to September 17, 2015 this was verified by ***** **** during a call.

Our insurance department was notified of personal insurance coverage by ***** **** effective September 17, 2015; the CPI certificate was cancelled and a refund of $5,085 was issued.


Business Response:

Although the vehicle was not damaged during this time, the vehicle is required to have insurance coverage that is provided by the borrower. Per ******* *********, there was no coverage in place from 07/29/2015 to -09/17/2015. If the member can provide us with documentation that there was coverage during that time, we can review the documents and have the correct adjustments made. As stated in our Agreement to Provide Insurance document that is included in loan contracts, we will have Collateral Protection Insurance (CPI) is placed on our behalf to protect our interest in the vehicle.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 11082114

I am rejecting this response because:  You have been provided documentation showing insurance with ***** **** during that time on multiple occasions for Comprehensive & Collision.  

Sincerely,

**** ******

2/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We initiated the process of obtaining a HELOC loan. In order to receive the loan an appraisal had to be completed. PSCU was authorized to take $400 out of our account in order to pay their selected appraisal company to complete the appraisal. After over a month of un-returned phone calls, we were finally connected with the appraiser and appointment to have the appraisal done. The guy came to our house, was here for aprox. 15 minutes and said he had everything he needed. We were told by the bank that it should only take a couple of days before we would have the appraisal so that we could move forward with the loan. Several weeks passed with many more unreturned calls. Finally we were able to get ahold of the contact at the bank. They told us that the appraiser refused to complete the appraisal due to the style of home we have. They told us that they were only refunding $200 because the appraiser was charging a fee for his time. We have contacted the bank many times to dispute this. We paid for the service of an appraisal, which we did not receive. We did not authorize any portion of this money to be taken for any purpose other than the appraisal, and because we did not receive an appraisal our money needs to be returned immediately. It has already been missing from our accout for 60 days.

Desired Settlement: Is to have our $200 returned to our account by January 22nd.

Business Response:

When a member applies for a real estate loan, an appraisal is ordered. The appraisal allows the credit union to determine if we can proceed with the loan request. The appraisal gives us an unbiased professional opinion as to the property’s value.  There are times when an appraisal cannot be completed, and a visual inspection is completed. For the member’s appraisal, the appraiser was unable to determine at the time of visit that the home was considered real estate. The home is a manufactured home that is on a foundation.  The credit union will lend against manufactured homes that are considered real estate, meaning there is a deed and the title was  purged by the county. The trip fee of $200 that was initially quoted to the member was incorrect.  The actual cost incurred was $100.00.  I have refunded the $100.00 trip fee. We apologize for any confusion and inconvenience.

 

 


12/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This credit union overdrafted us while our account was positive in an attempt to send it negative followed my maximizing the number of overdraft charges by approving all charges BEFORE our weekly paycheck (that is direct deposited EVERY thursday morning) leaving us with 71$ out of the 500 on our check. Despite telling them we have a 10 month old son and cant afford for them to do this, they refuse to work with us in anyway.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Wipe the overdraft charges and and stop STEALING which is exactly what these shady business practices are.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/11/25) */ At Public Service Credit Union our members are our number one priority, and we do not have any practices which, in any way, are intended to profit at our members' expense. The member's concern has brought to our attention an oversight with the member's account. We have updated the preferences for the Courtesy Clear pay program, which they may modify at any time. We have refunded the assessed fees to the account, and we look forward to continuing our service to their family.

11/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to provide billing information, late charges for missed payments caused by this failure, refusal to refund late fees I have an auto loan through PSCU. The company refuses to send monthly bills. The only ways I can pay them my monthly obligation are: allow them to auto deduct from my bank account (not with PSCU), call them each month and authorize a withdrawal, or make a payment in person in a branch office. I have missed payments because I did not know how to pay or when the payment was due. I have been charged late fees and they reported me as delinquent to credit reporting agencies. I have only been able to pay by authorizing a payment to the clerk who calls me to ask why my payment is late, and each payment I make is more than double the amount due. This causes my payment due dates to advance a couple months, further exacerbating my inability to know when my payments are actually due. I tried calling and speaking to various clerks and loss mitigation specialists. I was told they would not refund my late fees under any circumstances, they would not remove my negative credit report, and they would not do anything to help me resolve these payment issues.

Desired Settlement: I want all late payment records expunged from my account, all negative credit reports expunged at all credit reporting agencies, and all late fees refunded to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/26) */ Re: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX We have been in contact with Mr. ******** and have discussed his payment options for future payments. We have corrected all late fees, late payments, and credit bureau reporting. Mr. ******** was satisfied with the outcome. If you have any questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union

10/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraudulent Charges on account Been banking with PSCU you 12 years now My account had fraudulent Charges over a holiday weekend went into a branch location to file the report was told i would have my account fixed in 1 to 2 business days I waited the two days nothing had changed??? I kept checking my account 3 or 4 times a day waiting for the money to show back up and after 2 business days, I called again. I was told that they couldn't help that it was on the dispute side and because there had been several cases of fraud they can only process in the order it came in, that they had up to a week to review and accept then reimburse my money and remove the charges. I questioned why their security team didn't stop the charges or attempt to call when the out of counties purchases were being charged back to back to back taking the account into a negative draw. they said it must have not looked out of place to the monitoring team... This place is a joke and I hope they go under. After everything gets resolved I will be changing banks to a more secure bank.Everyone needs to be extremely careful WHEN BANKING OR KEEPING THEIR MONEY IN PSCU.

Desired Settlement: Getting a better System for the fraud center

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/25) */ Re: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX We have contacted our member directly and believe that this complaint has been resolved. If you have any questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union

6/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our car was wrongfully repossessed and we had to pay $2500 to fix something that the company messed up on. So I will sum this up as easy as I can in an email... When we purchased our car back in August our insurance company, ***** ***** sent the lender, Public Service Credit Union, proof of insurance the day after we bought it. Since that time we have been going back and forth with Public Service Credit Union about our insurance, them stating we don't have any and us having ***** **** send them the info as PSCU would not allow us to show proof of insurance it had to come straight from the insurance provider. PSCU then started to charge us for their insurance. When ***** saw this he called to get it straightens out, even called ***** **** again and had them send another verification. This went in for the last few months. On 3/12 ***** talked to a girl named **** at PCSU who told him we hadn't made our payment in two months, this is wrong and I have bank statements to prove it. ***** and her talked she found our payments and stated to ***** she got it all taken care of. We then received letters in the mail from PSCU stating that they got our proof of insurance and were refunding the charges they made to us. At 4am the other morning they repo'd our car. When We called them and asked what happened they stated when they got the insurance info from ***** **** this last time PSCU only verified from Feb '15 to current and we still owed them $2000 for the insurance they were charging us. They stated that we can get the car back when we pay them the $2000 and the impound and towing fees. against our better judgment we paid the $2000 plus $500 in towing and impound fees to get our car back. Now we just received a letter stating we still owe them this month for the insurance. When we called we ended up speaking with *****, he said he was the VP of operations, informed us that all of this was taken care of and there would be no more issues. This is obviously not the case.

Desired Settlement: We would like our money back in hand, the negative credit charged to my credit score taken off and the problem resolved so we do not have to continue to go though this over and over again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/29) */ Re: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX After 4 notifications were sent to *** ******, ********** ********** ********* ***** was added to his loan on 9/18/14. At this time *** ******'s remaining premium is $2,372.00 for a lapse in coverage from June 6, 2014 to October 10, 2014. If *** ****** is able to show valid coverage for that time frame, he may eligible for further refunds. When *** is added to a loan, the loan payment amount is increased to include the insurance premium. *** ****** continued to pay the original amount, and did not include what was needed to satisfy the insurance premium. Due to this deficiency in payments, his vehicle was repossessed on 3/26/15. If you have any questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have provided the bank with proof of our insurance more times then we can count. I have even spoken to the Director of Operations who informed me they had all the information they needed and there would be no more issues. This is obviously not the case. Our insurance company, ***** ***** has also spoken to them several times to give them the verification of our insurance, they have proof of these correspondence. I have spent multiple hours talking to multiple people and still nothing has been done to rectify this situation. I have even gone as far as to supply our insurance information in with our payment in hopes that someone will pass the information on to the right people and still nothing is being done. It appears that the right hand can not talk to the left hand at this bank and something needs to be done in order for them fix this situation or other actions will have to be taken. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/05/26) */ RE: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX We are working directly with *** ****** on a mutual resolution. If you have any questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union

5/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lengthy check holds from one PSCU account to another PSCU account and checks from legitimate companies. In February of 2014 my fiancé transferred 15,000 from his PSCU account to my PSCU account. PSCU put a seven day hold on the check.

Desired Settlement: Transfers between PSCU accounts should be the same day. Reputable company checks that are deposited should clear the same day electronically.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/16) */ Re: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX All checks deposited into an account at Public Service Credit Union are subject to the credit union's check hold policy. Public Service Credit Union's check hold policy is in full compliance with Regulation CC Availability of Funds and Collection of Checks. If *** ***** would like a hold to be reviewed, she may contact us directly, or speak to the branch manager at the time of deposit. We are unable to review the circumstances of a hold that occurred more than 1 year ago. If you have any questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Banking institution refused to honor payout aggreement and ultimately sent back certified check which caused a need for them to then overnight title. *** ***** and her superior refused to accept the agreed upon "payout" which then caused the need for them to have to over-night the title to me. They recognized the conversation about the pay-out but then maliciously refused to honor payout.

Desired Settlement: I am in search of refund of the additional amount for payout which was $18.00 and the charge for the over-night shipping which was 19.00. I also require a written apology from *** ***** and her manager ******* ********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/06) */ Re: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX We have refunded the overnight fee. All amounts owed on a loan must be paid before the loan is closed and the title is sent. Any necessary action for employees will be handled internally, and remain confidential. If you have any questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) this is not satisfactory, I absolutely have not received ANY refunds and furthermore insist on an apology for the horrible treatment and lack of responsibility. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/16) */ Re: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX The fee has been refunded to Mr. ******'s Savings Account. We are confident that, with the proof of this fee reversal, this matter has been resolved in its entirety and no further correspondence with regard to this matter will be required. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union

4/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel my car was repossessed unfairly as I always make agreed payments I have been with the company almost a year unfortunalty I lost my job and became behind on payments every month I would make arrangements with public service to make a payment. On 3/28. I called to let public service know that I was not paid by my current employer on the date I thought I was going to be and would be making a payment on 3/31 this was to voicemail since the department never answered my call. As I was calling into make the agreed payment I had a repo man at my door and though I was making the agreed payment they allowed my car to be taken. Now I am being told that I have to pay 1,125.61 just to get the car released and another $490+ to the repo department. I feel this was unfair as I have been making faithful payments and the last time a repo was ordered soon as I paid they canceled it. The woman I spoke with was very rude and unwilling to help

Desired Settlement: I want to be able to make payment arrangements and to be allowed to get my car back. I am willing to even pay the repo fees. I just need my car back for my wife and two yr old daughter

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/06) */ Re: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX We have spoken to *** ******* regarding the payment necessary to retrieve his vehicle. If you have any questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refused to Return Funds to Bank Acct in Timely Manner On Sunday AM at 7:00am, I went online to check the status of my account to discover PSCU had ran four transactions twice on my account. I attempted to contact PSCU but the customer service rep picked up the telephone and hung up right away after waiting on hold for 14 minuets. When i finally got a rep on the phone it was Monday at 9:30am, I waited 23 minuets for rep, who told me that they had a "System Error due to an Update" which was causing the problem, but the rep could not fix the problem or tell me when the problem would be fixed. I have two children I take care of and to to be able to access my money was a huge hardship on my family. I had to borrow money from my family to get he items I needed to purchase on Sunday. I only got my account resolved on Monday after I yelled at the rep, talked to her supervisor, wrote a long email stating I would contact the police because this was theft, etc.. I don't understand why this error was not addressed immediately and resolved on Sunday. When ****** with PSCU called me I informed him I was canceling my account with them, which I am doing. I thinks is illegal and unfair for a bank to deny access to peoples funds. They had no right to deny me access to the funds in my account because of their own system error. I feel like PSCU tried to steal my money from me, and if I had not contacted them and made a bunch of noise, would they have returned the funds?

Desired Settlement: I want this business to apologize for inconveniencing my family due to their incompetence and to hopefully reimburse any customers who's check's had been returned due to lack of funds. This almost happened to me. ******* was try to run ACH Payment via check I made and they contacted me stating it was being declined. After PSCU was made aware of the situation, conveniently the ******* truncation posted to my account. ******* threated me with a returned check fee. I am waiting to hear from them if they are going to charge me a fee for PSCU's mistake. PSCU won't pay those fees either, per the rep I initially spoke to. I want an apology from PSCU for the mental stress and discomfort they have caused me for two days fighting with them to get my own money bank into my bank account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/17) */ Re: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX This was a system error on our side causing duplicate debit transactions on *** ***** account. The problem was identified and corrected yesterday (3/16/15). All duplicate transactions have been refunded and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. If you have any questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union

3/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PSCU charged us for insurance we did not need nor authorize. ****** ********* sent documents showing coverage. Still want thousands. PSCU shortly after buying our car, charged us for a year's worth of car insurance. We contacted them and showed proof of insurance. They contested this proof and charged us for only two months of car insurance because they did not see the VIN number on the documents we sent. We sent fresh documents with the VIN number, sent directly from ********* ********* ******** They continue to demand payment. They want $2700 for two months of insurance we did not need nor want. They repossesed my car over these charges. It cost us $400 to get my car out of the lot. They damaged my tires when it was towed costing an additional $350 in repairs.

Desired Settlement: I want the charges removed immediately. We would also request $750 in direct damages and $500 in work lost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/11) */ This is outside of purview; Public Service Credit Union has no record of ******* *****, and is therefore unable to respond to this complaint.

3/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've paid a tremendous amount to PSCU overdraft fees, I never agreed to allow you all to charge me theses fees. I can't remember signing agreement This started way back I got a bad check from someone, I didn't know it was bad! I had **** ********** ********** call me and told me it was bad, But they didn't remove it until 2 weeks later! Once they removed it I got hit with over drafts 5-6 in that month July I think, $35 x 6 = $210. It had gotten way out of control, I don't have bank statement they never sent them! Then the next month I was in the red to begin with, I'm on **** I had a Brain Aneurysm, so I have limited math skills now! I went in the bank to try and stop this mess. I ask to talk to someone at there desk, but no I had to explain it in front of everyone, yes I got upset and left, went to my car and called the bank manager! He was even worse, I explained my BA to him, and he keep saying these are your charges to bad! and hung up! I had my son call when we got home so he got them to take 3 off! I have tried calling them, asking them to some how help me get this mess stopped, No one would help, months and months of overdrafts fees! I can't tell you how many times I tried. Come to find out this is a Billion dollar business! I got a email from **** ********** ********** Jan. 10 2015, I sent a email back but again no reply, I just gave up and went to another bank! I have had one over draft from this bank they sent me notice! Thank You

Desired Settlement: I would like them to reimburse me for a the Reording fees, back to when it all started! If they would of worked with me. I wouldn't of come here! I can't come to a total because I don't have any bank statements! take some responsibility for there action or should I say NON action!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/25) */ Re: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX On March 27, 2014 *** ***** opted to have ******** ***** on her account for everyday card transactions. There are fees associated with this service. The options for this service may be updated or canceled at any time per member request. *** ***** continued to use the service, resulting in the account accruing applicable fees. As a courtesy we did refund fees to her account. If you have any further questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is no responsibility on there part, I was never told I could have it stopped! I have never received a notices sent explaining that I had a overdraft fees. Plus I never agreed to any charges, I never signed agreement allowing them to charge me! I went in the bank/called to try and stop this mess numerous times! I got a email from **** ********** ********** Jan. 10 2015, I sent a email back but again no reply, I could not get ant reply from them! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/03/11) */ Re: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX As a courtesy to the member, we have refunded the fees to the account. The member's account has been closed and we will cancel the a placement with our third party agency. If you have any further questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2015/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Public Service Credit Union de activated my debit card without a prior phone call to me. They refuse to provide me details of why it was deactivated. Public service credit union deactivate my debit card on 1/31/15 without contacting me to seek my consent. After constant calls and complains at their local branch I was finally put in contact with their fraud dept. which advised me that they thought there was fraud activitiy and proceed to deactivate account without contact me. I found this practices unacceptable as customers should be first and putting us through an embarrassment situation with a decline transaction is not acceptable.

Desired Settlement: I will like public service credit to officially apologize for their unacceptable customer service and ensure this error is not repeated. As now I have to take time off to go for a replacement card as can not wait weeks to get a replacement through the mail.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/13) */ BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX Public Service Credit Union uses a real-time monitoring system. This system indicated there was a suspicious transaction on 1/30/15. As a precaution, *** ********'s card was blocked at this time. Since the suspicious activity occurred outside of normal business hours, a call was scheduled and placed during business hours. By the time the member was contacted, he had already taken steps to have his card reissued. If you have any further questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) PSCU blocked my card prior to call me to verify the suppose fraudulent activity. I contacted PSCU when My card was declined and they were the ones that told me that I need to replace it. It was not my initiative to replace it. PSCU forced me. I can't believe how they just make a mistake and simply just excuse themselves by saying we were going to call you later. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/25) */ Re; BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX We have contacted *** ******** directly and are of the understanding that all issues have been resolved. If you have any further questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union

1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) Improper due diligence 2) Unauthorized addition of charges to loan 3) Unethical calculation of refund for CPI using Rule of 78ths model I co-signed on an auto loan with my daughter with the agreement she carry the insurance. She unknowingly let the insurance lapse (starting 5/16/14) but I was not notified by PSCU until 7/25 (letter dated 7/11). PSCU maintains they mailed letters to me in May and June, but I never received those letters. They never attempted to contact me via email or phone during this period. Had they, this whole issue would be moot. Upon receiving the letter on 7/25, I immediately resolved the insurance issue (that same day), but by that time, a forced-placed insurance policy (CPI) was already put into place by PSCU. Had PSCU made a better effort to contact me in advance (at least one phone call and/or email), this entire situation would have been avoided. To echo this point, they call 3+ times a week to remind me that an additional amount is due in my monthly payment for the CPI. Secondly, PSCU, per my loan agreement, was not authorized to add the CPI to my loan as another interest earning component. This practice double-dips as it adds principal to the loan, increasing the interest paid while also being accrued using a Rule of 78ths basis according to ***** ******** (the insurance company contracted by PSCU). Lastly, the CPI for a full year of coverage (4/7/14-4/7/15) totaled $3,084. There were 70 total days the insurance was required during the lapse (5/16-7/25 which is equal to 19% of the total term). The contracted insurance agency, ***** ********* calculated the refund amount using a Rule of 78ths basis at 57.7%. I maintain that auto insurance standard-practice is to prorate equally for the time the insurance was actually required and not treat the policy as a loan (to my second point above). In this case, the refund amount should have been calculated as 81% (a difference of nearly $700). For PSCU to contract with an insurance company that uses a Rule of 78ths factor in calculating the refund shows they do not have their members interest in mind - only their own, and is unethical. I believe they use this practice to generate additional revenue when the opportunity presents itself and purposely do not follow reasonable diligence to contact the member as such in advance. Furthermore, to engage with an insurance provider that uses an antiquated and profit-loaded refund calculation (Rule of 78ths) and also an egregiously inflated premium to start, shows immoral and unethical business practice for a non-profit organization. The intent of CPI is to protect both parties in a situation like this. It is not intended as a means for the lender and insurance company to reap additional profit. I have made reasonable efforts with both ***** ****** (PSCU) and ****** ***** ****** ******** ********** to at least compromise on the amount of the refund as a way for us all to move on and put this behind us. Both have stated there is nothing they can do and I owe the amount due.

Desired Settlement: Given the lack of due diligence followed to prevent the CPI in the first place and unwillingness to compromise on the unreasonable amount for the CPI, I ask that PSCU absorb the cost of the CPI altogether and I be granted a full refund. As I mentioned, I have tried to compromise to no avail and at this point, feel taken advantage of and unheard as a member of the credit union. Additionally, I ask that these practices be reviewed for others that may have had a similar experience. Others should be made aware of these unethical and immoral ways for both of these companies to take advantage of these opportunities. I would also encourage PSCU to adjust their notification process to call and/or email customers and re-evaluate the insurance company or companies they engage to protect both parties interest without attempting to unfairly increase their revenue stream.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/05) */ In response to BBB Case# XXXXXXXX, we have notified the insurance provider and are waiting for their reply. We anticipate an answer by Monday, November 10th and will respond accordingly. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ office ************ fax Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Response is "waiting for response". Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/11/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have reviewed the letter from State National. It states there were letters dated 4/30, 5/28, and 6/25 which I never received and ask they provide proof these were received by me. The only letter I received was dated 7/11 and was received on 7/25. I'd also accept proof which shows they attempted to contact me by email or phone during this period (4/30-7/11). The point being, due diligence in this matter was not followed and as a result, I am the one left with this unfair bill. Additionally, PSCU has failed to respond directly to the complaint regarding their decision to use an insurance provider that uses a refund calculation which is not industry standard and is profit driven for the provider. I'd also like PSCU to disclose if it receives any direct or indirect revenue from State National for these policies. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/12/19) */ Re:BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX Our position remains the same. If you have any further questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is address the location at **** N ******* *** in ********* CO XXXXX. We paid off a vehicle on 11/3/14 and they will not give us the title! My wife and I went in on 11/3/14 to start a money market account at this branch. While we were there we paid off a vehicle which was part of loan we had with PSCU. The rep told the title would be mailed to us since we finally paid off the vehicle. So now a MONTH later we still do not have the title to the vehicle!!! I have been promised everyday since Tuesday the title would be available for pick at this branch and it has yet to happen. I have someone who wants to buy the vehicle, but I cannot sell it because I DO NOT HAVE THE TITLE. I do not want to do because it obvious me being upset with them at the location and on the phone is not enough. I NEED TO SELL THE VEHICLE and they have NO RIGHT to hold my title when I have paid off the vehicle and have the documents to prove it! They tell me they'll call when they know something and I NEVER GET CALLED BACK. How do I get a title from the bank for a vehicle I OWN and why does it take them more a MONTH to do so? I need this title by tomorrow or I lost the buyer for the vehicle and this means I'll be out of over $3000.00!!!

Desired Settlement: I am asking to have MY title in question in my hand by the end of business hours tomorrow, Friday, December 4th. If this does not happen by tomorrow, PSCU owns the vehicle since they will not give me the title! PSCU will then owe me the NADA value for the vehicle in CASH. I WANT THE TITLE TO MY VEHICLE.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/12/19) */ Re: BBB Case # XXXXXXXX Title was received on Friday, December 5th. If you have further questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/12/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Yes, the branch manager hand delivered the title to me at my work. I appreciated their customer service to resolve this issue, once the issue was made clear. Thank you PSCU and BBB.

12/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was informed that I did not meet the guidelines of the institution to take the vehicle with me to Germany on military orders. I'm a member of the Financial Institution, who maintains a saving account and vehicle loan. I recently submitted a request for a Lien Holder authorization letter to ship the vehicle to Germany due to receiving Army reassignment orders. I was informed that I did not meet the guidelines established by the institution and I could not take the vehicle with me to Germany because it is too much of a risk for the Company. I did not request to relocate to Germany, and I received Military Orders to go and protect our country, and this is the kind of support I receive from Public Service Credit Union. I was not told in advance when I applied for this loan that if the Army sent me overseas, I could take the vehicle with me. I believe this is bad business practices and misleading to all of our service members who think they take their vehicles with them. All of the other Financial Institutions have always supported me the right way; I have shipped vehicles to Germany in the past, and never had a problem.

Desired Settlement: Receive a Lien Holder letter to transport the vehicle overseas, and to adjust their policies to support our Servicemembers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/03) */ Re: Complaint Case #: XXXXXXXX We have thoroughly reviewed our member's request, and our policy precludes us from authorizing the transportation of this vehicle out of the country. Please feel free to contact me should you need further assistance. Thank you, ******** ***** Member Relations Director ************

8/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wrongful Repossession / FDCPA Violations I have been paying PSCU for my 2004 Chevy Impala for 10 years and still owe 4K. Admittedly I have occasionally struggled making my payments on time. The only time I have been late is when I have been unemployed as I am now. I have however always made accepted arrangements. This vehicle is my source of transportation for my pregnant wife and two toddlers. In addition, is my source of transportation to job interviews so I can become gainfully employed and make my payments on time again. On 06/27/14 I received a phone call requesting I contact PSCU. I called 06/30/14 and spoke to a representative who accepted the arrangements for me to bring my account current 07/07/14. I received an email from ***** ***** 07/03/14 at 5:56pm advising me she needed to speak to me and had until 6pm to reach her giving me a 4 minute window. I called back as quickly as possible; the time was 5:58pm. I received her voicemail. I then called the general line and was unable to reach a representative as the office was closed for the holiday. My vehicle was wrongfully repossessed 7 hours later. This is a violation of the FDCPA and conflicts with the accepted arrangements made 06/30/14. I called 07/07/14 with the intent and ability to pay as agreed by PSCU. I was advised by ***** that I had to pay the 2 past due payments, the payment coming due 07/15/14 to PSCU and any repossession fees to the repossession agent including $25 per day in storage. I asked ***** if she was making demand for me to make a payment that had not come due yet which she confirmed. This is an FDCPA violation. I explained that I had made an arrangement 06/30/14 which was accepted and she advised me that it was not in the notes and since I was unsure of whom I spoke with there was nothing she could do. I find it disturbing and very convenient for PSCU that my arrangement was accepted yet not documented and then my vehicle was wrongfully repossessed at 49 days past due. Furthermore, being advised that I have no recourse is absurd due to a simple internal error by the PSCU representative and as I confirmed all calls are recorded. I have been in the auto finance serving industry since 1999 and I have dealt with wrongful repossessions first hand. I ask that you serve the underserved and stand by the arrangements accepted 06/30/14. I am reeling by the fact that my rights were violated on the 4th of July. This act makes me consider that this loan falls under predatory lending and that I should consult an attorney.

Desired Settlement: Requested Outcome: 1. Allow for me to adhere to the payment arrangements set 06/30/14 and bring my account current and not be required to pay a payment that has not yet come due. 2. To have my vehicle delivered back to my residence with no repossession fees due. 3. That this occurrence not report as repossession on my credit bureau.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/18) */ RE: CASE XXXXXXXX Dear BBB, Please see attached correspondence sent directly to Mr. ****. Please feel free to contact me should you have further questions. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ *********@pscu.org Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Having been in the auto lending / servicing industry for 15 years I understand how an agent can fail to document an account, it does happen. Being an expert in telephony and recording softwares I can also understand how you are unable to locate the phone call, this too is explainable. The fact is that on 06/30/14 I set up accepted payment arrangments to bring my account current 07/07/14 and my vehicle was repossessed 07/04/14 resulting in the wrongful repossession. I will happily pay the past due amount on my loan. Holding me resposible for any fees incurred due to the wrongful repossession is unconscionable. I implore you to own the fact that this was an error on PSCU and do the right thing. Will you allow me to bring my account current and return my vehicle to me? Will you ensure that this does not report as a repossession on my Credit Bureau? Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/08) */ RE: CASE XXXXXXXX Dear BBB, We stand by our response as documented in the attached correspondence. Please feel free to contact me should you have further questions. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ *********@pscu.org

8/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorize Life Insurance Charges and charged ACH tremendous late Fee Charges. Also not acknowledging most recent deposit.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Just not interested in continuing any business aspects with this service because of similar past mistakes with this service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/18) */ RE: Case XXXXXXXX Dear BBB: Upon review of Mr. *******' complaint, I found that Mr. ******* is being billed for insurance that he opted into. If Mr. ******* would like to cancel the insurance, he may contact Affinion at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I have refunded the Courtesy Clear fee that was assessed to the account, and I am confirming that there was a deposit of $5.00 to the account on 07/09/14. Please feel free to contact me should you have further questions. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ *********@pscu.org

6/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unprofessional practices, very unorganized and treat you very poorly. Would not trust banking here.You will not be treated fairly. Received a letter may 17th 2014 concerning the closing of my bank account without any notice. Called spoke to ******* who reopened account temporarily. On Friday May 31st went in to officially reopen account. Waited two hours for manager to help ****** who was helping me but he was busy and so was the supervisor. Never got the chance to speak with the manager instead was told everything would be handled and Monday I should be good to go. Monday I went to store and swiped card said in sufficient funds. I knew I had courtesy check clear but when I called they said this had been removed. I was not aware of this either. I called the main branch to get this error corrected when they too tried several times on 06/02/2013 to speak with manager at the Abilene branch. No manager was available again. I was then told from ****** on the phone at the account specialist department to just go in and speak with a manager in person. I did, go to Abilene and once again no manager was available. Frustrated at this time from the circle they had me running I stated that I did not understand why no one was ever available to help me. Remind you that my voice is going out from all the talking of this issue all day and dealing with five kids I had to speak up. At this point ******** a supervisor decides to step in and ask me to leave or she was calling police she came directly and stood over me. I simply asked her what I was doing wrong and she said I was too loud. I explained that my voice was in normal tone, then she stated that she could get loud too. At this point I took that as a threat as I do have panic and anxiety disorder and on medication. I lost my cool and went off on ********* Soon after the manager called and said I closed your account. ***** then hung up on me and my husband. Called regional manager who never called back and seemed not to care that today the 06/03/2013 my money was sent back from SSI because account is closed. Now my family has to suffer, no food, nothing to pay bills. All that had to be done is a simple resolution instead the unprofessional-ism of the services of this branch has caused a big melt down that in turn has caused my kids to suffer.

Desired Settlement: I would like my account to be reopened and cleared back to the way it was. I also would like the Manager ***** and the Abilene branch to be looked into for his inability to properly manage the bank. ******** should not have a supervision position at the bank as she does not know how to deescalate problems instead she seems as an instigator. I want ***** and ******** to be reprimanded for their actions as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/17) */ RE: Case XXXXXXXX Dear BBB: Upon review of the *****'s complaint, we will reopen the account; however the account is not eligible for courtesy clear. Ms. ***** has been notified that any negative balances must be paid within 45 days, and that the balance must remain positive for at least one business day following payment of the negative balance to avoid account closure. Please feel free to contact me should you have any further questions. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ *********@pscu.org

6/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Public service does not have auto drafting on my account. They habitually draft my account causing me time, and money. Public Service Credit Union does not have my authorization to draft my bank for an auto payment. Public Service is habitually drafting my account then reversing it within days. The bank I use is charging me $35 each time Public Service fraudulently makes these drafts. These fraudulent drafts cause me loss of income due to the time it takes to redress these errors with Public Service and my bank as well as the charges my bank is charging. Copies of all documents are available upon request. I manage my money very well these FRAUDULENT drafts are harming my credit score and causing extreme and prolonged stress caused ENTIRELY by Public Service Credit Union's illegal activity.

Desired Settlement: First-Public Service is to refund all monies I have incurred correcting THEIR errors. Second- In writing I want a PERSONALLY SIGNED not a form letter or auto sign letter from Public Service Credit Union BY A MANAGER OR HIGHER apologizing for these errors and GUARANTEEING this will NEVER, I REPEAT NEVER happen again. I am so disgusted with Public Service Credit Union I am strongly considering ending my relationship with them and going to the media such as Channel 9 or Tom Martino's radio show to spotlight this obnoxious habitual behavior by Public Service Credit Union. I have no confidence whatsoever in Public Service any longer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ 5/29/14 To whom it may concern, In researching this matter, we found that the member did sign up for automatically drafted payments from a third-party financial institution in March, at the inception of her loan with us. The member ultimately requested that this payment be cancelled in May; however, there was a delay in processing her request that resulted in a fee being charged by her bank. Public Service Credit Union has reimbursed the member for this fee. We have spoken with the member confirming that this payment method has, indeed, been cancelled, and we have reimbursed her for the fee caused by the delay in processing her request. The member indicated that she is satisfied with this resolution. Please feel free to contact me should you have further questions. Sincerely, ****** ****** Member Care Representative Public Service Credit Union

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please see attached.

Desired Settlement: Please see attached.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/27) */ RE: Case 75209744 Dear BBB: Upon review of Ms. ********** complaint I found that Ms. ******** visited our branch as a Shared Branching guest member. The policies to assist guest members are provided to us by the Shared Branch Network, and we are required to uphold these policies. As Ms. ******** did not have proper identification (which is a required document per the policy), we explained that we were not able to assist her. We contacted Ms. ********** credit union to inquire if there was any way we could assist her. Her credit union indicated to us that they were not willing to grant any exceptions, and that Ms. ******** would have to provide proper identification for us to perform this transaction on their behalf. We explained this to Ms. ******** and recommended she work with her Credit Union; as we are a Service Center for Shared Branch guests. Please feel free to contact me should you have further questions. Sincerely, Fontella Bates Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union 303.639.2400 office 303.639.2930 fax

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We want a refund from forced insurance on loan. We had a car loan with Public Service Credit Union (PSCU). We provided proof of insurance through our ******** policey. PSCU still forced expensive insurance and added the cost to our loan without contacting us. Later, we received mail stating we were in default on the loan although we had never missed a payment. PSCU raised our payment without our knowledge. They tried to contact us twice but would not discuss the reason for the call. We have received a partial refund on the forced insurance but need to receive the rest of the amount owed. The manager (*****) promised to take care of this but has been tied up in meetings, training, and other activities that prevent her from taking care of the problem. I want my money back and an apology for the false claims and unprofessional behavior on the part of the phone representative and other people involved in this loan. However, ***** (I don't know her last name) has been polite, kind, understanding and professional.

Desired Settlement: I believe we are owed an apology in writting and in person from loan professionals and other personell at PSCU and we expect to recieve the refund and apology within 2 week time frame.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/27) */ RE: Case XXXXXXXX Dear BBB: Upon review of Ms. *********'s complaint, I found that we spoke to ***** **** on 10/23/13 and advised him that per ******** (his insurance provider), collision insurance had not been added to the policy. Collision coverage is required by the Credit Union. We advised Mr. **** to contact ******** and request the declaration page of his insurance policy be sent to us. After this was received, we would then apply for refund. We spoke with ***** ******** (our provider) on 10/24/13 regarding the partial refund given to Mr. ***** ***** ******** indicated the member had insurance coverage, but did not add collision coverage until 10/23/13; this created a lapse in the coverage we require. We placed a call to Mr. **** on 11/07/13, and the call was answered; however, the answering party declined to verify any requested identifying information. We explained we were unable to disclose any information without properly identifying who we were speaking with. The call was then disconnected by the answering party. Mr. **** contacted us on 11/15/13 to inquire about further refunds. We explained that due to the lapse in coverage, as collision coverage was not added until October, 2013, we were unable to obtain any further refunds. He stated that it was ********'s fault and he would discuss this with them. Please feel free to contact me should you have further questions. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ office ************ fax Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I want an apology from them because information about this forced insurance was sent to the wrong address and even though I came in to make a payment on the caliber in person NO ONE ever said to me that a forced insurance had been placed on the vehicle or brought it to my attention that the payment had gone up because of this and I wasn't making the minimum payment. If this had been done the whole thing could have been avoided. AND ***** ****** gossipped to the ******** agent ***** ****** that I and she named me specifically, did not take care of the matter in a timely way and IGNORED all the letters PSCU sent us. This was not true because even though I cannot prove I did not receive these letters, I did not and this is information that ***** ****** at ******** did not need to handle this problem. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/10) */ RE: Case XXXXXXXX On November 29th we were contacted by Ms. **** to guarantee a refund. We sent an email to Ms. **** indicating that we were still waiting for information from ******** regarding the policy. We did receive Proof of Coverage information from ******** on 12/04/13, and we have forwarded that information on to ***** ******** for processing. Once ***** ******** has approved the refund, it will take 7-10 business days for the refund to be credited to the account. Please feel free to contact me should you have further questions. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ office ************ fax

12/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a joint signer on two loans, PSCU is unwilling/unable to update my address in order to provide me with regular monthly account statements. I have been to a branch in person, as well as having spoken to employees on the phone. In each case, I am told I can make no decisions or changes to the account, including the current address because I am not the first signer on the loans. The two loans, a car loan and a signature loan, were taken out and signed for by my wife and I at the same time. She signed one space on the application, I signed the other. They read applicant and co-applicant. I am 100% responsible for payment of these loans, as decreed by our subsequent divorce. However, I have no control over these accounts. However, this was not an issue when I changed the automatic bill pay to come from my personal bank account (different bank). Nor was any of this explained to me. I have tried to remove her from the account, again as decreed by the terms of the divorce, but was told that's not possible. I need to know what the balance of the accounts are so I know when to stop the automatic bill pay. PSCU has done nothing to help me, because I signed under co-applicant, and not applicant. I have been offered no options to remedy this, either. Apparently, even if she was physically unable to make the changes, there is nothing that can be done.

Desired Settlement: I need the account changed to my name. I need regular statements mailed to my address. I have never missed a payment and plan to pay both loans off within two years. However, in order to keep track of this, I need to have access to the loan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/19) */ RE: Case XXXXXXXX In response to Mr. ******'s complaint, I have contacted Mr. ****** by phone and explained to him how he can access this information through our home banking platform and eStatements. We also discussed how a refinance of these loans was possible. He stated he would contact us at a later time if he choses to pursue this option. I also explained to him that automated payments automatically stop when the loan is paid in full, and that the debit would never be more than the standard payment amount (or the owing amount if less than the standard payment). I gave Mr. ****** my contact information should he need further assistance. Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ office ************ fax

11/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I purchased a car through a dealership using Public Service Credit Union, two months before we were ripped off by our business partners who threatened to kill us. Because of this situation we were in shock and unable to work because of fear. We borrowed money from family to survive until we could pull ourselves together. Of coarse there was a time when we had a 4 month lap in our insurance on our new car. At that time, we were not even leaving our house much, had another car, and were not driving the new car.Because of our lapse in insurance, the bank has charged us $300.00 per month, as a punishment and added on their own insurance.So where I would pay $70.00/month, the bank charged $300.00. Because of this fee, it has caused us to lapse two other times. The second lapse cost us $630.00/month. And the third more. This is absolutely outrageous!!! I can see maybe a $25.00 fee above my current rate but $630.00 dollars a month?This insurance does not follow Colorado state law and only covers the car and not our family if we were in an accident- this is against state law. The bank did not inform of us of this when we initiated the loan through the dealership. Employees of the bank said this should not be happening as we did not initiate the loan through the bank directly but through the dealership. We at no time, were informed of this and believe they are applying rules to our loan that are for the direct in bank loans. This is an unfair and ridiculous amount to be charged and we never agreed nor were we informed of this upon signing. Speaking with the bank manager does not help nor will she research the polices for the loans. Product_Or_Service: Mazda Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Give me all my money back and pay me $10,000 for the hardship and emotional grief they have caused my family.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/13) */ RE: Case XXXXXXXX Dear BBB: Upon review of Ms *********'s complaint, I was able to ascertain that there were lapses in insurance coverage, and that notices were sent to the ********** requesting they correct the issues before we added our insurance coverage. All funds for the added policies are owed. Page 3 of the ************ Retail Installment Contract states that they are required to maintain insurance coverage, and if they do not we may ask a third party to insure our interest in the collateral. Insurance we purchase in these situations is costly and we simply pass along the costs. Colorado State law (Colorado Revised Statute §42-7-103(2)) requires motorists to carry liability insurance to cover the damage to another. As the financial institution we do not have any legal responsibility to provide for Colorado required liability insurance. The insurance we force placed is contractually required to cover our collateral on the loan. We have sent the following correspondence to the ********** regarding their insurance: 12/28/11 Welcome letter 01/25/12 1st insurance notice 02/29/12 Lapse notice 07/04/12 1st insurance notice 08/01/12 Final insurance notice 09/26/12 Lapse payment change notice 01/02/13 1st insurance notice 01/30/13 Final insurance notice 02/13/13 Lapse notice Please feel free to contact me should you have further questions. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ office ************ fax

11/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid the amount of $1000.22 I have screenshots up until I went to the bank to close my account saying I owed $1000.22 then they tell me i owe $5.47 I paid off the total amount of $1000.22 . I have screenshots up until I went to the bank to close my account saying I owed $1000.22 then I get there they tell me i owe $5.47 in interest charges which did not appear on my online statement or mobile app. I show them my mobile app telling them that this isn't listed and they tell me there is nothing they can do? how can you be given a pay off amount from the teller , website mobile app all saying $1000.22 and it's paid off and the second i try to close the account there is suddenly $5.47 interest?

Desired Settlement: I want the $5.47 back They made me pay them to close the account and feel they did this so they wouldn't have to pay me the $5 for opening the account no one there could explain how the interest was missed or why it didn't show up on any of my billing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/05) */ To whom it may concern: A check payable to Mr. ******, in the amount of $5.47, was placed in the mail today. Please feel free to contact me should you need further assistance. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ office ************ fax Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) thank you my money back is all I wanted. thanks again

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please note that while I had requested from PSCU to update my account payments from a monthly to a weekly format, PSCU refuses to modify my account. Moreover, PSCU continues to assess a monthly late fee (of $15)while weekly $100 payments are been made (via direct deposit) to resolve the debt I incurred with this business.I am now making a formal complain to note that PSCU will not change nor will allow any modification to the payment formt provided above.The payments provided to PSCU are to close an unsecured loan and overdraft line of credit balances which have been reduce from their original balances and weekly payments (every Friday with $100) continue to be made via direct deposit.The sad part of all this process, is that I had been treated like a criminal for requesting an update to my accounty and had been toll that unless I call every week to update payments, a monthly interes and past dut notice will be send to my attention, ever while making weekly payments.PSCU, as provide for the last few months, is unwilling to resolve its accounting procedures and make any modifications to the accounts currently under payment. I believe, PSCU will rather collect monthly payment on 18% interest accounts, rather that work with an under employee individual that is willing to pay off any debt to PSCU.Please, have PSCU change the monthly accounts to weekly payments, to fully pay these accounts and adjust its interest profit to reflect this change, I believe 9 months (begining in ***** ***** of weekly payment (via direct deposit) should reflext on my williness to pay off my debt with PSCU.Thank you. Product_Or_Service: unsecure loan/overdraft line of credit

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Have PSCU modify the account to reflext the true value of weekly payments instead of monthly payments, and reduce PSCU interest charges accordingly, thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/25) */ To Whom It May Concern, Public Service Credit Union does not offer a loan product with weekly payments as a standard payment method. The way we can accommodate Mr. ***********' request is to move the loan due date to the last day of the month and Mr. *********** may pay his loan as he would like ensuring the full payment is made before the due date. All late fees and interest will be assessed as contractually agreed. If this meets with Mr. ***********' approval, he can contact me directly and I will be happy to process this change for him. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ office ************ fax Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2013/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will find a way to conmplete payments and take care of my health. thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/11/05) */ To Whom It May Concern, We are unable to set up recurring payments; however, Mr. *********** can contact us to have the payments transferred, he may set up recurring payments via home banking, or he can set up payments via ACH from a third party financial institution. It is Mr. ***********' responsibility to ensure that his payments are paid as agreed. If the direct deposit amount is changed to $10.00 per week, that amount will not be sufficient to make the loan payments on a weekly basis. Please feel free to contact me should you need further assistance. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ office ************ fax

11/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: deposited a check on saturday at atm showed up in account and then funds made unavailable leaving me stranded in denver for 2 days. finally got into contact with the branch mgr. on tuesday and she said she convinced them to give me provisional credit but they didn't think the check was" legit" because it was a personal check and not a business check? and they don't check their atm's every day to get checks a company does that for them .then she talked down to me and made a treat to reverse it and take the funds back out. they also will not refund any 3rd party late fee's that they caused me in not giving me my money or an apology for treating me like **** and leaving me stranded in denver for 2 days and 4 days with being able to eat because I live paycheck to paycheck.

Desired Settlement: they will not refund any 3rd party late fee's that they caused me in not giving me my money or an apology for treating me like **** and leaving me stranded in denver for 2 days and 4 days with not being able to eat because I live paycheck to paycheck.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/10/10) */ Re: Case #XXXXXXXX To Whom It May Concern, Mr. ****** attempted to make a deposit at one of our ATMs on 09/21/13. Due to a malfunction with the ATM, the deposit was reversed. As disclosed, PSCU is not responsible for loss due to a malfunctioning ATM; however, Mr. ****** was granted full provisional credit within 24 business hours after notifying us of the problem. Please feel free to contact me should you need further assistance. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ office ************ fax Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) their atm messed up and I am left to pay for their mistake not mine. I was left stranded for 2 days and was not given credit until day 4 . I was left in a dangerous situation and had to sleep in my car on the streets without food or water before I was finally able to borrow money to get back home then a day after was back home was finally given me credit. causing $30 late fee because of their atm malfunction. how can a credit union treat their members who own the credit union like complete rubbish Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/10/21) */ To Whom It May Concern: If Mr. ****** would like to provide us with documentation of the $30 late fee, and if it can be determined that this fee was the direct result of the delay caused by our malfunctioning ATM, we will gladly pay for this fee. Sincerely, ******** ***** Member Relations Director Public Service Credit Union ************ office ************ fax


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Public Service Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart