BBB Accredited Business since

Premier Members Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 442-8850 View Additional Phone Numbers 5505 Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80303 View Additional Email Addresses https://www.pmcu.org/index.html View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Premier Members Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Premier Members Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Premier Members Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 17, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1966 Business started locally: 01/01/1966
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Banking
1560 Broadway Ste 975, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/banking/
Phone Number: (303) 894-7575
banking@dora.state.co.us

Division of Financial Services
1560 Broadway Ste 950, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/financial-services/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2336
financialservices@dora.state.co.us

Division of Real Estate
1900 Grant St Ste 600, Denver CO 80203
http://www.dora.state.co.us/real-estate/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-2166
real-estate@dora.state.co.us

Business Management
Ms. Andrea Balazs, Community and Public Relations Specialist Mr. Rick Allen, President & CEO Mr. Jason Bauer, VP Communications/E-Commerce Ms. Jessica Hoyle, Senior VP of Retail Operations Mr. Carlos Pacheco, CEO Mr. Matt Rarden, Chief Operating Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Andrea Balazs, Community and Public Relations Specialist
Business Category

Credit Unions Mortgage Lender Banks

Alternate Business Names
Boulder Valley Credit Union Boulder Valley Credit Union- Broadway Branch Boulder Valley Credit Union- Estes Park Branch Boulder Valley Credit Union- Louisville Branch Boulder Valley Credit Union- Riverbend Branch
Industry Tips
Mortgage Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Premier Members Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1156 West Dillon Rd

    Louisville, CO 80027

  • 12379 W 64th Ave

    Arvada, CO 80004 (720) 890-0404

  • 2142 N Main St

    Longmont, CO 80501

  • 2667 Broadway St

    Boulder, CO 80304

  • 2921 W 120th Ave Unit 100

    Westminster, CO 80234

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    453 E Wonder View Ave

    Estes Park, CO 80517

  • 5505 Arapahoe Ave

    Boulder, CO 80303 (303) 449-9600 (303) 442-8850

  • 5505 Arapahoe Ave

    Boulder, CO 80303 (303) 449-9600 (303) 442-8850

  • 600 S Airport Rd

    Longmont, CO 80503

  • 6300 Diagonal Hwy

    Boulder, CO 80301

  • 800 Coal Creek Cir

    Louisville, CO 80027

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8080 Colorado Blvd.

    Firestone, CO 80504

  • 8440 N. Federal Blvd.

    Westminster, CO 80031

  • 9625 E Arapahoe

    Greenwood Village, CO 80112 (303) 449-3551

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
5/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2015, I joined the Premier Members CU and took out a HELOC to buy a townhome. In December 2015 I repayed that HELOC in full. At the time the loan was repaid we were still in our grace period and so no interest should have been charged and paid by us. We were charged interest and those funds were never returned to us even after I requested them. In March I decided to close my account with them and requested the return of the $380+ in that account by mail and e-mail. I also filled out a form they sent me, based on my request, for notarized signatures of my wife and myself to facilitate that closing and transfer of funds. After several weeks I did not get any response to my contacts so I on April 7, I sent a letter to Mr. **** ****** explaining my concerns and requests for return of our funds. I gave Mr. ****** until April 25, to contact me and or return our funds. As of the date of this complaint I still have not received my money nor a contact regarding my complaints.

Desired Settlement: I want the balance of my savings account of $380+. I would also like the return of the interest we were improperly charged for the loan we paid off with them for $1,600.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *******,

 

This letter is in response to recent correspondence regarding concerns you had with your HELOC loan with us and associated account closure.  Thank you for taking time to express your concerns and provide details around your experience with Premier Members. 

 

I want to apologize for the experience and let you know we appreciate your feedback. We take opportunities like this to help drive continual improvement in our training and business processes. 

 

We reviewed your HELOC loan and associated transactions through to its payoff and closure. Our review has concluded that loan interest, loan payments and the loan payoff were calculated and processed correctly.

 

We also researched the savings account closure request that you sent to Premier Members. Our research indicated that the address for your savings account was a prior address and had not been updated prior to closure. This resulted in the account being closed and the proceeds mailed to the address on record. We have reprocessed your account closure request and have included the proceeds with this letter. We are attaching all statements of your accounts, from account open on June 12, 2015 to March 31, 2016, for your review.

 

Thank you again for your letter, patience and the opportunity to work through this issue.  If you identify any transactions on your statements that have been incorrectly applied or processed, please let us know.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

**** ******

COO, Premier Members Credit Union

11/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Premier Members Federal Credit Union is continually sending me unwanted advertising material by mail. I have written to Premier Members Federal Credit Union twice and also discussed the issue with a manager in the **** ******** **** ******** ** XXXXX branch requesting they stop sending me unwanted advertising material. On each occasion they have assured me that the advertising mail would be stopped. Unfortunately, the unwanted advertising material from Premier Members Federal Credit Union has not stopped.The unwanted mail is cluttering my recycle bin and costing me money to dispose of the junk mail. The junk mail is always the same life insurance policy that I am not interested in.I am disappointed a company I am trusting with my money is blatantly lying to me about them stopping their junk mail. To me this indicates Premier Members Federal Credit Union is an untrustworthy and deceitful company.In my last correspondence with Premier Members Federal Credit Union I said that if I received any more unwanted advertising material from them I would lodge a complaint with the BBB and if this did not resolve the problem I would close my ******** with Premier Members Federal Credit Union.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) 1. I would like Premier Members Federal Credit Union to stop lying to me when they claim they will stop sending unwanted advertising material to me.2. I would like Premier Members Federal Credit Union to stop sending me unwanted advertising material that is cluttering my recycling bin and costing me money to dispose of their junk mail.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/04/29) */ April 29, 2015 Dear *** ****, I am in receipt of the complaint that was filed on your behalf with the Better Business Bureau. I want to apologize that we were not able to meet your need of opting you out of third party mailing, specifically the AD&D life insurance. I have reviewed your membership with Premier Members, and was able to confirm your request of opting out. When you notified us the system was not properly updated. I have since updated your membership to opt you out of third party marketing, and have also confirmed that your information will not be included in future mailings. I apologize for the inconveniences this has caused you. Thank you for choosing Premier Members, and your continued business. Sincerely, ******* ***** Sr. VP of Retail Delivery Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/05/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear *******, I have heard this story of being opted out from two of your representatives already and it has made no difference, I still receive your life insurance offers. What make you think it will be any different just because you say I have been opted out of receiving third party marketing offers? What you are telling me is three of your staff members including a supervisor are not properly trained in using your system because as you said, "the system was not properly updated"? That seems to me to be a bad reflection on the training and professionalism of Premier Members Credit Union staff, doesn't it? Why doesn't Premier Members Credit Union do the right thing by it's customers and give us all the means to opt-in if we are interested in receiving your offers. If you had any respect for your customers you would have an option on your website where we, your customers could at least opt out of your advertising offers without resorting to calling one of your poorly trained representatives. It should not be this difficult to stop unwanted advertising material filling my mailbox and costing me money to recycle. Unfortunately, I do not believe you when you say I "will not be included in future mailings," I have heard this story before! Regards, ****** **** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2015/10/21) */ Consumer filed duplicate complaint (#XXXXXXXX) regarding the same issues: I am still receiving unwanted life insurance offers even though Premier Members Credit Union assured me they would stop sending them. I am still receiving unwanted life insurance offers even though Premier Members Credit Union assured me they would stop sending them. Please refer to BBB complaint XXXXXXXX dated 8/9/2015. In the response from the "Sr. VP of Retail Delivery" I was assured Premier Members Credit Union would stop sending me unwanted junk mail because I was opted out of third party mailing. The "Sr. VP of Retail Delivery" is continuing to tell lies because I received junk mail from Premier Members Credit Union on 8/4/2015 and again today on 10/20/2015. Does Premier Members Credit Union have no respect for its customers? My desired resolution is for Premier Members Credit Union to stop sending me junk mail, specifically life insurance offers. I would also like the "Sr. VP of Retail Delivery" to stop telling me lies, specifically when she says, "I understand your frustration that you have had in regards to opting out of third party mailings, and that our staff telling you that this was completed. I have spoken with the staff member's and showed them specifically what needed to be done on the system to avoid this from happening to another member in the future. My sincere apologies for causing you to be misinformed and receiving marketing material you do not wish to get. Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you in the future. Sincerely, ******* ***** Sr. VP of Retail Delivery" Ms. Sr. VP of Retail Delivery, I am still receiving unwanted marketing material. Please stop sending me your trashy advertising material. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/10/29) */ Premier Members extends our sincerest apologies to you for continuing to receive unwanted mailings, and accept full responsibility for not ensuring the process achieved its intended results. Our system shows your individual record to be excluded from third party marketing mailings, however, this coding did not translate to our third party vendor. Our third party vendor has also offered to contact you and offer both their assistance and apologies for the oversight on their side. Due to the advanced scheduling of these mailings, you may receive two additional letters in late October and November of 2015, as there is up to a 90-day lead time and the letters are already being processed by the US Postal Service. We have thoroughly investigated the reasons behind this, met with our third party vendor, and have ensured you will be excluded in all future mailings from them. We have reached out to you directly to further explain the situation and associated solution, and sincerely appreciate your continue patronage.

6/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have experienced improper debt collection practices and harassment. Good morning, I contacted premier members fcu in regards to 2 car loans that were taken out with my ex husband. He has been ordered to pay via the divorce decree, however, these accounts are greatly affecting my current situation. I contacted premier members fcu and talked with an individual by the name of ******. i advised her that i wasn't very educated in this and would seek help. I gave her permission to talk to my boyfriend to get this resolved and ****** decided to be very rude. She refused to communicate via email from work, which is the only convenient time we can speak, which still is not convenient. After ****** decided to be rude via email my boyfriend made efforts to call her from a co workers phone. She was also advised that we didn't have a contact # @ that time because we were awaiting the new phones from insurance. My boyfriend made approximately 5 calls in order to get in touch with, with the majority of the calls being sent to voicemail. My boyfriend talked to an individual other than ****** @ a different # located for premier members.She allowed us too hold until we could be transferred to ******. Once transferred over to ******, she immediately began with her bad attitude again. Answering the phone saying yes? i got all of your emails what do you want? my boyfriend advised her that he was looking @resolution for the 2 files and that it was not very professional to speak to him in that manner when he has done nothing but try and resolve the debt. ****** got very irate, stating things like "i have been doing this for 25 years" and "shut your mouth" also"don't get your blood pressure up". Not only that ****** began to taunt us as if she wasn't doing anything wrong. We requested for a supervisor multiple times and she refused to pass to a supervisor. We advised her that we could afford to pay $50 / month but we're looking to settle as soon as possible. ****** stated $50 was unacceptable and the balance was too large to rectify such a payment. we advised her that we have been trying to get a copy of our financials over to her prior but would not at this time based on behavior. We asked many times for someone else to be of assistance. I don't believe that they're giving us a fair opportunity for resolution.

Desired Settlement: i don't believe a business that allows its employees to represent them in such a fashion should be in business. Also, If i end up having to pay this debt, even though it was ordered for my ex husband to pay in the divorce decree, i would like a fair chance to get this paid. Also, if possible i would like a reasonable settlement offer to get this resolved based on my financials.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/07) */ *** ******* called PMFCU on March 6, 2015 asking a representative to speak to her boyfriend about her charged off loans. Loan **** (auto loan: **** ********** ****** *** ****** was charged off on 10/31/2014 in the amount of $20,463.40, and loan **** (under another membership; auto loan: **** ********** ****** ********* was charged off on 7/28/2014 in the amount of 17,087.22. At the time of charge off a charge off letter was sent to all borrowers for both loans. *** ********** boyfriend asked if PMFCU would settle for $5000.00. It was expressed to both *** ******* and her boyfriend that we would not be able to accept this offer due to the loan balance as both loans totaled $37,550.62, with interest= $39,242.00. PMFCU counter offered back at 75% of the loan balance still owed and that PMFCU would accept payments but first had to provide a financial affidavit so that PMFCU could see what acceptable payment arrangement could be made. Both *** ******* and her boyfriend said they would talk about it and call the representative back. On March 7th, *** ********** boyfriend emailed the representative stating they would like to set up an agreement to come to a resolution on the two files. The representative emailed *** ********** boyfriend back and stated again the best we could offer was 75% of the loan balance which would be $29,431.50. The representative left her contact information with the boyfriend. At this time "boyfriend" emailed back on 4/8/2015 and stated he has tried calling the representative several times and she does not answer her phone. And that he does not leave messages because he does not have a cell phone and the best way to communicate is through email. He stated at that time to the representative through email that she must have an issue communicating through email and asked that *** ******* be "CC" on all emails. The representative at this time emailed the "boyfriend" and *** ******* back and stated that she did not feel comfortable sharing *** ********** account information through email. "Boyfriend" emailed the representative back and stated that she has already shared information and did not know what the concern was now. He asked if there was someone else he could talk to as the representative was being less than helpful. *** ******* emailed the representative at that time stating it was ok to provide her account information through email to her boyfriend. "Boyfriend" then called and spoke to representative and stated that he was not willing to work with her and started to use foul language with the representative and started yelling at the representative. At that time the representative expressed she was going to end the call if he continued to use that kind of language and yell at her. "Boyfriend" then stated he wanted to talk to a manager. The representative's manager was not available at that time and she expressed this to "boyfriend" and said that she could put him into her manager's voicemail and "boyfriend" refused. "Boyfriend" then stated that she was refusing to let him talk to the manager. The representative's manager became available towards the end of the call and the call was transferred to the manager. "Boyfriend" stated to the Collection Manager that he wanted to rectify his girlfriends account but wanted to first start off stating that he did not appreciate the conversation he had with the previous representative. The manager stated she was not there for the call but gave her word that she would talk to the representative about the conversation that took place. The manager then asked how she could help him. Boyfriend continued to be irate, cursing and yelling about how the representative was violating several laws and that he was going to file a BBB complaint. He continued to go round and round about the representative. The manager again apologized as she was not a part of the conversation but expressed again that she would talk with the representative. "Boyfriend" then asked why we would not accept a $5,000.00 settlement offer. The manager expressed that we could not take a settlement offer like that because the balance was so high. She stated that PMFCU would accept an offer of 75% of the loan balance. "Boyfriend" continued to yell at the manager and asked how we got that number, and PMFCU hasn't received *** *******' financials yet. "Boyfriend" demanded the manager to accept the offer. Manger expressed that was the first initial offer due to the fact that we have not received financials from *** *******. The manager at that time expressed to "Boyfriend" that if *** ******* would like to provide financials, PMFCU would review. "Boyfriend" at that time provided his email address to send a financial form to him so that *** ******* could provide her financials. Manger emailed the financial form on 4/8/15 and the member has not returned the form, called back or emailed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response to my complaint is completely fabricated. They didn't provide correct information in regards to the phone call. They are trying to make it seem as if they did nothing wrong and that the issue was my boyfriend which was not the case Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/22) */ This is the representatives response as she was the one who originally spoke to *** ******* and then her boyfriend: X-X-XXXX: My 1st conversation with ******* was on March 6th. At this time she asked that I discuss the loans with her boyfriend ***** *****. *** ***** then got on the phone and asked what the current balances are on both outstanding loans. I gave him the balances and he wanted to know if Premier would be willing to settle the loans for $5000.00. I explained based on the balances due I felt the best they would consider would be 29,431.50 which is 75% of the loan balances. He said he wanted to discuss this with ******* and would get back with me. 4-7-15 I received an email from *** ***** - He was contacting me in regards to *******'s loan. I replies asking him how I could help him. 4-8-15 During the morning Premier Members staff were all in a meeting regarding the upcoming merger. This took me away from my desk, which during this time I must have missed calls from *** ***** because he was not happy about the fact I didn't answer my phone. I received an email from *** ***** stating he wanted to set up an agreement in regards to her two loans. Also asked again for the balances and the settlement amount that would be the offer for each loan. I replies by reminding him of our conversation on March 6th that Premier would settle for $29,431.50 I than said please let me know what additional information he may need. I also gave him my direct line number. The next email from *** ***** was that he was trying to get this done on the time he has available. He stated any other time is inconvenient for him. He said he had tries to call me 3 times that day and I never answer was what he had wrote. He also stated I should check my caller id. *** ***** asked me if I had a problem with communicating via email. I I replied stating I do have concerns with communicating through email. He replied that I had already put *******'s information on email so he doesn't understand the problem I have with it now. He then emailed his girlfriend and asked to respond to the chain of emails so I would reply. ******* emailed stating I had permission to discuss this matter with him completely. *** ***** called me shortly after the email was received from *******. I answered the phone, yes ****** how can I help you? He right away felt I was being rude. I told him that was not my intentions. He was very upset and commented on me not answering my phone. I tried to explain I was in meetings all morning. Based on *** ****** frustration I was trying to explain to him the settlement offer. He used the f word. I told him I wasn't going to listen to that and would end the call if he continued. He continued to yell at me. I asked him if that was the way he talked with his customers? I told him I was trying to discuss this professionally and he continued to yell over me. He then said he was going to file a complaint for all the regulations I've violated. I asked him what regulations I've violated. He just continued to yell at me about different things other than the loan. I told him I've been in the collection industry for over 28 years and I assured him I didn't violate any regulations. He asked to speak with my manager. I said you can't at the moment. He started yelling again stating I wouldn't allow him to talk with my manager. I raised my voice to have him hear the reason he couldn't talk with my manager is because she was not available at that moment. I asked if he wanted her voicemail and he said no he wanted to speak with her boss than. I said I could put him into my manager's voicemail but that I wasn't going to contact her manager. He continued to yell at me. I than saw that ****** was now available so I forwarded the call. ** ***** is not on this loan and as a courtesy, and with approval from *** *******, we spoke to *** ***** to find a solution with the charged off loans in *** ********* name. There were three other representatives that overheard the conversation the representative had with *** ***** that can validate what the representative said to *** *****.

4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged me a loan add on fee for no Insurance on an Auto Loan. I submitted proof of Insurance and they refuse to give me a refund. I purchased a vehicle IN 11/13/2014, A 2003 CHEVROLET AVALANCHE from Insight Automotive 1877 Vista View Drive, Longmont, Co. XXXXX, PHONE (XXX) XXX-XXXX I put $6,000 cash down and financed $8,134.69 with Boulder Valley CU 5505 Arapahoe Avenue Boulder, CO XXXXX. I made my first 2 month payments on time with no problems. Then I was checking on my account one day on 03/08/2015 and found a Transaction that stated, 02/26/2015 Loan Add On CPI PREMIUM XXXXXX-XX Was charged to my Auto Loan without any warning. I submitted proof of Insurance when I purchased the Vehicle that was active the same day 11/13/2014. My Insurance Info; Policy number XXX XXX XXX Your Allstate agency is Hajek Insurance Grp (XXX) XXX-XXXX **********@ALLSTATE.COM. I have submitted several E-mails to them providing proof of Insurance as well as my Insurance Agent. Here is the last response I received from them on 03/16/2015, We have received and submitted to our processed evidence of valid insurance. To obtain a full refund, your agent must verify proper coverage for the duration of your policy period as stated previously. My agent has sent them at least 2 faxes or more and I still have not been sent a refund. I feel like I'm being EXTORTED.

Desired Settlement: Charged me a loan add on fee for no Insurance on an Auto Loan. I submitted proof of Insurance and they refuse to give me a refund. I want the money back that they Stole from me plus the additional Interest that they are currently charging me through increased payments.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ Multiple letters were sent to the borrower explaining Boulder Valley Credit Union needed verification that the vehicle was insured and that Boulder Valley Credit Union was listed as a lien holder. Mr. ******* provided insurance information at the time of the purchase, but Boulder Valley was not listed as lienholder. Forced placed insurance was added on 2/28/2015 due to BVCU not being listed as lienholder with his insurance company. We were able to get infromation at a later date showing proper insurance coverages and BVCU was added as lienholder. On 4/2/2015, a full refund of the forced placed insurance was given to Mr *******, and the credit was back dated as to not charge additional interest on the larger balance. The larger payment Mr. ******* made on 3/12 due to the added insurance was applied to the principle balance of the loan, and not to the insurance premium. The added insurance was refunded in full, the additional payment went to the principle balance, and the Credit Union did not benefit in any way from this transaction. Please see the attached loan history. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** ** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) BOULDER VALLEY CREDIT UNION REFUNDED THE $1419 IN EXTRA CHARGES AFTER I FILED A COMPLAIN WITH THE BBB. THANKS FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER!

2/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incorrect address, lack of communication of practices,non insurance complaince cost me 1500 on top of my note. threats to repo. #1.They claim they did not have my new address or email address.#2. I was charged 1500 because my personal insurance lapsed, when I talked with their collections department I was threated repo. even thou my payment were current.#3 I could no longer send my payment branch to branch I had to mail them, when takes longer. Each collection specilist tells me minimum information about my account, I ask for a balance with all the information sent to my correct address which they didnt do.They sent me a statement two months later with no balances are explainations. One says I will be reinbursted the extra money when I get my own insurance, **** tells me to day that it doesnt matter that I've paid 7oo dollars I still have 700 to pay them even thoght I have my own insurance again. I wasn't informed about any of these policies when I got the loan and now they are changing the rules as they want.

Desired Settlement: I want a statement showing every payment I've made up today. I want to see the policy stating how this 1500 extra charge works and how it affects my credit report. I need to see what they say my balance is. I should be able to make payment in the type convient and legal for my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/03) */ *** ******** states we did not have her correct address. PMFCU did not have a correct address until 12/12/2014 when *** ******** updated it. At this time *** ******** was told the reason as to why she was not able to make a payment at a ** service center; Because the loan was delinquent and there was a bad address flag on her account. Our third party company, ******* who monitors our insurance coverage on our vehicle loans received a notice of laps in insurance from 7/05/2014 through current. *** ******** was sent three(3) letters (attached) prior to the ********** ********** ********* being purchased by the credit union for her loan. There was forced place insurance added, in the amount of $1,473.00, to the loan to protect the collateral. *** ********'s auto loan payments was amortized to make sure the policy coverage was paid. *** ******** was explained how the force place insurance worked and what it was for on November 26th 2014, at which time she expressed she could not afford insurance and did not have insurance on the vehicle. *** ******** did not purchase insurance until 12/31/2014 at which time she received a partial refund from Allied in the amount of $751.00. There is still an outstanding amount of $722.00 that *** ******** will have to pay throughout the remaining term of her loan. *** ********'s payment was re-amortized back to the original payment at the time of the insurance refund. The only time force place insurance could affect a credit report is if the member does not make the full amortized monthly payments. Members are required to make the amortized payments monthly until a refund comes in, at which point the payment will be amortized again to cover the partial remaining insurance policy or re-amortized back to its original payment depending on what is left on the coverage policy. If a member does not make the amortized payment this could cause the loan to fall delinquent in which case it could be reported to the credit bureaus. The current balance on *** ********'s loan is $8,782.65. A payoff is attached. Attached are the statements from when the loan originated to current which will show her payments made. If *** ******** is current with her loan payments and her address is updated with PMFCU, she is able to visit a ** service center to make payments. She may also mail them or come into a PMFCU branch to make her payments. Attached is *** ********'s contract she signed. On the back of the contract (also attached) there is a column that talks about Insurance, and the possibilities of the credit union purchasing insurance if *** ******** defaulted on keeping full coverage insurance on her vehicle for the term of the loan. As long as *** ******** purchases full coverage insurance and keeps it through the life of the loan, force placed insurance will never be purchased by PMFCU and added to her loan. If there is a laps in insurance in the future, PMFCU may be forced to purchase Collateral Protection Insurance to cover the collateral. Premier will be mailing statements, a copy of your loan contract, and payoff statement. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I looked on my credit report which has a negative from Premium as late payment, due to the extra charge for not having insurance, a fee that appears to say my payments were late which I was told by them that my car payment was not late it wss due to having a lack of insurance that they tagged on 1400 for the year. My account was turn over to the repo department and charged 1400 which to date I have paid 700 (estimate amounts. With out notification an auto merchant can just tag the consumer with a high dollar amount and then claim that my car payment is late. that is fraud, consumer need to know this info up front, I now have my own insurance and they have reopened my account so I can make bank to bank payment but not at the original amount on the loan, their collection man told me I still have to pay for the extra dollar amount they tagged on even with my own insurance because I owe them for carrying insurance on my car for the year. It was not a full year so where would the refund or reimbursement come or how. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/02/11) */ The amount of the force placed insurance was $1473.00 which was for a laps in insurance from 7/5/2014 to current. There were three (3) letters sent to *** ******** regarding her laps in insurance before the policy was placed on to her loan. *** ******** indicates that PMFCU didn't have her correct address. It is the member's responsibility to update their address on their account when they move. When the insurance was force placed on 10/8/2014 the payments were amortized over 12 months to cover the premium added. This is calculated buy what the loan is showing due for at the time of amortization. There was a letter mailed to the members address on her account showing her payments were amortized. A copy of which is attached. PMFCU diligently tried to reach out to *** ******** several times on: 10/21/14, 10/27/14, 11/7/14, 11/20/14, 11/25/14, ************ ******** responded to one of our email stating she would make a payment that Friday. At this time a collections representative emailed her back letting her know the amount she needed to bring current and was also told the loan was sitting 82 days delinquent at that time. On 11/28/14 *** ******** contacted the credit union to find out why she was showing 82 days delinquent and at that time the representative explained the force placed insurance. The Rep also asked if *** ******** had her own insurance on the vehicle and she said no she could not afford it. That same day *** ******** also spoke to the collections manager and the manager also explained the force place insurance and how it works and that if she does not have proof of insurance that she would need to make the amortized payments to cover the policy that was added. On 12/31/2014 *** ******** purchased her own insurance. On 1/15/2015 PMFCU received $751.00 in a partial refund which was refunded on the loan, and at that time *** ********'s payments were re-amortized back to her original payments. There was a remaining premium of $722.00 that stayed on the loan for the laps of insurance from 7/5/2014 through 12/31/2014, when *** ******** purchased her own insurance. Because *** ******** did not make the amortized payments when the original policy was added to her loan she was reported late to the credit bureaus. *** ******** signed a contract when she purchased her vehicle stating that she would carry full coverage insurance on her vehicle at all times. In that same contract it also states that if full coverage insurance is not covering the vehicle that the creditor may purchase a premium policy to cover the collateral. We believe PMFCU did our due diligence. As long as *** ******** retains full coverage insurance for the remainder of her loan agreement, then force placed insurance will not be added to her loan and her payments will remain at the original payment agreement.

10/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was enrolled in overdraft protection without my consent. I opened a checking account in April of 2014 (account number: XXXXXX). BVCU claims I opted in to their overdraft protection. I never did. They were unable to produce any paperwork showing my consent.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the entire 256.00 that was taken out of my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/24) */ Dear Mr. ****, Thank you for taking the time to provide Boulder Valley Credit Union an opportunity to review and improve its member service. First we would like to apologize for the inconvenience and the misunderstanding. We have investigated the situation and have as a courtesy elected to refund a total of $416 in fees. We have ensured that your account is Opted Out of any future Courtesy Pays, and items will be returned unpaid if there are no available funds in your account.

5/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They did not have the right billing address, when sent the billing address it was wrong in there system. Poor customer service and bad judgement we got an auto loan July 29 2013. At the very start the mailing address was wrong. We change insurance for our truck they went ahead and added there own, which is an extra 3000.00 a year 250.00 a month on top of our truck loan. In dec of 2013 they mis placed a 410.00 money order that was sent Dec 4, 2013. We did change our infomation with them in October with all the phones numbers and billing address. In march we get a call stating that our loan was past due because the auto insurance they put on the loan, she also stated that 3 letters were mailed I asked her to please confirm the mailing address and of course it is wrong. We did everything ask of us to get the auto insurance worked out. After months of dealing with that we made sure to the greatest that our account was ok. Then we get a message that our account was 41 days past due on the 10 April, we call the next morning after talking to 4 to 5 differant people for 3 to 4 hours they call us back to tell us that we are a loan payment behind, really after everything and spending all this time dealing with insurance now they tell us that, something seems shady. That same week I go to apply for a loan, and i have perfect credit I was not approved they had report it to the credit bureau. This isnt right and to try to talk to anyone they just talk over what poor customer service. I have never had to deal with this from a bank.

Desired Settlement: I want them to report there mistakes and make sure they contact the credit bureau to get this mistake off of my credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/06) */ May 2, 2014 ***** ****** ** *** XXXXXX ********* ******** Co XXXXX Dear Mr. ******, This is a response to your April 22, 2014 complaint to the Better Business Bureau (BBB). The letter of complaints includes your recollection of events that indicated that you are seeking responses to wrong address, force placed insurance, a miss-placed payment, and delinquent account resulting in marks against your credit report. I will address each of the items below. 1) Premier Members FCU did not have the right billing address. Response: At the time the membership was opened July 29, 2013, the billing address provided at the time of application was XXXXX *** **** ********* ******** CO XXXXX. On November 21, 2013 you completed an address change with Premier Members FCU. The mailing address was updated in our records at that time, however was incorrect. The address was changed to ** *** XXXXX ********* ******** and should have been ** *** XXXXXX ********* ******** This was corrected on March 3, 2014. 2) Premier Members FCU added their own insurance. Response: There were a total of three letters that were mailed to you in regards to Premier Members showing a lapse in insurance. The 1st letter went to the address that was on your entry membership application. The other two were sent to the incorrect PO BOX address and were returned to Premier Members FCU. Beginning in November 2013, our 3rd party insurance carrier attempted to reach out to your insurance company American Family Insurance to verify coverage without success. Premier Members FCU also attempted reaching out to you by phone and email to discuss this matter but only received calls back from a "*****" who was not on the loan. This resulted in enforcement of insurance covering a period from 10/21/2013 to 10/21/2014. On March 21st, 2014 this matter was resolved and the insurance premium was completely refunded back to your loan. 3) In December 2013 Premier Members FCU miss placed a $410.00 money order that was sent on December, 4th 2013. Response: Premier Members did receive a $409.20 payment on December 3, 2013 and also received another payment of $410.00 on December 5, 2013. The payment of $409.20 that was made on the 3rd was returned as Non-sufficient funds. 4) I got a message stating my account was 41 days past due on April 10th 2014. We call the next morning after talking to 4 to 5 different people for 3 to 4 hours to tell us that we are 1 loan payment behind. Response: Premier Members FCU attempted to reach you beginning January 31, 2014. From January 31, 2014 to March 3, 2014 a person named ***** was the only person who was calling Premier Members FCU back. Unfortunately because she was not on the account or loan we could not provide her any information. We did let her know several times to please have you, ***** ******, contact Premier Members FCU as soon as possible. ***** eventually told us not to bug her with this problem. On March 3, 2014 you did contact Premier Members FCU and at that time the representative told you that you were 33 days delinquent and that there was also forced place insurance on your loan. The representative at that time gave you the phone number to Allied to have the insurance cancelled. 5) I go to apply for a loan, and I have perfect credit. I was not approved as Premier Members FCU reported to the credit bureau. Response: Your first payment was due August 29, 2013 and was not received until September 5, 2013. There was not an additional payment in September 2013 thereby making each payment after that for the previous month owing. There was another payment in January 2014 that was returned as Non-sufficient funds. You were reported to the credit bureaus in February 2014 for the January 27, 2014 payment that was returned. There was also another reporting in March for February 27, 2014 payment that was made late due to the fact that from the beginning of the loan you were one full payment past due and then come January you were showing two full payments past due. The March reporting for February was corrected April 17, 2014, due to the fact that although your address was inputted incorrectly it was fixed in March. ****** ****** Collections Manager Premier Members FCU

3/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are charging absurd amount of late fee while the problem was with the website that was not letting me pay I have been their customer for over 13 years now( very unfortunate) I own their CC for those many years. Never had any late payment until last 2 months or so I was out of town and my payments on my CC got delayed for over 30 days. They charge late payment fees on top of that they report it to credit bureau and screwed up my credit history. Even after repeated contact and request they are not willing to alter this report. They don't have any courtesy to even send a mail to tell me that they will be reporting to credit bureau. I'm trying to get a home loan now and because of this rediclous bank I have to pay higher rate now. Now when I want to pay their website rejected my payment no details why. Secondly now when I login to the website it shows that I owe $243 when I call the call center they say I owe $326. Which one shoud I believe? Please prov

Desired Settlement: I want them to revert the bad reports to credit bureau and refund the unnecessary charges on my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/02/20) */ Dear Mr. ****** *******, Thank you for taking the time to submit your grievance with the BBB. We have reviewed your complaint along with your account history for the Visa Credit Card. Our records show that you consistently make your credit card payment through the online home banking channel as an internet account transfer, and the last payment that was made was on September 20, 2013. The Visa Credit Card payments are due on the 12th day of each month. On November 22, 2013 you received your first delinquency notice. On November 27, 2013, December 27, 2103, and January 27, 2013 you also received late charge notices. You did not contact us until January 21, 2014to discuss the late payments on the Visa Credit Card. At that time, we informed you of the card pay off balance. You requested the card be paid in full on January 29, 2014, which was done. The three late fees totaling $75 as well as the two 30 day delinquent notices to the credit reporting agency are in accordance. We feel that the credit union acted in line with the Fair Credit Reporting Act, and at this time we will not be adjusting the account. Please feel free to contact me at 303.657.7162 with any further questions. Sincerely, ******* ***** Sr. VP of Retail Sales and Service Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2014/02/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The only delinquency notice that I received was on January 27th of 2014. I have not received any kind of notice either postal mail/email/phone call before that. Can you please confirm the address to which you sent those notices to. As soon as I got the notice, I cleared all the debts. If I had recieved the notice earlier I would have cleared it. I think ever since the bank's website changed, I have not recieved any letters or mails. Please confirm that you had all the right information. Thanks, ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/02/28) */ Dear ****** ******* Thank you for your response in regards to the BBB complaint. We mailed your delinquency notice and late charge notices to the address in which we have on file for you, with no updates made in the last several years. The address on file is *** S. **** ****** ***** ********* CA XXXXX. It is your responsibility as a member to notify Premier of any updates to your demographics, which we have not received any. You also receive monthly Visa statements electronically, which go to the address in that you have provided us at *********@yahoo.com. Those Visa statements also began to show on the November 15th, 2013 statement that the Visa was past due, and continued to show on December and January statements. We did go through an online banking conversion on November 20, 2013. However our records show that your first login attempt to online was on January 15th. The Visa card went delinquent prior to the conversion. I have attached the delinquency and late notices as well as the Visa credit card statements. Please let me know if you have any other questions. Sincerely, ******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Premier Members Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart