This business is not BBB accredited.

Elevations Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 443-4672 Fax: (303) 441-2961 View Additional Phone Numbers 2300 55th St, Boulder, CO 80301 http://www.elevationscu.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elevations Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Elevations Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 1991 Business started: 01/21/1953 Business started locally: 01/21/1953
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Financial Services
1560 Broadway Ste 950, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/financial-services/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2336
financialservices@dora.state.co.us

Business Management
Ms. Kristina Roberts, Executive Assistant Mr. Robert Barr, AVP Branch Operation Ms. Kim Felton, SVP Retail Banking Ms. Amber Stutzman, Consumer Insights Analyst
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kristina Roberts, Executive Assistant
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
Elevations Credit Union - Boulder Baseline Branch Elevations Credit Union - Boulder Diagonal Branch Elevations Credit Union - Boulder Table Mesa Branch Elevations Credit Union - Boulder UMC Branch Elevations Credit Union - Broomfield/Westminster Branch Elevations Credit Union - Lafayette Branch Elevations Credit Union - Longmont Hover Branch Elevations Credit Union - Longmont Main Street Branch Elevations Credit Union - Loveland Branch U Of C Federal Credit Union

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Elevations Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1079 S Hover St STE 100

    Longmont, CO 80501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1669 Euclid Ave STE 143

    Boulder, CO 80309

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1900 W South Boulder Rd

    Lafayette, CO 80026

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2101 Main St

    Longmont, CO 80501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2300 55th St

    Boulder, CO 80301 (303) 443-4672

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2960 Diagonal Hwy

    Boulder, CO 80301

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4750 W 120th Ave Unit 700

    Westminster, CO 80020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4760 Baseline Rd STE A

    Boulder, CO 80303

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    607 S Broadway St STE E

    Boulder, CO 80305

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 9004

    Boulder, CO 80301

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I simply want to complain officially due to emailed complaints directly offer no reply to my concerns. I have been a member of Elevations for at least ten years and have always had a pleasant experience with them until falling behind on payments last year. I have had a few car loans which have been paid off and currently have a credit card and tiny savings account. Last year I had my first encounter with a rude and condescending collections representative. Today I had another encounter with an unhelpful and condescending person. They may be the same person. I had never spoken to a person as unpleasant to deal with and as unhelpful as her before the first phone conversation last year. She told me I lied last year about a payment I was hoping I could make and basically said she doesn't believe my intention to pay is true today. She offered no flexibility even though I have a set date in which I can bring my account current and I am only 22 days past due right now; really only 12 days due to grace period. Prior to my experience with her or to whom I spoke to last year, Elevations collection reps would offer assistance and flexibility to allow me time to bring my account current. I have every intention to pay and have already shown this with my prior car loans. This person is as rigid as a brick wall and had to audacity to claim she was trying to help which seems to me she was simply harassing me to pay what I cannot. I hope I never have to speak to this person again and feel badly for anyone who has the displeasure of speaking to her. She is not fit to deal with the public. Finally, she stated that Elevations has always affected credit at 30 days past but I have years of credit reports and what she stated is not reflected in these reports from all 3 bureaus.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting another representative to handle my account until I can pay my balance. Hopefully Elevations cares enough to allow me this. I do not want to have to speak to this person again and do not want her calling me and/or leaving me messages or emailing me. I know there were representatives that I could talk to without feeling pain and getting upset so hopefully there are still people like this. I am aware of the policy and procedures she spoke of, strangely much more rigid than what I was told by other representatives, so I do not want to speak to her ever again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 22, 2015/12/11) */ December 10, 2015 This response is provided to Complaint #XXXXXXXX filed by credit union member ******* ******. The complaint in question essentially alleges two issues with the credit union, those being: (a) that Mr. ****** was not pleased with the content of his communications with the credit union and the position of the credit union regarding his account, and (b) that Mr. ****** was not pleased with the form and/or tone of his communications with the credit union regarding his account. Addressing first the allegation of Mr. ****** alleging that he did not agree with the credit union's position regarding his account as conveyed by the employee with whom he last communicated, the credit union's privacy policy prevents the credit union from specifically commenting on Mr. ******'s account status or transactional history with the credit union, absent the credit union being provided a signed and notarized Authorization for Release of Account Records from Mr. ******. The credit union's privacy policy was created for the benefit of all credit union members, including Mr. ******. Unfortunately, no such authorization for release of account records has been provided in this instance. However, we can represent to you that in response to the complaint of Mr. ****** an officer of the credit union has thoroughly reviewed the content of Mr. ******'s complaint, his account history and all notes and information in the credit union's records regarding the actions taken by the credit union on the account. The reviewing officer has confirmed that all actions taken by the credit union relating to Mr. ******'s account are consistent with the credit union's applicable policy and procedure, and also consistent with the credit union's legal position on the account. The credit union will be happy to provide more detailed information if Mr. ****** will provide the credit union with a signed and notarized Authorization for Release of Account Records. With respect to the second portion of Mr. ******'s complaint, it is unfortunate that Mr. ****** had a communication with an employee of the credit union with whom he was apparently dissatisfied. The credit union devotes significant effort and expense to appropriately train all member service representatives, and the credit union strives to at all times treat every member with courtesy and respect, and provide the best member service available anywhere. The employee with whom the credit union records indicate that Mr. ****** communicated is highly trained and respected, and while Mr. ****** may not have been pleased with the information that was related to him by the employee, at no time was Mr. ****** treated in a manner that was not respectful and appropriate under the circumstances. In this instance, it appears that Mr. ****** is primarily dissatisfied that the employee with whom he communicated did not concede to his expressed position pertaining to his business and accounts with the credit union, rather than any specific identified behavior that was discourteous, unprofessional or disrespectful. The credit union is certainly willing to accommodate Mr. ******'s request that he be provided the opportunity to communicate with a different member of the credit union staff regarding his account, and as the Manager of the appropriate department at the credit union I respectfully request that Mr. ****** communicate directly with me in the future. However, please note that the credit union will likely not be inclined to deviate from the legal position that has already been communicated to Mr. ****** regarding his account. If you have any further question or desire additional information regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me at your convenience. Sincerely, ***** ****** Elevations Credit Union AVP Credit Risk Management (p) ************ ext. ****

12/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a charge back credited back to me earlier this year and only to have taken back this past month and now had put my account negative I put in a charge back compaint which was honored earlier in the year which sent in letter of complaints. Well this past month they revoked the credit to my account. Claim *XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I want my claim file reopened and money recredited back to my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 23, 2015/12/11) */ The address and phone number given to us do not match any accounts with this member's name. Please provide us with an updated phone number and address.Dates and/or amounts of the transactions would also be of great help in researching this case. Thank you.

7/31/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********** mistakenly concluded that home owner's insurance wasn't valid. When they discovered their error, they refused to stop collections. In mid-2012, my sister's and I took out a mortgage from ********** ****** ***** on a property we jointly own. We elected to pay Insurance and Taxes ourselves so the loan payment reflected only Principal and Interest; no escrow was collected. In mid-2014, ********** ****** ***** mistakenly determined that home owner's insurance for the mortgaged property was invalid. They took out their own policy and began to charge us for the premium. Simultaneously, they increased the loan payment to reflect the amount they were paying for insurance. I protested this forced action but my protests fell on deaf ears; soon their *********** ********** began to call and demand payment. After numerous attempts to correct the matter, I finally convinced the ********* ********** to re-evaluate the policy. They did so in ********** and determined that the policy was, in fact, valid. Once ********** admitted their error, they credited the loan account with the amounts they had charged for premiums but they failed to remove the forced escrow charge from the loan. According to the *********** *********** we were still delinquent and the harassing phone calls continued. In *********** I spoke to a ******** ******* ************** who seemed to fully understand the issue and promised to remove the escrow charges and also put an end to the *********** ********** harassment. The calls ended; for two days! After that the frequency of calls and letters ramped up. Between my sisters and I, we received over ** threatening letters and dozens of threatening phone calls. Late last week, we received registered letters threatening legal action if we did not pay the escrow that should have never been charged. I called the ******** ******* line again today and after waiting on hold over ** minutes, spoke to a woman named ***** who identified herself as a supervisor. She thoroughly reviewed my call file (thus, the ** minutes on hold...) and agreed that the entire issue was caused by the mistaken insurance analysis. She told me that a "special team" that ********** had to deal with problems just like this would intervene and make everything OK. Two hours after hanging up with ****** I received another call from the *********** *********** and NOT to apologize for their relentless harassment. It seems to me that the ******** ******* ********** and *********** ********** at ********** ****** ***** are not communicating with each other. The result is that I and my sisters have been harassed and threatened for months and there seems to be no end. I hope that this complaint will find its way to someone who can actually convince the *********** ********** that the ******** ******* ********** has admitted that this issue was due to an ********** error and get them to call off the hounds! I should point out that through this entire ordeal, we never missed making a full payment of the amount required on the original note. I have not checked any credit reporting agencies to see if ********** reported this matter as "late payments". If they did, this complaint will get a little bit longer...

Desired Settlement: I want ********** ****** ***** to remove all escrow amounts from my loan and return the monthly payment to that called for in the original loan documents. I also expect them to stop making harassing and threatening calls and sending harassing and threatening letters to me and my sisters. If they have reported this matter to a credit reporting agency, I expect them to take any action required to expunge the information from the records of all credit agencies that may be reporting it. While not necessary to resolve this matter, I would like some assurance that ********** ****** Union has taken action to assure that this gross mis-treatment of a customer won't happen again for the same reason in the future.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2015/07/17) */ Elevations Credit Union is in receipt of complaint #XXXXXXXX and after researching 3 years of correspondence regarding this matter, has taken steps to resolve the issue. To protect our Member's privacy, the details of the resolution are being communicated directly to him.

2/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they always lose our payment in the mail and when it's not on time we don't get notification until 30 days and ***** calls and harasses us rudely our auto loan was bought out by elevations credit union they have no way that is convenient for us to make any type of paymentexcept by mail or driving to Boulder when we live in Arvada and when we try by mail it always goes to the wrong address or they lose the payment and we get no notification until it's more than 30 days past due and thenan extremely rude individual named ***** calls and harasses us and threatens us

Desired Settlement: I do not want any type of settlement I am willing to pay the balance in full with the agreed upon payment schedule I just need to be talked to professionally and a more convenient way to make payments

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/14) */ The following information discusses the specific topics included within this complaint: Lost Payments - We have asked the member to provide us proof of these lost payments through copies of checks, and we have yet to receive this information. Convenient Payment Option - We offer numerous payment options; however, if a loan is delinquent, the member needs to coordinate with us to make the payment. This can be done in a branch or through calling us to make other arrangements. If a loan is out for repossession, we require cash or certified funds to bring the loan current. This ensures the funds are good and requires the payment be made in a branch. Harassment - It is not our practice to harass our members, we make typical collection calls. Our collector was not threatening towards this member, he simply explained our delinquent loan procedure. No notification until 30 days - We contacted this member through mailed notifications as well as telephone message and discussions prior to the loan becoming 30 days delinquent. We keep detailed records of this information. If there are additional questions, the member can contact our AVP of Credit Risk Management at 303.443.4672 ext. 1375 for more information. Thank you. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

1/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened an account for long term savings. They charged me the entire amount of my savings because I just let my savings sit there. I deposited money into a savings account with the credit union. They decided to charge the entire amount of my deposited money because I did not use the account for anything other than saving this money. I am shocked.

Desired Settlement: MY money back that I entrusted to them form safe savings. $25.00 total. They can keep any interest.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/18) */ As with many financial institutions, Elevations has in place an inactive account fee. The process followed prior to charging this fee, typically ensures that the member is able to continue utilizing their account and avoid any fees which may be assessed. Inactive Account Notifications and Fees Process 1. Membership notification will be sent 3 months prior to the fees occurring, therefore giving members three months' notice with the opportunity to bring their account to an active status before the fee process begins at twelve months. 2. Inactive fees start occurring when the account is inactive for twelve (12) consecutive months and the aggregate balance continues to be less than $200 and the account owner(s) do not have another account that is active. 3. The fee process occurs on the first of the month. 4. Inactive fees will continue until the primary suffix00 is down to a zero balance, at which time the account is automatically closed. It appears there was an error with the automated file which should have sent the membership notification to Mr. *******. We have tried to contact him at the number we have on his account as well as the number he provided in this complaint and both are no longer in service. We will also attempt to contact him via email. We, of course, will issue Mr. ******* a full refund, and would like to have him call XXX-XXX-XXXX, extension 1800, at his convenience. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Sincerely, **** ******* VP of Member Experience Elevations Credit Union Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Negligent and unethical response to an unauthorized withdrawal from our business account. Recently found an unauthorized withdrawal from our business account. Elevations response was horrific. Said there was nothing they could do. Only after repeated calls and threats did they investigate and only after a very long run-around did they admit fault. There were two negligent acts by Elevations. First, we went through the channels to have a former authorized signature removed (a former officer of the organization). Correctly filled out the paper work and submitted it to the bank over two years ago. Elevations never took the name off of our account. Second, after negligently leaving the name off the account, they allowed this officer to make a withdrawal from the account (A public 501(c)(3). Head of Business Services was unethical and not transparent in his interactions with our organization. The bank still refuses to answer our calls, led us to believe there was criminal activity on the account but won't confirm it so we can move forward with a proper investigation. The bank and Business services seems more concerned with covering their own liability than assisting our organization in learning what happened. Only after repeated calls for reimbursement did Elevations finally return the money to our account. The money was finally returned to our account but little to no information was given to us regarding the incident.

Desired Settlement: Our organization is seeking a full (final) report from Elevations Credit Union outlining what happened to our account, how an unauthorized signature was allowed to withdraw funds and if there was criminal activity involved or pure negligence on their part.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/10/22) */ This incident has been identified and discussed with Heather both our Business Services Fulfillment Manager as well as our SVP of Lending. Upon learning of this issue, Elevations reimbursed the account and returned the money immediately. We will reach back out to Heather to verify if a full report is needed. Todd Kern Chief Marketing Officer Elevations Credit Union

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have to pay money and they make it EXTREMELY hard for me to close a credit card I sent several online SECURE messages to close my visa credit card and instead of making this easy, you are making it SUPER hard by asking me to do this in writing. I have to spend half an hour writing the letter, buy a stamp, bike to the post office to mail it.This costs me $100 of my FREE PERSONAL TIME Since I opened my account it was a PAIN to deal with everything. It took forever for get online access. On top of my card PIN and password, you introduced something else for me to remember , a secret codeword I applied for some loans and I was denied because I am self employed. And when I submitted the proof of income you ignored my emails . It is just SO SO SO HARD to deal with you and get any kind of help or loan So anyway please close my credit card

Desired Settlement: I have to spend half an hour writing the letter, buy a stamp, bike to the post office to mail it.This costs me $100 of my FREE PERSONAL TIME

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/06/20) */ We agree with ******'s issue above and I have forwarded this issue to our VP Member Experience, **** ******* and someone from our member experience team will reach out to ****** to get full resolution in the matter ****** is looking for. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/06/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) From May 12th till June 20th ... more than a month ... and their only response is that they will get back to me and contact me ? I own my condo in full and when i applied for a VERY SMALL home equity loan ... they made it EXTREMELY difficult. This is not how a credit union should deal with people

11/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A auto charge off that was a theft and paid thru insurance. I had a auto stolen 04/1/13. I contacted Elevations ASAP. I gave them the police report number, reporting officer and Geico insurance info. At the time of the theft the account was 30 past due. The theft occurred in Houston TX. I was told by police due to the type of car is was more than likely taken to Mexico. On 4/2/13 I was contacted by insurance company and Elevations. Elevations didn't care the car was stolen they wanted a payment NOW. I told them I no longer had the car and wasn't making a payment. And advised them that Geico stated wait 14 days and they would process a payoff check. They never contacted me again via email, phone or mail. I was contacted by Geico that end of April a check was sent and they paid for a portion of the auto balance. They sent me a packet and told me to contact my gap insurance. I contacted them and they advised me they were already working on the claim. I did contact Elevations to make sure they got a check. They advised me they did and were going to release the title to Geico upon payment. They said they had spoken with Gap insurance and were awaiting the difference. I never heard back from insurance companies or Elevations ever again. On 7/18/13 they updated my credit file to show a charge off of $5516.00. I have missed one payment, ever. I have good credit would have never let this slip. I contacted them again they told me its a balance that gap didn't cover. GAP should have covered the balance Geico didn't. They never contacted me about this just charged it off. It should not be a charge off period. GAP is Guaranteed Asset Protection. They want me to pay 5516 now, why did they release the title, if I am to pay this amount I should still have a stake in the auto. This is unfair and bad practice on Elevations part. If the auto wasn't paid in full they should have never released the title and demanded more money from the insurance companies to cover the balance. Had the auto loan not had GAP coverage then I know I would be liable for the balance. They are now negatively affecting my credit and I have contacted a lawyer to see what my options are. I also have a family member who works in the media and will bring negative press to Elevations. I will contact every office I have to get this matter cleared up. I will be liable for the one missed payment plus interest up to being paid by Geico. But this account was never a charge off. Once the title was released the contact was null. This was not my fault and I will not allow them to hurt my good name and credit. I will alert all social media outlets and legal avenues I have to. GAP Insurance is also known as Guaranteed Auto Protection or Guaranteed Asset Protection and as GAP within the North American financial industry. GAP insurance covers the difference between the actual cash value of a vehicle and the balance still owed on the financing (car loan, lease, etc.).1 GAP coverage is mainly used on new and used small vehicles (cars and trucks) and heavy trucks. Some financing companies and lease contracts require it.2

Desired Settlement: I want to pay elevations the one missed payment 713.00 that gap would not have covered. But this account was never a charge off ever. I want the charge off removed ASAP. For a company to never send out a bill,a call or email, they are being shady.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/28) */ October 28, 2013 This response is provided to Complaint #******** filed by Mr. **** **********. The complaint in question essentially alleges two issues with the credit union, those being: (a) that the complainant was not timely contacted by the credit union, and (b) that there is a remaining balance owing on his loan obligation after the application of all available casualty and GAP insurance proceeds stemming from the theft of his vehicle. Addressing first the allegation of the complainant alleging that he was not contacted by the credit union regarding the balance owing on his loan obligation, this allegation is simply false. In addition to being forwarded a demand letter from the credit union attomey on April 22, 2013, the complainant was contacted personally by a credit union employee and had conversation with the credit union on April 1, 2013; April 3, 2013; April 10,2013 and May 29,2013. On each of those occasions, the complainant personally discussed this matter with a representative of the credit union and was fully informed regarding the status of his loan and the insurance claim related to his stolen vehicle. In addition to the listed dates on which complainant actually conversed with a credit union employee, the credit union also has documented telephone messages left on the complainant's voicemail at his place of employment on the following dates: March 18, 2013; March 19, 2013; March 20, 2013; April 2, 2013; April 3, 2013; April 5, 2013; April 6, 2013; April 8, 2013; April 9, 2013; April 16, 2013; April 17, 2013; April 18, 2013; May 3, 2013; May 6, 2013; May 7, 2013; May 9, 2013 and May 13, 2013. Accordingly, the complainant's allegations that the credit union did not appropriately contact him are entirely without merit. With respect to the second portion of the complainant's complaint, once again the complainant has not provided accurate information. First, it is important to note that upon having his vehicle stolen the complainant promptly stopped making further payments on his loan obligation with the credit union. Even after it was explained in detail to the complainant that his obligation to continue making payments on his loan was separate and distinct from any rights that he possessed to receive insurance proceeds stemming from the vehicle theft, the complainant nevertheless refused to make further payments on his loan obligation. With respect specifically to the remaining loan obligation after the application of all of the available insurance proceeds, the complainant has failed to accurately describe the specific reason that the available insurance coverage was insufficient to extinguish the entire loan obligation. The reason that the insurance coverage did not pay the entire loan obligation is because at the time of the complainant obtained the motor vehicle loan on or about December 10, 2012, he listed the vehicle mileage at 76,000 miles on the guaranteed asset protection insurance contract application. During the course of the insurance investigation following the theft of the vehicle, it was discovered that the actual vehicle mileage was substantially in excess of that figure. As a result of the mileage misstatement, the Guaranteed Asset Protection ("GAP") insurance canier paid a reduced GAP insurance benefit resulting in a remaining unpaid loan amount of $5,516.41 after all insurance proceeds had been properly credited to the loan. Because the amount of available insurance coverage was reduced specifically as a result of the complaining party's misstatement of the vehicle mileage, complainant is at fault for the shortfall in the available insurance coverage. The credit union is unaware of the specific reason why the complainant did not list the correct vehicle mileage on the GAP insurance contract, and whether that misstatement was done intentionally or inadvertently. However, the credit union is willing to view this matter in the light most favorable to the complainant and presume that the misstatement was made by the complainant inadvertently and unintentionally. Given that presumption, and without any legal obligation to do so, the credit union will voluntarily agree to forgive the remaining $5,516.41 remaining owing on the complainant' auto loan obligation, and the credit union will issue a request to the credit bureau to delete the account related to the motor vehicle loan from the complainant's credit report. However, given that the complainant has caused the credit union a significant loan loss stemming from this matter, the complainant will no longer be eligible for future services from the credit union from today's date. Sincerely, Ryan Klassen Assistant Vice President of Credit Risk Management Elevations Credit Union


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Elevations Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart