This business is not BBB accredited.

Credit Union of Colorado

Phone: (303) 832-4816 View Additional Phone Numbers 1390 Logan St, Denver, CO 80203 http://WWW.CUOFCO.ORG


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Credit Union of Colorado include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Credit Union of Colorado
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 1991 Business started: 05/19/1934 Business started locally: 05/19/1934
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Financial Services
1560 Broadway Ste 950, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/financial-services/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2336
financialservices@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Terry Leis, President Ms. Anne Fuentes, Exec Asst Nikki Griego, Operations Analyst Mr. Phil Smith, COO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Nikki Griego, Operations Analyst
Principal: Mr. Terry Leis, President
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
C S E C U Colorado State Employees Credit Union CUofCO

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1390 Logan St

    Denver, CO 80203

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Closed my account after only receiving one phone about my account after having major surgery. Customer service reps were so rude! I went into to have major surgery over a month ago, when I came out of the hospital I went to use my card and it wouldn't work. So I called and was told that they were closed my account for being overdrawn while I was in the hospital. They refused to give me any of the money that was in my savings account, until I talked to 4 different managers. Every employee I talked to was super rude! They would talk down to me and get snotty with me. They had me in tears and not one of them cared. All I needed was that money to feed my son for the next few weeks after my surgery. I received one phone call about my account and called the person back right away and left a message never to hear back from him.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from all I spoke to as well as the person who never returned my call. I would also like my account reopened, as I have direct deposits going in and out all the time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/06/26) */ The complainant's account was closed on 6/23/15 and the funds in her savings account were transferred to offset part of the overdrawn balance in her checking account per the terms of the account agreement. In addition, the terms of the account agreement provide that the credit union may terminate an account at any time, without notice, for excessive non-sufficient funds items and overdrawn account balance. Although we are not required to do so, the credit union always makes diligent attempts to contact members prior to closing a checking account. The credit union informed the complainant of the negative status of her account via letters mailed on 5/21/15, 6/5/15, and 6/8/15. The credit union provided the complainant her checking account statement on 5/29/15, which also disclosed the negative status of her account. Phone contact with the complainant was attempted on 6/19/15. When the complainant called the credit union on 6/23/15 we made the decision to refund $80 of non-sufficient funds fees so she could use this money to purchase food for her son. The complainant came to the credit union and withdrew these funds on 6/24/15. The complainant's checking account is closed and will remain so. She is not eligible for a checking account or any other services with Credit Union of Colorado due to the loss we have sustained on her account. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I recieved one phone call from them. Only one. I don't know who they were calling so much but it wasn't me. My main problem is the rudeness of the mangers I spoke with. I talked to two different ones and they were so rude, I've never been talked to like that in my life. They were arguing and being condescending, and when I got rude back I was told I was out of line. This is the worst customer service I have ever dealt with.

8/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The credit union of Colorado is still reporting 30,60,90 days past due and showing a balance of $35,660 owed for acct. number XXXXXXXXXXX. this is a old account and I have contacted them repeatedly in efforts to correct the issue. They corrected the wording on this report from unpaid balance/acct delinquent to settled for less than original but they will not correct the above and that continues to hurt my score and is not allowing me to obtain a mortgage in order to purchase a home for my family. I need this corrected ASAP. Product_Or_Service: Loan Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like the Credit Union of Colorado to remove this from my credit report or completely correct the information, A.S.A.P. as listed below.Remove the Balance owed to (ZERO) and the numbers under the 30,60,90+ because this is continuing to hurt my credit score and will not allow my score to go up as it should.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/21) */ Credit Union of Colorado has verified that we are accurately reporting the complainant's loan information to the credit reporting agencies. We updated the complainant's credit report information to show the account in question as "settled for less than full balance" when he contacted us in May 2014. In addition, we updated credit reporting on his other loan to show "settled for less than full balance". We have verified that both loans are correctly reported to Experian, Equifax, and TransUnion. All three bureaus show a balance of $0, payment amount $0, and settled for less than full balance. We have also verified that the payment history for both loans is reporting correctly. The complainant did have payments that were 30, 60, and 90 days late. The payment history we are reporting to the credit reporting agencies is accurate. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Everything is correct except for they are still showing a balance owed on two of the accounts. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/08/29) */ As stated in our previous response, Credit Union of Colorado has verified that both of the consumer's loan balances are reporting with a zero ($0) balance to TransUnion, Experian, and Equifax credit reporting agencies. Has the consumer recently requested a copy of their credit report? Has the consumer provided any proof of their claim?


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Credit Union of Colorado
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)