This business is not BBB accredited.

Aurora Schools Federal Credit Union

Phone: (303) 360-0987 Fax: (303) 360-0511 751 Chambers Road, Aurora, CO 80011 http://www.asfcu.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aurora Schools Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aurora Schools Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 26, 2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Financial Services
1560 Broadway Ste 950, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/financial-services/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2336
financialservices@dora.state.co.us

Business Management
Mr. Brad Johnson, President,CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Johnson, President,CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    751 Chambers Road

    Aurora, CO 80011 (303) 360-0987

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delayed/missing check delivery.No attention paid about my concerns/complaints by many customer service reps.Not honoring checks when funds available. I am an Aurora Public Schools teacher and was sent to ASFCU for their banking. I opened acct early July with checking and savings acct. I ordered box of checks that was supposed to arrive in 10-14 business days. No check delivery in July, checked at both branches....all c.s. reps told me, "just give it a few more days" or "they were sent by our records". Week of August 12th spoke to **** about stop payment on checks since they hadn't arrived and reordering new checks. In the meantime...I have paychecks that can't be sent to me through direct deposit as they do not have a physical check to begin direct deposit.***** printed 6 checks at hampden locationand I had to ask them to waive fee as this is not my problem. End of august followed up by phone as to where those checks might be, no sign of them yet. Thursday August 27th, $3,400 check posted to my account. I ordered my own personal checks from outside company that arrived 4 days after ordering I might add...not two months later and waiting. I used routing and acct number from checks **** printed and called to verify at hampden branch that those numbers on temp checks would be the same for my permanent checks. I continue to make payments using private company checks. Three People deposited checks I wrote to them during the week of August 31st to Sept. 6th. I called hampden branch to see about 1) whymy checks havent posted to my acct 2) where is my box oof checks ordered in July and reordered August 14th? 3). To ensure the correct routing and acct number was on privately purchased checks. Customer service (Linda perhaps) tells me that is unusyal for checks to take that ling to clear and to give it a few more days. She offered to check into my missing ordered checks situation, got my phone number and did not return my call Friday or Monday. Today I received word from 3 individuals I wrote checksto, totaling $700, that the money was posted to their acct and then removed saying there is insufficient funds in my acct. My acct has had a balance of 1200.00 to date which is the lowest the balance has been since August 31st paycheck. And there are no pending charges either that would cause those to bounce. All I can day is....get it together. One of two of these ridiculous time consuming errors could be understandable and forgiveable. Every transaction and interaction with your people and your bank has been a complete cluster. I will be closing my acct down, you will reimburse for the price of checks and for the msg charges that your errors have created in other bankers acvys because of not honoring a check with more than enough money to cover those charges. Totally absoletely the worst bank I have ever banked with.

Desired Settlement: I mentioned above, 37.50 for 3 people's bounced check fees on their acct due to nsf fee when that money was good in my acctand still is good. $47.80 for having to order personal checks since mine haven't been delivered since July ordering date and August 14th reorder date.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/25) */ To whom it may concern: ******* ****** opened a new account with Aurora Schools FCU on July the 12t,h 2013, a complimentary order of checks was placed at this time. Miss ****** contacted the credit union indicating she had not received her checks. ASFCU confirmed the order was placed and shipped to address on file. Miss ****** was asked to wait a couple more days and then contact the credit union if she still hadn't received her checks. Miss ****** met with *****, branch supervisor on August 12th, 2013, Miss ****** still hadn't received her checks. Miss ****** asked ***** to put a stop payment on the series of checks assumed to be lost in the mail. The supervisor placed a stop payment on check numbers *********. Another check order was placed at this time with instructions to have the order sent to the branch, a phone call would be made to Miss ****** when checks were delivered so she could physically pick up her checks. The second order of checks was delivered to the credit union on August 25, 2013. *****, branch supervisor called the contact number on file but got a recorded message stating the number she was trying to call was not receiving incoming calls. The account was flagged with a message stating if member called in her checks were ready to be picked up at the High Point Branch and that we could not reach her with the number we had on file. Miss ****** met with *** ****, Branch Manager On September the 10th, 2013, explaining the service issues with her checks and wanted to know why we were returning her checks for not having sufficient funds in her account. Miss ****** had ordered checks from a private company with the starting check # of ****. Three checks were written using check numbers ********************. These checks were duplicate check numbers of the lost checks or the check numbers she had requested stop payments be placed on. The items could not be processed due to the stop payment placed on this sequence of checks. The credit union did not assess any NSF fees or other charges to Miss ******. ASFCU gave a credit of $30.00 to help Miss ****** pay for the checks she had ordered through the private check company. Miss ****** asked if the credit union would refund charges to the 3 individuals she wrote the checks to. The duplications of the check numbers created the problem and was not credit union error, therefore Miss ****** was asked to submit documentation of any charges assessed to the individuals and further review of this matter would be done to see if we could assist with fees.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Aurora Schools Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)