BBB Accredited Business since

Stellar Roofing and Solar

Phone: (303) 495-3515 Fax: (720) 897-2832 View Additional Phone Numbers 4018 Youngfield Street, Wheat Ridge, CO 80033 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.energy-contractors.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stellar Roofing and Solar meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stellar Roofing and Solar include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Stellar Roofing and Solar
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 19, 2009 Business started: 10/07/2008 Business started locally: 10/07/2008 Business incorporated 10/07/2008 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Denver Building Department
201 W. Colfax Avenue, Denver CO 80202
www.denvergov.org
Phone Number: (720) 865-2770

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Wilkinson, President Mrs. Beth Bowman, V.P. Finance Mr. Don Bowman, President Mr. Patrick Burke, Technical Support
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Wilkinson, President
Business Category

Contractors - Solar Energy Heating Contractors Roofing Contractors Skylights

Refund and Exchange Policy
100% satisfaction guarantee
Alternate Business Names
Cory Heating & Air Conditioning EnerSave HVAC, Inc. EnerSave Inc Four Star Energy, Inc. Stellar Energy Contractors
Products & Services

Roofing - Residential and Small Commercial
Materials - Asphalt shingle, stone coated steel, TPO, etc.
Solar - NABCEP certified installers can install all types of solar PV. VELUX 5-Star certified solar thermal installers for domestic hot water.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Roofing Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 4018 Youngfield Street

    Wheat Ridge, CO 80033 (303) 523-7665 (303) 495-3515

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me a new roof for 11K. It has leaked over 10 times since. The company was responsive and fixed the leaks at first. But haven' heard from them Our invoice number from Stellar Roofing & Solar ***** I bought the roof from ***** ****** but have been dealing with **** ***** The roof has leaked since the day they put it on. And, **** ***** offered to fix his own mistakes for 2K. They also sold me a 10 year warranty. It is my fault that I lost the paper work, but they are denying they ever signed it. Stellar Roofing basically stole 11K from our family.

Desired Settlement: I would like a roof that doesn't leak.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/06) */ We would like to address the concerns of Mr. ******** and provide some bullet points on the communication. * 2/2511 - Contract was sent to **** ******** for replacement of his existing roof. (The contract states the replacement of the existing roof and the installation of similar materials, with a slope added in) The contract does state the warranty, which for a 1:12 slope roof is 1 year. The warranty is described on the contract as "Any roof under a 4:12 pitch are warranted for a period of 1 year from the date of the installation." The contract also states that the company is not responsible for any interior or exterior damage. * 3/2/11 - The contract was signed by **** ******** *3/15/11 - Materials shipped and installation of new roof * 4/13 - Repair/patch on roof * 10/11/13 - Repair/patch on roof * 4/22/13 - Repair/patch on roof. - Also did a patch and paint inside the house *2/13/14 - Repair/Patch on roof * 5/1/14 - Visit with **** to discuss roof * 5/19/14 - Proposal sent to **** to include an annual maintenance plan on roof * 5/19/14 - Discussed with **** the reason for the maintenance plan and the original warranty * 5/23/14 - Had a phone call with ****. He expressed is concern. **** became aggressive on the phone and hung up. * 9/2/14 - Received email from **** regarding his claim to the BBB and stated that he would tell everyone that Stellar stole $ 11,000 from his family. According to the signed contract, Mr. ********'s warranty on the roof ended on 3/15/12. The reason the "torch down" style roof has a one year warranty is because of the degradation that the materials have on flat roofs. Stellar made good faith attempts to satisfy Mr. ******** and handled any repair issues through 2/13/14. (almost 3 years after the original installation) I explained to Mr. ******** during our visit on 5/1/14 that we will need to provide a service plan on the roof or look at a full roof replacement) Mr. ******** has claimed that he had a 5 year warranty and also a 10 year warranty. We have no record of either of these, nor could Mr. ******** produce any such document. (1 year warranty on residential flat roofs is the industry standard) At Stellar, we do stand behind our product and take pride in providing a great experience to our clients. I believe that we continued to demonstrate that with Mr. ******** by continuing to provide repair work well outside the warranty period. We look forward to a quick resolution to this. Please let us know any recommendations that you my have regarding this. Thank you. **** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My whole point is there was major misrepresentation from Stellar. We had just gotten over another bad roof situation and all we cared about was the warranty. ************ told us that we had a 5 year warranty on the roof. We asked for a 10 year and they agreed to that as well. I would be the first to admit that it is my fault for losing the paperwork, but I find it awfully hard to believe that your company has no such records. Additionally, the contract states that there is a 5 year warranty unless there is a "4/12 pitch." This was never explained to me that my roof was below that pitch. I probably should have looked that up before signing, but it was deliberately confusing and made me believe I at least had a 5 year warranty. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/09) */ ****, Stellar has different ownership, different management, and different employees from the time your project was completed. We work very hard to fulfill commitments made to present and past clients. In situations like this, the contract is the information we have as to the nature of that commitment. ***** ****** has not been associated with the company for a number of years but our experience with his previous projects have displayed good intentions and good integrity on his part. I have been in constant communication with you and have tried to resolve your concerns within the context of the available information. As I go back through the information, I do not see anything that leads me to believe that you were mislead. - The contract clearly explains that we were removing your existing roof (which was a torch down roof). It also explains that we were installing a new torch down roof, with some additional items (insulation, skylights, flashing, etc). As I have pointed out, I was not a party to that conversation, but it clearly explains on the contract what we were removing and installing (it does not indicate that we were installing anything different from the previous material). - I have reviewed all records on file for the project and there is no mention anywhere of a 5 or a 10 year warranty on this roof. If this was something that was agreed to, I would expect to see it noted on the contract that was signed (historically ***** appeared to be very diligent in this respect). Regardless, this is not a warranty that is offered on this type of flat roof (by any roofer that we are aware of), which is why it is noted on the contract that the warranty is for 1 year. - The contract states the facts of the agreement and is stated in standard industry terms. There is no deliberate attempt to make something come across as confusing. I apologize if there was something that you didn't understand at the time of the project. But at that time, it appears you were satisfied with the terms, language, and conditions of the contract otherwise it would not have been signed. ****, I am certainly not hiding behind anything regarding this issue. Acting with integrity is one of our company core values. I feel I am making every effort with the information that I have available. I am concerned that you are not pleased and I have offered a number of possible solutions. What you are requesting is not something I am able to do. Please let me know if you are interested in some of the solutions I have offered and I will be more than happy to assist you. Kind Regards, ****