BBB Accredited Business since

Golden Solar Electric

Phone: (303) 955-6332 614 10th St, Golden, CO 80401 http://www.goldensolar.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Golden Solar Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Golden Solar Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Golden Solar Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 16, 2008 Business started: 08/19/2006 Business started locally: 08/19/2006 Business incorporated 01/01/2011 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Donald G. Parker, Owner Mr. Shawn Josserand, General Manager Mr. Eric Krohn, Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald G. Parker, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - Solar Energy Solar Energy Products Service & Repair Energy Conservation Products & Services Solar Energy System Design & Installation


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Golden Solar Electric has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 614 10th St

    Golden, CO 80401 (303) 955-6332

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to return deposit of 250.00 on solar system. We had a rep. named ********** from Golden Solar come to our home and see if solar would work.He needed 500.00 to get started.(250.00 for excel ,250.00 for G.S.)Eric told us if we did not go ahead with solar system we could get deposit of 250.00 back.Waited all summer for Eric to call back and never returned calls.Called owner of Golden Solar (Don) on 9/3/2013 and he said we could not have our deposit back because they had already spent it even though we have nothing to show for it.How can you trust a company to install something on your house if they will not even call you back.

Desired Settlement: We know we can not get the deposit back from excel,but we should get deposit back from Golden Solar.(250.00)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/09/23) */ I know they are not happy and no longer want solar, which I am sorry about, but it is not our fault. ************** and ************* signed a Photovoltaic Installation Contract with us on April 6, 2013 for a 6 kilowatt 24 panel system for a price of $20,000. They gave us a payment of $500. We started the process by successfully applying for an Xcel incentive for her. We don't want any unhappy customers. But the initial payment we take from a customer who signs a contract is never refundable because we have many costs before we can even begin an installation. Paragraph 10 of the contract says "$500 ... upon signing Contract (non-refundable unless contractor cancels the contract)". In this case our costs have already well exceeded the $500 payment the customers paid us. That includes $250 for the deposit to Xcel, which is refundable after completion of the installation, but is otherwise non-refundable, and another $100 for an interconnection study by Xcel. We also prepared a permit application and paid for a permit to install from the City of Lakewood. I know they wanted us to help them find financing and **** and I did call them several times and offer ideas, such as to apply for a line of credit on their house. Most recently we have had two representatives from finance companies call them and in both cases they told the representatives they were no longer interested in solar. The contract was in no way contingent upon us finding financing for them, as proven by the contract which I am attaching. We have nothing from the customers in writing canceling their contract, and had no indication they were not happy or wanted to cancel until we got a recent call telling us they wanted to cancel and requesting $250. The customers' reservation for Xcel incentives is still good until April of next year. Their incentive level is 11 cents per kilowatt hour produced for the first 10 years. The current level available in 8 cents. So it would be a shame to waste that good irreplaceable incentive. Their Lakewood permit, which we applied for paid money for and received is still valid too. I would much prefer to still install their system for them in accordance with the contract. And there is no hurry. They still have time to find funds. The Xcel reservation is still good until April 2014. They still have a lot of time to find financing if they choose to work on that. If they are interested in mediating through BBB or further discussing the matter I am happy to meet with them or talk with them on the phone. I think we could still install the system they wanted if they can find the necessary funding. We are still willing to help with that too.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Golden Solar Electric
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart