BBB Accredited Business since

Wes-Tec Builders

Phone: (303) 428-8550 Fax: (303) 428-5918 2850 W 92nd Ave, Federal Heights, CO 80260 http://www.303improve.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wes-Tec Builders meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wes-Tec Builders include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wes-Tec Builders
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1990 Business started: 05/20/1988 Business started locally: 05/20/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Noblitt, Owner Mr. Jeff Noblitt
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Noblitt, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Garage Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 2850 W 92nd Ave

    Federal Heights, CO 80260

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please see attached.

Desired Settlement: Please see attached.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/19) */ We (WesTec Builders) have been in business for over 30 years and we have always had 100% satisfaction. We were not allowed access to complete the needed install,touch up and some clean up from the installation. We stand behind our work and the satisfaction of our customers. Every now and then there are conflicts of personalities that we try to resolve right away. We believe in taking care of each and every one of our customers. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2013/09/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) WesTec's response, does not resolve this compliant to our satisfaction. * The original plastic switch plates that WesTec provided did not meet our expectations. We declined them and purchased four white ceramic switch plates, 2 single, 2 double. WesTec contractors broke one of the double switch plates and attempted to replace them with tan switch plates on August 6, 2013. We declined the tan switch plates because they were the wrong parts. We were told by **** that we had reorder and repay for the switch plate we wanted and that he broke. As of September 26, 2013, WesTec has made no attempt to contact us to do any installation of the switch plates or finish the job. * **** and ***** ******* of WesTec demanded payment by the customer before the job was completed to the customer's satisfaction and expected the work to be done by the counter subcontractor before the subcontractor got paid. This is inconsistent and contradictory. * We were given a $1,000.00 blank check on July 10, 2013, when ***** demanded payment, as earnest money to promise that the job got done. We cashed it on August 6, 2013 after **** and **** showed up unannounced with the wrong parts. At that point, we considered the job as not completed to our satisfaction and we would have to get another contractor to finish the job. WesTec has made no attempt to contact us since August 6, 2013 to finish the job. The check was given as earnest money in case the job was not finished. The job has not been completed. WesTec should honor the check as they said they would. WesTec's offering the check as earnest money and putting a stop payment on it is dishonest. * The work that was done was inconsistent, as exhibited in pictures provided previously. There is caulking and mud on the underside of the microwave. The painting on the window sill by the back porch was sloppy, which we fixed. The caulking around the tile edges behind the fridge is sloppy. One of three electrical outlets by the counter (the other 2 outlets are GFI outlets) and the electrical outlet under the sink that the garbage disposal is plugged in to should have been GFI outlets as stipulated by Adams County Code. We were told by ***** ******* that all outlets would be GFI outlets. The cabinets all have pads to ensure that they close quietly and smoothly. Most of the pads on the cabinets are installed correctly and work according to their intent. The pads on the pan drawer cabinet, the cabinet under the sink, and both the upper and lower pantry, however, are not installed correctly and do not work according to their intended use because they are attached on the door to fall above the corresponding inner wall of the cabinet. The diagonal cabinet has the adhesive there, but no pad. When we approached **** and **** about this, they said that this was a cabinet problem and WesTec was not responsible for this issue. No one made any attempt to correct this from Westec. There is a hole on top of the cabinet above the fridge that appears to be a hole where the cabinet was initially going to go. The cabinet was moved. No attempt was made to fix the hole. The doors on the cabinets above the refrigerator are not attached to the cabinet straight. * Our complaint has nothing to do with personality conflicts. Both ***** and **** have been sarcastic, condescending, disrespectful, and unprofessional when dealing with us. At one point on a Thursday early in the job, **** informed me that he and **** would not be there the following day because **** was going to the lake and **** was spending the day with his daughter. I was concerned because there was work to do, despite the delay in the cabinets arriving. On the list was the delivery of the new fridge. Several days prior, we asked **** what a good day would be to have the refrigerator delivered by Lowes when he would be there to help with installation. He indicated that this Friday would be a good day. **** arrived at about this time. I told **** that **** and **** would not be here the following day. ****, their direct supervisor, stated that he was unaware of **** and **** being gone and reassured me that they would be here. **** came out to the porch and said that I was making him look bad and was calling him a liar. **** and **** did not come to work on Friday, despite ****'s reassurances that they would be here. **** stated that **** would be back on Monday, but, if it was up to him, **** would have been fired for his behavior that day. On July 10, 2013, **** and **** were working on some finishing tasks. ***** arrived and demanded that I sign the loan papers like **** did on July 8, 2013. He sarcastically said "Look, honey, we have a lot of money out on jobs and all we are waiting for is one stupid switch plate." He said they would finish the work after we returned from Washington and offered a blank $1,000.00 check as earnest money on the completion of the job. If the job was not completed to our satisfaction, as stipulated in the contract, we could fill in the "pay to the order of" line and cash it. I signed the bank paperwork on his word that the work would be done. He was very sarcastic and condescending during this conversation. I felt intimidated and manipulated into signing the papers because I knew this was the only way to get ***** out of the house. He was also very sarcastic as they were going to their cars when I asked **** about where the polyurethane, which we had provided to use on the oak transitions into the living room and to the back door, was. ***** sarcastically yelled across the street "The kitchen looks really nice. Thanks for your hard work." **** and **** arrived at the house, unannounced, on August 6, 2013, around 8:30 a.m., as we were leaving to run errands. **** made a motion with his hands indicating "what's going on and where are you going?" I said we had not heard from them and did not realize that they were coming over. He said that we had told them that Tuesday was the only day that we could have them over because of other commitments. Not so. In a phone conversation with **** ******* on August 1, 2013, I told him that "we are not available until August 6, 2013 due to previous commitments and that this should give them plenty of time to remedy the switch plate issue. WesTec had 3 weeks to fix it and now has until August 6, 2013 to work this out." **** showed me the switch plates that were ordered previously and they were regular light switch plates instead of rocker switch plates. The new ones that were reordered were tan rocker switch plates, not white, which we had ordered previously from Lowes and matched the existing switch plates. We declined them because they were not what we wanted. We said we had been able to special order the white rocker switch plates through the manufacturer at Lowes. **** said that this is what Lowes had ordered and sent and that the switch plates were discontinued. Again, I stated that we had gotten the white switch plates that we wanted through Lowes. ****'s response was sarcastic when he said "fine, you go order them." At this point, I said that I considered the job not done and that I would be cashing the $1,000.00 check given to me on July 10, 2013 by *****. He responded sarcastically by stating "we'll see about that" and they left. As of July 10, 2013, the work has not been completed and, when we cashed the check on August 6, 2013, WesTec had stopped payment on the check. * WesTec employees were not allowed access to complete the needed install, touch up and some clean up from the installation because the parts that needed to be installed were not what we wanted and were declined, as described above describing the interaction on August 6, 2013. WesTec has made no attempt to contact with us since August 6 to resolve any of our concerns. WesTec was not allowed to work in the house while we were in Washington State from July 14-26 because we wanted to be present in the house while the work was being done. We told WesTec employees that we would be gone during this time, and we were reassured that the work would be done well before we left. It was not. We do not want any Westec workers or representatives back in our house because of how inconsistently the work was completed and the way we were treated by the Westec employees, specifically **** and *****. As stated in our complaint, we would like to see the following items in terms of resolution: 1. $1000.00 from the check that was given to us on Wednesday, July 10, 2013. 2. $12.00 return item fee that we had to pay to Wells Fargo. 3. $23.95 for the lamp above the sink that is included in the contract price and WesTec representatives stated they would pay for. 4. $181.33 for the paint that is included in the contract price and WesTec representatives stated they would pay for. 5. $10.23 for the white ceramic switch plate t Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/10/29) */ When we returned we explained that after 2 times of ordering the switch plates and receiving the wrong ones that we were informed that they were discontinued. We explained this the day we were told we could have access to do the work behind the refrigerator and above the cabinets that would take us about 30 to 60 minutes. Customer told us she would take care of the switch plates and that we could not come in and do the work. We included the switch plates in the reimbursement of materials they purchased themselves. We would still like to have someone come out and do the final touch up as requested. We could have a different representative of our company come out and do the work if that would be more comfortable for the customer. When we write up a contract it is based on the entire job. We explained that customers are never charged if extra materials are purchased and returned. Since the contract is based on the entire job we would not be able to provide an itemized list. The contract price stays the same even if the items included in the contract cost more than expected. We did give a copy of the contract to show that the amount of the contract did not change. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2013/10/21) */ Please see attached.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Wes-Tec Builders
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)