This business is not BBB accredited.

A-OK Construction LLC

Phone: (720) 252-0601 12090 W 50th Pl, Wheat Ridge, CO 80033 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.aokconstructionco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for A-OK Construction LLC include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for A-OK Construction LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on A-OK Construction LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 22, 2011 Business started: 01/10/2011 Business started locally: 01/10/2011 Business incorporated 01/10/2011 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ginger Berens Mr. Adrian Sanchez, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ginger Berens
Business Category

Contractors - General

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A-OK Construction LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12090 W 50th Pl

    Wheat Ridge, CO 80033

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/5/2016 Delivery Issues
4/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They collected the depreciation value of my gutters but never completed the gutter work. Now they're not returning messages to refund that amount.

Desired Settlement: I'd like my gutter payment refunded. AOK never did the work. I had to engage another contractor to finish my gutters due to AOK's lack of response. That contractor needs to get paid now and AOK has the funds.

Business Response: Homeowner requested refund of $803.16 In beginning of March of 2016. Please see copy of check that was sent on 3.11.16 and was cashed. This is not an issue from October. We just received an email from homeowner yesterday 3.30.16 (see attached) requesting a different amount. Thomas Skinner has not been with us since 1.1-16. Homeowner nor Mr. Skinner told us gutters needed to be done on property. Also the homeowner did not give us a chance to do the gutters nor did they cancel the contract. They are obligated under our contract to have AOK do the gutters. They called us after they had someone else do them. I am waiting for a response from our attorney. We will handle this issue by the end of next week. However in the mean while this is not a valid complaint being they posted a complaint before requesting payment from us. Please remove. We have never held on to funds that do not belong to us. Thank you. 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

A) AOK returned the $803.16 ACV amount of the gutters. This reflects their acceptance of our refusal to commit to them for the gutter work. When they agreed to return that amount they should have returned the depreciated amount as well.

B) I left voice messages with the office and owner on 3/23/16, 3/24/16, and 3/25/16 regarding this matter.

C) Their agent, Thomas Skinner, acted on their behalf and as my main point of contact for this project. It took several calls and text messages to this person over September to November of 2015 to even get my roof work completed. Once the roof was completed in December 2015, we were pursued for immediate payment and had to hand deliver a check to AOK's office in Wheat Ridge in December 2015. After that, Thomas went dark, calls and messages were not returned.

AOK's lack of oversight on their projects displays amateur business practices. They should have visibility into every project their agents commit too. They didn't even know I was waiting for them to complete my gutter work for months (December 2015 to March 2016). Until I reached out to them for a refund, I was summarily ignored. I was told the paperwork for my project was lying in a stack of Thomas Skinner's work that they were ignoring for some reason. Furthermore, their defensiveness when confronted with these critiques portrays a systemic issue of denial and delusional practices that enable their agents to take advantage of them and their customers.

 

Sincerely,

**** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like to reject the offer of Mediation for complaint ID ********. If AOK doesn't return our money by 4/8/16, we will be pursuing litigation in small claims court.

Regards,

**** ********

12/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AOK Construction replaced the roof on our house on 9/19/15. The roof leaks and will not pass Code.They do not answer/return our calls. Damage occuring This company arrived at our house on a Saturday. They worked on the roof all weekend-end. They damaged the knotty pine in my family room by driving nails that were too long through the roof. The blocked my garage door for 4 days and I could not get my car out to go to work, shop, med appts. The workers stole beer from my cooler that was on our patio. We had just come from a camping trip on the day before work started. The roof was supposed to be started on Mon the 21. Workers also littered yard with cig butts, tops from water bottles, beer caps(from stolen beer). Communication was difficult with workers and we were not given a phone number to call in case of problems. No company employee contacted us to make sure all was well. Roof leaks, company sent some else to "fix" it. Roof still leaks. Co employees came out almost 2 weeks ago thinking job was complete, and wanting the rest of their payment. Roof will not meet code, continues to leak, and no one will answer or return our call. I have a log of entire project including calls made and not returned. We were promised that roof would be fixed and have not heard from company in 12 days after they stated they would take care of problem. Leaking roof has damaged coffee table and is leaking onto carpet. Called again this am to tell them roof leaking(raining now) and have no response.

Desired Settlement: Roof needs to be brought up to Code (as per contract) Knotty pine repaired or monetary compensation for damage. Replacement of damaged coffee table. Consideration for loss of vehicle and loss of work days We asked that trailers be moved so we could get car out. Trailer had 2 of 4 tires flat do to overloading (have pics).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/29) */ First, We apologize for the customer service on our end. Unfortunately, Ms.********* was calling the wrong number. Last week, I, ******, contacted her myself and gave her the numbers she should be calling therefore the customer service issue has been resolved. We were not aware that the roofers blocked their garage, had I known I would've had vehicles moved. Again, I apologize. The roofers: 1. They did steal beer and make a few mistakes, they have since been fired and we hired a different crew to finish the job. ****** met with Ms. ********* today and explained to her that most of her damage is not from us but a pre-existent issue. We know she is very upset and we will do our best to help her. This is a retail job and we now have to submit most of her damage to the insurance company. This is a lengthy process. In the mean while her roof will be repaired and pass code and Ms. ********* knows who to contact. If there are damages from us we will cover them and ****** explained that. If you need proof stating her damages were pre-existent please let me know and we will provide all documentation. All of our work is under warranty and we will fix it. We are not denying anything or avoiding the job. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, the only phone number we were given was the one on the contract that was given to us by the original salesman. The job was started on a Sat with no permit. Permit issued and dated after the fact. I have a log of every time we called AOK. We tried the number on the contract multiple times over the weekend. There is damage from a previous leak, but insurance is not covering the roof or the fact that it was not done to code, and the roofers just covered the bad part. The flat top roof over the family room still leaks in multiple spots which has nothing to do with the work to be done on the spot over the kitchen. The roof was supposed to be built up for better drainage. If it had been done right the first time I would not be six weeks into this into a roofing job that still leaks. Apparently my time is not important. I am willing to work with ****** at this point, but am not willing to close this case yet. It still seems that he is trying to push the blame onto everyone else. The job was hurried and not done correctly to start with. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/12/11) */ This is ****** with A-OK Construction. Work has been complete and meets county building codes. Homeowner contacted us for a roof repair and we gladly went out there to make the necessary repairs. While we were out there, the homeowner noticed a divet in their roof. After inspecting the divet I noticed that their roof was not structurally sound. We gave a verbal estimate to make the necessary repairs that had nothing to do with our roofing contract which we installed. The homeowner did not accept the A-OK verbal bid and went with another company. A-Ok proceeded to contact the insurance company to see if they cover additional damages on their home so no money would come out of pocket from the homeowner.We then met with the insurance inspector and they denied the claim as far structural damage and approved detach and reset of cabinetry. However the homeowner also contracted this out to another contractor after A-OK did all the foot work. We have went above and beyond to meet their expectations and fixed all needed repairs. The knotty wood which had nails going through it, was not from A-OK's roof install. We applied a peel and stick roof material which doesn't require nails. Do too further inspection, A-OK found that the old roofing material was a shingle roof that a previous roofer installed with 4'8' sheet decking installed on top of the shingles. Due too many leaks that the homeowners home inquired over the years damage of the truss system occurred and sagged the roof to a 0 pitch. This compressed the old shingle roof that was installed with nails to be closer to their ceiling . During tear off and installation of the new roof, several guys were walking on roof to perform their duties, I believe the leak and 0 pitch to the roof added extra weight to their roof pressing their old shingles down with nails that was beyond our scope of work and contract. A-OK had no idea that the roof had water damage structurally until we inspected it for the homeowner at no additional cost. This required tearing off a portion of the roof that cost $1450.00 out of A-OK's pocket that had nothing to do with A-OK's repair. Also A-OK agreed to replace the drywall in the homeowners kitchen that was due to an old leak at no additional cost to make the homeowner happy. We also took over $300 off their bill. Again we went above and beyond to make these homeowners happy. I need payment in full today before taking further action to be sure we are paid.

10/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AOK Construction measured my house for replacement Milgard windows in June. I wrote a check for $4587.00 as a deposit on June 23, 2014. AOK cashed check immediately. I never received a call from them. In July I called and they failed to return my call. I called the next day and spoke to **** who said that Milgard had incorrectly filled the order. I called in August and was told that the new order placed was only two weeks old. I requested a refund. I was never called back. Finally, on Sept. 22, 2015, ***** ** called and said that he just received the paperwork two days before and would place the order. I said that I wanted a full refund plus interest and I wanted it *** ** delivery to me. He offered a $500.00 reduction for the inconvenience. I said to cancel the order and give me a full refund plus the $500.00 and send to me immediately. I would never do business with such a corrupt and inefficient company.

Desired Settlement: $5,087.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/01) */ Sorry for the inconvenience. This is something the sales rep is at fault for and is why he is no longer with us. She is asking for $500 more then what had been collected and we agreed. Therefore we will mail her a check within the next 2 weeks. We sent her first request which was sent to us on 9/22/25 to our book keeper. We told her she would be reimbursed and were happy to pay interest being our company is at fault. I can send a copy of the check to you once we mail it to Ms. ******. We are not corrupt in any way. It was a mistake that we tried to resolve with the customer however she insisted we reimburse her. We do not collect money without the intent to begin the job. And yes scheduling can sometimes be out 6 weeks in the roofing industry. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) There is no reason that I have to wait two weeks for a check. They have already been living on my money for three and a half months. I want the check immediately. And they have been lying for the same length of time.

10/5/2015 Delivery Issues
7/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor collected overhead and profit on work that was completed by homeowner and not contractor. On March 23, 2015 ****** of A-OK Construction came to my home to reconcile balance due on work that A-OK Construction completed in relation to Hail Damage. From my initial contact with ****** it has been communicated and understood that A-OK Construction was ONLY responsible for repairing the vinyl siding of house, located at XXXXX E Burlington Place. The entirety of the remaining damage was, and has been, repaired by Homeowner, (******* B **** and Irene G ****). All work was inspected and was designated as 100% complete. At the end of the reconciliation ****** informed me that he was not only due the remainder of the balance due on the work that A-OK was directly responsible for, but that ALL associated Overhead and Profit monies that were incorporated into the insurance estimate relating to the work homeowners, ******* and Irene, completed were also to be paid to A-OK construction. I objected as he was in no way7 involved in purchasing, directing, overseeing, or performing any of the work he was claiming the overhead and profit for. I contacted my insurance company two days later, State Farm Insurance, and was informed by a senior claims adjuster, (Hilda), that A-OK Construction was/is not entitled to any of the funds relating to overhead and profit of work he was not involved in performing. In his conversation with State Farm, Hilda was under the impression that ****** had the intention of resolving the issue and ****** stated to Hilda he would contact homeowner, (******* ****) to resolve issue. ****** called me, ******* ****, on 2 April 2015 at approximately 1630 hrs. at which time ****** made absolutely no attempt to resolve the issue, but rather emphatically asserted that he was entitled to the Overhead and Profit as incorporated into the entire estimate regardless as to whether he actually did the work or not. I have tried to amicably resolve this issue, but ****** is unmovable in his assertion.

Desired Settlement: Homeowners would like the $781.24 associated to the Overhead and Profit of the repair work that was completed by Homeowners and not A-OK Construction to be refunded immediately.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ Jeffrey **** will be responding. It was just a misunderstanding. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** ** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On April 28th 2015 at 9:54am I was contacted by an associate claiming to represent A-OK Construction. He stated to me that he was going to personally handle the situation. He stated that a check in the amount of $781.24 was to be cut and placed in the mail by end of day. As of 2150 hrs., 13 May 2015, the promised resolution of the complaint has not been received. Therefore I can only conclude that A-Ok Construction mislead me and has no intention of resolving this matter amicably. Since the phone call on 28 April 2015 I have had no contact with or from A-Ok Construction. Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */ From: ****** ******* Sent: Thursday, July 02, XXXX X:XX AM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# 75243131 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX) Importance: Low Ashleigh, I was under the impression that this issue has been resolved. I spoke to the home owner and he has stated that he gave you guys a call to resolve the issue. I will contact Jeffry **** to verify


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on A-OK Construction LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart