BBB Accredited Business since

Altitude Construction Inc

Phone: (303) 427-5339 P.O. Box 443, Broomfield, CO 80038 http://www.altitudeconstructioninc.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Altitude Construction Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Altitude Construction Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Altitude Construction Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 24, 2010 Business started: 05/21/2007 Business started locally: 05/21/2007 Business incorporated 05/21/2007 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Altitude Construction Inc
Contact Information
Principal: Altitude Construction Inc
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services


Additional Locations

  • P.O. Box 443

    Broomfield, CO 80038

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired the company to fix our roof. There is still a hole in the roof covered by shingle to hide the hole. Roofer was to repair a section of our roof to secure it from animals entering the attic. The roofer told us the work was completed. My husband later went up on the roof and found that the roofer had done a portion of the work, but found that there was still a hole in the same area of the roof where animals were entering. The hole had been covered by a single and had not been fixed. The roofer put the single over the hole to hide it and said all work had been completed. We called the roofer and the company would not fix the issue unless we paid them more money. Summary: The company completed half of the work. The roofer did not fix the remaining hole in the roof, but instead, covered the hole with the shingle to hide the fact that the work was not completed. We have pictures.

Desired Settlement: We want a partial refund of $600, because the work was only halfway completed. We must now hire someone to fix the hole in the roof.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/27) */ On March 18th, 2013 we emailed an estimate to Mr. **** (who we were contracting with) with an outline of the work we asked to bid as well as photos. Mr. ********* (who occupies the property) confirmed with us the scope of repairs. We were asked to "fix the hole in the roof where animals were getting in". We supplied an estimate to replace 2.67 sqs of roofing, and replace the fascia (which obviously had animals getting into it). We did this work and were paid for it (although later, Mr. **** tried to implement a chargeback). The hole in question is on a completely different section of roof that is covered almost entirely with trees. When my employee was out there completing the work we were contracted to do, he noticed this other hole and placed a shingle over it, not to "hide the fact that we didn't fix it", but rather as an effort on our end to cover up an area that was of concern. We do take responsibility for not noticing the 2nd hole upon our initial inspection, and also for not informing the homeowner of the 2nd hole once we did notice it (my employee didn't even mention he covered it with a shingle until after this discrepancy surfaced). But that doesn't change the fact that what we charged the homeowner was VERY SPECIFICALLY the work that we completed. We were asked to re-inspect the property after we had been paid. At that time another estimate was sent to the homeowner for the additional cost needed to fix that area. Upon speaking with Mr. ********* (who occupies the property) he confirmed what we felt which is that there was a misunderstanding between us and the homeowner. Upon the first contact we were asked to "fix the side of the house where there was a hole where animals were getting in". After inspecting the property and speaking with Mr. *********, it was apparent that the 20 ft long hole one the side of the house (that had animal hair and droppings near it) was the area in question. Again, our bid reflected that and we did exactly the work we said we would do and specified in pictures. We attempted to resolve the issue with the homeowner by offering a very fair priced bid to fix the 2nd hole we missed on our initial inspection. The homeowners offer of resolution was to fix the 2nd hole for free, or he would chargeback the 2nd half payment that was made to us. He did that and we sent our response to the credit card company who honored our request. We do feel bad about the misunderstanding and take responsibility for not noticing the additional hole on the roof in our initial inspection. However, we did exactly what we were contracted to do (and a little bit more). We have made several attempts to explain our side with the homeowner (have copies of all email correspondence), but when the solution is to do more work than we were contracted to do for free because the homeowner "thinks" that's what we should have done, we have the right to decline that offer. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/08/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No, we do not accept the response from this merchant. Quite simply, we contracted them to fix holes in the side of our house where animals were entering. They quoted the job, did some work, but did not resolve the issue and purposely tried to cover it up so we would not notice prior to payment. We now need to contract another company to resolve the same problem. Therefore we feel it our responsibility to report our experience with this vendor to the BBB. We have documentation from an independent 3rd party company confirming what work in the same area of the roof in question that still needs to be fixed. Do not know how to attach the information to this response form so I will email it seperately. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/08/29) */ Below I will list our response to the customers rebuttal and attached are the photos that we sent to them before we started the job and before a contract was signed. As the customer states, we were contracted to fix the hole on the side of the roof. The other hole the customer is saying was not fixed, is on the top of the roof on another section. Also, as I had stated before, it was completely covered by trees which is why it was not noticed on our first inspection (see pictures). As previously stated, we did not make mention of the 2nd hole at time of payment because we were not informed about the issue by our crew member until after Mr. **** had went back to the property (after paying us) and said there was another hole. When I had mentioned that to my crew member, he said that he did notice another hole and covered it with some leftover material we had. This was obviously not an attempt by us to "hide" work we didn't do. It would be very apparent to see that we simply placed shingles over a hole in an effort to keep water from getting in. The entire roof of this home in question is in disrepair. I had also made mention to Mr. **** about another hole in the roof also in very close proximity to the work we completed, which was not included in our estimate (this hole is on a corrugated fiberglass roof directly next to the roof we replaced). In regards to "not willing to compromise on the cost of the job"; We already supplied the customer with a very fair priced bid for our initial repair. I had told Mr. **** that we would repair the second hole at cost in an effort of good faith. That offer was declined and again we were told to fix the second hole for half of our estimate (half of cost), or he would chargeback half of the total job cost of the first repair we made. If I need to clarify any of this please let me know. Thank you and have a great day! Also if you need a copy of any of the email correspondence we made with the customer let us know and we can get that to you as well. Thank you. *********** Owner Altitude Exteriors Office: ************ Fax: ************ www.altitudeexteriors.com