BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

NCH Software

Phone: (303) 785-1761

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service23
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints26

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (26)BBB Closure Definitions
11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
windows 7 will not remove produict from uninstall procedure.
installed as demo

Desired Settlement
remove programmes installed

Business Response
I have asked our customer support to contact the customer and assist them with the uninstall process.

10/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have experienced nothing but problems with this software. They have had me uninstall and reinstall 6 times. The latest version is working horribly.
I have purchased FastFox typing expander program from NCH Software. I have had nothing, but problems with this program since I purchased it. I spent several days downloading my shortcuts into this program. I have uninstalled and reinstalled at least 6 times already with the latest version working worse than the previous. I cannot speak to any customer service person, they do not email me back, I have filed several requests on their direct website for technical service to no avail.

Desired Settlement
I would like the newest version downloaded, bug free, to see if it would work at no charge.

Business Response
We apologize that our software has not worked well for this customer. I have reviewed our customer support logs, and all of her queries were responded to. We feel it is best to simply refund the customer. She can continue to use the current version or uninstall it, whichever she prefers. We have initiated the refund and she should see it in the next 10-14 days.

08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
NCH software cannot be removed from computer. I tried removal process listed on their Web page and their response to other people. Completely bogus.
Software installed July 2014.

Desired Settlement
I want to get this horrible software off my computer without having to format my hard-drive like others have had to do. This company should be banned from doing business.

Business Response
I have asked a customer support specialist to contact the customer and walk them through the uninstall process. Thank you.

07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased this item last year on June in 2013. Now the product is expired and I wanted to renew it. There is no way to contact them over the phone.
I purchased this item last year on June in 2013. Now the product is expired and I wanted to renew it. There is no way to contact them over the phone. I tried to renew the software online and it doesn't work at all. All my files in the previous inventoria system will be deleted. This software is not good, not good at all. No customer service, nothing at all.

Bad business practice. Please don't buy this product from them.

Desired Settlement
There is no way to contact this business. Customer service or sale department is impossible to reach. Please hire more workers to answer my calls instead automated system. Not a good business at all. Even though the product is reasonable price, but no customer service. No good, no good.

Please refund my money and I would like to order another product from elsewhere. No good, no good service and product at all.

Business Response
We do have online customer support and all calls are returned if a message is left with a call-back number.

The customer will be contacted by our Customer Service Lead with a solution. If the customer is not happy with that, a refund will be issued. Either way, the problem will be taken care of.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never heard any response from this company. Not a good business. Please do not purchase their product. No good, No good, my friend.

Final Business Response
Thank you for providing the email address. We were able to find two purchases of Inventoria. One via paypal and one via credit card. They will both be refunded via the payment method within 48 hours. Depending on your bank, it may take up to 14 days before you see the refunds.

Please note, as I indicated above, we did respond to your inquiries. Your email appears to have blocked our responses.

I hope you are able to find a different software better suited to your needs. Please uninstall all NCH Software from your computer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
2323209915@qq.com

Above is the email that ordered your product last year. After I complaint to BBB and now you finally responded to me. No good, no good.

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
FastFox cannot be uninstalled from my computer. This is a NCH gimmick.
Downloaded transcribing software that came with several parts; however FastFox will not uninstall. I want this program completely deleted from my computer. NCH is purposely imposing its program upon consumers by using this gimmick. There is no 800 support number. The 800 number NCH has listed on the Internet is for a porn company.

Desired Settlement
Delete this damn thing (FastFox) from my computer. Consumer cannot uninstall this program.

Business Response
I'm sorry to hear that you are having trouble uninstalling FastFox. I am including uninstall directions for multiple platforms since I am not sure what platform you use.


Windows 8

Using either your finger or mouse go to the left bottom corner of your screen and click on the pop up box so the Start Menu Grid opens on your screen.
Then hover over the small icon on the bottom right and when the Charm Menu comes out from the right side of the screen click on the Magnifying glass for Search
Search for Control Panel then select Control Panel and open it.
Select Uninstall a program, and select the program you want to uninstall
Right-click on the selected program and select Uninstall/change
Follow the prompts to uninstall
Windows 7

Go to the Start menu, select Control Panel, select Uninstall a program, and select the program you want to uninstall
Right-click on the selected program and select Uninstall/change
Follow the prompts to uninstall
Windows Xp/Vista

Go to the Start menu, select Control Panel, select Add/Remove Programs, and select the program you want to uninstall
Select change/remove
Follow the prompts to uninstall
2. How to Uninstall on Mac
Open Finder and click on Applications
Find the software you want to uninstall and drag it to the Trash.

If you need additional help, please go to our support page and submit a ticket requesting assistance.
http://www.nch.com.au/support/index.html


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This process doesn't work. I have tried this process almost a hundred times, and it just does not work. There is something special going on with this software.

Final Business Response
Can you please provide additional information? This process does work with our products and our products are coded to work with the uninstall processes that I sent you.

Please provide the following information:
Operating System and the steps you are following to uninstall FastFox.

Page 1 of 5
05/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I asked NCH to send me a link to a purchased product. NCH sent me the link, in German, with a suspected virus which is invading my system.
I contacted NCH on 4-2-13 because I was unable to download a lifetime product that I purchased from them in 2011. The package purchased assured me that my having the product code assured me the ability to download the product again. NCH on 4-3-13 sent me a link to download the "old" version of the product. I was told to uninstall whatever I had and to use the link sent to reinstall. I did this. The product installed in German; and, it is now invading other programs on my computer. I have three songs that needed to be completed today and now I can't do this. NCH also sent a note at the end of the install link. It says that I did not purchase a service product from them.

I believe they sent me a virus program; and, it will not uninstall.

Desired Settlement
I want the company to reinburse me for my time and for materials lost. ($300)

Business' Initial Response
The customer was told in the email with her registration code to "Please backup the software folder immediately after entering the key because the key will be locked to your particular install. This step is important because in future we will not be able to reissue lost keys or provide copies of old versions of software." The software key that she purchased is valid for the software she downloaded in November of 2011. As we told her with her purchase, we do not keep all past releases on file. The version on our website today in April of 2013 is a new/updated version and requires a purchase. I am going to provide the customer a code to this new version as a matter of good will.

Our technical support technician in trying to help find an old release did find and send the version in German. It is unfortunate that the customer installed this version even after realizing that it was not in English in the first dialog box. This did not install a virus. It did install the program in German and if she accepted all additional options during the install would also have installed other items in German. Our technician upon learning that she installed the German version did send her the information she needed to uninstall the program.

I am sorry for the trouble that this has caused the customer, it is unfortunate, however, as stated, we recommend that all customers create immediate backups of the software installation file as we are not able to send out old versions of our software, we will not reimburse for time and money lost.

As stated above, the customer may download the current version of WavePad from the website and I will provide an activation code for this version.

Consumer's Final Response
From: *********
Sent: Tuesday, May 21, 2013 8:07 PM
To: **************************
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#****************************)
Importance: Low

Thank you for reviewing the case. As a musician, any part of my band that can't function cancels out the job.

Thank you for your belief that a company who sent me a German component for a life time membership and then sent an object that did not meet my depended upon expectations, was found as having been in "Good Faith". Perhaps Denver is incapable of judging? Secondly, offering the option to arbitrate, at cost, now reveals you to be plain incompetent.

With Regards,

***** ***********

Business' Final Response
From: ***** ******* NCH Software (mailto:*****************************)
Sent: Tuesday, May 07, 2013 9:22 AM
To: 'Better Business Bureau'
Cc: '****** ***'
Subject: RE: (SPAM) BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#*****************************)

Hi,

I am not sure if this email address is for a direct reply? If not, could someone please direct me?

Unfortunately we will not enter into an arbitration for ''damages'' and set that precedent. We are always happy to provide additional free technical support, or an unconditional refund to a customer, but we will not pay additional damages due to their personal issues with management of their computer files and application backups and versions, and work processes. Our purchase, registration and upgrade policies, and liability, are all explained in detail throughout the purchase and registration process for all of our software.

This is a first for us through the BBB, and we always strive to address all cases with a positive consumer outcome. This happens to be an unreasonable consumer that is frustrated with their situation and would rather blame the software manufacturer than their own user error. They came into this with a mind to get monetary compensation for their frustrations above and beyond the cost of their software product, and they were not going to let this go without it...

Our headquarters is in Australia - where the software was developed. Our US office is marketing, support and business product development, not sales or audio development.

I am not sure of the customers options for small claims court, but that would have to be the path they pursue if they desire anything beyond a product refund.

I am open to suggestions if you feel there is any other way to approach this customer? From the responses I do not think they are willing to forgo their desire for additional damage compensation?

****

***** *******
Vice President Operations
NCH Software Inc.
6120 Greenwood Plaza Blvd.
Ste. 120
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
303-785-1761 ****
************ fax
*****************************


From: ******* ******
Sent: Wednesday, May 08, 2013 12:12 PM
To: '*****************************'
Subject: RE: (SPAM) BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#*****************************)

Dear *****,

Thank you for this information. The offer to go to arbitration is the BBB's final attempt to get a resolution to a complaint. We understand that you have addressed all of the consumer's issues and that is all we ask. We are currently waiting to hear from the consumer in regards to this offer as well, but since both parties are not accepting the offer, this case will be closed. You will receive 1 final email from the BBB indicating this. If I can be of further assistance, please let me know.

*******


From: ****** *** NCH Software (mailto:**************************)
Sent: Tuesday, May 07, 2013 10:36 AM
To: 'Better Business Bureau'
Subject: RE: (SPAM) BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#*****************************)

Hello,

In addition to the information below, I did send the customer the 2011 executable file on 4/26 per my statement in the BBB case, I am not sure why she thinks that we are playing games. We are truly attempting to help her solve her problem. I resent the file and a link to the file this morning.

Best,
******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computer Software Publishers & Developers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.