BBB Accredited Business since

Metro Collection Service, Inc.

Phone: (303) 696-6163 Fax: (303) 696-8382 View Additional Phone Numbers 2600 S Parker Rd STE 4-340, Aurora, CO 80014 http://www.metrocollections.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Metro Collection Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Metro Collection Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 16
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Metro Collection Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 08, 1992 Business started: 04/27/1989 Business started locally: 04/27/1989 Business incorporated 04/27/1989 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Attorney General Consumer Protection
1300 Broadway, 7th Floor, Denver CO 80203
http://www.ago.state.co.us
Phone Number: (720) 508-6000
attorney.general@state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Marvin D. Stiegelmar, President & General Manager Mr. Matt Scheid, Vice President & Office Manager Ms. Audrey Stiegelmar, Secretary / Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marvin D. Stiegelmar, President & General Manager
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Products & Services

3rd party collection service for commercial clients.

Industry Tips
Collection Agencies

Additional Locations

  • 2600 S Parker Rd STE 4-340

    Aurora, CO 80014 (303) 696-6163 (303) 481-0522 (303) 481-0521

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been disputing information on my credit report consistently for over 6 months now. This is not my bill, I have written and called this collection company requesting validation of this debt with supporting documentation that they have never provided. They have not responded to my request despite many attempts. Product_Or_Service: Medical Account_Number: XXXXXXXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Ultimately, I want this removed off of my report immediately.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/08) */ The Complainant's (********** ******) account was assigned to our office - Metro Collection Service Inc. on 9/30/2013 for $67.68 from our client - Pinnacle Women's Healthcare. No payments have been made on the account by the Complainant. A Validation letter (copy attached) was sent to the Complainant on 9/30/2013, the same day that the account as assigned to our office by our client. No direct response to our office was received from the Complainant until she called our office on 11/20/2014 at 3:56pm, and verbally disputed the account. The Complainant offered to pay the account on that date if we would remove it from her credit bureau report (thereby acknowledging that the account was hers). We had previously changed the reporting to the credit bureaus as "disputed" on 6/4/2014. Today, we have deleted the Complainant's account from all credit bureaus - and AUD form is attached. However, the balance of the Complainant's account still remains due and owing. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am disputing the unsupported move-out costs from ******** ********** ** ***** ************ being collected by Metro Collection Service, Inc. I am confident that this bill was not intended for us. The apartment was spotless, even dined out to make sure the kitchen remained clean and stayed at a friend's house in the final days . How can people even incur such allegations in just 14 months. In fact, the few times something was wrong with the apartment, we placed work orders. Since receiving the bill, I have spent many hours over the course of days working to resolve this case in writing, compiling documents, and presenting our case through phone calls and written correspondence with *** ******* of Metro Collection Service. (MCS). 12/5/11-Sent dispute letter in response to collection letter ******************** response: treated "some carpet stains...along with cleaning the apartment." It did not acknowledge/address my dispute letter 12/30/11-Letter asking Metro to dismiss collection efforts since I was able to provide a supported case disputing the alleged charges versus *********** meager response to it. 1/3/12 - Response from ******** in care of MCS, "That was a data entry mistake. sic referring to billing with another person's name on bill The charges still stand..." 1/9/12-Left voice mail about MCS's 1/5/12 correspondence to me that they are ceasing communication to collect the debt per my letter. (I only asked that collection efforts cease since both parties' cases had been presented. Clearly, ******** could not address my numerous reasons for not owing the charges. In addition, I had been actively engaged in corresponding and efforts to resolve the matter.) MCS did not return my call. 1/17/12-Telephone call with MCS due to no return call. Explained my frustration with the process. Informed me that balance will go on my credit report and requested a letter giving him permission to communicate with me. As a professional couple with excellent credit, we pay our bills responsibly. We could have paid the amount long ago, but it's the principle of the matter. The alleged charges have no merit and I can't bring myself to pay what we don't owe. To date, my efforts have been fruitless and simply unheard. ******** lacks supporting documentation and, despite this, MCS continues to attempt to collect the money, making a negative entry on my credit report that accrues interest to date. MCS offers a process to dispute amounts, but in reality, it has proven to not be viable.

Desired Settlement: I request the principal amount of $153.99, plus associated interest charges, be dismissed. I also request that Metro Collection Service, Inc. remove the negative entry placed on my credit report.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ The Complainant's (******** ********) account was assigned to our office by our client - **** ** ***** ** ********** on 9/22/2011 for $153.99. A Validation of account letter (copy attached) was sent to the Complainant the same day. We have agreed to delete the Complainant's account from the credit bureaus. We have filed an AUD online with E-Oscar to delete the account. A copy of the AUD is attached. The AUD control number is #XXXXXXXX. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** ** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Good afternoon: MCS, please provide clarification. I had requested that the charges (plus interest) and credit report entry be dismissed. MCS' response only mentions resolve of the entry on my credit report. I believe that MCS' response also means dismissal of the account altogether, but I don't want to be too presumptuous. (In an earlier, yet similar complaint regarding an old, small balance, MCS cancelled the complainant's account from their records, IN ADDITION to removing the credit report entry.) Thank you. Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */ We have also agreed to cancel and close the Complainant's (******** ********) account with our company, Metro Collection Service Inc. Thus, she is no longer liable for this debt. Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you.

2/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I movedout of apt. never got a bill. Got served papers for $120 settled out of court then two years later got notices that my credit was damaged I movedout of apt. never got a bill. Got served papers for $120 settled out of court then two years later got notices that my credit was damaged by them. The apts own the credit agency. This is a known scam recognized by ***** ******. I let people know their scam and that they had bed bugs in apartment. They are harrassing and blackmailing me because I put flyers in apartment about bed bugs. This is years later and I am still fighting this nightmare. They hope you will not show up to court after they serve you papers. If you do, they wanted over one thousand dollars for a $120 questionable cleaning charge. I fought them and then settled out of court. I agreed to not put up flyers anymore about the complex's bed bugs. Then two years later they hit me with a bogus credit claim that was a scam to begin with.

Desired Settlement: I want the bad credit report they gave me taken off my credit report. Then I want them investigated and proper action be taken.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/30) */ The Complainant's (****** ********)account was assigned to ***** ********** ******* *** ***** by the ******** at **** **** ********** on 7/22/2013 for $120.00. A Validation of the account letter was sent to the Complainant the same day. No payment was received, and legal action was initiated on 2/6/14 - Complainant was served with a Summons & Complaint. The Complainant settled and paid the account on 4/9/2014. The account was then shown as a paid collection on the Complainant's credit report, it has now been totally deleted - a copy of our Universal Data Form is attached. The ******** at **** **** ********** do not own **** nor does *** own the ******** at **** **** *********** We are the collection agency used by ******** at **** **** ********** to collect their delinquent accounts, nothing more. We have never been contacted by a ******* ******", for any kind of information concerning our business. We are a licensed collection agency in Colorado, Arizona and Texas for the past 25+ years, and are a Corporation in good standing with all of these states. We consider the matter closed.

11/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please see attached.

Desired Settlement: Please see attached.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/12) */ The Complainant's(******* *********** & husband *****)account was assigned to Metro Collection Service Inc (MCS) on 9/10/2013 by our client - ****** ************ in the amount of $1,968.57. A Validation Letter explaining the assignment,the consumer's rights, the amount of debt, and the creditor was sent to the Complainant on 9/10/2013. Several attempts were made to contact the Complainant, with no results. A Summons & Complaint naming both the Complainant & her husband, ***** *********** was served on the Complainant's husband, ***** *********** on 6/16/14 with a Court date of 7/28/2014. On 7/17/14, the Complainant & husband, ***** agreed to and signed a Stipulation in Lieu of Judgment for payments of $200 to be made on the 1st day of each month, beginning 8/1/14. A copy of the signed Stipulation was mailed to the Complainant on 7/30/14. The Complainant made a payment of $200.00 from a checking account (belonging to both the Complainant & her husband, *****) per the Stipulation on 7/31/14. No further payments were made, and on 9/4/14 a Notice of Stipulation Default letter was sent to the Complainant & her husband. A motion was filed for a Default Judgment due to the Defaulted Stipulation. 10/09/14 Judgment Order was granted by the Court,a copy of the Judgment Order was mailed to the Complainant & her husband. On 10/27/14 we received a dispute letter from the Complainant. On 10/28/14 we received a 2nd dispute letter from the Complainant. At this point, we will certainly listen to any reasonable payment offer from the Complainant & her husband.

9/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reached an agreement with Metro to make monthly payments toward a fixed principal amount. Metro is charging me an effective 36% APR. In May 2013, I lost my job. With my income (unemployment payments) severely curtailed, I had to stop paying many of my creditors. When I secured a new job, my base salary was 17% lower than my previous job. My wife and I initially filed Chap. 7 bankruptcy and later converted to Chap. 13. However, before our hearing to put the Chap. 13 into place we decided that we would settle our debts individually with each creditor; we withdrew from the Chap. 13 proceedings. One of the creditors was Metro Collection Service, Inc. which held the debt for our credit card with Credit Union of Colorado. I thought that I had reached an agreement with Metro that I would make $400.00 in monthly payments (which I have without exception) beginning March 2014 toward the fixed principal until which time the principal is fully paid off. I recently discovered, contrary to our agreement, that Metro is collecting the $400.00 in monthly payments but is also applying over $675.00 in interest charges. The interest charges equal an APR of 36%, which I believe is both egregious and likely unlawful. In addition, because these interest payments exceed my payments, I will never pay off the principal amount. During our negotiations, I specifically asked that the $400.00 in monthly payments be made against the **fixed** principal amount until the balance is paid off. Due my severely reduced income, $400.00 is the MOST that I am able to pay. Metro is breaking our agreement and I believe they 1) now owe me $1,800 (minimum) in credit; and, 2) per our agreement they should NOT be charging me any interest. The purchase the debt from ****** ***** of ******** and my debt with Metro is exactly that fixed amount and no more.

Desired Settlement: 1) Metro must credit my balance by the $1,800+ in improper (and possibly illegal) interest charges. 2) Metro must agree in writing that I will make $400.00 in monthly payments toward a FIXED principal debt and to not charge me any interest at all. 3) Failure to reach this agreement will result in my refusing to make any more payments toward this ever-increasing principal (that I will never be able to pay off). 4) Failure to meet my terms will result in my filing a complaint with the Colorado Attorney General's Office. On the face of it alone, Metro's misrepresentation of our agreement and a 36% APR is beyond the pale of reasonability. It is my opinion that Metro's actions are illegal.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/08) */ The Complainant (******* *******)'s account was assigned to Metro Collection Service Inc on 9/5/2013 in the amount of $22,846.88. The account was assigned to us by our client, ****** ***** of ********* We do not purchase debt from anyone or any other businesses. On 3/7/2014, our Collector ****** ****** and our Manager, **** ****** agreed with the Complainant for repayment of his outstanding debt to be repaid at $400 per month beginning on 3/17/14 with the balance of $22,846.88 accumulating interest at 8% per annum compounded annually (Per Colorado Revised Statute X-XX-XXX). An email was sent on the same date (3/17/14) detailing this agreement, and clearly stating the 8% per annum interest rate. The Complainant sent an email to Collector Myers on the same date agreeing to the payment arrangements. The Complainant must realize that interest is being computed on the total balance remaining, and his monthly payment of $400 will not reduce the balance appreciably each month since it is quite high. Thus, we have applied his payment of $400 - $200 going to reduce the principal, and $200 going to interest. Back interest is accumulated, and will have to be satisfied at the end of his payment schedule. We have been in business over 25 years, are licensed by the State of Colorado, Arizona, and Texas and abide 100% by the collection laws in these states. We certainly are not charging over the 8% per annum compounded annually interest rate, and would not jeopardize our Licenses in the various states by doing so. We have attached a copy of all pertinent correspondence. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/09/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Although I was obviously not familiar with all the terms of the repayment plan or at least did not understand them fully I now understand the details and am familiar with the details.

7/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refuses to remove open status on collection case from credit history. In 2008, my house was foreclosed on by CU of CO. They turned the balance on the loan over to Metro Collection Svc Co. I subsequently filed Chapter 7 bankruptcy in 2009. Both CU of CO and Metro Collection Svc Co were listed as debtors in that case. The collections case should have been closed at that time because that debt was discharged. For several months, this company continued to harass me until I threatened to sue them. But, they filed a lawsuit under a different name. I responded in court that they did not have the right to do this and the court threw it out. However, they continue to show "open" collection cases against me in my credit report. They show the balances as $0, but the fact that the cases are shown as open has harmed my ability to get credit. I have asked them several times over the years to change the status to closed, since it should have been closed when the debts were discharged. It has been 5 years. They still list the cases as open. I don't care if the balance is shown as zero. When a balance is zero, the cases should be closed.

Desired Settlement: remove the "open" status on my cases from my credit report. Nothing else is acceptable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/14) */ Metro Collection Service Inc has been in business for over 25 years, and we do not use "a different name" in Court or anywhere else. The Court stopped the case due to the bankruptcy of the Complainant at the request of our Attorney since the debt was no longer collectible. The filing of Bankruptcy has harmed the credit of the Complaintant, not our listing showing a zero balance (which is correct!). We have submitted an AUD form online to all credit bureaus to delete this account from the Complainant's credit report. The AUD Control #XXXXXXXX. We consider this matter closed.

5/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: made 950 dollars in payments on a 1091 dollar debt via rep payee for ssi/ssdi called to try to settle and was told no Since 2009 the company has had this case on their desk and I have always been on disability I am permanently disabled by mental disease or defect and have to take medication on a daily bases.They have collected $950 in payments from my disability money and they keep charging interest every day since making the $950 in payments I found out that by law they can't collect off the government and I tried on numerous occasions to get this settled by disputing this on my credit report they refuse to see it my way and I called on 4/18/14 to settle and ***** told me no that its not possible which i know is a lie by law they can settle so I told her that by law she can she represents a collection agency and has the authorization to settle and she told me no she doesnt which I know to be another lie so I got angry with her told her I would sue. this whole ordeal not only effects my credit it effects my mental health as well.

Desired Settlement: Just remove from credit report and settle with me or remove debt altogether

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/24) */ The Complainant's (****** *****)account was assigned to our office 1/7/09 by our client - ****** Village Apts in the amount of $1090.66. The Complainant has made several irregular partial payments of $50, $25, and $10 payments since 10/15/09 leaving a current balance of $431.34. We have received no payments since 3/1/13. We are willing to settle this matter for payment of $300. Can be made in a lump sum, or three $100 payments beginning 5/1/14. When the settlement has been paid, we will mark the account paid in full, and delete it from the credit bureaus. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) colorado state and federal law says that they cannot charge over what the original creditors bill was that comes from the fair debt collection act i am willing to settle for 150 since i have made 950 in payments based on state and federal laws thats what i owe is 150 dollars i am on a fixed income government money so i cannot make 100 dollar payments since i have bills that usually leave me with hardly any cash i would be willing to pay 150 in 3 payments of 50 dollars each Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/07) */ We will agree with the Complainant's offer of settlement of $150 with 3 payments of $50 each. The first payment must be made in May, 2014. When the settlement is paid in full, we will delete the account from the credit bureaus.

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: metro has popped up on my credit report again asking for 91.00. the acct was closed on 3/1/09 I dont know who metro collections is or why I would owe them 91.00. their acct number on the credit report is XXXXXXXX xxxx. I had a problem filling out this form because I did not know how to catergorize them. I dont recall ever receiving mail from a metro in the past.

Desired Settlement: I want them to remove themselves from my credit report asap . I want them to remove all negative information from my credit report.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/14) */ The Complainant's (******* ******) account was assigned to our office on 3/18/09 by our client - Stonebrook Apartments. A Validation letter was sent to the Complainant the same date. We received no response to the letter. A 2nd letter was sent 4/21/09 with still no response. The Complainant states that the "account was closed on 3/1/09" was of course is not true, and she is obviously aware of the account. This is a valid account due to our client, and will be shown as a paid collection upon receipt of the funds from the Complainant. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am looking at a recent credit report froM experian . dated 3/27/14. it states that i owe metro 91.00. The report does not ssy WHY I OWE THEM SPECIFICALLY 91.00. I ask you again WHAT ARE THE CHARGES ? WHAT DID I DO TO MAKE A BILL FOR 91.00? the account status on this date reports that the acct is closed as of 3/1/2009.SO REPORTS EXPERIAN the acct number associated with this report is XXXXXXXXxxxx . on the other hand looking at the transunion acct under the same acct number the amount is the same and shows a date of 3/18/2009. open . I dont know what equifax is showing yet. I suggest you report the same info to all credit bureaus and I under stand there are some new ones that exist now. WHEN I UNDERSTAND WHAT THE BILL IS FOR THEN I CAN MAKE A DECISION PERTAINING TO THE ISSUE. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/18) */ The account is several years old, and a very small balance. We have deleted it from the Complainant's credit bureau report, and cancelled the account from our records. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for your existence BBB. If not for your part this company and those like it would have hounded me to the end of my life. A million thanks ! But I will always wonder what the problem was. Im gone. thank you.

3/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was hung up on and not explained what I was in collections for I called Metro Collections on 03/03/2014 at 4:15 pm. I was directed via automated service call to **** ******* I told him I had found a debt of quite a bit of money in my credit tremors and wanted to know what it was for and the details. He started asking me where I was employed and who my employer was and their names and numbers. I was not comfortable with this and explain that in a calm manner. He then said "Ok I'm listening..." when I then said AGAIN I'm calling to figure out my debt and why it is in collections he started saying he had sent letters to my current address. I told him I have never received one and that I was placing no blame on him/the company. I did say I wanted to resolve the issue and wanted more information about it. He said the letter would explain it. When I said he was being rude and I wanted to figure out a way to fix the situation he hung up on me. How is a company supposed to fix a debt if they won't even talk to their "debtors"? I called again and talked to a woman named ********** who told me **** ****** was the supervisor and there wads no one else to talk to except the man **** ***** who is in control of my account here and won't be back until tomorrow. A person trying to fix an issue should be treated with courtesy and answers rather than the run around. This company has not once contacted me to my knowledge and the way they treat their callers is insane. Especially if I'm trying to resolve an issue rather than create one. If the person "in charge" is treating people like this I shudder to think of the quality the company provides for its clients. It's disgusting.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be explained WITH CLASS the reason I am in collections. I know who (after research) the collection is for and that is another issue I will resolve because I never received any information from them either. This is ridiculous.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/07) */ The Complainant's account was assigned to our office for collection on 8/29/12 by our client - XXXX-XXXX ******** ** Apts. Mail was returned from two different addresses that we located. The Complainant apparently did not post a forwarding address for her mail. The account was shown as a collection account with the credit bureaus on 12/1/12. The Complainant called our office on 3/3/14 and spoke to Manager **** ****** He was not rude in any way, and requested the normal information needed for our file. The Complainant became very defensive and refused any information. A letter with a complete description of the debt was sent to the Complainant the same day. A Validation letter advising the Complainant of the debt had been sent to her home address on 9/27/13, with no response from her.

2/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Metro Collections has changed the date of service to accommodate the statute of limitations and to continue collect efforts on an invalid debt. I was a client of Highlands Dental. My dentist, Dr. ***** *********** decided to change a veneer I had on one of my teeth. The veneer was replaced and approximately a week later, it broke off the tooth. I went back to Highlands Dental. After filing the adhesive off my tooth, there was little to no tooth remaining and the only alternative was to have a crown. I had the crown done, but because this was the dentist's work, I was not charged, but my insurance company was charged to recoup some expenses. When Dr. *********** sold his practice, the balance was thought to be a valid collection, when it actually was not. Highlands Dental never billed me for those services as it was considered a business debt. When the practice was sold, the debt was assigned to Metro Collections. I am not sure of the exact date, but date of service was not 12/31/07 as Metro claims. The date of service was sometime in the spring of 2004. The statute of limitations has run out, yet Metro is still attempting to collect an invalid debt and one I am not responsible to pay.

Desired Settlement: All charges to be discharged and positive feedback left on my credit report.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/29) */ This account was assigned to our agency on 4/11/08 by our client - Highlands Dental. The last activity on the account was a payment directly to the dentist (before we received the account) on 12/31/07 by the Complainant. We do not change any information on accounts assigned to us by our clients. We have submitted a Universal Data Form to all Credit Bureaus to delete the Complainant's account. We have cancelled the account with our agency and have returned it to our client - Highlands Dental. We consider the matter closed.

1/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN METRO CONTACED US AND NEVER CALLED BACK TO FIX THIS SITUATION NONE OF THE NUMBERS ADD UP AS FAR AS WE ARE CONCERNED WERE EVEN I SPOKE WITH A MS ***** AT METRO COLLECTION AND SHE INFORMED ME THAT THEY WOULD TALK TO THERE CLIENT I LET HER KNOW WHY WE LEFT THE RENTAL WE WERE IN A VAST MAJARETY OF IT WAS MAINTAINING THE PROPERTY THE FINAL STRAW WAS WE HAD TO CONTACT THE CITY TO REPAIR A WATER MAIN A WATER MAIN WITH MICE IN THE WALLS WITCH LEAD TO MY CHILD BEING SICK EVEN AS A ADULT ALSO THE LIST OF THE BILL WAS NOT VALID IT STATES THINGS LIKE CLEANING 5 TIMES ALSO THINGS LIKE TO GUYS MOVING AND MEAN THEY KEPT MY DEPOSIT TO CLEAN THE FURINTURE WAS RUINED BY THERE NEGLECT WE WILL NOT COVER OR PAY FOR THINGS WE COULD NOT CONTROL AND MS BLACK WILL NOT GET BACK TO US.THE REPORT IS AT THE CITY HALL BUILDING THERE CLIENTS ARE SLUM LORDS AND THEY HAVE THE COMPLAINTS TO PROVE IT I WANT THIS REMOVED FROM MY CREDIT THEY ALSO NEVER SENT US ANYTHING THEY JUST PUT IT ON ARE CREDIT.NONE OF THIS BILL IS ACCURATE.

Desired Settlement: WE WANT THIS ACCURATE AND REMOVED FROM ARE CREDIT ALSO WE WANT THERE CLIENTS TO TREAT PEOPLE FAIR I MEAN THE MANAGER FROM THERE CLIENTS PLACE OF BIZ TOLD ME SHE WILL ***** ME SHE ALSO TOLD THE OWNER OF THE PROPERTY THAT THEY PLANNED ON ***** ME SO FROM THE JUMP THERE CLIENTS ARE NOT PROFESSINAL.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/14) */ The Complainant's (****** *********) account was assigned to us by our client - ******** Management & Realty Apartments on 8/6/10. A validation letter was sent to the Complainant's last known address at that time. Letter was returned as Complainant had not provided a forwarding address. After extensive skip tracing to locate Complainant's address, a new Validation letter was sent on 10/18/10. This letter was not returned by post office. On 5/24/13 Per the Complainant's written request, we provided all supporting documents to the Complainant. Our client ********* Management & Realty) verified extensive damages and cleaning were required after the Complainant left the apartment. The Complainant's account has been reported to all credit bureaus as an unpaid disputed collection account. The balance due on the Complainant's account is due and owing. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/01/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) thank you ms ******* FOR ALL YOUR HELP ON THIS CASE THIS WAS AN UNESSASARY BLEMIS ON MY CREDIT I WILL MAKE SURE TO CHECK MY CREDIT STATUS ON THIS CASE WITH GREAT RESPONSABILATY IT WAS A PLESURE TO FINALLY BE HERD ON THIS MS ******* THANX.ALSO ON OR IF ANYTHING TRANSFERS TO US I WILL BE PREPARD .GOD BLESS BBB Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/28) */ We have submitted a Universal Data Form to the credit bureaus to delete the Complainant's account. We are referring the account to our Attorney's to review for possible legal actions.

11/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incorrect billing and Incorrect paperwork. No contract with collectors for work. Upon getting a phone call from this company, I was shocked I was in collections. I had major water and sewer damage to my house. The insurance company directly paid me for the damages. Upon getting a contractor in, TGA, ****** ****, they quoted the work and I signed the work off to be done. TGA then hired out the work to different companies that was done including an air test to Family Environmental. All charges was included in TGA's proposal including air quality testing. No way shape or form did I ever sign a contract thru family environmental. This collection agency then went behind my back and tried to collect from my insurance company that already paid my claims. Now my insurance company is upset because it looks like I never got the work done. I have proof from the contractors that I did pay them in full. My cancelled checks and my invoices from TGA. I also had to stay in a hotel while the work was being done. I would not stay in a hotel otherwise since I am disabled and I have a hard time getting around. I then find out Family environmental turned me into collections for non payment after two years of the work being done. I have never been billed nor have been contacted in the two years from this company for non payment. I never signed a contract thru Family environmental, only my main contractor. I contacted my contractor and Mr. **** from TGA said he is working with Family environmental himself. He then told me that he has several cases like mine that he is trying to straightening out due to Family environmental negligence in the front office. When contacting the credit agency they have been extremely nasty and non professional. *** ******* the collector went behind my back and got all my information from the insurance company. Which I feel is an invasion of my privacy. I also now have to deal with my insurance company who is very upset at me thinking I did not get any of the work done. I've sent over all my contracts from my contractor which shows a break down of all the charges from different companies and that my account with them is zero PAID IN FULL. WHY AM I IN COLLECTIONS THEN? I also requested them not to call my home and this agency has continued to call my home between five and ten times a day. I called again and requested only to deal with the company directly since I may from the Fair Credit Act. *** ******* then proceeded to tell me that they are going to only refer me to them. I know what my rights are and one of them is I can request only to deal with the original company for the charges. I also can request them not to call my house. This company has several complaints them and I can see why. I not only have been totally stressed over this, my disability has gotten worse trying to deal with them. I am requesting not only here but in a letter I sent you last week not to contact me for this debt and not to call my home. I am requesting only to deal with Family Environmental per the fair credit act rules and regulations.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that this dispute be taken off my credit report. I am also requesting Family environmental, the collection company and my contractor have a three way call and leave me out of it since I have proof I paid for the testing. Then I am requesting a letter of apology from the credit company and Family Environmental.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/23) */ We have reviewed this matter with our client **** ********** Operations Manager for Family Environmental. As a result & per his instructions, we have cancelled and returned the Complainant's account to him, our client - Family Environmental. No balance is now due from the Complainant. We have also deleted this account from the Complainant's credit bureau report effective immediately, and wish to apologize for any inconvenience this matter may have caused.

10/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unethical practices. Collection account added to my credit report without contacting me first to resolve the issue. I'm ruined for no mistake of mine. They have added a Collection account to my Credit Report on ********** I was shocked to learn this as I never received any request from their office about the issue. Usually when an account is in the process of going into Collections, the collection agency is supposed to work with the concerned person get the debts resolved and if that doesn't work, another notice should be served and then after a 30 day wait the account may be added to the credit report. None of the above happened in my case. I was given no chance to pay off the debt which I didn't even know that it existed. The debt in this scenario is from an old apartment I previously lived in ****** before I moved to **** **** ***** I confirmed from the apartment office that I owed no money to them. But at a later time in ***** I received a letter in the mail that I have a balance of about $130. I immediately used ***** ******* and cut a check for the same amount to their office. The check was returned and I went on with my life since then. Months have passed and on ********* I have received an alert from my credit monitoring service that a collections account was added to my Credit Report. It shook my core as my family is in the process of buying a home.I was in disbelief. I'm never late on my obligations. I always pay on time and maintain a strict and a smooth financial status. I do not think it's right for me to face these terrible consequences without my fault. My family is in financial ruin right now because Metro Collections' illegal, unethical, inhumane and unprofessional business conduct. I want them to fix this mistake by removing this collection account from my credit report so that we can work to resolve the debt in a meaningful and lawful way and make sure that they put checks and balances in place before they repeat the same awful practices on other innocent victims. Thank you, ********* ****** *********

Desired Settlement: Remove the collection account from all the Credit Reports of mine (TransUnion, Experian, Equifax and any other credit agency the account was added to). Send me a confirmation and the corrected credit reports so that I can verify the corrections. Put checks and balances in place before they repeat the same awful practices on other innocent victims. Thank you, ********* ****** *********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/09) */ The above account was assigned to our office on ********** by our client, *** ***** *********** The Complainant (********* ******) moved out of the apartment on ********* A final account statement was sent to the Complainant's address on ******* by *** ***** *********** The Complainant did not respond to this billing by the ***** *********** so the account was assigned to Metro Collection Service Inc nearly 1 year later, still unpaid. Our initial Validation letter was sent to the Complainant on ******* to the last known address given to us by our client. This Validation letter was never returned to us, nor was an updated address ever supplied by the Complainant. The account was reported to the Credit Bureaus as an unpaid collection on ******** On ******** we reported the account as an unpaid disputed collection account. Our Collector attempted several times to reach the Complainant during the period from ***** **** to ******** ***** but the Complainant's telephone voice mail had not been set up. Both our client - *** ***** ********** and our company - Metro Collection Service Inc sent letters advising the Complainant that this bill was due and owing. To date, the debt still remains unpaid. Once the balance has been paid, we will report it as a paid collection account. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I just verified that the collection account has been deleted from Transunion as well as the other reports. So I agree to accept this solution. I thank BBB for providing this platform to meaningfully dispute this issue with the business. I also thank Mr. ****** D. ********** and others from Metro Collection Agency who helped promptly resolve this issue. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/10/21) */ On *********** and again on ******** we have submitted an AUD Correction Indicator online through e-Oscar to delete the Complainant's account from all credit bureaus including Transunion credit bureau. The AUD control number is #XXXXXXXX for the deletion on ********* A copy of the AUD Correction Indicator that was filed is being sent to the Complainant per request.

7/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a debt in collections with this company for five years. The debt amount is incorrect. They have refused to fix it. I have had a debt in collections with this company for five years, they are representing The Crossing APTS in Denver, CO. I had to terminate my lease early due to military orders and the apartment complex states in their lease that there will be no termination fees if military orders are provided. I provided them. I owe a fee for a broken window and patio door. The Apartment complex kept my security deposit and is charging me for early termination fees. I am willing to pay it but the amount is incorrect. They kept sending me correspondence with different amounts to pay which none are correct. I contacted a military attorney and they contacted metro collection agency. Metro collection agency has since lowered the total amount due but it is still not correct. This debt has been listed of my credit report for five years with an incorrect total. I have disputed it numerous times and they have failed to correct their errors. I no longer live in the US so I am limited on resources for civil action. I have corresponded with numerous people within this company to settle this debt. Today was the last time. The man representing Metro collection agency "****" said that he would not deal with me and hung up on me. then I called back and he said if I called again he would call the police on me. I'm only trying to settle a debt. They have refused to correct the amount owed. I have written proof that I do not owe the amount the are trying to collect and they don't care.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this company to alleviate this debt completely at this point. I would no longer wish to communicate nor do business with them. They have completely violated my trust and violated my credit history as well.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/30) */ The Complainant (***** ********) account was assigned to our office on 5/30/2008 by our client The Crossing Apartments. The Complainant's statement that Metro Collection or The Crossing Apartments have refused to "fix it" or correct the account balance is simply not true. The termination fee was waived on 10/01/2010 in the amount of $1250.00 per advice of our client. Another $625 in rent charges was waived on 1/22/2013 per advice of our client - The Crossings Apts. Also, $582.44 of back unpaid interest has been deleted. The remaining balance of $891.66 for damages to the apartment is due and owing. Our client - The Crossings Apartment will not waive this fee. It remains due and owing by the Complainant. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 19, 2013/07/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I would like a statement via regular Mail from Metro Collection Agency stating that this matter has been closed. Thank you. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/07/11) */ After further review, we have deleted the Complainant's account with our office, and have deleted the account at all credit bureaus. We consider the matter closed.

6/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Metro Collections is reporting a debt that does not exist. They are in violation of the FDCRA and CFDCPA. Metro Collections is reporting a debt that was satisfied in full with the Original creditor under a pay for removal agreement. I have documentaion of said agreement. If the disputed records are not removed immediately from all Credit bureaus I will be forced to report Metro Collections to the Federal Trade Commission, US Attorney General, Colorado Attorney General, Arapahoe County Attorney General, Colorado Secretary+ of State, Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies and Consumer Financial Protection Bureau as well as pursue all remedies and restitution afforded me under Federal, State and local law.

Desired Settlement: Immediately remove disputed records from all credit bureaus.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/15) */ The Complainant's (******* *****) account was assigned to us on 8/29/2012 by our client ***************************. An original validation letter (describing the terms of the debt) was sent to the Complainant on 8/29/2012. He did not respond to the validation letter until 01/21/2013, and the debt was not paid until 04/29/2013, nearly eight months after the first validation notice was sent to the Complainant. Our Collector advised the Complainant on 04/11/2013 during a telephone conversation that if he paid the account in full, it would be shown as a paid collection account at the credit bureaus. We have no knowledge of any "pay for removal agreement" and we do not issue such agreements. The debt is now paid in full, and has been properly reported to the credit bureaus. We consider the matter closed. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This debt was never valid, nor did I ever recieve any contact from metro collections. I never saw a validation of debt...even after requesting one. The only reason I was aware of the disputed debt was that I pulled my credit report. I paid the original creditor (blueline) not metro collections. I tried repeatedly to reach people at metro to no avail. I have no idea how they collect anything with such poor social skills. At any rate I will now file with the other agencies listed in my original complaint. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/05/30) */ The Complainant's (******* *****) statement that the debt was not valid is simply untrue. The unpaid debt was assigned to our office on 8/29/12 by our client - **************************. On 1/21/13 we received a voice mail message from the Complainant requesting copies of the debt. We mailed a copy of the debt to her the same day to her new address. Debt still was not paid. On 4/3/13 at 4:06pm we received a call from ***** ***** (also signed on lease) saying he will pay the bill if we delete from his credit bureau report. We advised him if paid, will show as paid collection. On 4/29/13 we received an email from our client saying the debt had been paid in full that day. We have discussed the matter further with our client, and have agreed to delete this account from ******* & ***** *****' credit report. It has now been deleted. We consider the matter closed.

6/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I felt like I have been lied to, most utterly felt disrespected . His name is **********. I felt like I was talked down to. This guy should have a different profession. He is the one you hear about at all collections agency's , the ones who treat you terribly and get away with it. I can not believe how rude and how he talked to me. VERY UPSET.

Desired Settlement: The agreement i had with ************ that I asked for a letter was never sent to me regarding that if I had paid my collection in full it WOULD NOT go onto my credit report. I stuck to my end and she didn't stick to hers and I feel lied to and ********** spoke to me like a dog about it and told me not to even bother him about it and to contact someone eles. All I want is the statement to not show on my credit report. Everything is paid.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/13) */ The Complainant's (*************) account was assigned to our office on 8/19/2010 by our client, Sunset Peak Apartments. On 5/8/13, our Manager, ********** spoke with the Complainant by telephone at 12:46pm. ********* told her that if she has something in writing from us agreeing not to report her account to the credit bureau, he would honor it. ********* reminded the Complainant of the conversation she had with our Collector ************ on 11/3/10 in which ***** told her if she wanted to avoid this from being reported to credit bureaus that she would have to pay it in full by 11/30/10. The Complainant paid a $100 payment toward the balance on 12/03/10. We do not report any accounts to the credit bureaus if paid in full within 90 days of assignment to us. After 90 days, we are obligated to report unpaid accounts to all credit bureaus as unpaid collections. ********* was not rude to the Complainant, only factual in that all accounts not paid in full in 90 days must be reported to all credit bureaus as a collection account. The Complainants account was paid in full on 10/24/11, and was reported to all credit bureaus as a paid collection.